Anyone auditioned the Velodyne CHT15Q?, Any other recommendations

ShenToN
post Jan 28 2010, 02:29 PM

181 posts

I never listen to SPL series b4. but my CHT 15Q is more than enough for my little living room smile.gif
htkaki
post Jan 28 2010, 02:46 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(shuto1 @ Jan 28 2010, 01:34 PM)
Thanks for the feedback. My room is medium sized. Do you think the CHT15Q would be over sized for a medium sized room? I live in a condo too! Ooops poor neighbours downstairs. Or should I consider the CHT12Q.

Thanks!
Poor? I think Taikoh Submersive's neighbour is poorer tongue.gif *lari cepat cepat*

If it is close to RM5K, then it is indeed a big jump there. The SPL1200U will easily outshine it for abt RM1.8K more.
zerorulez
post Jan 29 2010, 03:18 AM

1,251 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Jan 28 2010, 02:46 PM)
If it is close to RM5K, then it is indeed a big jump there. The SPL1200U will easily outshine it for abt RM1.8K more.
typo prob? no SVS promo... ? tongue.gif
ronaldjoe
post Jan 29 2010, 08:08 AM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Jan 28 2010, 01:09 PM)
should compare 15q with spl1200u
Listened to both of them together. SPL1200 was much better.
htkaki
post Jan 29 2010, 08:35 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(zerorulez @ Jan 29 2010, 03:18 AM)
typo prob? no SVS promo... ? tongue.gif
This thread is abt Velo lah, boss. So, no SVS talk tongue.gif

klimal
post Jan 29 2010, 10:19 AM

1,136 posts

How does the 15Q stack up against the SVS NSD series, specifically PC12?
TSshuto1
post Jan 31 2010, 12:44 AM

233 posts

thanks for all the replies. I think I'll seriously go consider the SPL 1200 Ultra then. Appreciate the comments!
htkaki
post Jan 31 2010, 01:30 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(klimal @ Jan 29 2010, 10:19 AM)
How does the 15Q stack up against the SVS NSD series, specifically PC12?
Since you asked abt it, I am not too sure as nvr did a side by side comparison.

Anyhow, I do have the CHT-12R FR graph. The 15Q should not be that far off.

And here is PB12-NSD (it is almost similar to PC12-NSD) :

thanks for all the replies. I think I'll seriously go consider the SPL 1200 Ultra then. Appreciate the comments!
Someone is selling his SPL1200Ultra. If you are interested, pls let me know.
ronaldjoe
post Jan 31 2010, 01:40 PM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Jan 31 2010, 01:30 PM)
Since you asked abt it, I am not too sure as nvr did a side by side comparison.

Anyhow, I do have the CHT-12R FR graph. The 15Q should not be that far off.

And here is PB12-NSD (it is almost similar to PC12-NSD) :

Someone is selling his SPL1200Ultra. If you are interested, pls let me know.
Tuakeh, who? Bryan or HS? Or someone else.
Looking at the graph, SVS NSD wins...but it's just FR graph.
I heard Velo, it's emphasised more on the 'hard bass' side, good on 30-40hz output.
The bass output sounds very hard to me.

May be...it's robin... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by ronaldjoe: Jan 31 2010, 02:15 PM
arremie
post Jan 31 2010, 01:44 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Jan 29 2010, 08:08 AM)
Listened to both of them together. SPL1200 was much better.
hsiengloong if u reading this...it is just what i felt with spl1200. for the price, it doesn't give the feeling that i had with pc13. spl1200 does not has enuf rumble that i like. so for movies i don't prefer spl1200. never listen to 15q before so cant comment much but i bet it's like my 10r but can go lower and rumble more.

all in all spl1200 is one heck of a sub but not to my liking. hopefully pc12+ is up to my liking since peasant like me can't afford pc13 whistling.gif
htkaki
post Jan 31 2010, 01:57 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Jan 31 2010, 01:44 PM)
hsiengloong if u reading this...it is just what i felt with spl1200. for the price, it doesn't give the feeling that i had with pc13. spl1200 does not has enuf rumble that i like. so for movies i don't prefer spl1200. never listen to 15q before so cant comment much but i bet it's like my 10r but can go lower and rumble more.

all in all spl1200 is one heck of a sub but not to my liking. hopefully pc12+ is up to my liking since peasant like me can't afford pc13 whistling.gif
arremie, ronaldjoe is one of the few who had auditioned both PC12+ and PC13-Ultra. Maybe he is able to tell more abt PC12+.
ronaldjoe
post Jan 31 2010, 01:59 PM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Jan 31 2010, 01:44 PM)

I just texted our taiko HS. He didn't reply me.
He is not back fr HK yet most probably. He still have 10 titles with me.
So I can say 'bad' thing on SPL1200. He won't notice. tongue.gif
Probably he gonna switch camp soon biggrin.gif

TS can always test his short-listed subs first before putting his hammer down.

