For Small and Medium Business Owners, Come In and Share Your Biz.
Patrick Star
Jul 12 2010, 04:56 PM

Hi All..
My friend will be supplying sotong junk food for me to sell..
I plan to sell in different night market everyday in KL, PJ etc..
I plan to start with one stall first then slowly increase to 2 & 3 etc. I will hire ppl to help me look after those stalls.
Any advice? or suggestion?
Any better way to expand this business?
I also plan to sell ice cream in the night market as my bro will supply to me.
Kindly advise..
Can do this part time? or need full time?
Patrick Star
Jul 12 2010, 06:32 PM

QUOTE(Al3x0174 @ Jul 12 2010, 05:14 PM) Sell those sotong junk food to bars as snack - alternative Can do part time if your work allow you to go home sharp sharp - but I doubt you will have that time. Jam + Setup stall... oo..good sugestion..thx.. sumor? yeah..tat is wat i considering..i working full time job reali eat up alot my time.. i want to do own business bt reali no time.. financial oso a prob..haih help..advice..
Patrick Star
Jul 14 2010, 12:31 PM

QUOTE(edyek @ Jul 13 2010, 08:38 PM) If you don't have time for business, then stick to your job. If you really love business, and decide to give it a try, try doing part time business. my full time job now takes up alot of my time.. i want to do business..i need to quit my job..but then money is another prob.. any advice? QUOTE(YuNGSeNG @ Jul 13 2010, 11:45 PM) Do you have any photos or informations of the sotong junk food ? I may interest to buy from you and resell it with my own idea. Provided nice product and nice price. whr u goin to resell it? i gt few samples from my friend.. we can deal with it..hehe
Patrick Star
Jul 14 2010, 02:20 PM

thx alot for ur advice..
i already gt everything needed to start my business..i can start anytime..jus need get supply fr my friend..
i onli wori da first few months i cant earn enuf to support my expenses.
i gt around 10k plus saving..is it enuf?
Patrick Star
Jul 18 2010, 12:27 AM

hi..
i geting sotong junk food supply from my friend.like those dried cuttlefish.
My friend sell it b4 at night market. She suggest me sell at night market. cuz low rental. den can shift place easily.
I plan to sell at night market first.. then after that open more stalls at diff night market.
Then gt ppl sugest me supply to mini market, shops, bars, sell online etc.
Wt u all think? workable? as some ppl don like sotong.
Patrick Star
Feb 9 2011, 04:00 PM

what type of junk food suitable sell in klang valley?
for example dried sotong, chips etc..
I m looking for delicious snack food to sell to shops.
Anyone know any manufacturer?
Patrick Star
Feb 9 2011, 04:45 PM

do you have any websites to search for china manufacturers?
Patrick Star
Feb 10 2011, 04:29 PM

QUOTE(noor_yon @ Feb 9 2011, 07:01 PM) u can try this http://www.tradekey.com/ks-china-distributor/ Added on February 9, 2011, 7:30 pmyou can try - www.tradekey.com www.alibaba.com www.chinavasion.com THANKS ALOT
Patrick Star
Feb 26 2011, 10:36 PM

Hi all,
Normally is we buy product from China to sell in Malaysia, We need to buy in bulk quantity or MOQ.
But if we buy in bulk and unable to finish selling it, we will be making a loss.
Any advice?
Cause I dont want restock alot at last unable sell all.
Patrick Star
Feb 28 2011, 12:33 PM

Thanks alot for your advice.
I m planning to sell snack foods to shops, schools etc.
Anyone know any local manufacturers which have nice n special snack foods?
Patrick Star
Feb 28 2011, 01:59 PM

haha..yeah..sumor some of them dont have HALAL certs.
Tat y i am asking for local manufaacturers
ANyone there know local manufacturers for snack food? or dried cuttlefish?
Patrick Star
Feb 28 2011, 03:48 PM

