Velodyne CHT-10Q, Performance

TSchengkl8
post Nov 17 2010, 04:05 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(clkok @ Aug 26 2010, 04:41 PM)
Haha.. Give you some hint.. Don't want to inform the price so clearly in here.. tongue.gif

Offer price from 10Q + top-up 600 = 12Q final price.. biggrin.gif

Since my 12Q was arrived to my house on yesterday night. Have play around with some of my favorite movie & concert in DTS & Dobly Digital effect. The 12" boom boom effect really SHIOK than my previous Yamaha 8" and better performance than CHT-10Q..  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif

icon_idea.gif  icon_idea.gif
Bro.. how u know that is better than CHT-10Q?? since you dun have 2 Sub to compare.. Can I bring my CHT-10Q to ur home and test it kau kau.. whistling.gif hehe..

Im sure CHT-12Q can deliver lower frequancy than 10Q, but in terms of sound quality - punchy, tight bass, clearity.. is about the same, if for the small HT room, for me I think 10" will be more than enough, will be a bit watse for 12" if you can't put it louder in a small room, is it true?? correct me if I wrong!! rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by chengkl8: Nov 17 2010, 04:13 PM
clkok
post Nov 17 2010, 04:24 PM

97 posts

Because I tested kau at the A&L Hifi Showroom @ Sungai Wang.

Thats why I buy 12Q instead of 10Q.. tongue.gif

If not, why need to pay more to get the 12" sub woofer.. sweat.gif

QUOTE(chengkl8 @ Nov 17 2010, 04:05 PM)
Bro.. how u know that is better than CHT-10Q?? since you dun have 2 Sub to compare.. Can I bring my CHT-10Q to ur home and test it kau kau.. whistling.gif  hehe..

Im sure CHT-12Q can deliver lower frequancy than 10Q, but in terms of sound quality - punchy, tight bass, clearity.. is about the same, if for the small HT room, for me I think 10" will be more than enough, will be a bit watse for 12" if you can't put it louder in a small room, is it true?? correct me if I wrong!! rclxub.gif
terranova
post Nov 17 2010, 04:41 PM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(C.T. Seong @ Nov 17 2010, 12:16 PM)
Based on the estimated street price of US$2.5k - US$5k for the various models across the DD+ series, Velo's pricing is definitely inching upwards and encroaching into the territory of Paradigm Sub25 and JL Audio Fathom series. I think they will be up against an already tough and crowded market.
TSchengkl8
post Nov 17 2010, 08:33 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(clkok @ Nov 17 2010, 04:24 PM)
Because I tested kau at the A&L Hifi Showroom @ Sungai Wang.

Thats why I buy 12Q instead of 10Q..  tongue.gif

If not, why need to pay more to get the 12" sub woofer..  sweat.gif
You got ur point, but for me - pay more to get 12'' is because you want it more louder rolleyes.gif

Like you buy a same model car eg: Waja 1.6 or 1.8 = Pay more to get more powerful performance in term of speed, but if you dun need to drive so fast or top speed of the car, so others just a same (comfordable).

As I mention, if your HT room is big, or even you like to put louder sound, CHT-12Q 100% sure will perform better than 10''. Are you agree?? nod.gif

Anyway, that is just my opinion, thanks. thumbup.gif

clkok
post Nov 17 2010, 11:46 PM

97 posts

My HT room cum living room is 600+ sqf only. Not that big, but I can the boom boom effect in every corner of my house.. rclxm9.gif

What I want is not power output only. Main thing I want is better Frequency Respond. The deep bass effect.

CHT-12Q can provide 25 - 120 Hz, while CHT-10Q is 28 - 120 Hz. This is my main concern for select the sub woofer. Not just can boom boom other ppl house, but I want to hear the special effect that came from the movie.. tongue.gif

During my test in A&L, listen comparing CHT-10Q with CHT-12Q, no matter in movie or live concert. 12Q can provide better "softer" bass which attract my attention. Plus 10Q is rm2300, 12Q is rm2900. rm600 different only. Since sub woofer is once in a lifetime product, so I invest on 12Q.. sweat.gif

You can compare the CHT sub woofer at this page: 10Q vs 12Q

Cheers.. laugh.gif

p/s: My main speaker is Dali IKON 2 book shelf speaker (tall, slim & small), Center speaker is ELAC CC61, Surround speaker ELAC Starlet satellite speaker. So not consider as big HT system ler.. sweat.gif

QUOTE(chengkl8 @ Nov 17 2010, 08:33 PM)
You got ur point, but for me - pay more to get 12'' is because you want it more louder  rolleyes.gif

Like you buy a same model car eg: Waja 1.6 or 1.8 = Pay more to get more powerful performance in term of speed, but if you dun need to drive so fast or top speed of the car, so others just a same (comfordable).

