HTC HD2 Official Discussion Thread V2 !, Tips, Tricks and Links on First Page !

benny888
post Jan 14 2010, 08:28 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(zaizu @ Jan 14 2010, 04:36 PM)
hi
spare battery HD2
anyone knows where can get spare battery Momax for RM 69.00

i tried one lowyat seller - but he said no stock

any info would be much appreciated
This battery only 1000mAH - are you sure you want a lower wattage ; original is 1300 mAH

Added on January 14, 2010, 8:33 pm
QUOTE(lucklyghost @ Jan 14 2010, 06:17 PM)
Dear all sifu,

I m a new userful on HD 2, but i got few question want to ask.

-Facebook after login then go to personal profile got saw the Wall Topic, but i got one Wall posted and actually got few of ppl reply my post already , but in the facebook application unable to see others ppl comments. Any idea to fix it ?

-Currently most of you all using what ROM?
-XDAdevelopers got any NIce and super Fast Rom?

-Anyone got buy a External Battery or changed to 1500Mah battery?
-I try to add my Gmail in HD 2, but unable to do it , keep popout username and password wrong......

-Any Games introduce?
I have tried Miri, Dutty, Laurentius, Topix, Tom Codon and a few others . So far I find Topix 1.3 the best and it is very stable. I don't seem to have any bugs at all with it. I have been on this rom a week already and very happy with it. The storage memory released free is 234MB vs average 150 t0 180MB for the other cooked roms.

Gmail: Most probably you type in wrongly username or password. Gmail ( same as Yahoo ) - the activation and acceptance of your user/password is instant and your email setup immediate

Added on January 14, 2010, 8:38 pm
QUOTE(volcane @ Jan 14 2010, 08:13 PM)
How to verified that the hotfixed applied? I try chk Remore Program can find the hotfix humber and when I try to apply again it give HotFix not for your device.  blink.gif
When you run the exe file on your phone - after is complete it will softrest. This hotfix the application type is slightly longer than normal and it will overwrite the older hotfix ( if you have applied). While the hotfix is being applied sametime you can do other tasks on the phone. It will prompt you to softrest when complete

This post has been edited by benny888: Jan 14 2010, 08:38 PM
benny888
post Jan 14 2010, 10:58 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(volcane @ Jan 14 2010, 10:47 PM)

It auto soft reset by itself, that why I am checking does anyone having the same issue. By right should be able to reapply the hotfix, anyhow now try downloading from another server and try again.
NO : it will show you a prompt that it will softreset

benny888
post Jan 15 2010, 12:14 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(pikaphebat @ Jan 14 2010, 11:58 PM)
Hi guys, want to ask if anyone know is the HTC HD2 an international warranty? I have a Singapore set that im using now but thinking of selling it as WinMo still frustrates me. Love the screen though.

Am thinking of selling but want to check if warranty are supported in Malaysia or not. Looking to sell at around 2000-2200 . Think can sell?
Perhaps you can enlightened us on your frustrations. I could be biased but I prefer Windows ( though it had some weakness ). I'd been "playing " with PDA phones since the FIRST day it was available - yes more than 15 years already. So much so , buying and changing pda phones is already a expensive hobby. Friends say I am a phone addict - I can say you name it, most probably 9/10 I have used it.

My personal experiences with Symbian ( all versions till s60 v5 ) , iphones, blackberry, WM ( till ver 6.5 ) : I still find WM serves my needs best.

Spore sets if you sent in - only HTC ( KL) NOT SIS will entertain. You need to show official receipt purchase - a standard service charge fee I think around RM 80 is charged once your unit taken in. It is similar to iphones/ipod Touch ( even with warranty ) - whether your unit can repair or not this service charge is payable

benny888
post Jan 15 2010, 10:42 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(volcane @ Jan 15 2010, 09:16 AM)
Flashing this will not cause loss of data. Check v1 for details.

