Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V35!, The Orange Legion
neo_lam
Jan 13 2010, 07:09 PM
QUOTE(Seng_Kiat @ Jan 13 2010, 06:17 PM) dude! I was thinking the same .. sell these 3 and top up abit, i can get A850 .. but the problem is can I survive with a850 + 50mm 1.8 + 70-300G? .. hurmmm .. but 50mm f1.8 is not FF lens...oni 70300 suits FF...
neo_lam
Jan 13 2010, 09:58 PM
QUOTE(Seng_Kiat @ Jan 13 2010, 09:55 PM) oh no .. looks i have to sell everything except 70300G .. ermm .. unlikely .. i prefer to wait and work harder to get another set of FF .. A850+1635 would be enough to pair with my current gear .. there goes another 10k ..  .. i quite agree with archew...should get 2470 1st coz of its usability and focal length....
neo_lam
Jan 13 2010, 10:52 PM
QUOTE(achew @ Jan 13 2010, 10:41 PM) we always poison according to what u want..if a550 is the one u desire..550 poison u get...if FF is the one...here comes a850... =D bro..lets show us some poison by a850...
neo_lam
Jan 13 2010, 11:25 PM
QUOTE(kmarc @ Jan 13 2010, 11:23 PM) Not too sure. Will have to check out other shops. Gonna hunt around although I'm sure you know that there are limited camera shops here in Sibu. Yeah, I know you're in KL I want my 550!!!!  or mayb wait for new body tht will be announced lately...(me and likito are classmate by the way)
neo_lam
Jan 13 2010, 11:34 PM
QUOTE(kmarc @ Jan 13 2010, 11:33 PM) The 750? That's going to be more expensive leh. Nice to have friends who has the same hobby. Shucks, going to sleep now. Hope I don't dream about the 550 like I did last night!!!!  got rumors bout a650...if u really need one now a550 would suits u perfectly...
neo_lam
Jan 14 2010, 06:51 PM
QUOTE(kmarc @ Jan 14 2010, 06:42 PM) I don't use flash as I dislike the normal flash photography using compact camera. However, under fluorescent light, no flash with high iso is really terrible, not to mention blurred pictures.... Yeah, I'd probably get the F20AM for some bounce flash......... As for lens, please don't poison me!  I plan start off with the SAL50F18 first. Poison me next time.....  Edit : For those from Sibu, I just spot another Sony dealer opening shop today from newspaper advertisement. At the bus terminal. 14-17 promotion day. Hope they sell the 550!!!!  so u got ur a550??
neo_lam
Jan 14 2010, 08:30 PM
QUOTE(kevinwcw @ Jan 14 2010, 07:19 PM) guys..any idea of Carl Zeiss Neutral Density Filter...thinking of getting one for my prime buy ND for the 50mm prime?? i think u are the only one....quite creative way...
neo_lam
Jan 14 2010, 08:39 PM
QUOTE(kevinwcw @ Jan 14 2010, 08:33 PM) u means is not suitable for tat? ND is mainly use in landscape shooting to block lights in and make a few stop for the camera... means like i wanna shoot in f22 5 secs but without ND the shots will be overexposed...so ND will do us a favor by reducing the lights coma into the camera... then allow us to shoot in small aperture but long exposure time and will not overexposed the shot.... so if a ND on a 50mm means u need to shoot ppl using tripod every time...quite tedious.. i think CPL should do the job for u...
neo_lam
Jan 14 2010, 08:46 PM
QUOTE(kevinwcw @ Jan 14 2010, 08:43 PM) makes the color more saturated and cut-out reflections... still it will reduce two-stop shutter speed....
neo_lam
Jan 14 2010, 09:42 PM
QUOTE(freddy manson @ Jan 14 2010, 09:22 PM) invest some money in octopus CPL filter.. around RM60-100 depending on thread size.. i got mine for RM60 (for 62mm thread) but its not that easy to use.. u just cant simply shoot and hope to get the effect.. u need to be in a way that the sunlight array is in front of u.. to get the special 'non-flaring' effects.. tilt the direction upwards 10degree more and the effects is a bit different.. so try it..  for me i wont invest into normal filter coz it will oni reduce image quality....
neo_lam
Jan 15 2010, 01:32 AM
QUOTE(Seng_Kiat @ Jan 14 2010, 11:01 PM) 1 question here .. i dont really understand .. the bold part .. why dont we use faster shutter to compensate the overexpose? I am not really sure what is the effect of slow or fast shutter when shooting landscape because there is no moving object .. any clarification on this? for example we shoot seaside....use faster speed will freeze the water while using low shutter speed will make the water more dreamy look... so heres the point, to make the water dreamy we have to use slower shutter but will overexpose the shot.... ND will reduce the light and i we can use slower shutter but without overexpose the shot....
neo_lam
Jan 15 2010, 12:32 PM
QUOTE(shootkk @ Jan 15 2010, 12:12 PM) On the topic of zoom and prime lens: Zoom lens: 1. Lets you vary the focal length to suit your composition. 2. Convenient to use. 3. Can cause lazy photog syndrome - meaning you get used to just standing in one place and zoom in/out to snap pic. 4. Usually cannot beat the wide aperture offered by primes. plus one more point for prime....Always be the sharpest lens indeed.
neo_lam
Jan 16 2010, 06:54 AM
QUOTE(likito @ Jan 16 2010, 06:36 AM) OMG , same day ... ariasia ? Added on January 16, 2010, 6:41 amur gear better than me .  XD no loh...ur 50mm and 28mm should be sharper than 18250...
neo_lam
Jan 16 2010, 11:23 PM
for me i will wait for a450 coz of the price....can foresee tht this camera body oni should lower than or equal to rm2000...y dont just wait a while...IQ should better than a2xx and a3xx....
neo_lam
Jan 17 2010, 12:09 AM
QUOTE(kevinwcw @ Jan 16 2010, 11:38 PM) @destfull prime lens for me is the best walk around lens..xD 50mm on FF damn suitbale for walk-around...
neo_lam
Jan 17 2010, 12:36 AM
QUOTE(kevinwcw @ Jan 17 2010, 12:20 AM) not tat superb for APS-C lmao xD 50mm on apsc is portrait lens dy....if u want 50mm FF on apsc...go for 28mm or 30mm...
neo_lam
Jan 17 2010, 01:15 AM
QUOTE(kevinwcw @ Jan 17 2010, 12:51 AM) but 30 and 28 only got 2.8  sigma 30mm f1.4....Sony 35mm F1.4 G.....any one u can choose...
neo_lam
Jan 17 2010, 12:30 PM
QUOTE(lugiamcg @ Jan 17 2010, 11:34 AM) Braindead_fr3ak/achew/V12kompressor : lol, thx 4 the corrections. I screwed up big time on that sensor thingy  Most probably thats bcoz i read on camcorders 1st b4 heading to alphas V12kompressor : haha, u've got a good point there. Too bad, i got no gf Kevinwcw : I thought of it too but i'm worried about the performance i'll get from the CCD. And that's why i asked the pros here Neo_lan : I wanted to wait for that model too. But, it seems like Sony had stripped off the tilting screen & smile shutter  [citation needed] PS: thx 4 all the advice guys =D i am used to a700 tht without LV and tilting screen..not a problem for me...
neo_lam
Jan 17 2010, 12:39 PM
pic spam....shot it yesterday midnight....
neo_lam
Jan 17 2010, 04:25 PM
QUOTE(gizmo_pony @ Jan 17 2010, 03:59 PM) Q : about flash exposure compensation. if i reduce the no. it means i reduce the power output of my popup flash right ? thank you. yes..it is...