kucingfight
post Jun 8 2011, 08:06 PM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(mois @ Jun 8 2011, 10:15 AM)
PB islamic bond is closed?  sad.gif  Then the only choice is pb fixed income. From morningstar report, the performance for PB Fixed income is around 6-7% which is equivalent to ASW2020 (6.34% in 2010). Is there any good bond funds from public series? Public bond and public islamic bond are closed as i heard  sad.gif
There are only a few good bonds from PM/PB. mainly PIBOND,PBOND,PBFI,PBIBF. The rest of the bonds, are not worth looking into,underperforming

The best option u hav now is only PBFI, which is not bad actually
kucingfight
post Jun 9 2011, 12:38 AM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(debbieyss @ Jun 8 2011, 11:20 PM)
Maybe i'm not suitable in investment, all consultant i met only know how to make me invest more, brokers also like that, client ask to sell but never know the price can go higher, the broker never consult also, just sell for the client.

Now i want to get an honest UT consultant, also like that... I treat you honest, you also treat me honest mar...

Sick lah...
debbie, i'm looking from a neutral ground

a) partly you are to be blamed
- if u don feel confident/mis informed of a fund, don't invest until ur ready n know where ur putting ur money in. no one's forcing u
- technically, he's not 'forcing' u to invest THAT much, probably u fell for the 'promised' returns. There's no SUCH THING of a that. it's always well written, risk of NAV goin down/up
- there are always honest sharing in this forum of recommended/good records funds here. (PEF,PRSF etc)
- u can't blame him , it's ur choice to invest. (off course partly the 'pushing' factor from him)

b) agent
- as mentioned, he's only interested in reaping monthly income for himself. Trust me, most agents do not bother to inform/educate clients on buying/switching funds when market condition changes

I've gone tru some bad agents b4 (partly i was a noob lasttime). And thinking back, i got really mad of not advising me to switch on market condition. Having said that, i'm more educated on UT and shares (and still learning) and so far, my portfolio is quite ok so to speak.

There's no shortcut. u hav to sit down , understand and analyze UTs (diff geographical/holding/sector) invested in. Trust me, u will be better informed once u get hold of the whole thing

This post has been edited by kucingfight: Jun 9 2011, 12:40 AM
kucingfight
post Jun 13 2011, 04:51 PM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(milentechie @ Jun 13 2011, 03:47 PM)
WTA
What is the best bond fund currently still open under Public Mutual? What you think of Public Select Bond? I need to have an option to park all my equities funds when the market is experiencing serious downtrend.
Tks.
as for now, 'best' bond fund opened for investment is PBFI
kucingfight
post Jul 14 2011, 11:10 AM

5,784 posts

There are some better/equal alternatives out there. Check out funds like Kenanga Growth and Syariah Growth. best of all, it's only 1% sales charge now. promo from fundsupermart. not all PM/PB funds are performing well...
kucingfight
post Jul 26 2011, 01:07 PM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(stevo @ Jul 26 2011, 12:12 PM)
I would like to park some idle money into bonds... what are your thoughts on:-

1. PUBLIC ISLAMIC INFRASTRUCTURE BOND FUND
2. PUBLIC ISLAMIC STRATEGIC BOND FUND
in short, the only bond fund worth investing in now is Public Bank Fixed income.. PBFI
kucingfight
post Aug 2 2011, 08:58 PM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(omgnopls8 @ Aug 2 2011, 08:52 PM)
Ok thx.. any opinion on this 2 fund?
nope, not recommended..better stick to older funds that have proven itself, PGF, PIITIKAL, PRSF etc

kucingfight
post Aug 8 2011, 01:42 PM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(mois @ Aug 8 2011, 12:31 PM)
Those who want to switch to bonds, can consider Public Strategic Bond fund or Public Sukuk.
better of with PBFI (public bank fixed income). Public Sukuk is new, and untested, better stay away from it first
kucingfight
post Aug 9 2011, 01:37 PM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(monsta2011 @ Aug 9 2011, 12:22 PM)
Ok I got it  notworthy.gif it's the switching incurs no SC fee  biggrin.gif

Added on August 9, 2011, 12:42 pmBy the way, if a fund has a historical 3 yr return of 35%, to get the p.a. return is it calculated this way (∛1.35 - 1) x100% = 10.52% p.a.?
Compound Annual Growth Rate (CAGR)
kucingfight
post Aug 9 2011, 08:55 PM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(kabal82 @ Aug 9 2011, 08:37 PM)
What u mean by expectation?

Rite now 29 years... My initial investment probably start small RM5000, monthly invest RM500... probably hope to gain 100k in 10++years... possible or just wishful thinking? tongue.gif

This is what my agent advised me to do if thru direct debit
yeap why not, my calculator tells me even for a conservative bond fund, assuming 7% return, 0.25% service charge . @ 10years (initial 5000, monthly 500) , u would have accumulated around RM96,852
kucingfight
post Aug 9 2011, 11:45 PM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(mois @ Aug 9 2011, 11:25 PM)
The guy over fund investment corner say reopen.  sweat.gif

My biggest mistake last time is to lump sum quite a big amount into smallcap because limited chances to buy and it is the best fund available from PM (i did quite alot of research on it). After reaching -15%, switch half of the amount back to strategic bond fund.  sweat.gif

Quite regret didnt follow senior's advice on "dont put all eggs in one basket".
yeah me too, rode on it, when Psmallcap opened..n i quickly dump as much as i have during the opening..relatively not muchla 5k, n now it's spiraling down n down..only one making money is PBFI, PBIBF..and i put some in PSKF
kucingfight
post Aug 10 2011, 12:25 AM

5,784 posts

Yes, im roughly on 50% bond - 50%equity

bond= PBIBF,PBFI,PSKF,RHB islamic bond
equity= Kenanga Growth (low charge n no dividend, which is good)

my underwater UT (invested blindly without financial education lasttime) - PCSF, PIADF, PFEREF, PIABF..not much la 1k each

still thinking whether to avg down on Psmallcap..kinda had bad experience with it now haha
kucingfight
post Aug 11 2011, 08:51 AM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(echoesian @ Aug 11 2011, 12:06 AM)
I don't see any news that are talking about the reopening of SmallCap fund for investment
if u hav PM online, u can c it
kucingfight
post Aug 20 2011, 09:38 PM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(cheahcw2003 @ Aug 20 2011, 09:17 PM)
The economy fundamental still weak, prefer to park in Bond 1st, and wait for the opportunity.
yeap agree with u..park most of my funds @ bond

0.0848sec    0.85    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 08:55 PM