As I mention, if your HT room is big, or even you like to put louder sound, CHT-12Q 100% sure will perform better than 10''. Are you agree??  nod.gif

Anyway, that is just my opinion, thanks. thumbup.gif
jchong
post Nov 18 2010, 07:30 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(terranova @ Nov 17 2010, 04:41 PM)
Based on the estimated street price of US$2.5k - US$5k for the various models across the DD+ series, Velo's pricing is definitely inching upwards and encroaching into the territory of Paradigm Sub25 and JL Audio Fathom series. I think they will be up against an already tough and crowded market.
Agreed. For example the DD-15+ is in direct competition with the Sub25. Same size driver, similar MSRP, both with inbuilt EQ system, hey they even look similar smile.gif

Hope someone reviews the new DD+ line.
jchong
post Nov 18 2010, 07:36 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(clkok @ Nov 17 2010, 11:46 PM)
My HT room cum living room is 600+ sqf only. Not that big, but I can the boom boom effect in every corner of my house..  rclxm9.gif

What I want is not power output only. Main thing I want is better Frequency Respond. The deep bass effect.

CHT-12Q can provide 25 - 120 Hz, while CHT-10Q is 28 - 120 Hz. This is my main concern for select the sub woofer. Not just can boom boom other ppl house, but I want to hear the special effect that came from the movie.. tongue.gif

Room size of 600+ ft2 is fairly large. Glad to know your CHT-12Q fills it to your expectations. Which preset are you using for your 12Q?

During my test in A&L, listen comparing CHT-10Q with CHT-12Q, no matter in movie or live concert. 12Q can provide better "softer" bass which attract my attention. Plus 10Q is rm2300, 12Q is rm2900. rm600 different only. Since sub woofer is once in a lifetime product, so I invest on 12Q..  sweat.gif

Only once in a lifetime? smile.gif

One day you'll get the itch to upgrade... and then upgrade again... biggrin.gif
ronnt88
post Nov 18 2010, 08:20 AM

2,353 posts

stopped at 12Q? itch itch... needs scratch scratch laugh.gif
C.T. Seong
post Nov 18 2010, 08:26 AM

494 posts

QUOTE(clkok @ Nov 18 2010, 12:46 AM)
Since sub woofer is once in a lifetime product, so I invest on 12Q..  sweat.gif
SPL Ultra....~! SPL Ultra ~!
blush.gif

This post has been edited by C.T. Seong: Nov 18 2010, 08:26 AM
htkaki
post Nov 18 2010, 09:01 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Nov 18 2010, 07:36 AM)

One day you'll get the itch to upgrade... and then upgrade again...  biggrin.gif
laugh.gif Speaking from experience eh? tongue.gif

stopped at 12Q? itch itch... needs scratch scratch laugh.gif

That could possibly be a short-term antidote. Taukeh, it would be very different in your case since you already have one of the top sealed subwoofers thumbup.gif The one that could possibly dethrone it would be the 'King of the Kings'.

SPL Ultra....~! SPL Ultra ~!
blush.gif

Maybe he will upgrade from the CHT12-Q to SPL-1200Ultra then to DD-12 and stop at DD-18 biggrin.gif
jchong
post Nov 18 2010, 03:49 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Nov 18 2010, 09:01 AM)
Maybe he will upgrade from the CHT12-Q to SPL-1200Ultra then to DD-12 and stop at DD-18  biggrin.gif
Now got DD+ series already!
robinlim
post Nov 18 2010, 04:04 PM

vui vẻ và điên
974 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Nov 18 2010, 03:49 PM)
Now got DD+ series already!
Hi bro, long time no see leh biggrin.gif
Now got DD+ series somemore! sweat.gif
The upgrade hype is a neverending road
Now I'm starting to feel my spl 1200 ultra lacks of oomph doh.gif
TSchengkl8
post Nov 18 2010, 04:44 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(clkok @ Nov 17 2010, 11:46 PM)
My HT room cum living room is 600+ sqf only. Not that big, but I can the boom boom effect in every corner of my house..  rclxm9.gif