BTW the new hot fix improves the sms speed tremendously,  but did not solve the sms stuck at outbox issue. Still experience stuck sms this morning.
I got my HD2 ( local SIS set ) on 26 Nov. I never had SMS stuck in outbox since 26 Nov till now. Only one SMS was stuck in outbox while I just reached Spore when I sent the SMS to my son ; I discount it off as network issues as subsequent SMS were sent out immediately and all my receipients than had acknowledge. I was particularly concerned about this issue as I'd read in XDA especially UK and some Sporeans users facing this issue. This was one of the first test I did beside the camera "pinkish" tinge issue.

MY daily SMS daily runs average 30 /day and SMS are sent overseas to Spore, HK, UK, China and Brunei.

When SSPL /HSPL was available - I have since stop using the official rom and has been using cooked roms ( Miri, Laurentius, Topix, Tom Codon, Energy beta test version. 135VY etc ) and in all these cooked roms I also NEVER experienced any stuck SMS issue

My conclusion is probably due to SIM card as I change my Celcom sim card 2 days before I got my HD . I was having some erractic data download issues on my TP2 with it - my card was only a year old ( got it new on my Blackberry account). The Celcom guy told me than the new card issued to me was a brand new type with better and improved data services ; anyway since is free I give him the benefit of the doubt

So maybe perhaps changing your simcard will resolve.

Anyway I still update the hotfix yesterday ; as usual no SMS stuck issues. Immediate I notice in conversation mode the SMS loading and keyboard prompting up was almost immediate - a vast vast improvement . I installed the hotfix on the cooked rom Topix 1.3
benny888
post Jan 15 2010, 05:37 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(lucklyghost @ Jan 15 2010, 01:41 PM)
Hello Frens~~~

I got few question need to ask about FACEbook application with Sense that one..

when u free ur fren profile or photo by using FACEbook application provided by HTC Sense one, How to download or save those u view in facebook that photo?

How u all view the all the topic and comment by using facebook application? From my side here is i just can saw what ever topic i post and i just can only see the last comment only , can;t even view all comment in one topic.

Secondly today morning battery i charges 100%, until now i just left 48% battery, before that i already tune the backlight to 20% and off wifi and others application. just receive call and just use 15 minute GPS....
1. Tag Photo onto your facebook : Select photo VIEW ALBUM : Menu - Tag Photo
If you want to save the photo : Launch SHAKE n SAVE ( install it if you don't have is freeware). In Facebook, select photo : View Album : when photo a[pears fully on screen, SHAKE the phone and photo will be saved in Shake and Save folder

2. I can view all my postings in one single page ; scroll to see more. No settings required

3. Battery life: Check whether you have enabled any auto updates - eg default weather on homescreen ; other programs you have installed - travel, currency, RSS feeds, Tweeter, etc ( esp SpB programs by default is set auto update ). My battery ( not even original type ) can lasts me a day from 7 am till 8-9 pm : regular check tweeter updates every hour; download emails over 5 accounts every hour ; some browsing - total time around an hour .SMS - 20-30/day , few calls. GPS sucks battery fast so better have unit charged in car when using GPS

Battery saving tips : Have screen blank off when idle - I set it at 1 minute ; set backlit to lower level ( or auto ). Maximise battery life - run battery flat and recharge it full : so far I did only once when battery was used after a week

You can update thro Marketplace your Facebook version to latest ; last checked was ver 1.1

This post has been edited by benny888: Jan 15 2010, 05:41 PM
benny888
post Jan 17 2010, 09:38 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(cruzzmz @ Jan 17 2010, 12:40 AM)
tis new sms hotfix really takes time to install sweat.gif
Still "installing Hotfix.Please wait"
It takes about just under 3 mins to fully install

benny888
post Jan 24 2010, 10:37 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Most reports on the net esp xda are positive on the new rom 1.66.

