From that day, i carefully buy things online.
And i inspect every single tricks used by scammers.
Hopefully this post can save millions ringgit of people by being conned
First:
They don't reveal their details (phone no, copy of IC etc)
They just give name and account number.
Outdated trick used by conman, now just give it since they know that even police couldn't do nothing about it.
Second:
They won't do any COD
Obviously they will not, because they don't have the stuff.
Or they will, but you have to pay some deposit, usually quite high amount.
Most popular excuses:
1) This is Kastam thing. To avoid me from being caught because of selling illegal goods (...) - Mostly found on Ebay.com.my
2) "I don't COD with my 1st time deal customer."
3) Too busy, urgent, going somewhere/balik kampung tomorow (...)
4) "I'm at overseas, i can ask my brother to post the item (...) "
5) "I live in Mersing, in order for me to go to JB, i need some money first because im out of money." (Then they ask for deposit) - Mudah.my Johor
My personal suggestion.
Play around with them. For example:
1) "u post the item 1st, they i pay you later" (the answer: if u can't trust the one that u don't know, why should i?)
2) "ok i have a cousin there, can u cod with him/her somewhere in ..." (just pretend you have cousin everywhere on the earth)
3) Text them "Scammer!" and they will cursing/bulls**tting you in SMS but that's all they can do, genuine seller they will not. (This one is the best way i guess)
Third:
The details given is doubtful
They give others details, his girlfriend/mom/sister/neighbour.
They just don't want to give theirs with silly excuses such as "no maybank/cimb account"
The reason:
1) To avoid multiple cases of scamming using same bank account number so that police will take the case lightly.
2) Using underage kid/dying grandmother account number so that the case can be considered close.
Fourth:
They selling so many items on internet
They sell iPhone, xperia, ipod touch, ps3 and other demanded stuff using same phone number. (usually up to 5items per a phone no.)
I found a seller on mudah.my, selling xperia x1 with the reason for sale: buying iPhone 3G but at same time he selling an iPhone too.
To detect this, there is two ways i usually used:
1. Open up their profile, click Find Member's Topic or Find Member's Post (For forum such as LYN and ZTH)
2. Check their phone number online using exact match result. (For mudah.my, ebay.com.my and similar website)
Try mutiple combination of phone number.
Example:
01x-xxx xxxx (1dash, 1space)
01x-xxxxxxx (1dash)
01xxxxxxxx (no dash, no space)
Fifth:
They have bad online reputation
Search their name online, it might be there, the name with some cursing from people they conned.
Lets say his full name on bank detail is SCAMMER ABCDE VWXYZ, just google his name using quote sign (" ") for exact match result.
Search on Google: "SCAMMER ABCDE VWXYZ"
Sixth:
They sell goods extremely cheaper than others - the_dead_identity
The price offered just impossible or hard to believe. Some deals are real, but you have to check their online selling reputation.
Hint:
Ebay/Lelong: The seller simply got star/feedback from previous buyers. Check his/her registration date also.
LYN: Check his successful trade list and feedback from previous buyer. At least, he/she did 50 trades in LYN. Check his/her registration date also.
Mudah.my: I have no idea about this. Just COD!
This post has been edited by aindejeje: Jan 25 2010, 06:13 PM
Dec 8 2009, 01:18 PM, updated 16y ago
0.0240sec
5 queries