Hardware Apple iPad Discussion Thread | V1, Everything about iPad

sfotsy
post May 11 2010, 02:58 PM

196 posts

Hi , I am new here and i had bought an ipad from ebay (US) and now is waiting for my ipad to arrived. May i know when i got my ipad i have to go to the itune to register under america address for registration of getting a free software downloading to ipad.
May i know when if after when if i want to buy some software from itune so may i know can i buy it from itune? Using my credit card to buy the software to download into my ipad?
Actually I am using an apple iphone (malaysia version) with itune account so i am wonder how or what i shall done. Using a sperate itune account tht means US itune account or using my Malaysia itune account?

Added on May 11, 2010, 3:02 pm
QUOTE(warlockimran @ May 11 2010, 02:54 PM)
Ok, just to check. Anyone here already with an iPad 3G? Would be very interested to see how easy it is with regards to activation etc, and the overall experience.

Also, I agree with stringfellow. I was so excited about the iPad 3G in the early days, until I saw that black strip at the top. Somehow, a bit of the design magic disappeared. Oh well, there's always the iPad +mifi option.
Hi, I bought a ipad 3g from ebay now i am waiting for the delivery to malaysia. I will update here when after I got my unit. Please do keep intouch. I will let u know later.

See u

This post has been edited by sfotsy: May 11 2010, 03:02 PM
sfotsy
post May 11 2010, 04:17 PM

196 posts

QUOTE(echothreealpha @ May 11 2010, 03:16 PM)
sfotsy, got the link to the ipad seller? How much is it?
well, i actually got it from ebay (US) infact i win the bidding and cost me usd 920 plus 30 shipping. Hope will be able to reach here by June.
sfotsy
post May 11 2010, 04:55 PM

196 posts

QUOTE(naughtyz @ May 11 2010, 04:34 PM)
How they count + the tax malaysia?
it doen not included tax, and the buyer is very good he mark it as a gift so will not kena tax smile.gif
sfotsy
post May 11 2010, 05:16 PM

196 posts

QUOTE(warlockimran @ May 11 2010, 04:20 PM)
Not sure if they will offer it early. It might be to prepare for the coming iPad 3G, at the same time, it may be a tactic to get the patronage of those who will import their iPad 3G, ahead of its official launch here.

Lastly, maybe, (and I hope), its a sign that iPhone 4G will be available the moment it is announced in June.

Exciting times ahead.

Added on May 11, 2010, 4:27 pm
Thanks. Will be interested to hear your experience.

iPad apps are available on your current iTunes Malaysia account. This will have to be done on your PC for now, using iTunes, then sync to your iPad, just like your iPhone.

You only need a US Account if:

1. You want to buy directly from the App Store on your iPad, or
2. You want apps currently available in the US App Store only, such as iBooks
hi,
thanks for your answer and happy to know that i can used on my current itune malaysia accont to sync.
only cannot able to buy from app stor on my ipad.

what shall i do if i want to do so imean buy software from app store (US)?

sfotsy
post May 11 2010, 05:58 PM

196 posts

QUOTE(naughtyz @ May 11 2010, 05:32 PM)
Not familiar with ebay shopping.....
well very simple and easy.....you do not need worry for the goods not arriving because the ebay will make sure the person whom sell will ensure the things arrived then they will get the payment.
sfotsy
post May 11 2010, 06:20 PM

196 posts

QUOTE(zwanvedder @ May 11 2010, 06:04 PM)
on my iPad using US acc, n my PC using Malaysia acc (currently sync with my iPhone), do i need to login with Malaysia acc on my iPad...?
i think we can used it i mean the utune , just cannot download the free application if we wnt i think we need to register an US account. So far this is what i know.

I am looking solution on register the us itune account and able to download the free application, and buy apllication. So i hope someone here can answer the question how? I know someone say that we can used a this to creat an us address.....

to register an account go here http://support.apple.com/kb/ht2534

to get an america address even name go here http://www.fakenamegenerator.com/gen-male-us-us.php

hope i can help u.

cheers
sfotsy
post May 11 2010, 06:26 PM

196 posts

dear Edoras,

i am new on apple products as i understand that to used the itune is able to syncronise btwen apple iphone and ipad, as i do understand that to register an usa itune account do need an american address, and do not need to used the credit card too...! however, we can do it without buying any software. Right? If we want to do so i mean buying the software app that is from USA itune i am wonder what shall i do? Please help, thanks in advance.
sfotsy
post May 11 2010, 09:59 PM

196 posts

QUOTE(little ice @ May 11 2010, 09:55 PM)
have you even try to buy apps from itunes on your PC?

no go. i tried to buy ipad apps using MY account, it keep denying my billing/credit card info, although i make sure my details are 100% correct and triple checked, they still deny it.

i think it's because they don't allow non-US credit card purchases.
well that is what i actually want to know? So far from this forum that we have to buy something like top up account inorder to buy the credit to buy the software.

sfotsy
post May 11 2010, 10:52 PM

196 posts

QUOTE(mAxPC @ May 11 2010, 10:34 PM)
I have purchased most of my iPhone apps and iPad apps via the iTunes MY account. Have been doing this for a while. I only use my iTunes US account only if the apps do not appear in the MY store such as some Konami games and of course the Apple iWorks. For my US account I just iTunes credit via the gift cards.

