QUOTE(semerah padi @ Jun 23 2011, 04:04 PM)
Added on June 23, 2011, 4:25 pmThks your info-Bonescythe.
Objective-
Iam 29 Year old, planning to saving for my children education for 10-15 years or for my retrenchment.
Public Mutual v2, PB/Public series
Jun 23 2011, 05:40 PM
12,534 posts Joined: Mar 2009 From: Penang, KL, China, Indonesia.... |
QUOTE(semerah padi @ Jun 23 2011, 04:04 PM) Added on June 23, 2011, 4:25 pmThks your info-Bonescythe. Objective- Iam 29 Year old, planning to saving for my children education for 10-15 years or for my retrenchment. |
Jun 24 2011, 12:57 PM
QUOTE(Bonescythe @ Jun 24 2011, 12:33 PM) You too 'expert' play shares already. Basically buying mutual fund is like buying shares, just instead looking at individual companies, you have to look at macroeconomics, in terms of countries, sectors & type of instrument. |
Jun 28 2011, 12:44 PM
Jul 1 2011, 02:20 PM
Jul 4 2011, 09:58 AM
QUOTE(semerah padi @ Jul 3 2011, 11:04 PM) Dear all, It has been answered, you just want to ignore the previous answer as it is not definitive. So here to make it more clear to you.any answer for my q? c) Have any limitation for fund price? because like p ittakal lunch price RM 0.95 (1995) and end of 2010 until Feb 2011 the price range RM 0.96-0.98 after declaration /distributions devidend the price down back to RM0.92-0.890? how to maximize profit? d) If i invest to PB using EPF lump sump or every 3 month example PIEF start now 2011 and did't sell the unit until 15 years later without worry the price movement ? can i get profit? p/s advice me ? 1. There is NO limitation to the fund price. The price depend on the investment return and MINUS any dividends given. To maximize profit, choose dividend reinvestment option. 2. If you buy every 3 months now and sell 15 years later, you will likely to get profit, BUT how much profit is NOT guaranteed. There may be a slight chance that you may suffer temporary LOSSES as well. It depends on the Malaysia and world economy. So there is no guaranteed answers. |
Jul 27 2011, 03:54 PM
Jul 29 2011, 12:47 PM
QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jul 28 2011, 01:57 PM) Good ol M'sia elek T-bills like that right? and even inflation-protected bonds/bills? For me I use the rate of 10 Yr MGS (Malaysian Govt Securities) which is currently about 3.9%. Good good 12mths FD rate. Domo arigato sensei Xuzen-sama You can get this data from your brokerage firm, under fixed Income category. |
Aug 3 2011, 06:28 PM
QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Aug 3 2011, 01:52 PM) Each vehicle has its own pros & cons lor. Umm.. if you read in the annual report of the mutual funds you will see that, the trading/administrative costs are already charged to you. So in mutual funds, those with heavy turnover (ie. >1), you can expect to add another 2% as brokerage fees. Use a spreadsheet and do a head to head calc eg. Stocks - to & fro transaction cost is about 1%+ Mutual funds - buying is about 3.6%+ + switching $25 That is why I often select funds which have turnover not more than 2. otherwise the manager is trading and not investing for you. Trading costs are not transparent, but it is better to ensure that the fund have policy of not accepting soft commissions. otherwise the trading costs will be relatively higher. |
Aug 4 2011, 09:49 AM
QUOTE(monsta2011 @ Aug 3 2011, 07:00 PM) Turnover is not management fees, it is rather brokerage fees. It is how much value of your stocks are being traded. Each time a stock is being traded, the brokerage will take a small cut.Turnover = Total stocks traded / total stock holdings QUOTE(koinibler @ Aug 3 2011, 10:15 PM) first would like to thanks wongmunkeong again for comparison of service charge between stock and public mutual fund. Well that is my view only, if turnover is >2, then that means twice the amount of stocks are being traded compared to the holdings. This will incur brokerage, stamp duty and also opportunity costs.I'm also quite confuse on gark turnover statement. QUOTE(howszat @ Aug 3 2011, 10:47 PM) That's one person's own way of looking at things which may not be appropriate for other people. Well luckily most of PM funds are <2, that's is why I am invested with them. Some bond funds can have turnover as low as 0.1. However there are some funds which is secretly milking brokerage costs to their related investment bank, especially those without soft commission policy. The big picture is this - are you happy with the fund returns in relation to your objectives? If you are, you probably don't need those rules. If you are not, you have to decide whether those rules are meaningful/applicable in your case or not. Trading or investing is an irrelevant measure - it's the end result that counts. High turnover can affect the following: 1. High brokerage costs. You can see the total amount of brokerage cost in the annual report and which brokerage they transact with. (90% back to their own investment bank.. 2. Soft commission policy. Some of the soft commission charged by the brokers are more like additional (related) perks to the fund manage but charged to the fund holders. Perks includes, furniture, computers, software, magazine subscribtion, overseas travel for meeting etc etc. 3. Opportunity costs. If a fund with such large holdings trade too often they usually cannot get good prices in the market due to the volume they are trading, and they usually have to buy up. (Stock trader's should know this Not all high turnover fund is bad, but those with the highest turnover usually do have a more tepid results. QUOTE(lowyat2011 @ Aug 3 2011, 10:22 PM) Thanks for all the blogs and feedback about UT. It is never too late. But start up slowly but surely as you might put your capital in a risk that you cannot afford. Generally you might want to move to safer UT as you age, but... if you are wealthy and do not need the income for 5-10 years or so, by all means invest slightly more aggressive. I knew I am a bit behind time of invest UT, I notice some forumer start investing in the early 20s... and me (40s+) Thanks again. This post has been edited by gark: Aug 4 2011, 12:11 PM |
