4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Voltmodding Gecube 9550 Rev2.1, This is not a question, but a guide!

TSDead__Man
post Feb 24 2005, 09:05 PM, updated 19y ago

Who am I?
1,866 posts

DISCLAIMER: I will not take responsibility should you damage or burn out your card.

Many of you probably have the Gecube 9550XT Extreme Edition. For RM 390 it's quite a deal, because of it's near on par, if not, greater than the 9600 Pro performance. Since revision 1.0 all the way to 2.0, we have been hearing good oc results, especially for those with Hynix 2.5ns rams. But there have been only few that have succesfully overclocked the Rev 2.1. Why? I actually have no damn idea, but what i do know, is how to overlcok it succesfully. The biggest factor on the Rev 2.1 is the unoverclockability of the core, which defaults to 432 mhz. Most of whom i have heard can only oc this to 440max, with lockups anything over it. Initially I thought of a bios lock, because the 9550XT was so popular, it kept people from buying a 9600 Pro/XT. However after flashing the bios with many different versions of the 9600, I have noticed that the core remains unoverclockable, but the memory soars, so it may be a good idea to keep a 9600 Pro bios on it, more on that later.

Alas, with help of rx8, a relatively new member to this forum, we have found out where to volt mod the core and the memory.

The voltage regulator chip is an ON 1571. It's brand name was not written on it, so it took forever to find results on google and the datasheet, but after page 25 or so on google, I found it. The other problem was finding the memory voltage. It was easy to find the core voltage, which is the pin of the coil for the core. However, for the memory, the coil was rated at 1.92v. Pretty strange for DDR memory? Yes, I agree, and I personally doubt it's got gDDR3 on it, and unfortunately, I can't find out either, since I have ramsinks superglued to the mem chips. If one of you could write down the code, and post it here, I would very much appreciate it.

Alas, after simply appyling the same voltage mod on the memory as on the core (because they both have the same regulator chips, 1571), my memory was more overclockable, so I thought, what the heck, as long as it runs higher, I wasn't gonna complain. But be assured, I'm not 100% sure, that the memory mod below will actually increase mem speed, unless I know wether i got gDDR1 or gDDR3.

Ok, so I'm done talking pure, useless crap, here's the mod:
:::vGPU & vDDR Mod:::

Simply draw a pencil line at those two ] to increase coltage. Check the voltage after every pencil line though. You don't want to shoot up the volts to 2v or smth like that.

If you don't like Pencil Modding, you can simply solder a 10K Pot to Pin 7 and to the ground.

Initially my core voltage was at 1.32v and memory at 1.92 at the max OC of 435/306 to 1.71v/2.2v at 532/336. This is with stock 9550 bios, not with 9600 Pro bios, so if I flash sooner or later, my mem will fly even higher.

Happy Modding,
Regards,
Dead__Man with help of rx8

This post has been edited by Dead__Man: Apr 11 2005, 03:34 PM
siawgu
post Feb 24 2005, 09:18 PM

996 posts

it is safe to vmod?
DaEMoNteNTAcLe
post Feb 24 2005, 10:45 PM

~ w00d!!! ~
2,825 posts

it's not if u have stock coolings.. but it'll help a lot with proper cooling and increases oc ability. though im not sure whether the card would be able to last long, however, by then it's already time to get new gcard on the market. it'll void warranty of course.. but how long is the warranty anyway.
TSDead__Man
post Feb 24 2005, 11:00 PM

Who am I?
1,866 posts

no, it doesn't increase with proper cooling trust me, i've tried everything to increase core to over 450mhz, to no avail. i've got a 60mm cpu ehatsink with a 5000rpm fan on it, and some ramsinks cut from another 60mm heatsink, so the problem was never cooling.
siawgu
post Feb 24 2005, 11:11 PM

996 posts

btw... i'm not clear the guide but can guide me again to to vmod? wanna try...
pukarix
post Feb 24 2005, 11:53 PM

1,053 posts

-post deleted-

This post has been edited by pukarix: Jul 2 2012, 09:36 AM
soulfly
post Feb 25 2005, 12:40 AM

revving towards 10,000 rpm
15,894 posts

just follow the diagram/pic above, and start cranking up the mem and core speed
almostthere
post Feb 25 2005, 04:51 AM

Kepala abah ko
3,773 posts

Very similiar in terms of approach to the volt mod job made online last time at Adrian's Rojak Pot for 9600XT's. Anyway thanks for letting this little piece of tip be known to the rest since I've noticed a great interest in OC'ing the 9550XT
pukarix
post Feb 25 2005, 09:34 AM

1,053 posts

-post deleted-

This post has been edited by pukarix: Jul 2 2012, 09:38 AM
siawgu
post Feb 25 2005, 09:44 AM

