Astro B.yond V3.0, HD Content Available

AjkR06
post Mar 23 2010, 08:42 AM

that's me
1,548 posts

Demand picks up for HDTV

PETALING JAYA: The introduction of high-definition TV (HDTV) and lower prices of flat-panel sets have resulted in a boom in business for such electrical appliances.

Several electrical shop owners here said they were enjoying brisk sales with more customers wanting to experience “the thrill of HD transmission.”

Checks at several stores yesterday showed many customers enquiring about flat panel TVs, with several making purchases.

With the football World Cup starting in June, many manufacturers are also cashing in by introducing the latest HD TVs, such as LED TVs, in addition to the LCD units. 3D-ready units will also be available in the local market later this year.

MG Electrical Sdn Bhd supervisor Chua Eng Ka said since the launch of Astro B.yond last December, there had been a 20% to 30% increase in sales of LCD TVs in the store’s 10 Klang Valley outlets.

“This shows that the HD TV trend is fast catching on with customers. The previous slump in sales is over,” he added.

He said a 42-inch LCD TV was now priced at between RM3,000 and RM4,000, compared to over RM10,000 several years ago.

“The price also depends on the brand,” said Chua, whose shop is in Taipan, USJ.

He said people were drawn to HD TV because of its vibrant colours, cinematic surround sound and wider screen.

Philips Malaysia Sdn Bhd senior customer marketing manager Teoh Tze Ping said:

“There is surely a double-digit growth in terms of the sales figure of LCD TVs. The launch of Astro B.yond has certainly been a plus point.”

He said the lowest priced LCD was RM1,699 for a 32-inch unit, with the price going up to RM19,999 for a 56-inch set.

“Most customers are prepared to pay these sums to enjoy crystal clear pictures,” he added.

Bank manager Theresa Koh, 28 who was shopping at the Harvey Norman store at Ikano Power Centre here, grabbed a 42-inch LCD TV.

“I also want to watch the World Cup 2010 as if I was in South Africa,” she quipped.

An Astro All Asia Networks official confirmed that many enquiries were being made about Astro B.yond, with more turning in their old decoders for the new HD unit.

“More channels will be offered in HD in the future,” she added. Presently, Astro is broadcasting five channels in HD.

Credit to : theStar Online
AjkR06
post Mar 23 2010, 10:48 AM

that's me
1,548 posts

If TM wanna bid the EPL rights.., hmm.. first they first need to EXPAND THEIR COVERAGE TO WHOLE MALAYSIA... even in very very RURAL AREA like what Astro does...
AjkR06
post Mar 23 2010, 07:47 PM

that's me
1,548 posts

QUOTE(whatsupbro @ Mar 23 2010, 05:39 PM)
biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

RTM HD probably wont be available until mid or late 2012... biggrin.gif

HD world is just so damn expensive... to get a HD Beta Camera alone can buy me at least 2 proton cars.. biggrin.gif
wah... HD facilities are so expensive! What type of Proton car is it? Saga, Persona, Waja, Exora or Perdana tongue.gif
how about handycam that is HD ready? I saw so many handycam now that have HD resolution.. even in FULL HD for just if i'm not mistaken, around RM3000 something.... blink.gif or HD camera for television are different from that
AjkR06
post Mar 24 2010, 08:03 AM

that's me
1,548 posts

QUOTE(m_imrun @ Mar 24 2010, 04:31 AM)
Hehe..i hardly watch astro channel..but my mother often watch it. She doesnt care it is HD or what. I think astro should upscale all of the ch. and transmit it in 16:9 format. That would be better i think.
I don't expect astro for "convert" all their channel to HD...,
But if they willing to convert all channels to 16:9 will be enough...
come on, most television now are in 16:9...
if i'm not mistaken, in UK, BBC now only transmit in 16:9....

Added on March 24, 2010, 8:04 am
QUOTE(writesimply @ Mar 24 2010, 01:42 AM)
Somebody else said it before. The equipment outlay is a one-time cost (sans maintenance and tape costs). The real cost of HD is in fixing the makeup, wardrobe and sets. That's because the production has to be of movie-set quality. You made me look at the HDW790. Yeah, it costs US$60,000.

But if you're a production house or starting one, I think investing in about 4-6 RED One cameras are better at US$18,000 per body. You do have to rent the lenses but at least your footage can be up to 4K and higher than 4K Digital Cinema standards; of course you can shoot in HD too with RED One. Lots of films were shot with RED One cameras, including The Informant, The Book Of Eli, Knowing and District 9. So practically, you're shooting your project at a very high quality. AND you could buy a mount that, combined with two RED Ones, will enable you to shoot in 3D.

