Pioneer Kuro PDP-428XG/508XG, Is it still being sold?

anfieldude
post Feb 22 2010, 08:09 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(putih @ Feb 22 2010, 01:53 PM)
And sometimes I feel that 508XG has more light output (brighter) hmm... rclxub.gif
This is inaccurate. The 9G Kuros can easily do ~50ft/L without clipping. The 8Gs cannot go above 36ft/L without clipping. However, this is in the ISF modes.
anfieldude
post Feb 27 2010, 08:16 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(netken @ Feb 27 2010, 07:17 PM)
sifus'

can the 508XG suffer from plasma burn?

my unit has done about 100 hours or more ..

last nite watch letter from iwo jima for about 2hrs 30mins ..

it was the 16:9 - with top black lines and bottom black lines ...

today i viewed the plasma like normal but pyschologically worry lah ...

will there be any problem kah?
Any plasma can if abused. However, the Kuros are quite resilient. Don't worry. R u using Movie mode for viewing movies? What contrast r u using?
anfieldude
post Feb 27 2010, 11:02 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(netken @ Feb 27 2010, 08:58 PM)
helo afd,

its at 163 hours ...

Customised mode at :

Standard

Contrast 28
Brightness - 2
Color -2
Tint 0
Sharpness -2

is this okay?
Shd be ok. But I recommend moving to Movie mode, Colour Space 2, Colour at +4, Brightness +1. Contrast at around 30. Gamma is more accurate with Movie mode and it is not as bright. Consider calibrating the ISF Modes as u get the higher contrast modes in that mode with 9 point gamma control.

Standard and User are pretty bright/high contrast. Better to use them for Astro. Also would advise for Astro and all, to keep contrast below 20 with User mode. After u pass the 200hrs mark, its more resilient.
anfieldude
post Apr 14 2010, 06:54 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(gocitygo @ Apr 14 2010, 11:03 AM)
I just came back from QueensBay HN and confirmed they still have 4 new units of 508XG @ their warehouse.  I ordered one and left 3.  Better fast before too late.
gocitygo,

A word of caution, the i2display might not work too well for the 8G/9G Kuro. PM me for details.

0.0240sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 01:21 PM