PSU Clicking Sound, Seasonic SS750HT
TSazrys
Jan 26 2010, 10:50 AM, updated 16y ago

Hi, need a confirmation. When I on my PC, thre is a sound in my PSU. Hard to explain how the sounds like but it's like a fan balde is hitting something. Or like a clicking sound. When I switch off the PSU, it's stop. The PSU fan blade did not hitting something coz it's still running when I switch off the PSU before it's stop completely and no sound. Only when PSU is active. The sound continous from I on the PSU until I switch off. This is new PSU I just bought and it's happened the first time I'm running it. First few minutes, the PSU running fine without any noise. Only after that it's start making noise. After few try, I never on the PSU agian coz afraid it will damaged other this such as mobo, ram etc.... Please advise me coz the shop said it's normal!!!
BigSaver
Jan 26 2010, 01:58 PM
Never heard clicking sound as normal in psu.better insist them on this matter more seriously!Or u can try open ur psu fan then try replace the fan.Can be ur fan prob only.but do check if open the fan will void warranty or not.
pitywoman
Jan 26 2010, 04:33 PM
i hav one question about psu too. why my psu fan doesnt spin when i plug in d power cord and switch on. but didnt attach with mobo or anything else. jus power cord to test it out. my psu is xigmatek nrp-pc502
Added on January 26, 2010, 4:33 pmor it only start to spin when heat detected?
This post has been edited by pitywoman: Jan 26 2010, 04:33 PM
TSazrys
Jan 26 2010, 06:21 PM

If i open the fan case, it will cause the warranty void is I'm not mistaken. Hmm.... why he said it's normal??? He promised me to repair the PSU.... That one should be exchange 1 to 1 right?? Not repair it coz the problem happened on the day i bought the PSU.
tungkw
Jan 26 2010, 07:02 PM

QUOTE(azrys @ Jan 26 2010, 06:21 PM) If i open the fan case, it will cause the warranty void is I'm not mistaken. Hmm.... why he said it's normal??? He promised me to repair the PSU.... That one should be exchange 1 to 1 right?? Not repair it coz the problem happened on the day i bought the PSU. Pressure them more if its less than 1 week. request for exchange or refund. Added on January 26, 2010, 7:05 pmQUOTE(pitywoman @ Jan 26 2010, 04:33 PM) i hav one question about psu too. why my psu fan doesnt spin when i plug in d power cord and switch on. but didnt attach with mobo or anything else. jus power cord to test it out. my psu is xigmatek nrp-pc502 Added on January 26, 2010, 4:33 pmor it only start to spin when heat detected? ATX PSU need to connect to MOBO & power sw for testing. This post has been edited by tungkw: Jan 26 2010, 07:05 PM
TSazrys
Jan 28 2010, 08:55 AM

QUOTE(tungkw @ Jan 26 2010, 08:02 PM) Pressure them more if its less than 1 week. request for exchange or refund. Has send back the PSU. He said will check what is the problem. If fan that , he will replace the fan. If electric component problem, he will exchange it. Hmm..... tired of waiting  . My new GC also can't test till now due to PSU.....
shinzhizu
Jan 28 2010, 11:07 AM
i only know my silverstone psu got zzz..little small sound sometime..they say is normal..not sure about seasonic.
kopitiamtard
Jan 28 2010, 11:36 AM

relax bro seasonic is a respectable brand....
sniper69
Jan 28 2010, 12:28 PM
QUOTE(azrys @ Jan 26 2010, 10:50 AM) Hi, need a confirmation. When I on my PC, thre is a sound in my PSU. Hard to explain how the sounds like but it's like a fan balde is hitting something. Or like a clicking sound. When I switch off the PSU, it's stop. The PSU fan blade did not hitting something coz it's still running when I switch off the PSU before it's stop completely and no sound. Only when PSU is active. The sound continous from I on the PSU until I switch off. This is new PSU I just bought and it's happened the first time I'm running it. First few minutes, the PSU running fine without any noise. Only after that it's start making noise. After few try, I never on the PSU agian coz afraid it will damaged other this such as mobo, ram etc.... Please advise me coz the shop said it's normal!!! that one usually happened on Silverstone PSU, not sure la for nowadays, /me used to kena this zzzzzzzzzzzz (am i right...?) sound..., no worries, it actually shows that PSU is normal and work and indicates that your power electricity in your house not "clean"...
syazwanreno
Jan 28 2010, 01:07 PM
QUOTE(sniper69 @ Jan 28 2010, 12:28 PM) that one usually happened on Silverstone PSU, not sure la for nowadays, /me used to kena this zzzzzzzzzzzz (am i right...?) sound..., no worries, it actually shows that PSU is normal and work and indicates that your power electricity in your house not "clean"...means? btw, i have an AVR and its clicking.... i think its regulating the voltage...
shinzhizu
Jan 28 2010, 02:02 PM
regulating the voltage? so is it good? coz most user might feel unconfortable when heard the sound..anyway..me 7/24 for 2.5yrs, still fine..
TSazrys
Jan 29 2010, 08:58 AM

Last night received new PSU from the seller.  Confirm my PSU damage. The sound came from the capacitor or transistor (can't remember clearly which one is damage). So, he give me a new one coz that can't be repair by him. If fan problem, he will repair himself. One more thing I'm shock when he told me is that i'm so lucky coz the PSU never explode.........!! So, be careful....... TQ all for suggestion and comment.