Added on May 11, 2010, 10:37 pm

The App Store is available to all countries (*listed by apple), but the iTunes client on the iPad currently only allows access to US based account. So you can buy apps from the MY store via your Mac or PC client and sync it to your iPad without issues. If the app is not available in MY store, just log into US account and purchase it with gift cards then sync as well.
May i know where i can get the gift cards? please share because i m going to get ready what to do when my ipad arrived. Thanks in advance.

Added on May 11, 2010, 10:55 pmthanks for the people's whom sharing here abt the itune account here while regarding on how or what to do while when want to get software app from itune. Indeed i can learn lots of things here. Hopefully can make some friend here.

This post has been edited by sfotsy: May 11 2010, 10:55 PM
sfotsy
post May 12 2010, 12:02 AM

196 posts

QUOTE(mAxPC @ May 11 2010, 11:14 PM)
Yes you can subscribe via credit card, when you try to subscribe it will take you to a webpage to perfom the transaction.

Added on May 11, 2010, 11:17 pm

Gift cards only work with US iTunes account. If you do a search on the threads here you will find the steps required to create a US account without the need for a credit card, then you basically top up your account with the gift cards, or redeem them. If you search the Garage Sales thread, you will find a person by the name of skalominia whom is selling such a thing.
Thanks dude! smile.gif
sfotsy
post May 12 2010, 02:59 PM

196 posts

QUOTE(berniew @ May 12 2010, 10:24 AM)
Been using my iPad 3G for 3 days now and really enjoying it. Used a pair of scissors to trim my Maxis SIM to fit and it works flawlessly.
The browsing speed has been pretty decent too. Been able to get apps cause I use a US itunes account. Also found that it has a GPS built in, Kool.
wah....it seems you are enjoying yr iPad 3G by the way which model you r using? I am waiting my ipad 3g .... sad.gif
sfotsy
post May 12 2010, 03:02 PM

196 posts

QUOTE(Dozz @ May 12 2010, 11:09 AM)
I imported couple of units of iPad already, never paid any taxes or duty as it was declare as " tablet computer "
thanks for your info....know i should know what shall i do when i importing one from usa.

Added on May 12, 2010, 3:07 pm
QUOTE(rheza02 @ May 12 2010, 03:02 PM)
can you explain why no need to pay for tax or duty.
i'm little worried buy any device on ebay now, last time i bring iphone, i need to get sirim approval on shah alam + pay the tax.

sad.gif
brother do not worry too much here let the god decide. Sometime it is depending on yr luck. I mean not all of the time we will kena duty.
I had experienced that when if put it under Gift, then usually will not get tax. However, not all of the seller willing to do it for you to describe as Gift item.
Somepeople here just taught us to put under Tablet Computer so it will not get the tax. Maybe this can works...!

Cheers

This post has been edited by sfotsy: May 12 2010, 03:07 PM
sfotsy
post May 12 2010, 11:15 PM

196 posts

QUOTE(aruja_69 @ May 12 2010, 11:13 PM)
Still looking huawei or d link wireless rounder but the price in garage is so expensive
well....you r looking what type of wireless router? 3G?

sfotsy
post May 13 2010, 12:13 AM

196 posts

QUOTE(primuslim @ May 12 2010, 11:52 PM)
Hi Guys,

just thought i contribute to the current discussion which i have been following very closely,

Today i went to KLCC Maxis to repair my Blackberry and whilst waiting i went around the counters and asked about the Micro-Sim service they are providing.Basically what i get from a couple of counters there is that Maxis is currently providing Microsim and the staff claims the only reason they are providing should be for the iPad.

For those wondering if they can transfer their Blackberry Unlimited Data Package under the Multi-Sim (2 sim one line) unfortunately its a big no no from the maxis staff.

I asked how bout people using iPhone they also mentioned no you can't share the same data plan.