Anybody who's thinking of buying a Betacam HD is thinking about quality issues. Handycams are great for non-professionals or when you want a HD footage but not having the insurance to put a BetaHD cam in the danger zone. There's a slew of settings you can play with on the more expensive cameras than you could with a consumer grade camera. You get what you pay for.

By the way, I heard that the Astro site visit was canceled because of lack of attendance. I would suggest that the organizers ask Astro for a rescheduling prior to the World Cup HD broadcast can be scheduled. That way people can see how they handle live and taped feeds.
fuad
wow! thanks for your explaination... notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by AjkR06: Mar 24 2010, 08:04 AM
AjkR06
post Mar 24 2010, 03:55 PM

that's me
1,548 posts

QUOTE(aressandro10 @ Mar 24 2010, 12:30 PM)
wonder which one is worse... pillarbox in 16:9 tv or letterbox in 4:3 tv ? hmm.gif
The most "worse" is pillarbox in 16:9 tv....
it is because, many of us, are already used to lettterbox than pillarbox...
Until now, have you heard of people in Malaysia complaint to RTM/Media Prima for the movie/drama with 2 black bar on the top and the bottom of the screen??
AjkR06
post Mar 24 2010, 06:48 PM

that's me
1,548 posts

QUOTE(aressandro10 @ Mar 24 2010, 06:16 PM)
yeah .. you are probably right.. people are not complaning because human eyes are side by side so naturally wide rectangular picture is more comfortable than close to square picture... that's why they came out with the 16:9 ratio in the first place...
mathematically also, a 29" 4:3 tv produce a  bigger letterbox size (27" letterbox diagonal) than size of hypothetical 29" 16:9 tv pillar box (24" pillar box diagonal)...

http://www.cnet.com/1990-7874_1-6307377-1.html
but it has to be mentioned that market equivalent to 29" 4:3 tv is not 29" 16:9 tv but 42" 16:9 tv.... meaning most people in HDTV world use 42" tv as most people in CRT world use 29"....

if ASTRO to push pillar box to 42" HDTV user, they can still came out with a rather comfortable 34" pillarbox.. but if they push letterbox  to 29" CRT tv users, they wont be happy with the rather small 24" letterbox....

my first Byond experience is actually on a CRT tv and i cant see anything in the HD channel...luckily my HDTV arrived the next day..
these transition take time i guess... we are not there yet, but 4:3 ratio is getting irrelevant by the minute..
yes... it really takes a lot of time for transition from 4:3 to 16:9... smile.gif
what can we, as consumer can do now, is waiting until that happen...
i realize that the majority of Malaysians are still not ready for that transition...
BTW, I'm not using 42" TV... I'm using only 37" TV.... biggrin.gif

Hmm.., how about Pan and Scan technique..? I know, if use that technique, we will lost many parts of film....

Added on March 24, 2010, 6:51 pm
QUOTE(Qash-M @ Mar 24 2010, 06:45 PM)
Good enough? drool.gif
A sign that maybe astro wanna add Discovery HD to their HD channel line up...
sounds cool... biggrin.gif
finally can watch Mythbuster in HD....

This post has been edited by AjkR06: Mar 24 2010, 06:51 PM
AjkR06
post Mar 26 2010, 08:11 AM

that's me
1,548 posts

I'm still wondering when Astro wanna add all the HBO packs on their package... hmm.gif

http://www.starhub.com/promotions/tv/hbopa...ion50pcoff.html

Added on March 26, 2010, 8:17 am
QUOTE(DarkNite @ Mar 26 2010, 07:26 AM)
Next month Asstro got increase price or not? If got how much more must pay?
as I know now, starting next month, RM20 will be include to all the byond subscribers...

This post has been edited by AjkR06: Mar 26 2010, 08:17 AM
AjkR06
post Mar 26 2010, 09:24 PM

that's me
1,548 posts

QUOTE(azrin_kiko @ Mar 26 2010, 09:09 PM)
Example: see Sun DTH, they offer free dmt and dish and kaboom!! 2 million customers in 2 yrs!

I hope Astro launches the first HD channel in Malay...
Astro Ria HD maybe... biggrin.gif
but Malay programme HD sources are so limited I think...
maybe most of the programme will be upscale version...

Added on March 26, 2010, 9:26 pm
QUOTE(victorwan @ Mar 26 2010, 09:21 PM)
Actually it is true.

Sometimes people prefer FREE things then only you get good response.

At the end, the profit is from the subscriptions of all customers for long term.

If they give free decoder, dish etc, all these are small matters and can earn back from long term subscriptions.

