Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V35!, The Orange Legion

ReasonsofThanatos
post Jan 13 2010, 10:58 AM

256 posts

QUOTE(shootkk @ Jan 13 2010, 09:52 AM)
It's like - do you want to see the scenery or do you want to see your face? If you want to see scenery then your face will actually detract from the whole pic. If you wanna see your face then to get your face big enough for a decent shot, the scenery is going to suffer. You can choose one or the other. You CANNOT have your cake AND eat it too!  rclxub.gif
and i thought settting smaller aperture size will get the job done.. hmm.gif so u can't have the detail of human's face and the landscape at the same time huh?note taken... tongue.gif
ReasonsofThanatos
post Jan 13 2010, 02:47 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Jan 13 2010, 11:11 AM)
ReasonOfThanatos: Of course you can have both face and background in focus; however you will have to work harder to making it work as both a "portrait" and a "scenery" picture.
Oo..i see i see..well will experiment more nxt time..thx 4 d tip biggrin.gif

QUOTE(deadangel @ Jan 13 2010, 12:12 PM)
anyone know where can learn photography trought on9?tq pro
i think d best way of learning photography is to shoot more yourself, and play around with its settings to see which of them looks good and suits ur liking..however a basic understanding of things like shutter speed, aperture size, depth of field, exposure and composition is essential, u have to do a little research on ur own lo.. tongue.gif

QUOTE(Uzumaki NaruTo @ Jan 13 2010, 01:28 PM)
Hi. Just got back from my trip. Learned a lot (in a hard way laugh.gif ) while travelling.

yes i think it's dust caught on sensor.i had that problem but got rid of it with a blower icon_rolleyes.gif
ReasonsofThanatos
post Jan 13 2010, 03:58 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(Uzumaki NaruTo @ Jan 13 2010, 03:48 PM)
No problem at private beaches. But then again some do want the perfect tan at public beaches laugh.gif
i saw a few too just showing their assets at a much remote part along the teluk cempedak beach, where u have to walk a distance on a bridge to reach few years back then... rolleyes.gif
ReasonsofThanatos
post Jan 14 2010, 12:20 AM

256 posts

QUOTE(achew @ Jan 14 2010, 12:14 AM)
its been awhile since i last do any toy shots... =)

wow sifu...interesting shot from u again rclxms.gif rclxms.gif very hillarious!
ReasonsofThanatos
post Jan 14 2010, 12:27 AM

256 posts

QUOTE(achew @ Jan 14 2010, 12:21 AM)
no??  whistling.gif
i would never do such cruel thing to my toys... brows.gif

Added on January 14, 2010, 12:22 am

actually i was quite tired from work..lol..so just agak agak setup the stuff n shoot..last time i used to spend like 2-4hrs to setup 1 shot..but today i only use 15min from the making of the blackboard until finish editing..lol..getting lazier.. =.=
shocking.gif 2-4 hours just to setup!?!?wow i'd never have the patience like this for preparations..im more to shooting things "as it is"...but really considering spending more times and shooting some figurines now..*hand itchy* tongue.gif
ReasonsofThanatos
post Jan 14 2010, 11:44 AM

256 posts

QUOTE(achew @ Jan 14 2010, 12:32 AM)
yea..2-4hrs only for setup..excluding brain storming and post editing..lol..

reason because i have had to present my idea in limited space(room very small) and limited equipment(sometimes 1 flash is not enough..sometimes lens too short or too long)...and also the item i could use to setup of the scene is very limited coz im not staying at home where i can find lots of junks to use..

but usually for me.. i found that those i spent lots of time to setup..it'd normally gives me more satisfaction in the end..lol

actually for this shot...i intended to use it to replace my current wallpaper which i already used for 1.5months(i normally start to shoot toy stuff when i feel like changing wallpaper..lol)...

but it looked like this stupid shot is nowhere near my old wallpaper..lol..guess i'd continue to use for a lil longer.. doh.gif
haha...but really couldn't agree more that every shot of urs is impressive..really worth the setup time and brain storming n all d effort rclxms.gif

thumbup.gif haha this new pic is even more cheeky!if u don't mind i'd like to have the full size image as my wallpaper tongue.gif it look nice enough for me!
ReasonsofThanatos
post Jan 14 2010, 12:07 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(achew @ Jan 14 2010, 12:01 PM)
my pleasure ^^
the shot is uploaded in my flickr..click "fullsize" its available in 1024 or 1920
thanks a lot sifu...checking out ur flickr now.. tongue.gif
ReasonsofThanatos
post Jan 14 2010, 08:28 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(cplow1 @ Jan 14 2010, 05:05 PM)
i love your spirit....wedding photography is not just how much u got paid or how much u open ur price. Well most people do it for the money but I do it for the LOVE. I love wedding photography and i mean each and every moment of it.

keep it up~!

nowadays you can see everyone on the street ah beng or ah heng all got DSLR but how many of us here really have the passion and the LOVE for photography? i doubt...very less
totally..i know a rich spoiled brat holding 500D and shoot on AUTO..when wanna share my opinion with him he's just "aiya...more money buy more expensive lens sure can get better picture..what mode also no need care one..." shakehead.gif