Added on January 31, 2010, 2:10 pm
QUOTE(htkaki @ Jan 31 2010, 01:57 PM)
arremie, ronaldjoe is one of the few who had auditioned both PC12+ and PC13-Ultra. Maybe he is able to tell more abt PC12+.
I tot bro remy has already been to both taukeh Sapro's and taukeh Michael's pad...
He would know better than me. notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by ronaldjoe: Jan 31 2010, 02:10 PM
arremie
post Feb 1 2010, 12:36 AM

hmm...
4,865 posts

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Jan 31 2010, 01:59 PM)
I just texted our taiko HS. He didn't reply me.
He is not back fr HK yet most probably. He still have 10 titles with me.
So I can say 'bad' thing on SPL1200. He won't notice. tongue.gif
Probably he gonna switch camp soon biggrin.gif

TS can always test his short-listed subs first before putting his hammer down.

Added on January 31, 2010, 2:10 pm
I tot bro remy has already been to both taukeh Sapro's and taukeh Michael's pad...
He would know better than me.  notworthy.gif
not saying bad things about spl1200 bro. just saying its not my taste. nevertheless it's a great sub smile.gif

donno when i can make it to mike's pad. been to sapro's a couple of time. very close to my place.
htkaki
post Feb 1 2010, 11:51 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Feb 1 2010, 12:36 AM)
not saying bad things about spl1200 bro. just saying its not my taste. nevertheless it's a great sub smile.gif

donno when i can make it to mike's pad. been to sapro's a couple of time. very close to my place.
My take is that you prefers ported sub as it is able to rumble and a bit more tactile. Sealed sub runs clean and tight.

ronaldjoe
post Feb 1 2010, 12:02 PM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Feb 1 2010, 11:51 AM)
My take is that you prefers ported sub as it is able to rumble and a bit more tactile. Sealed sub runs clean and tight.
Sealed subs meant for stereophiles tongue.gif
arremie
post Feb 3 2010, 01:29 AM

hmm...
4,865 posts

stereophiles don't use sub tongue.gif
SUSHornyAngMoh
post Feb 3 2010, 09:26 AM

801 posts

Better still go for two sub! One ported & one sealed. U want Boom Boom Pow which rumble the ported sub will provided, u want tight ass..........ops tongue.gif I meant tight bass, the sealed sub will provided.

The best of both bass. rclxms.gif
anfieldude
post Feb 3 2010, 10:08 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Feb 3 2010, 01:29 AM)
stereophiles don't use sub tongue.gif
Actually, it depends. Most proper floorstanders typically go down to about 40Hz (-3dB). Actual musical instruments (bar the pipe organ) does not really go down that much lower than 30Hz. However, if u combine the floorstanders with a sub u actually will get +3dB down to 25Hz at least. What this gives u in essence is that the low end (<100Hz) boosted up by a few dB. Normally, this is refered as house curve (the typical frequency response curve being flat all the way meaning better). As a matter of preference, there are people who like it this way, that's why a sub to enhance the low frequencies.
ronaldjoe
post Feb 3 2010, 10:36 AM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(HornyAngMoh @ Feb 3 2010, 09:26 AM)
Better still go for two sub! One ported & one sealed. U want Boom Boom Pow which rumble the ported sub will provided, u want tight ass..........ops  tongue.gif  I meant tight bass, the sealed sub will provided.

The best of both bass. rclxms.gif
I always wonder how would it be evened out with one sealed and one ported sub.
htkaki
post Feb 3 2010, 08:33 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Feb 3 2010, 10:36 AM)
I always wonder how would it be evened out with one sealed and one ported sub.
AFAIK, it aint easy and you need to spend a lot of time to experiment.

I am thinking of experimenting it with AS-EQ1 hooking a sealed sub and a ported sub of near similar strength.

0.0284sec    0.52    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 09:01 AM