I never said anything about the iPad at all during my time in Maxis, but the staff basically knew and went out and said I must be using for the iPad and I have to sign up a new data plan which costs are follows

500MB - RM58
1.5GB - RM78
3GB - RM88

standard rules apply like maximum usage per hour etc. However the RM250 cap applies which means no matter how mcuh u overspend past your data limit Maxis can only charge RM250 on top of your monthly fee (which still sucks btw).

(The above information is told to me via conversation from Maxis Staff, i do not claim any of these are the absolute truth but just to share with you guys the conversation i had today)

My current opinions are that its rather absurd that they do not allow us to use our existing data plans on an additional device. But seriously its Apple that allowed or wanted this to happen with their micro-sim move. They allow Telcos to control their users who would otherwise to insert a normal simcard and use their existing data plan. I love their products but i sometimes i just wish they go on another revenue strategy (although if i was a shareholder i would congratulate them grudgingly). I guess this was what they always wanted in the first place. So kudos to apple bad for data plan users.

If at those above prices, i won't use an 3G iPad as if i was to use it i want to use it without always wondering if i'm near my limit, how much extra i have to pay e.t.c and can' enjoy it to its fullest. i Guess the wifi looks more reasonable to me at this tenure. I guess most normal income ipad fan earners will have to choose to either go back to traditional non-data phone with a data plan for iPad 3g or continue their phones with data plan and a wifi IPad. 

Oh well. maybe consider buying a new pair of sharp scissors anyone?
Thanks for your info, infact from the advertisement on their maxis website...they did mentioned that they do allowed to used multi sims but did not mentioned abt the mirco sim card for ipad. Seems they are going to come out these kinda of plan for ipad. I mean later stage.
sfotsy
post May 14 2010, 01:04 AM

196 posts

QUOTE(berniew @ May 13 2010, 10:05 AM)
64 GB :-D
DAMM nice huh...i curi beli one so i dare not spend too much $$$ on i pad because lately I got my I Phone 3GS. Tell u l fallen in love with Apple products. Now thinking to get Apple Notebook..

Wish I can get 64 GB one Maybe Santa will give me end of this yr during when Christmas time tongue.gif

Added on May 14, 2010, 1:09 am
QUOTE(MX510 @ May 13 2010, 06:06 PM)
From my research mostly all Huawei products works with multi sim but to play safe before u buy kindly test it before paid. That MiFi is good but use non standard  battery for charging as the 3G will consume a lot of energy .

So far the best i read that Digi will come out for micro sim with RM 58 unlimited data . Fair usage is 3GB but if u use more they will throttled the speed but no additional charge for exceeding their limit. Recent Digi post in facebook they are crazy to bring the microsim for #iPad. Maybe Digi will sell it first before Maxis who knows?
yeah i agree...as lately i can see digi is the only one fellow dare to fight with Maxis. Thanks to hve Digi then Maxis will be Performs better or else they Think they are King. Don't talk abt Celcom, Celcom is always say they are always upgrading their server or so on....never say sorry one. At least Digi and Maxis do.

This post has been edited by sfotsy: May 14 2010, 01:09 AM
sfotsy
post May 15 2010, 07:36 PM

196 posts

Hi to all of the sifu here,

May i know what is the clasification of the type of the products as Apple I Pad?
Actually i got an IPAD from EBAY US, now the shipment arrived at Malaysia. The Custom authority send me a letter told me that my things has arrived. I have to go to the custom to collect the things. As I know the seller does not classifying what is it. So inside the box he wrote it is a gift for me. So I want to know what shall i do? I need you all help here thanks in advance.

sfotsy
post May 15 2010, 09:19 PM

196 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ May 15 2010, 07:54 PM)
At this point in time, it's already too late. You should have asked the seller to declare it as tablet computer. Computers are tax exempted.
yes indeed, i should do it. Now what shall i do? Pls advice...!
sfotsy
post May 15 2010, 09:41 PM

196 posts

QUOTE(rheza02 @ May 15 2010, 09:24 PM)
nothing you can do bro,
just go there, and good luck and
be patient.  smile.gif
wish me good luck, as there is a letter inside the box saying it is a gift hopefully can go tru it. Yeah i should be paient. blush.gif

Added on May 15, 2010, 9:43 pm
QUOTE(stringfellow @ May 15 2010, 09:25 PM)
If you can convince them that is a computer in nature, that should do the trick. Better if you can get a shitty Tablet PC, borrow from someone and show them the similarities. If your customs officer is the knoledgable type, or have already dealt with iPad imports before and can see through your bluff, I guess there is no other way but to pay the duties. sad.gif
hope fully i can convince them that is a computer or tablet computer, and hopefully the custom officer does not deal with ipad import before, wish i can go tru it next monday.

This post has been edited by sfotsy: May 15 2010, 09:43 PM

0.0226sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 07:42 PM