Cooking, For those who cook

DarkNite
post Dec 27 2009, 07:47 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(f4tE @ Dec 27 2009, 06:08 PM)
Got question. When I cook spaghetti usually i will boil them with a bit of oil and salt. When al dante i drain the water and then fill with warm or not so hot water to wash then drain again. Do you guys do this? I think i read somewhere thats why i always do this.

But what is the logic behind washing with not so hot water and drain?
To stop the cooking process and make it more 'springy'. Pls ensure clean water if not the bacterial will built up very fast and cause food poisoning.

vey99 - thanks for the great recipe but can you make your pictures a bit smaller? By half?
My home laptop is only 14" and difficult to see big pictures when trying out your recipe in the kitchen.

This post has been edited by DarkNite: Dec 27 2009, 07:50 PM
DarkNite
post Jan 14 2010, 12:09 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

samlee860407 - nice! delicious drool.gif
What camera model are you using?
DarkNite
post Apr 13 2010, 08:44 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(vey99 @ Apr 12 2010, 02:33 PM)
i see a lot recipe use white wine. everything also taruh white wine.

but my gf is melay sometime and its not suited to cooked with arak. any substitute or flavour enhancer?
i am sure its tasty wif the ingredients in. but it looks rather "white"... would a few drops of kicap pekat spoil it?
By the time the food is cooked the alcohol is also negligible. Whist I respect your gf preference, do be aware by the time the food is cooked the alcohol is almost negligible which is far less than those in Chilli and Tomato sauce.

DarkNite
post Apr 16 2010, 09:33 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(panda00 @ Apr 16 2010, 05:03 AM)
These ingredients are easily available in any market, in the UK.  smile.gif

But not here in Malaysia. sweat.gif

DarkNite
post May 14 2010, 12:26 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(TommyTan @ May 14 2010, 08:54 AM)
Nice cookery by member here.

I hope to see some chinese cooking since I am chinese.
Some members are Chinese la, just b'cos there no have picture of them cooking the food, you can't say got no Chinese cooking. laugh.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by DarkNite: May 14 2010, 12:27 PM
DarkNite
post Mar 22 2011, 05:32 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(samantha88 @ Mar 22 2011, 03:53 PM)
Baked this last weekend, bf said he wanna eat banana cheesecake
so i google for the recipe, this is my first time trying out this recipe
the cake turned out nice, ppl who love bananas should try wink.gif
sorry...the pic a bit cacat, no time to decorate the cake coz in a hurry that day, rushing uphill to watch Sammi tongue.gif
Very nice banana cake! drool.gif drool.gif
My all time fav!
No need decorate already looks very delicious. thumbup.gif
Too bad I'm not your bf. cry.gif

This post has been edited by DarkNite: Mar 22 2011, 05:33 PM
DarkNite
post Mar 30 2011, 04:37 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(SnoWFisH @ Mar 24 2011, 11:13 PM)
.... the non stick layer started peeling out and some even got stuck to the induction top (my whole pan is black, including the bottom of the pan).
Did you clean the non-stick with water immediately while it it hot? hmm.gif
DarkNite
post Apr 2 2011, 06:45 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Apr 2 2011, 04:03 PM)
since my mum just bought an awesome oven, i wanna try this prime rib - seems easy!
but ... any idea where's a good place to go buy prime rib? don't think the local jusco or giant nearby my house has them.
Cold storage, Euro deli or Village Grocer? Where r u?

This post has been edited by DarkNite: Apr 2 2011, 06:46 PM
DarkNite
post Apr 11 2011, 12:25 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(panda00 @ Apr 10 2011, 05:04 PM)

2. 3 types of German wurst with salami
3. Olives
4. Sundried tomatoes
5. Matured cheddar cheese

cry.gif I wish I'm in UK!
DarkNite
post Apr 11 2011, 03:16 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(Al3x0174 @ Apr 11 2011, 01:45 PM)
Why?
here also have all those ingredient
Not the same taste, aroma and flavor. sad.gif
DarkNite
post Apr 15 2011, 11:13 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(phythia79 @ Apr 15 2011, 10:42 AM)
Made Baked Honey Mustard Chicken Breast last night for dinner.  Very easy to make...i think preparation only took about 15 mins or less.

BTW..the sauce can also be used as a salad dressing..yums!
My fav but lazy me cheat by using this >> user posted image blush.gif

BTW for salad leaves, what are you buying? Romaine or Butterhead or local Chinese lettuce or Iceberg? I find local Yeow Mak not so nice as Romaine. Are they the same? hmm.gif
DarkNite
post Apr 19 2011, 08:35 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(panda00 @ Apr 17 2011, 04:48 AM)
8. Belacan - shrimp paste 30g (toasted)

drool.gif
I could never toasted this when I was in UK! I did once but got compliant from my neighbours who though I was roasting a dead rat!! In the end I had to give my Penang Belacan to my classmate sister who staying the countryside in Devon.