996 posts

m... i really dun understand the pic... can tell me how to connect?
dotn3t
post Feb 25 2005, 09:51 AM

472 posts

If you see carefully, on the 1571 chip/thingy (I dono what's that called), you'll see a small green ] . That's what you're suppose to do in order to mod it. That means you're to connect both of the pins/points together.....right? At least I think so doh.gif
pukarix
post Feb 25 2005, 10:13 AM

1,053 posts

-post deleted-

This post has been edited by pukarix: Jul 2 2012, 09:38 AM
dotn3t
post Feb 25 2005, 10:18 AM

472 posts

QUOTE(pukarix @ Feb 25 2005, 10:13 AM)
connect then increase the voltage...connect using wire or wat?
Quoted from thread starter:

If you don't like Pencil Modding, you can simply solder a 10K Pot to Pin 7 and to the ground

I'm not sure if you can use wire to connect it....use a pencil would be the most cost-efficient biggrin.gif

I have a n00b question...how to check what's the 9550 Rev? ATITool? blush.gif

This post has been edited by dotn3t: Feb 25 2005, 10:20 AM
TSDead__Man
post Feb 25 2005, 02:43 PM

Who am I?
1,866 posts

Ok, I failed to think of newbies to volt modding. The voltage regulator has a feedback cicrcuit, which tells it wether it should send more or less volts. If you connect this pin to the ground, less voltage wil come to the feedback circuit fooling the voltage regulator into thinking there's not enoguh voltage supplied to the chip, since some of the voltage escapes vie the pencil track to the ground.

Oh, and one more thing, DON'T do it with wires, otherwise ALL the voltage will go to the graound, makes the voltage regulator think the core is not having enough power, and will send all 3.3v to the core, instantly fraing it. You have been warned.
TSDead__Man
post Feb 25 2005, 03:12 PM

Who am I?
1,866 posts

QUOTE(dotn3t @ Feb 25 2005, 10:18 AM)
Quoted from thread starter:
I'm not sure if you can use wire to connect it....use a pencil would be the most cost-efficient biggrin.gif
I have a n00b question...how to check what's the 9550 Rev? ATITool?  blush.gif
check the pcb board, on the front top side......it will say the rev.

This post has been edited by Dead__Man: Feb 26 2005, 02:02 AM
soulfly
post Feb 26 2005, 10:59 AM

revving towards 10,000 rpm
15,894 posts

don't forget.... a digital multimeter is a must biggrin.gif
HMMaster
post Feb 26 2005, 11:08 AM

10K Club
10,308 posts

dude, can host the pic at another site using hotclickable thumbnail? coz the text is quite hard to read...(ya...too long bcoz of the pic)
CHAILEE
post Feb 27 2005, 03:05 AM

Admin
928 posts

i will try if anyone did it successful
TSDead__Man
post Feb 27 2005, 03:41 AM

Who am I?
1,866 posts

dude, the mod is so easy, simply draw a line between at those green ] and measure the voltage, if too high, use a rubber to rub it away, if too low, draw another line.

but if it helps, i have done the mod, it was damn easy, and so has rx8, but hasn't reported here yet.
rx8
post Feb 27 2005, 04:45 AM

47 posts

QUOTE(Dead__Man @ Feb 27 2005, 03:41 AM)
dude, the mod is so easy, simply draw a line between at those green ] and measure the voltage, if too high, use a rubber to rub it away, if too low, draw another line.

but if it helps, i have done the mod, it was damn easy, and so has rx8, but hasn't reported here yet.
rx8 reporting....
i did the mod and manage to get it at 480/325 now
i only set the Vgpu to 1.45 volt.
regarding the mem i didnt mod yet.

i got around 3752 on 3Dmark03... on a 2.4Northwood core intel system 533fsb

Points to note: marking is done on the CHIP!! just use a mech pencil and draw 3-4 lines in between the pins and boot up n measure the voltage.

If u get around 1.45... u can start using Atitool to up the core and run 3Dmark03
up a bit n run, then again. till artifact appears then stop. then this will be the core speed for the voltage u put in. if u wanna to get more juice outta, just repeat the process. I guess its safe for core to be at 500Mhz since the Gecube 9600xt is using the same HSF.

Do it when u r feeling confident and comfortable...
try not to exceed 1.6V on stock fan.

Also, use the 3Dmark03 to check for artifact instead of Atitool

Its not really dangerous but be careful coz non of us will be responsible if u fry ur gfx card.

It better to read more about v moldding before doing it as wat dead_man and I did
have a complete understanding of wat u doing and going to expect then u do it.

May the force be will everyone. smile.gif

This post has been edited by rx8: Feb 27 2005, 04:49 AM

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0157sec    0.24    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 10:22 AM