QUOTE(georgelimsk @ Feb 28 2011, 03:35 PM) mind share what is ur plan. i started off without planning much, then i change along the way. its very hard just to guess the future. i started off with importing small quantity of gummies from germany. high cost. low margin. not easy sell as ppl dunno wat it is. like selling char koay teow in germany. then i added mineral water (best selling and best profit 150%). kacang and chupa chups lolipops. btw i got from supplier. but buy in bulk. btw, i don think u r really serious to get urself into this business yet. u need to research urself. if u need any info u can pm me. i got most suppliers now. (all brand u find in supermarkets) my business module now is selling on modified motor with carrier behind. i go from places to places after work. Hi Thanks for ur advice.. I plan to buy snack foods from manufacturers and then distribute to shops etc. a distributor I searching for China products but need to buy in bulk. I worry after i buy in bulk unable to sell all, i will face the loss. So i m planing to buy from local manufacturers first and then distribute. After i making some money, i will buy products from other countries. Any advise?
Patrick Star
Feb 28 2011, 08:55 PM

QUOTE(georgelimsk @ Feb 28 2011, 05:12 PM) may i know where is your location. most branded stuff have agents alrdy. unless u want try to get less popular one like tienming or sunbeans, dickfield u can try ask socma, kheesan or delfi or dksh (imported brands agents). as distributor, u have to exchange 1=1 for damage, expired.my case i take alot chupa chups becos even if i can sell and they expired, i can exchange for new. Added on February 28, 2011, 5:18 pmif u import in small quanity. freight charge > products cost. cth product is rm1+rm1(freight)=cost rm2. unless u take in 20footer container. then ur freight charge is about 10% ur product cost. my kes, dhl frm germany. product cost 30euro, 42euro for freight. 2kg Added on February 28, 2011, 5:24 pmfyi local distributor is using van sales method. u get urself a van. put all ur stuffs. u just sell anywhere u go. cash term. Hi, Those names u give is produce candies. Do u have any company that produce snack foods like chips, cheese balls etc? I know how a distributor works. I got relative work as distributor but in different field. I am interested in snack food. Those China product i search from different websites like alibaba, their MOQ costs few thousand to 10k. Is quite an amount. That y i am asking around for cheaper cost and lower quantity.
Patrick Star
Mar 9 2011, 09:31 AM

QUOTE(Lzhiwei @ Mar 9 2011, 01:02 AM) hey if anyone interested to start a small business. this can help What can help?
Patrick Star
Mar 14 2011, 10:28 AM

Any product suitable for trading?
I don wan buy in some products then unable to sell.
Patrick Star
Mar 16 2011, 02:46 PM

Hi All,
I got question here need advices.
Internet has those websites selling China and other countries products like alibaba, ebay, ioffer etc..
Is it possible to buy from those websites then resell again here? Do it traditional way (sell to shops) and not online way. Will the price cheaper?
Cause I wonder people can also buy from the websites themselves. Can this way works?
Please advice.
Patrick Star
Mar 16 2011, 03:34 PM

QUOTE(ah_suknat @ Mar 16 2011, 03:06 PM) yes, my friend is doing that. cheaper compare to what? Then your friend buy in bulk? He sell online o traditional way? I mean the product price plus the shipping will be cheaper o expensive than the same product sell here?
Patrick Star
Apr 6 2011, 09:16 AM

Hi all,
I already asked few logistics company what is the cost to ship items from China to Malaysia.
The shipping cost is very expensive even though ship thru sea. When calculate including all the cost, selling the item here will be costly and didn't get any profit.
Is there any alternatives?
Anyone here provide cheap shiping service?
Please advice.
Patrick Star
Apr 6 2011, 10:00 AM

QUOTE(ah_suknat @ Apr 6 2011, 09:56 AM) the reason its expensive is you ask local logistic company...if you want to get stuff from china you should ask logistic company FROM China to get the stuff ship to here...alternative is to ask your suppliers from China to get logistic to send their stuff to here, they usually do that. my supplier also got ask..the price even higher than the price i get from here
Patrick Star
Nov 16 2011, 10:01 AM

QUOTE(Icehart @ Nov 16 2011, 09:46 AM) Give you good price  Hi..where can get your potong..i want to try.. Added on November 16, 2011, 10:05 amHi All, I have a questions here need advices from all of you. Let say i am selling a food product. After deduct cost n expenses, if the net profit is 50% or less than 50%, is it worth it to continue to sell? Got business people tell me, if the profit not more than 50% the business earn little and Waste ur time. I wanna know how much profit is consider ok to continue in a business.. In other industries beside food, is it the same situation as well? or they earn more percentage? Need advices.. Thanks This post has been edited by Patrick Star: Nov 16 2011, 10:05 AM