Help! How to Overclocl ram ?

TSProGamMer
post Jan 24 2010, 01:14 AM, updated 16y ago

19 posts

Ok, here is my problem. I will just make it simple and short so that those who are willing to help me can understand

Now, i just bought a pair of high proformance ram, CROSAIR DOMINATOR 4GB 1066MHZ DDR2 KIT, to be exact. The problem here is that, why does my system only read the ram as 800MHZ? when i bought it, it says 1066MHZ. I'm confused here.

Now is there a way to pump the ram all the way to 1066MHZ ?

Can some one kindlly help me ?

The system that i'm currentlly running on right now is.

Intel C2D E800 3.0GHZ
Asus GTX260
Crosair Dominator 2GB X2 and Crosair Dominator 4GBx2 = 6GB
Win 7 Ultimate 64Bit
Asus Striker 2 Formula Mobo

haf 932
post Jan 24 2010, 07:00 PM

102 posts

try set the ram speed to 533mhz manually in the bios.i cant tell u which option/tab coz i nvr use ur board.dun forget to up the ram voltage to 2.0/2.1v.
hafizul88
post Feb 24 2010, 04:22 AM

= Rebuilding =
1,430 posts

play with the latency
faizal87
post Feb 24 2010, 03:12 PM

piko piko pong pong
1,384 posts

got a lot of tutorial,google it.
basic thing is increase ur ram mhz
like 800mhz to 1066mhz
but the key of success is depends on the chip inside the ram.
value ram can oc a bit,higher than that may result BSOD

SORRY
i thought u wanna oc ur ram
in ur case,just change setting in da bios rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by faizal87: Feb 24 2010, 03:14 PM
saturn85
post Feb 25 2010, 12:29 PM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

QUOTE(haf 932 @ Jan 24 2010, 07:00 PM)
try set the ram speed to 533mhz manually in the bios.i cant tell u which option/tab coz i nvr use ur board.dun forget to up the ram voltage to 2.0/2.1v.
can 1.8v run the RAM at 1066mhz stable?
-pWs-
post Feb 25 2010, 12:34 PM

8,545 posts

You need to adjust it.
1. Speed
2. Timing
3. vDimm

Use CPU-z and look for SPD tab. It will show the details that Corsair have programmed.

You can always attach that SPD tab of CPU-z here so that we can help you in details.

Hope it helps you. smile.gif

-pWs-
saturn85
post Feb 25 2010, 12:47 PM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

QUOTE(-pWs- @ Feb 25 2010, 12:34 PM)
You need to adjust it.
1. Speed
2. Timing
3. vDimm

Use CPU-z and look for SPD tab. It will show the details that Corsair have programmed.

You can always attach that SPD tab of CPU-z here so that we can help you in details.

Hope it helps you. smile.gif

-pWs-
i have some questions here, the ram take example as above, corsair dominator 2x2GB 1066MHZ DDR2.

1066mhz is the ram stock speed right?
can 1.8v (stock voltage for DDR2 ram) run the ram at 1066mhz stable?
or have to increase the voltage to 2.0v/2.1v to run the ram at 1066mhz?
-pWs-
post Feb 25 2010, 02:38 PM

8,545 posts

Open up CPU-z SPD tab. The answer is there. smile.gif

-pWs-
z4520ft
post Feb 26 2010, 02:52 PM

154 posts

take a look at your bios...there should be a menu to set the ram timing. just set it to auto or manual 1066
saturn85
post Mar 1 2010, 01:06 PM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

QUOTE(ProGamMer @ Jan 24 2010, 01:14 AM)
Ok, here is my problem. I will just make it simple and short so that those who are willing to help me can understand 

Now, i just bought a pair of high proformance ram, CROSAIR DOMINATOR 4GB 1066MHZ DDR2 KIT, to be exact. The problem here is that, why does my system only read the ram as 800MHZ? when i bought it, it says 1066MHZ. I'm confused here. 

Now is there a way to pump the ram all the way to 1066MHZ ?

Can some one kindlly help me ? 

The system that i'm currentlly running on right now is.

Intel C2D E800 3.0GHZ
Asus GTX260
Crosair Dominator 2GB X2 and Crosair Dominator 4GBx2 = 6GB
Win 7 Ultimate 64Bit
Asus Striker 2 Formula Mobo
can TS show the picture of SPD tab in CPUZ?

0.2475sec    0.46    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 12:35 PM