Astro B.yond, HD Content Available

azri
post Dec 29 2009, 11:58 PM

47 posts

Ok, wanna pitch in some input...

Registered a day after the launch. Actually registered through the web on the night but screwed up on the account number so registered through phone the next day. The day after registered, someone called me up for T&C. No offense but the lady was so loud and spoke like seller in pasar malam. I had to stop my car to carefully listen and had a good laugh too - she kept saying 'u ok sir?' biggrin.gif

The installer called me on 26th but was out station cry.gif

Called him back Monday but he said he's too tied up and can only do it today's morning. thumbup.gif
My area is U5, shah alam. Installer is actually from Klang shocking.gif He says even assigned to install up till Puchong!

So done with the installation.

My dish had this dual connector head... or whatever the thing you call it - the box on the tip of the dish. The installer mentioned that astro probably gave it since I have 2 decoders at my home. Next time to upgrade the second decoder no need to install another dish. Later I found out that another home had only single connector. Not sure if this is important to you guys.

The installer was good. Used the device to confirm the signal. I re-use my concealed RG9 cable. I had lightning arrestor in between the set top and the wall but the signal test was low so he recommended signal amplifier (but ran out of stock) or direct connect without arrestor. Anyone know where to get this amplifier? other then jalan pasar? He quoted RM80.

Once done, he rebooted the decoder and said wait for 1 hour before can watch. Hands itchy and not long after he left, was fiddling around with the remote to control my TV and the astro unit was turned on - it was less than 15 mins definitely and there I was watching Spiderwick Chronicle in it's HD form... PQ looks great, makes it worth the Rm20. I had the same problem after that, feel like dun wan to watch SD channels anymore icon_idea.gif

Checked the SD channels and I can concur with the rest that the SD channels doesn't look as good as earlier decoder - especially the local channel.

Strange thing is the volume button didn't really control anything. The screen shows decrease but the sound remains. I had to use my TV controls for that.

azri
post Dec 30 2009, 12:11 AM

47 posts

My setup, I had normal decoder upstairs. Hooked up to normal TV. Wires concealed in the wall so I had a dish on top of the roof.

I had a second one downstairs. I didn't know actually that you can share same dish so had another concealed wiring done and had to install second dish front of the porch (wires too short to pull all the way up).

I didn't request anything special from astro. I guess they knew that I had 2 astro decoders (cos second one signed up under 50% promo - principal account). So they gave me LNB with 2 points.

Didn't pay anything unusual to the installer. Surrendered an old Nokia decoder... actually the Nokia one wasn't used. The most recent one I got is the decoder with component out so I want to keep that as a backup smile.gif

I did pay Rm5 extra since the installer had to fabricate a cable to connect from wall to astro. The earlier cable was too thin, the earlier installer was lazy to crimp and use proper cables - I didn't check either but when he showed me it's true. At least saved me RM30-40 to get a ready made coax cable.

Added on December 30, 2009, 12:17 am[QUOTE]For volume problem, actually you need to "program" your remote to act like ur TV remote...after you program it (actually it's not like program it la, hmm.. donno waht to say, maybe "combine" your TV remote with byond remote), you can just keep ur Tv remote... but just for the basic functions like controlling the volume, mute your TV, switch off/on your TV and change your TV input sources like Antenna, AV1,AV2,HDMI so on.... U need to read it on your astro byond user manual... if i'm not mistaken, it was on page 20 something... /QUOTE]

What I meant was the earlier decoder, if you lower down the astro volume... it will lower down the volume regardless what the volume set on the TV. But for Byond, I lower till zero (on the decoder) but the sound was still there (TV volume is at 30). I would expect that the decoder should act as the main source. Anyway, not a biggie issue to me.

I have harmony universal remote, gonna program that this weekend so this should not be a major issue. For Harmony remote users, I just checked on harmony database the Pace DS830NA is not in the database nor Astro DS830NA... guess have to manually program it.

This post has been edited by azri: Dec 30 2009, 12:17 AM
azri
post Dec 30 2009, 08:53 AM

47 posts

To Harmony remote users, might want to try Pace - DS-830NS as the Satellite Set Top box to program your remote. I customized my manually but once done the GUI suggested this.
azri
post Dec 30 2009, 10:18 AM

47 posts

Here's the dish...

Astro byond dish

Look at the tip of the probe. Highlighted in the blue box, there are 2 cable connectors. Currently only using one. Since sun already up and it's up on the roof, lazy to snap the thing in action - but you get the idea.
azri
post Dec 30 2009, 11:18 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(pirateguy @ Dec 30 2009, 11:14 PM)
So folks, make sure your old decoder is the original one that you got otherwise you could run into some problem.
I swaped my decoder with even an older one (previously as a backup) cos the one used is the new one with component out. I told the installer that I it's broken and I bought a second hand decoder. No issues, they pickup that one and gave me new decoder. After all, if I remember the T&C only says you have to surrender the decoder. So I did my end of the bargain, never actually mentioned that it needs to be tied to specific serial number. - but yes, the installer actually have your old decoder serial.
azri
post Dec 31 2009, 12:21 AM

47 posts

I got it when I subscribed to 2nd decoder. Did ask around before no joy... couldn't get it. Even astro center didn't know it existed! And I'm talking about Oct or Nov time frame.

However I don't think so having component improves PQ that much. At least from my eyes. However I think the SD channels are better on this one compared to BYond.
azri
post Dec 31 2009, 11:19 AM

47 posts

Astro B.yond headcount...

1.apexg2
2.kelvin (Penang)
3.torreto (Subang Jaya/Kelantan)
4. rayfoo
5.l_berd (Penang)
6.RAMChYLD (Klang)
7 Cyberian (Sepang)
8. azri (U5, Shah Alam)