During my test in A&L, listen comparing CHT-10Q with CHT-12Q, no matter in movie or live concert. 12Q can provide better "softer" bass which attract my attention. Plus 10Q is rm2300, 12Q is rm2900. rm600 different only. Since sub woofer is once in a lifetime product, so I invest on 12Q..  sweat.gif

You can compare the CHT sub woofer at this page: 10Q vs 12Q

Cheers..  laugh.gif

p/s: My main speaker is Dali IKON 2 book shelf speaker (tall, slim & small), Center speaker is ELAC CC61, Surround speaker ELAC Starlet satellite speaker. So not consider as big HT system ler..   sweat.gif
As SAID & I know 12'' can deliver lower frequency than 10'' in same model.
Brother your living room is 600+sqf - is a very large room already, with that big room of coz 12'' will be better than 10'' somemore even u can effort higher driver size 15'' with your ''LARGE'' living room 600+sqft

I agree subwoofer is not for ''boom boom other ppl house'', don't forget now most feature-rich subwoofers come with room correction software and a calibration microphone which and the CHT-Q series support this features, with the flip of a switch or two, can easily optimize the settings and even the placement of a subwoofer in a music or home theater system. The audible difference between a subwoofer optimized for a room vs. one just plunked on the floor and turned on is not subtle. The room has a major effect on a subwoofer and placement can make a gigantic difference. Setting levels, phase and polarity can also make a notable improvement that can be heard by mainstream consumers.

Of coz I agree 15'' better than 12 '' better than 10'' better than 8'' in same model but not overall, just a frequency and more wider since driver size is different!!

As u said - CHT-12Q can deliver lower frequency and wider compare with 10'' than is consider better performance, so how about you compare with SPL-800 Ultra ?? rclxub.gif serious I try this SPL-800 Ultra @ A&L Amcorp PJ before, the bass is more clean, low distortion, tight & solid. Totaly different compare with our CHT-Q series, even just 8'', because the overall system is different, of coz the price also much much... sweat.gif

Bro.. u dun misunderstanding - I not jealous and said your CHT-12Q is no good, I just want to clarify different driver size (my opinion) is for different room size (driver vs room size). Like my HT living room is just about 250sqft only, how to drive so big driver size!! so my opinion is - smaller room 8'', small room 10'', medium room 12'', Large room 15'', very large room (800sqft & above) 18'' & above. Overall better performance will look for the different series. Like me when I upgrade I'll upgrade to SPL-Ultra Series 8''/10'' only!!

BTW, you should upgrade your front bookshelf to floorstand, since you have big living room!! thumbup.gif to get better overall performance!! thumbup.gif

My HT : PSB B15 bookshelf, Klipsch RC-62 center, Velodyne CHT-10Q, (temporary dun have surround speaker), Pioneer 920 AVR.

This post has been edited by chengkl8: Nov 18 2010, 04:54 PM
htkaki
post Nov 18 2010, 04:51 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(robinlim @ Nov 18 2010, 04:04 PM)
Now got DD+ series somemore!  sweat.gif
Wow.... upgraditis bug bite you that fast tongue.gif Time to change whistling.gif
jchong
post Nov 18 2010, 05:14 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(robinlim @ Nov 18 2010, 04:04 PM)
Now got DD+ series somemore!  sweat.gif
Long time no see indeed. Hope you've been well.

Yeah, it's never ending especially with new models out every so often which continue to improve and push the envelope.

Already this year got a number of new subs out. Time for a change perhaps biggrin.gif
clkok
post Nov 18 2010, 05:22 PM

97 posts

Haha.. Should not use "Once In Life Time".. tongue.gif Should be "Mid Term investment".. sweat.gif

As everyone said, currently CHT-12Q suit my requirement. But later on, perhaps SPL or DD, but I'm pengsan on the pricing ler.. rclxub.gif

My 12Q is using normal preset only, plus some EQ setting from my Denon AVR-3310, not much fancy.. tongue.gif

Cheers..