So much so, the rom cooks are also upgrading their roms to this new base 1.66/ However I am still using my cooked rom Topix 1.1.7 as I find is very stable and can say literally see no bugs with it. I do not plan to use this new rom as again the default builtin so many features I don't use ( free storage only 158MB ) ; my cooked rom free storage is 248 MB !!! Wow that's a lot of extra memory one can use - and is very obvious when you are multitasking and using browser simultaneoulsy with RSS updates/email in the background

Also since day one I'd never any issues with SMS ; anyway all the hotfix that were done earlier the rom cooks had also build these in

This post has been edited by benny888: Jan 24 2010, 10:38 AM
benny888
post Jan 24 2010, 05:59 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(evilpuppy @ Jan 24 2010, 12:15 PM)
benny,

need to check with you that does your Default Chinese Input still there after flash to Custom??
Most cooked roms has no Chinese input ; but recently noted there are up to 3 new cooks who builtin Chinese - eg LOST in Asia, Zenkinz . Anyway is not major issue - just installed Sunglobe font if you need view Chinese and if you need input : ZTA4 . More info on Chinese input at : http://www.mobinauts.com/topic/92734-zta4-...__fromsearch__1
benny888
post Jan 25 2010, 10:00 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Latest radio version 2.07.51.05.2 at http://download733.mediafire.com/fhb9dx2nb...DIO_2075105.RAR

Highly recommended - on test 3 days already - everything seems to be better in terms of reception, data download etc. Flashing radio will NOT erase your data

benny888
post Jan 29 2010, 04:32 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

HTC released AGAIN another update to the SMS issue on 24 Jan : a 7.6MB download

http://www.htc.com/europe/SupportDownload....cat=0&dl_id=812

Those still having SMS issue might want tyo try it. For me, nay as I do not have any SMS problem since day one
benny888
post Feb 3 2010, 06:06 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(DAAK @ Feb 3 2010, 04:12 PM)
hi just my KiDiGi USB AC CHARGER 2nd Battery Cradle for HTC HD2    US $17.99
from 4ujulian on ebay

● Data HotSync and battery charging on your desk with a cradle.
● Blue LED indicator

Model No : (LX-HDD2)
For : HTC HD2

Specifications:
● Net Weight : 86g
● Dimension : 82 x 66 x 26 mm
● Certificate : CE & RoHS
Packing Included:
● 1 x USB Cradle
● 1 x 1500ma AC US Power Adaptor (Option : UK/EU plug)
● 1 x USB 2.0 mini USB cable
much similar to ones 3 to 4 times price on epansys
its perfect and arrived way ahead of expected time
Let me know how it is ; I find that the slot to put spare battery is slightly bigger than the battery - poor fit ; so I'd to put behind the battery a small cardboard to ensure tight fit ; if not the battery connectors will not be in contact. The battery charging is extremely and very slow = I reckon is at least 3-4 times slower than original charger. Anyway it is really cheap so is also the quality

This post has been edited by benny888: Feb 3 2010, 06:08 PM
benny888
post Feb 3 2010, 08:26 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(DAAK @ Feb 3 2010, 06:57 PM)
Benny888
i duno about times for charging as yet;  but i tryed fit in spare battery and seems to be good fit
and i thought cause its 1500ma not like another one i got on ebay only 800ma.(it work faster)
anyway ill report back as to charging times soon .
I looked up the same model number as expansys advertised and found this one, so i assume its the same just 4 times cheaper.
I also have another issue with it. Only the first charge of the battery the charging starts at RED and when fully charged turns BLUE. Subsequent charges the indicator is always blue from start - so now no way to know when battery is fully charged. So after few hours , I put into the phone to check charge level. Since unit is so cheap, I don't have any plans to return it
benny888
post Feb 4 2010, 10:03 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(RedDevils88 @ Feb 4 2010, 07:52 PM)
yes.. it is still running on WinMo 6.5

i have no issues with 1.66.. only some applications won't work with the new ROM. to be specific, Clean Ram and MemMaid are not usable with this ROM. it would hang right after i cleaned my RAM. others are working like a charm.

For clean ram : exceptions list - add manila.exe : it will not freeze/hang your phone