Aug 4 2011, 01:17 PM
QUOTE(toenexx @ Aug 4 2011, 12:29 PM) Right I know what she did but I thought she wouldn't do that to me after all her advises to me before... and plus I was thinking of investing more through her seriously since I'm thinking of getting out my money from ASB since it's not syariah compliant, and also got EPF money as well. Thanks man I shall do that though I don't know if Public Mutual gonna treat my case - small fish only :-( If you have signed the re-purchase form, then there is nothing much PM can do for you. looks like the agent wants to withdraw and reinvest all the money for you so that he/she can have slice of the fee.It is up to you if you want to reinvest back to PM or choose other funds since you already have cash in your hands. I started with PM many years ago, and now is increasingly moving to other DIY online fund distributors as I find most agents is actually more annoying (hard selling) rather than helpful (but there are few gems of agent albeit far far in between), so the extra 3.5%-4.5% sales charge difference is not worth it. This post has been edited by gark: Aug 4 2011, 01:21 PM |
Aug 4 2011, 02:14 PM
Aug 5 2011, 01:29 PM
QUOTE(howszat @ Aug 4 2011, 10:57 PM) You are over-complicating, and over-simplifying things at the same time. However.. so far my UT's with the least turnover tends to have higher NETT return to me, so that is why it is one of the items I am monitoring, before I decide to invest in a future UT. High brokerage costs, commissions, opportunity costs are irrelevant. You don't need to know what they are. All you need to know is the NETT return to you. Who cares if the costs are high when the returns are even higher? Don't focus on the wrong things. If a fund is trading in and out, it can show they have a high conviction in their picks. It takes real conviction to buy when oversold and sell when overpriced. It takes real conviction to do what is profitable when the opportunity presents itself. To say trading in and out implies no conviction is just over-simplifying things. Anyway if you choose to ignore the turnover data, it is your right to do so. This post has been edited by gark: Aug 5 2011, 01:30 PM |
Aug 6 2011, 12:57 PM
QUOTE(lowyat2011 @ Aug 5 2011, 07:10 PM) Hi kparam77, thanks for your recommendation and I'm aware of the RISK, 1/3 of EPF a/c 1 to invest sound fine to me and should invest a bit aggressive... since the balanced fund at about the same as EPF's return. If you ask me, EPF has been consistently performing on par with other AAA rated bond fund. In fact I use my EPF as my 'bond' portion of my holdings. So IMHO, you do need any more bond fund, just invest a suitable amount in equity funds. Also remember to diversify properly as purchasing 3-4 Malaysian equity funds is not equal to proper diversification.The amount of bond fund you hold depends on the risk tolerance and also your age. If you feel you are not able to tolerate high risk, then perhaps putting more of your investments in 'bond' like instruments. You need to have a proper asset allocation though out before you proceed, and if you are a passive investor, rebalance every 6 months will do greatly. I am targeting 30% bond, 20% Malaysia, 30% Asia Pacific ex. Japan, 10% Global & 10% commodities. Added on August 6, 2011, 1:01 pm QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Aug 6 2011, 08:48 AM) Dude, i'd rather spend my time and effort TEACHING / COACHING U how to "fish" than just be your agent. I'm not into Public Mutual as a sales agent but more of lowering costs + access to data You got the right stuff to be a good agent mah, you are honest in helping those in need since this is not your 'rice bowl'. You should give it a go, think of it as charity work loh, by giving them 'rebate' on thier fees. This post has been edited by gark: Aug 6 2011, 01:02 PM |
Aug 13 2011, 09:52 AM
QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Aug 13 2011, 12:57 AM) Bro - no point getting angry over an investment, if it's not performing, cut loss. You might eek out some profits from averaging down, but overall most of PM non Malaysian funds is performing below benchmark. You get better performance form other oversea based funds..... BTW, my friend's wife who went in into PCSF early 2008 (as in 1st quarter or so), and kept on doing TwinVest (DCA+VCA) until now - she's making profits leh. So.. er.. it's not just the fund selection which is important, it's also one's entry & exit plans |
Aug 13 2011, 02:36 PM
QUOTE(David83 @ Aug 13 2011, 02:26 PM) And both of these, Australia and Natural resources are hand in hand dropping like a rock.... Buy if you think iron, nickle, copper, oil etc is going up in the future...This post has been edited by gark: Aug 13 2011, 02:38 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0457sec
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 11:06 PM |