QUOTE(jchong @ Nov 18 2010, 07:36 AM)
Room size of 600+ ft2 is fairly large. Glad to know your CHT-12Q fills it to your expectations. Which preset are you using for your 12Q?

One day you'll get the itch to upgrade... and then upgrade again...  biggrin.gif
jchong
post Nov 18 2010, 05:45 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(clkok @ Nov 18 2010, 05:22 PM)
Haha.. Should not use "Once In Life Time".. tongue.gif Should be "Mid Term investment"..  sweat.gif

As everyone said, currently CHT-12Q suit my requirement. But later on, perhaps SPL or DD, but I'm pengsan on the pricing ler..  rclxub.gif 

My 12Q is using normal preset only, plus some EQ setting from my Denon AVR-3310, not much fancy..  tongue.gif

Cheers..
Don't worry there are many choices out there besides Velodyne. You can evaluate price vs performance find one that suits you when the time comes.

Since you have 12Q I assume you have run the auto-eq on it? If you haven't it's a good idea to run it. After that use Preset 3: Jazz/Classical for the most accurate response. Then also run the Audyssey MultEQ XT in your AVR.

All this should give you the best equalization possible (meaning a flattish freq response). Then have a listen and see if you like the sound. If you need more oomph for movies then choose the Movie preset in the 12Q remote control (this will enhance certain sub freq) or better is to increase the sub trim in your AVR.

This post has been edited by jchong: Nov 18 2010, 05:47 PM
clkok
post Nov 18 2010, 06:11 PM

97 posts

Haha.. I also plan to upgrade to floorstand speaker, but later. This turn have invest almost rm10k for my current HT system.. sweat.gif

Cheers.. nod.gif

QUOTE(chengkl8 @ Nov 18 2010, 04:44 PM)
BTW, you should upgrade your front bookshelf to floorstand, since you have big living room!! thumbup.gif to get better overall performance!! thumbup.gif

My HT : PSB B15 bookshelf, Klipsch RC-62 center, Velodyne CHT-10Q, (temporary dun have surround speaker), Pioneer 920 AVR.

Added on November 18, 2010, 6:13 pmThanks for the advice.

Yes, have run the Auto-EQ @ 12Q. I'll play around another setting as recommend by you.. nod.gif

Thanks again.. thumbup.gif

QUOTE(jchong @ Nov 18 2010, 05:45 PM)
Don't worry there are many choices out there besides Velodyne. You can evaluate price vs performance find one that suits you when the time comes.

Since you have 12Q I assume you have run the auto-eq on it? If you haven't it's a good idea to run it. After that use Preset 3: Jazz/Classical for the most accurate response. Then also run the Audyssey MultEQ XT in your AVR.

All this should give you the best equalization possible (meaning a flattish freq response). Then have a listen and see if you like the sound. If you need more oomph for movies then choose the Movie preset in the 12Q remote control (this will enhance certain sub freq) or better is to increase the sub trim in your AVR.
This post has been edited by clkok: Nov 18 2010, 06:13 PM
TSchengkl8
post Nov 18 2010, 06:42 PM

120 posts

Haha.. I also plan to upgrade to floorstand speaker, but later. This turn have invest almost rm10k for my current HT system.. sweat.gif

When you want to upgrade your front speaker to floorstand? which brand or model you target?? I also planning to buy a floorstand Klipsch RF-62, we go & buy together to get lower price for 2 sets of floorstand speaker.. icon_rolleyes.gif

But not so fast la.. at least need another 2 months time, we have look for HTKAKI to getting best offer from him.. thumbup.gif
clkok
post Nov 19 2010, 12:12 PM

97 posts

Haha.. My next floorstand speaker is DALI IKON6 MK2 wor.. drool.gif

Mine will take longer time to get it.. tongue.gif

Cheers.. brows.gif

QUOTE(chengkl8 @ Nov 18 2010, 06:42 PM)

When you want to upgrade your front speaker to floorstand? which brand or model you target?? I also planning to buy a floorstand Klipsch RF-62, we go & buy together to get lower price for 2 sets of floorstand speaker..  icon_rolleyes.gif

But not so fast la.. at least need another 2 months time, we have look for HTKAKI to getting best offer from him..  thumbup.gif

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0280sec    0.97    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 03:47 AM