That's business.
now astro are doing like that for byond subscribers isn't it?
We actually only "rent" the decoder from astro.... and astro will "tanggung" all the problem regarding the decoder.... smile.gif

This post has been edited by AjkR06: Mar 26 2010, 09:26 PM
AjkR06
post Mar 26 2010, 09:42 PM

that's me
1,548 posts

QUOTE(azrin_kiko @ Mar 26 2010, 09:32 PM)
I heard a romour that AF last concert they do it on HD...  hmm.gif

It's good that astro will take the burden of our b.yond decoder
yes... Astro said that they will shoot AF8 final concert in HD....
Now, AF8 already 2 weeks started... so, just 8 weeks leave...
will wait and see on the weeks 10....
AjkR06
post Mar 27 2010, 12:04 AM

that's me
1,548 posts

QUOTE(TallJustin @ Mar 26 2010, 11:51 PM)
It's all logistics isn't it. If they have crews at all games and can get the video back in time for edit then sure...but I don't know if they have the crews?

Added on March 26, 2010, 11:55 pm
Got a topic that needs covering?

Discovery HD, is that true? Where did you hear about that?
someone here mentioned that he/she saw the new advert of discovery hd world will coming soon to astro... smile.gif
but until now i haven't see any discovery hd advert on astro channels .... ohmy.gif

This post has been edited by AjkR06: Mar 27 2010, 12:06 AM
AjkR06
post Mar 27 2010, 07:29 AM

that's me
1,548 posts

QUOTE(dxjb @ Mar 27 2010, 02:20 AM)
to the person who posted about seeing discovery HD ad on Tv..
can u please share how the ad was..
seems that ur the only one who has seen it..
I watched discover all night long and didnt see the ad..maybe i missed it
hope u can retell how the ad was n what it said
TallJustin cant confirm it since he's on astro tech team..

Hope astro dont april fool joke us all on april 1st..huhuhu

Added on March 27, 2010, 3:38 amJust saw a Malaysian Hockey Match on Astro Arena
It was in letterbox mode
Kinda funny watching hockey as if watching movie
wah...
it is live telecast or recorded?
I think, astro should plan to become the first Malaysia broadcaster who braodcast in pure 16:9 SD Channel...
and if can, try to use H.264/AVC compression... sure the PQ will be crystal clear (even it is not HD).... laugh.gif

Added on March 27, 2010, 7:30 am
QUOTE(smileguy @ Mar 27 2010, 07:28 AM)
astro already has a Astro Variety on Miotv I think, by the way Discovery HD seems to be a April Fool Joke cos I too did not see any adverts. hmm.gif
I wonder now, is that Astro have share in MIO TV? I saw many astro channels on their package line-up.... whistling.gif

This post has been edited by AjkR06: Mar 27 2010, 07:30 AM
AjkR06
post Mar 27 2010, 03:38 PM

that's me
1,548 posts

QUOTE(Arlington @ Mar 27 2010, 02:26 PM)
Astro can't transmit in native 16:9 SD formats because the old decoders can't handle the signal.

The best they can do is shoot in 16:9 and then add the letterbox to make it 4:3

If you own a B.yond box you could then use the zoom feature to make it fit a 16:9 screen.

Oops....  I forgot, because people have such a desire to fill every inch of their tv screen no matter what, the zoom feature is no longer available!

cry.gif
I think old decoder can handle 16:9 signal....
because in Installation setup menu if i'm not mistaken, have TV aspect ratio choice..,
4:3 or 16:9...
AjkR06
post Mar 27 2010, 10:28 PM

that's me
1,548 posts

so, no discovery HD la this 1 April.... cry.gif

AjkR06
post Mar 27 2010, 10:51 PM

that's me
1,548 posts

QUOTE(RAMChYLD @ Mar 27 2010, 10:47 PM)
This stinks...

Go back into cancel Astro mode. If you don't give use what we want, what for we keep our subscription?
if i'm not mistaken, if we cancel our byond subscription before 1 year we use it, RM300 will be charged to our bill, isn't it?? blink.gif

AjkR06
post Mar 27 2010, 11:17 PM

that's me
1,548 posts

QUOTE(RAMChYLD @ Mar 27 2010, 10:57 PM)
If they want to play this kind of game, I'll just stop paying my bills again.

They might as well stop advertising Byond. The service is so feeble, even India, Indonesia and even Vietnam and Cambodia has bested them in terms of content. I was going to keep the service because at least one of the four channels in my wishlist has been granted. Turns out that it was a mistake. Turns out that I made the mistake of believing that they will change...
yes... i'm also feel weird for astro situation now...
it that really hard for them to bring more channels like HBO Packs (Signature, family, Hits).., Natgeo Wild, Fox channel, BBC Packs so on...
or maybe that kind of channels have a lots of "xx" contains that is "unsuitable" for Malaysians and MCMC did not approve it hmm.gif
AjkR06
post Mar 27 2010, 11:19 PM

that's me
1,548 posts

QUOTE(RAMChYLD @ Mar 27 2010, 11:17 PM)
Uh huh. Why does TM IPTV has the BBC packs then?
hmm.gif only astro can answer that.....

