> Great Granddaughter of Tunku Abdul Rahman, This is important doesn't matter if slow

rayray
post Jan 9 2010, 11:22 AM

949 posts

In this thread there are two kinds of beings:

1. Indian, Chinese, Malays dll with common sense
2. Babi that molotov-ed church

Vroom~ NOS
coolingwater
post Jan 9 2010, 11:37 AM

122 posts

Im a malay, well mixed. But i seriously think that the bumiputera rights is a piece of bullshit and its not helping anyone except the malays. EVen the malays take it for granted, all were doing is just spoon-feeding them.
rayray
post Jan 9 2010, 11:40 AM

949 posts

QUOTE(coolingwater @ Jan 9 2010, 11:37 AM)
Im a malay, well mixed. But i seriously think that the bumiputera rights is a piece of bullshit and its not helping anyone except the malays. EVen the malays take it for granted, all were doing is just spoon-feeding them.
Enlightened rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
woopypooky
post Jan 9 2010, 12:04 PM

1,292 posts

QUOTE(coolingwater @ Jan 9 2010, 11:37 AM)
bravo, u will go to heaven/ laugh.gif
peakaboo99
post Jan 9 2010, 12:11 PM

182 posts

QUOTE(sharyn85 @ Jan 7 2010, 01:20 PM)
Just for clarification. My friend found out about this thread.

cheers,
who's ur fren?johnkor?
joe_mamak
post Jan 9 2010, 12:12 PM

363 posts

Important ah? If so important, is she in an opposition party? laugh.gif
gu~wak_zhai
post Jan 9 2010, 12:14 PM

Lecturer
1,186 posts

i sapot..
jinkinz
post Jan 9 2010, 12:21 PM

♥HIEK!my name is BOXXY!♥
1,162 posts

QUOTE(adren1 @ Jan 6 2010, 11:42 PM)
This is a very good article from a younger generation and a great granddaughter of Tunku Abdul Rahman.  A very well expressed opinion of how all Malaysians should be treated.

IF THIS IS THE VOICE OF YOUR YOUNGER GENERATION IN MALAYSIA , YOU WILL BE BLESSED.

Sharyn completed her Diploma in Advertising from Taylor 's College, and then left motherland to pursue her BA degree majoring in Media Studies and Anthropology at Victoria University in Wellington , New Zealand . While waiting for her graduation in May 08, she interned briefly at M&C Saatchi Wellington, a global advertising firm. Upon returning to Malaysia , jobless and relieved of rent payments, Sharyn stumbled upon Wild Asia through The Star which sparked her interest to learn more about nature and environmental causes. Armed with a communications background, Sharyn works on the Wild Asia website and editorial, translating geek terms into laymen language, easily accessed and understood by visitors regardless of their backgrounds, be it scientific, business, the arts or just plain interested.
By The Tunku's Great Granddaughter
This is a great piece. She has all the qualities of her great grandfather. Tunku has reason to be proud of  her!

Tunku Abdul Rahman's great granddaughter
Sharyn Lisa Shufiyan, 24, Conservationist
Both my parents are Malay. My mum's heritage includes Chinese, Thai and Arab, while my dad is Minangkabau. Due to my skin colour, I am often mistaken for a Chinese.

I'm happy that I don't have the typical Malay look but I do get annoyed when people call me Ah Moi or ask me straight up "Are  you Chinese or Malay"

Like, why does it matter? Before I used to answer "Malay" but now I'm trying to consciously answer Malaysian instead.

There's this incident from primary school that I remember till today. Someone told me that I will be called last during Judgement Day because I don't have a Muslim name. Of course, I was scared then but now that I'm older, I realise that a name is just a name. It doesn't define you as a good or bad person and there is definitely no such thing as a Muslim name. You can be named Rashid or Ali and still be a Christian.

I've heard of the 1Malaysia concept, but I think we don't need to be told to be united. We've come such a long way that it should already be embedded in our hearts and minds that we are united. Unfortunately, you can still see racial discrimination and polarisation. There is still this ethno-centric view that the Malays are the dominant group and their rights must be protected, and non Malays are forever the outsiders.

For the concept to succeed, I think the government should stop with the race politics. It's tiring, really. We grew up with application forms asking us to tick our race. We should stop painting a negative image of the other races, stop thinking about 'us' and 'them' and focus on 'we', 'our' and 'Malaysians'.

No one should be made uncomfortable in their own home. A dear Chinese friend of mine said to me once, "I don't feel patriotic because I am not made to feel like Malaysia is my home, and I don't feel an affinity to China because I have never lived there.

I know some baby Nyonya friends who can trace their lineage back hundreds of years. I'm a fourth generation Malaysian. If I am Bumiputra, why can't they be, too? Clearly I have issues with the term.

I think the main reason why we still can't achieve total unity is because of this 'Malay rights' concept. I'd rather 'Malay rights' be replaced by human rights. So unless we get rid of this Bumiputra status, or reform our views and policies on rights, we will never achieve unity.

For my merdeka wish, I'd like for Malaysians to have more voice, to be respected and heard. I wish that the government would uphold the true essence of parliamentary democracy. I wish for the people to no longer fear and discriminate against each other, to see that we are one and the same.