DarkNite
post Apr 24 2011, 11:10 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(malaysianidol @ Apr 24 2011, 10:27 AM)
@panda00

thanks, looks nice..

the beancurd skin is crispy right? how to make it softer so i can fold it?
and i never seen that round shape beancurd skin b4.. smile.gif

can i substitute the pork since i'm a muslim...
Most beancurd skin at raw state is like paper and can be fold easily. If at raw state, it is too dry & crispy, just carefully wipe it with a clean damp cloth.

We use to make it with chicken(halal ones) for my Muslim friends but unfortunately... there were question about the bean curd skin halal-ness.
DarkNite
post Apr 24 2011, 07:27 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(malaysianidol @ Apr 24 2011, 06:37 PM)
...actually what the non halal ingredients they put in to make it?
Fear of fermentation during the cooking of the soyabeans?
Sweat from the makers of the beancurd? hmm.gif
DarkNite
post Apr 30 2011, 02:30 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Apr 30 2011, 01:11 PM)
gf made cheese tarts and egg tarts a few days ago. was yummy!

blogpost here (she wrote it, not me).
You gf hands are beautiful, that why tarts comes out looking excellent. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by DarkNite: Apr 30 2011, 02:32 PM
DarkNite
post May 4 2011, 11:59 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(phythia79 @ May 4 2011, 10:43 AM)
a noob question...if i were to roast 2 chicken at 1 time..will the time remains the same like roasting 1 chicken (ie 1.5 hrs)? I'll be putting the 2 chickens on the same tray.
depends on the heating capacity of the oven. I expect it to be longer.
DarkNite
post May 7 2011, 12:19 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ May 6 2011, 06:41 PM)
dinner! gf cooked yesterday

anyway we've decided to cook for mum n dad for mother's day. have settled on two main courses to do (cos my dad dun eat beef).

1. grass fed rib-eye - i cooked this before, blogpost here
2. cod with miso - found the recipe off epicurious, here

maybe add on a quick caeser salad. shouldn't be too ambitious to try squeeze in appetizer or dessert ... right?
Wat is that stuff or food in the pot with eggs? hmm.gif
DarkNite
post May 9 2011, 12:50 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ May 7 2011, 03:55 PM)
@DN curry chicken :3

hmm.gif
err...I have never seen curry chicken with hard boiled eggs before. Wat kind of curry chicken is that?
DarkNite
post May 14 2011, 10:20 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(s1014 @ May 13 2011, 05:03 PM)
I planned to buy microwave Oven but im not sure which brand have to buy..could anyone please suggest me.. i mainly looking for baking cake oso gril...
thanks in advanced.

Microwave Oven NN-CD997S
RRPrice : RM1899.00
http://direct.panasonic.com.my/Products.aspx/Details/338

Can be bought for RM16XX with free gifts.
DarkNite
post May 14 2011, 04:07 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ May 14 2011, 10:49 AM)
I find multi function ovens, (Panasonic even has steaming functions) not really functionable!!!  laugh.gif

In microwave/convection ovens, the color of the cake never comes out right, you can but you have to experiment with the settings and all the recipes get haywire. In conventional ovens, you just have to readjust your oven temperature with times in the recipes and that is for once only because by that time you will understand the characteristics of your own oven. If you are really serious about baking, I suggest getting those stand alone ovens (as said by a forummer earlier). Europa is now on their own after splitting from Zanussi but both perform OK.

I have a Zanussi but the wattage is 3.5KWs and I have to change the ELCB to handle the wattage. But favourable point is the temperature is stable and heats up fast. The others I have seen is about 2.2KWs only. Suprisingly my friend's Singer is quite OK, a variation of Europa actually. Off course if you can afford, get those by Fagor and Indesit, but they are mostly built in types. Don't go for Butterfly though.

IMHO I rather pay RM1500 for a conventional oven and spend another RM300 for a microwave oven separately. What do you use a microwave for usually? Heating, defrosting and Maggi mee, laugh.gif
Zanussi today is not the same as 2 decade ago. Their product suxs! Europa is much better and durable.

I use the Panasonic NN-CD997S (SHARP version is better but alas they no more in production) to bake & roast also.
I find that it bakes cookies and brownies better than the normal oven.

If I have lots & lots of money, I would go and grab Rational CombiMaster CM 61E (IKEA use this)

0.0410sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 06:27 PM