Nov 13 2006, 11:11 PM
1,379 posts Joined: Oct 2004 From: => cyberjaya <= |
QUOTE(empire23 @ Nov 13 2006, 10:03 PM) Anyways XNA seems exciting, for 400 ringgit a year you can make your own XB360 games and market them yourself and heck port them across to the PC easily. Something opensource developers have been craving for. IINM, XNA still underdevelopment, Microsoft is being smart by only releasing the SDK for C#, eager developers have to use Microsoft product to actually develop using XNA. XNA Game Studio Express have only limited capabilities, but it is good enough for another Zuma-like for Xbox 360 Arcade games. Next year, when the XNA Game Studio Professional or maybe if we hear news of triple A titles created using XNA Studio, then only we will know the true capabilities of XNA itself.*I like XNA name for what it means, it is sooo GNU. |
Nov 15 2006, 01:05 AM
QUOTE(empire23 @ Nov 14 2006, 12:29 AM) True true, but with inherent and cohesive support for microsoft APIs (they kind of make DirectX and all) it is really something to look forward too. IIRC they even included a version of Direct Physics for instant go with accurate body damage modelling. I have to agree with that.Microsoft definitely having critical advantage over Sony or Nintendo, because they are software developers. I would love to quote Jason Rubin's words, but you can hear from the man himself here.Anyways XNA is due when Vista Arrives, which is in a month lol. http://www.gametrailers.com/bonusround.php?ep=1&pt=1 Btw, I do wonder why all next-gen consoles doesn't support Dx10, since console lifecycle is around 5-10 years, I believe, by then, Vista will be the standard thus Dx10 is also a standard. Can you briefly explain about the differences between Dx9 and Dx10, hardware-wise and how does it relates to the differences between G71 and G80? Thanks. |
Nov 19 2006, 05:42 PM
QUOTE(ikanayam @ Nov 17 2006, 06:04 PM) There are plenty of articles on dx9 vs dx10, just google a bit and you will find more than you will care to read. The 360 GPU is quite close to dx10. Much more so than the PS3. Thanks for the guide, I've tried it before, and for your sake I try it again using the keyword you have 'sort of' suggested "dx9 vs dx10". Here are what I get :http://forums.legitreviews.com/about6174.html&highlight= http://www.istartedsomething.com/20060817/...ctx10-fabulous/ http://www.winmatrix.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=9550 http://www.sharkyforums.com/showthread.php?t=287594 http://www.crysis-online.com/forum/index.p...opic,771.0.html http://www.hothardware.com/forum/messagevi...&threadid=34065 http://forumz.tomshardware.com/hardware/DX...pict194987.html http://www.beyond3d.com/forum/showthread.php?t=30466 None of them answer my questions. All of the links comes from the first 5 pages of the google search result. Maybe I am not that good at googling or simply am a lazy bast@rd. Btw, since google doesn't help much I lurk into some of the tech forums(Note: I am not a hardware enthusiast, but at least I've heard of anandtech before.) http://www.anandtech.com/showdoc.aspx?i=2870&p=1 That article is quite helpful, although I don't understand totally of what have been explained there, at least I have a place to refer back if I do need it again. QUOTE(empire23 @ Nov 18 2006, 11:57 PM) What can i say, it just took too many transistors, too much time and such for it to be a viable option to them. Anyways Direct X has always been a very open API, but you must realize what an API is for, to set industry standards on how graphics should be rendered. But since only Microsoft makes the XB360, lol, they make their own standard. DX10 compatibility demands that a graphic card can do certain things before it's declared compatible, and not all those things are what's best for a console, better to go with their own "campur" implementation. That is one of my major concern of how Microsoft going to play their trump card, which is Dx10 + Vista to change the gaming world. Who knows what is in Gates mind now. |
Nov 21 2006, 09:07 AM
QUOTE(ikanayam @ Nov 21 2006, 04:42 AM) http://www.beyond3d.com/articles/directxnext/index.php?p=1 That is much helpful to me. Thanks That's about the best i've read. There were some good ones at elitebastards.com also if i can remember correctly. *I do ask, because I am ignorant and never plan to stay the same. QUOTE(PS3 vs. XBOX 360: A Developer's Perspective) The other obvious point here is that right now the Xbox360 already has a very impressive line-up of titles on store shelves; the ps3 just launched, and has virtually nothing of interest. Also, many 360 games are already discounted ($35 for Fight Night 3 on Amazon). PS3 games are all full price since it just launched. I don't quite get this one, what this have to do with developing games on both console. |
Nov 21 2006, 11:26 AM
Nov 21 2006, 05:35 PM
QUOTE(mzaidi @ Nov 21 2006, 11:45 AM) And since the article was titled: Ah...thanks. I missed the "A" for my comprehension. IMHO it simply meant the single developer featured in the article's point of view / opinion on PS3 vs. Xbox 360 and doesn't necessarily represent the whole gaming industry's point of view. |
| Change to: | 0.0331sec
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 06:05 PM |