I wish that Malaysia would truly live up to the tourism spin of Malaysia truly Asia .  Malaysians to lead - whatever their ethnic background.  Only ONE NATIONALITY MALAYSIAN.  No Malays, No Chinese, No Indians - ONLY MALAYSIANS.  Choose whatever religion one is comfortable with.[COLOR=red]
this is the only part i agree
♥ianTEY♥
post Jan 9 2010, 12:40 PM

199 posts

WELL SPOKEN!

Added on January 9, 2010, 12:43 pmOnn Jaafar FTW!

This post has been edited by ♥ianTEY♥: Jan 9 2010, 12:43 PM
TSadren1
post Jan 9 2010, 03:50 PM

137 posts

from this link: http://thestar.com.my/lifestyle/story.asp?...6&sec=lifefocus

All of them got English name biggrin.gif
adamtayy
post Jan 9 2010, 09:36 PM

1,393 posts

QUOTE(woopypooky @ Jan 9 2010, 10:42 AM)
how to fulfill Tunku's vision by not marginalise other races ?what vision is that?

i tot 'bumiputera special rights' were intoduced during Tunku reign. Tunku are the one who rejected Malayan Union(all races have equal rights).
QUOTE(amirsubhi @ Jan 9 2010, 11:03 AM)
well..Remember also that Onn Jaafar want open UMNO to everyone but Tunku and other stop it
You all think I care what about those stupid, Tunku, Tuanku, or MR Ong Jar FAr.

They are long long hell history and they died don't know how many decades, who cares??

The young generation is the vital part to make this country's future and govern them well

so that we all have equal rights to live in harmony..

Hell shit about what bijan 1 malaysia, it will damn phail sooner or later.

ISA me, if bijan Dare!!!

This post has been edited by adamtayy: Jan 9 2010, 09:36 PM
ReAcTiVo
post Jan 9 2010, 09:47 PM

140 posts

tok kok sleep.gif
SUSb3ta
post Jan 9 2010, 09:52 PM

responsible poster stormtrooper
685 posts

QUOTE(adamtayy @ Jan 10 2010, 12:36 AM)
You all think I care what about those stupid, Tunku, Tuanku, or MR Ong Jar FAr.

They are long long hell history and they died don't know how many decades, who cares??

The young generation is the vital part to make this country's future and govern them well

so that we all have equal rights to live in harmony..

Hell shit about what bijan 1 malaysia, it will damn phail sooner or later.

ISA me, if bijan Dare!!!
Those who cannot learn from history are doomed to repeat it.
adamtayy
post Jan 9 2010, 10:03 PM

1,393 posts

QUOTE(ReAcTiVo @ Jan 9 2010, 09:47 PM)
tok kok sleep.gif
So what, I am Ayam Berkokok cool2.gif
adamtayy
post Jan 9 2010, 10:05 PM

1,393 posts

QUOTE(b3ta @ Jan 9 2010, 09:52 PM)
Those who cannot learn from history are doomed to repeat it.
History won't repeat itself.

present policy and governance is the only law that can shape the mere future of our belove

MA LA SI YA cool2.gif

This post has been edited by adamtayy: Jan 9 2010, 10:05 PM
SUSb3ta
post Jan 9 2010, 10:09 PM

responsible poster stormtrooper
685 posts

QUOTE(adamtayy @ Jan 10 2010, 01:05 AM)
History won't repeat itself.

present policy and governance is the only law that can shape the mere future of our belove

MA LA SI YA  cool2.gif
so says the person who doesnt even know his own history.
adamtayy
post Jan 9 2010, 10:19 PM

1,393 posts

QUOTE(b3ta @ Jan 9 2010, 10:09 PM)
so says the person who doesnt even know his own history.
I phail my PMR and SPM history, so what, I am a Malaysian, why, you tak suka, you keluar dari bebenang ini.

Tau Kacau byk byk saje, pee la la cool2.gif

This post has been edited by adamtayy: Jan 9 2010, 10:20 PM
royalben
post Jan 9 2010, 10:59 PM

175 posts

nice post TS
i support you and sharyn

i agree that we cannot pursue to become 1 malaysia, we can only be 1 malaysia, and for that to happen every malaysians should have the same right.

i am begining to see some light in the future
even though there is a lot of people thinking in contrary
i believe change is coming and we will be united 1 as malaysian
and one day we will unite as 1 world
adamtayy
post Jan 14 2010, 10:20 PM

1,393 posts

Malaysia is a country that are guaranteed ignoring structural and financial reform under bijan's rule,

I hate GOV of this country, ape 1 Malaysia

Saye punya pen dapat, 1 Malaysia = ! Malaysia doh.gif

Phail byk byk bijan, dengar jgn tak nampak my Komen!!

ISA sudah menang itu pilihan raya kecik tahun lalukn, Ape dia buat, koson? Dia sedang tidor kah?? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by adamtayy: Jan 14 2010, 10:23 PM

8 Pages « < 6 7 8

0.0188sec    0.14    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 03:50 AM