benny888
post Feb 5 2010, 10:58 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(DAAK @ Feb 5 2010, 08:21 AM)
I cant seem to see  sad.gif  manila.exe in the possible choices of running processes > how to get this  manila.exe to run so i can select it > smile.gif
Great info as i was having a hanging situation when using leval 3 but seemed okay in Leval 2
Open clean ram config program
Menu/Exceptions list
TICK "Enabled"
Under Running Processes - select Manila.exe : press the right arrow to have it selected into Exceptions list
Close
Run Level 3 : Guarantee you it will never hang - I have been using these in all the cooked roms and official roms
benny888
post Feb 8 2010, 03:55 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(ridox_orimabu @ Feb 8 2010, 02:37 PM)
hmm..mayb i shud try singapore. but how low can it go?
You still have to cost in your transport costs ( unless you are in JB). Anyway official retail in Spore ( non-telco commit sets ) is around S$1188 with 8gb card and extra battery. Price quite similar ( if not only slightly cheaper). The spare battery costs about S$65. If you have Spore friend contact and can "persuade" them to recontract a new line, usually 24 months contract from their telcos - you can have it for S$500-600 ( depend on telco). Used sets in Spore about 1-2 months selling about S$850-$920

benny888
post Feb 21 2010, 11:41 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(imhong @ Feb 21 2010, 11:05 AM)
i'm having trouble to choose custom rom, but i don't have time to try all the roms......recommendations are really needed biggrin.gif

Speed > as long as not slower than 1.66 stock rom
Storage size left after hard reset > as many as possible
Memory > activate the forbidden memory lolx
Stability > of coz this is the most important...

currently checking on this: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=631662
as it seems very promising from the screenshot.

any advise?
Topix 1.3.1 ( based on just released 2.09 build 2 days ago) will meet ALL your needs. I have tried practically most of the cooked roms ( Miri, Enerygy, Laurentius, Dutty, Merlion, LIA, Oza, Romeos ) and Topix has always being my favourite especially on 2 important points : free storage memory available and stability. If you are just looking at purely memory CHUCKY 2.2 is also very good. When I tested the other roms the most it stays on my phone is 1-2 days, while Topix or Chucky will always be there until there is a new update

This post has been edited by benny888: Feb 21 2010, 11:44 AM
benny888
post Mar 1 2010, 10:45 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Rishy @ Feb 28 2010, 10:39 PM)
hey fellas...

was thinking about organizing a gathering...since i got 1 more reserved post in the main page...could update details there..

What do you all think?
Very good idea ; I will definately attend - any day is fine with me ( cos I am retiree so time is flexible ). We can share tips and see how far we have modified our phones ( meaning rom ) and also the extent of interface modifications done. Suggest also open to other WM users - eg HD, Tp2 etc etc

benny888
post Mar 11 2010, 06:04 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(soonlee33 @ Mar 11 2010, 04:45 PM)
wer is dis quickgps located bro?
The quick GPS is default program - located in Programs or Programs/Navigation folder. Infact I never even use this software as the HD2 GPS function perfectly without it. Using it supposedly will get the lockup signal quicker. I only use the QuickGPS in my previous htc HD / Touch Pro2.
benny888
post Mar 15 2010, 11:55 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(KKW @ Mar 15 2010, 11:33 PM)
Oh no.. that's not good..
I had soft reset many time.. still can't
I think this is the time for my 1st time hard reset on my HD2..
btw, how do I backup all the msg and contact without using computer?
In the root folder of your device : copy the pim.vol file to your card - the PIM file contains all your contacts/calenders/email/SMS data

Not able to go online ???? In my past over 10 years using WM pda phones I never come across such an issue - poor reception at certain places maybe

Please be more specific - what did you do before this occurs. If your phone can call/recieve this means you should also be able to use the GPRS : was GPRS activated or you have successfully go online before but this issue crop out now ??? If so after hard reset still same issue - could be hardware issue.

At COMM MANAGER - do you see the WiFI being connected or was your WIFI being shown successfully connected and you cannot go online ???. I don't know what rom you are on, is there a 3G option: select change to auto mode

This post has been edited by benny888: Mar 16 2010, 12:03 AM
benny888
post Mar 16 2010, 11:13 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(KKW @ Mar 16 2010, 09:30 AM)
Lol... I will consider about it.. haha
btw, where do locate the pim file?
I supposed you must be very new to WM. Just use File explorer /My Device : scroll down right to bottom - the PIM.vol file is there ( already mentioned in my last post)

BTW reading your replies would like to know what rom are you on : Settings/System/Device Info/Software version - what is the OS, Manila, Rom version. With this info then can advise you further what you can do

0.0224sec    1.04    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 05:55 PM