AjkR06
post Mar 27 2010, 11:32 PM

that's me
1,548 posts

QUOTE(RAMChYLD @ Mar 27 2010, 11:23 PM)
They don't even have to launch it, signal already available in Asia, they just need to receive it and retransmit it. Problem is, they don't want to for reasons beyond our comprehension. Apparently how many hundred people beg also they're not budging (as happened with BBCE. Petition form also they try to ignore, but bring in Granada to try to pacify the viewers. Doesn't work for me, Granada dun have Red Dwarf and Weakest Link)
Someone else in the forum say it's because Astro has disagreement with BBC's terms and conditions...
If like that, I think that maybe astro wanna make exclusive right with BBC..
but BBC don't want to do like that
Only Astro can broadcast the BBC Channels...
like what they do with HBO, Star TV, ESPN so on....
AjkR06
post Mar 28 2010, 11:39 PM

that's me
1,548 posts

QUOTE(Arlington @ Mar 28 2010, 08:22 PM)
Some local productions are already shooting in HD.  But these are the ones from producers that actually care what their content looks like.  Not your typical Malay dramas or telemovies.

Most of the dramas filmed for Citra are now at least shot in HD.

Sepuluh (Citra), Ghost 2 (8TV), Ampang Medical (ntv7) were all shot in HD using cameras like Sony EX3 or Panasonic P2.

But they're all edited in Apple Pro-Res codec (an intermediate codec - "not full HD") and then down converted to SD for final delivery.

No one edits in full HD because it's bloody massive.  You need sustain read rates of about 200MB / sec.  To get that you need full on expensive RAID systems.

Nothing made for television in Malaysia is mixed in 5.1 surround.

Nothing is delivered to any station in any HD format.

The delivery of HD content would have to be on HDCam tape and there are only a couple of HDCam recorders in Malaysia at the moment, and no one can currently encode surround audio into the necessary Dolby-E format to be placed on the HDCam tape.  Only Singapore has Dolby E-encoders / decoders.  I'm not even sure if Astro has the encoders / decoders yet.

When Astro says they need to buy HD cameras etc... they're not talking about buying the cheap H.264 codec cameras, like Ex3, P2 or RED, they're talking about buying broadcast level CineAlta HDCam cameras such as those used to film the new Star Wars.

It's older technology, but the codecs are truly lossless,  and these cameras are easily US$100,000 and more, so it will take some time for Astro to shoot completely in HD and will be a huge investment to shoot something with multi-cameras like AF in HD.  It will also have a huge budget impact on everything from make-up / set-design / audio / video recording / audio / video editing and post-production.  Essentially it will make everything more expensive.  If Astro / Television stations don't pay more for the shows (quite likely)  the shows will end up in HD but they will look and sound worse than they do now.

I see a lot of people here asking for Chinese dramas in HD.  Currently I don't want to see that stuff in HD because I can already see so many problems in SD resolution / Cheap sets / cheap lighting / bad audio recording.  HD resolution will just take me out of the show completely and I won't be able to enjoy it all.

cool.gif
I understand now..
actually production house in Malaysia have HD facilities (even cheap one)..
but the problem is our TV station, isn't it?

For TVB Drama in HD, I haven't see it in "true" HD resolution..., just converted one... RMVB version.
But I can feel the PQ and sound quality was very different from our local drama (especially malay drama)....
I love "true" widescreen" picture... brows.gif
AjkR06
post Mar 29 2010, 08:08 AM

that's me
1,548 posts

QUOTE(apexg2 @ Mar 29 2010, 08:02 AM)
erm, i think film people have start their way to produce HD drama or film coz now they have their place to sell it...and i think maybe someone have planned it now...but, if the picture quality is good but the storyline bad, wut for hd????want to see malay drama, girl crying in HD ar?haha...then raining...
oh my...... notworthy.gif
even i'm Malay...
I myself feel most of Malay Drama have no quality...
only love, love, love, story about rich people (datuk,datin,tan sri)
and the most important part that frequently have in Malay Drama is EAT, EAT, EAT OVER AND OVER AGAIN..
haish.................... shocking.gif

This post has been edited by AjkR06: Mar 29 2010, 08:10 AM

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.0795sec    0.27    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 04:54 PM