QUOTE(achew @ Jan 14 2010, 05:55 PM)
@destfull
u can always start from ur own friends??maybe just tag alone the official photographer..and observe how they do their stuff(they probably wont teach u much since they don know u at the first place).....maybe my age group is in the period where everyone starts to get married..i started from twice offering myself as a 2nd or 3rd photographer during my friends wedding..and then friends started to ask for my help to shoot for them(free again)..and people started to give u "angpao"..to people engage u officially as their main photographer...

as a starting point,each time u helping ur frens..be it free or paid..u not only get to learn from the main photographer(if there is any)..and also u get to know alot of those "sisters/brothers" who might be getting married soon either..so chances for u to learn/practice would just keep flowing in(provided u never screw up anything)..
exactly!i'as looking forward for my cousins to get married (i have a lot of cousins tongue.gif ) so that i could learn from their wedding photog too..n when im "ok" with wedding shoots then i shall do it for my frens in d future,FOC...i'd like to take pics of people at their happiest moment,n of coz one of d best looking day in their life.

ReasonsofThanatos
post Jan 14 2010, 09:46 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(akumirul @ Jan 14 2010, 09:23 PM)
carl zeiss CPL filter cost around USD99.. cry.gif

btw, my pic spam for today.. brows.gif

Strike Freedom Gundam (Pasar Malam model) brows.gif

Added on January 14, 2010, 9:24 pm

where u bought that filter? brows.gif want to find 55mm one oso... biggrin.gif
nice cat pic biggrin.gif d gundam pic has really noticable shadow, internal flash huh?

haha i wanna get a 55mm cpl filter too.. tongue.gif
ReasonsofThanatos
post Jan 17 2010, 10:08 PM

256 posts

sifus...is cpl filter good on d kitlens?i mean is it worth getting one of that for the kitlens...and how much does 1 usually costs tongue.gif
ReasonsofThanatos
post Jan 17 2010, 10:17 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(lencent @ Jan 17 2010, 10:13 PM)
i not sifu, but i wanan answer tongue.gif i only know the cheapest cpl brand octopus selling for like rm80 only, if u go for branded ones like Hoya pro1d or b+w, then it will cost around rm200+ i guess? and depends on your thread size too. i think not really worth it to get cpl lens for filter, better upgrade to better lens first only get a good cpl tongue.gif

p/s: cheapo cpl can cause glaring and lower quality image...
ooOoo..well somehow expected this...thanks for d advice!!

QUOTE(freddy manson @ Jan 17 2010, 10:17 PM)
i believe if u know how to use it.. the kitlens is powerful enuff..
CPL filter is good on ANY lens looking at HOW U FRAME the shot..

how much? depends on the filter thread size, and brand..
cheap2 one like octopus for 55mm is around RM50 and 62mm is around RM60
we got sellers here at the Garage Sales.. bought mine from shlow1819
ooOoo..i see i see...but RM 50~60 is quite afforable...n i think with cpl's effect im really interested to get 1 of those even for my kitty....let's consider consider...thx bro notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by ReasonsofThanatos: Jan 17 2010, 10:21 PM
ReasonsofThanatos
post Jan 17 2010, 10:23 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(AlphaBeta @ Jan 17 2010, 10:19 PM)
get at least Hoya CPL...they are cheap yet good quality.
i thought Hoya's CPL would be d top shelf n with sky high price??but its quality is guaranteed though... hmm.gif
ReasonsofThanatos
post Jan 17 2010, 10:32 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(achew @ Jan 17 2010, 10:28 PM)
just bought a hoya HD CPL yesterday..waiting for delivery =D
love their thin glass n the scratch proof thingy..
that "virtually indestructable" filter right? shocking.gif wow...how much it costs??
ReasonsofThanatos
post Jan 18 2010, 10:58 PM

256 posts

Sample pics

guys i've found a site comparing several DSLR tat's on par with A550...but i cant help but to notice the poor performance by A550 when shooting that "cat" pic...can be viewed on d link above...is that because of d noise reduction turned on or something?seemed out of focus... hmm.gif
ReasonsofThanatos
post Jan 18 2010, 11:05 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(kevinwcw @ Jan 18 2010, 11:00 PM)
you will hurt someone who juz got his A550  whistling.gif

cant doubt about tat..a550 got CMOS but compare to other model for example like nikon d90..a550 high ISO was not pretty at all
no la im not pointing out any flaws or what...personally i love A550 for its unmatched dynamic range and shooting speed....that's why im convincing my fren to get 1 tongue.gif but tat sample pic put a big doubt on him...
ReasonsofThanatos
post Jan 19 2010, 12:34 AM

256 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Jan 18 2010, 11:14 PM)
ReasonsofThanatos: That is a badly done comparison. The studio shot was at 50mm F10.0 1/20s!

1/20s is no guarantee that it will be clear of motion blur. It also looks misfocused.

So go tell your friend to look at more professionally-done reviews.
i also suspected misfocus...how u know it's on F10.0 and 1/20s bro??if that's d case maybe handshake ruined it... hmm.gif

0.0455sec    0.77    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 07:18 AM