Guide Beginners Guide to Desktop Modding

TSfariz
post Jun 22 2006, 07:16 PM

Tan Sri F
16,825 posts

QUOTE(AllOfTheDayAndAllOfTheNight @ Jun 22 2006, 07:05 PM)
i gotta ask this...

this modding thingy will prolly need your pc at least 1GB of RAM is it? its looks like it slows down a pc.
not at all.. mine is only 512MB
TSfariz
post Jul 6 2006, 03:03 PM

Tan Sri F
16,825 posts

QUOTE(vdvaart @ Jul 6 2006, 01:28 PM)
i mean the dock always in rectangle shape.can i have a circle dock instead? icon_question.gif
avedock, http://avedesk.philc.ca/modules/PDdownload...hp?cid=9&lid=80
TSfariz
post Jul 13 2006, 03:17 PM

Tan Sri F
16,825 posts

QUOTE(Uchiha_Sasuke @ Jul 13 2006, 03:03 PM)
can the visual styles we download from the net works if we dont hav style xp installed?
can it b applied after we unzip all the files into the theme folder which is located in the window's folder?
thankz for the help!
read first page
TSfariz
post Aug 19 2006, 10:47 PM

Tan Sri F
16,825 posts

QUOTE(leonardtan2 @ Aug 19 2006, 10:41 PM)
I have a question here.. Hope you guys dont mind to answering me.

U know the fancy weather dock that Mac OS X have? How do i get it and install it in windows. i search Un.google ade.. no proper results !
a screenshot of that fancy dock would be nice..
TSfariz
post Sep 21 2006, 01:39 PM

Tan Sri F
16,825 posts

QUOTE(dattebayo @ Sep 21 2006, 01:03 PM)
may I know which software can enable sidebar or bottom bar with the icons of the programs on the desktop? Something similar to the Macintosh laugh.gif
a dock

quoted from aqua-soft

ObjectDock
+ can do flyout menus
+ can create tabbed docks
+ can run multiple docks
- costs money if you want to use all features
- no drag an drop

RocketDock
+ free
+ compatible with Y'zDock, MobyDock, and ObjectDock skins
- no drag and drop

Mobydock
+ free
+ can be set on top of the taskbar
- not developed anymore
- no big choice of docklets
- crashes often

Y'zDock
+ free
+ drag and drop
+ light on recources
- not developed anymore
- magnifcation not as smooth as in other docks

RKLauncher
+ free
+ drag and drop
+ can use Y'zDock and ObjectDock docklets
+ can import Y'zDock skins
+ can minimize windows the the dock
- somehow 'dodges' things if you drag them into running apps or the recyclebin

--
I use rklauncher on my system

TSfariz
post Sep 21 2006, 02:53 PM

Tan Sri F
16,825 posts

QUOTE(dattebayo @ Sep 21 2006, 02:31 PM)
is  there any way to make the dock visible only in Desktop, and I dont want to show them in window? When I set "Normal" or "Always in Bottom" in rklauncher, everytime I press the "show desktop" in quick launch, the dock is missing

I dont want to make it always on top, because it will block the opened window, I just want it to be showed on desktop at all times
1. don't use "Show Desktop", it minimize everything. Use this hotkey, Win+M

2. go to rk launcher setting, "behavior" tab > deselect "always on top"
TSfariz
post Oct 1 2006, 06:25 PM

Tan Sri F
16,825 posts

QUOTE(lazo @ Oct 1 2006, 05:43 PM)
I cant find any screen shot there >_<
http://browse.deviantart.com/customization...s/media/winamp/

look closely..
TSfariz
post Oct 6 2006, 12:01 AM

Tan Sri F
16,825 posts

QUOTE(Uchiha_Sasuke @ Oct 5 2006, 11:42 PM)
Can anyone tell me wats styler toolbar?
and can anyone tell me where to download it?
thankz a lot!!
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=283778
TSfariz
post Jan 22 2007, 09:08 AM

Tan Sri F
16,825 posts

QUOTE(unexist @ Jan 22 2007, 03:53 AM)
hi..
can anyone teach me how to install this?
http://www.deviantart.com/deviation/24840618/
kinda confused how to do it. i did all the steps in the posts but doesn't seem to work.  your help will be apprieciated~ thx.
This theme uses Windowblinds. You can get it from here
TSfariz
post Feb 19 2007, 10:33 AM

Tan Sri F
16,825 posts

QUOTE(yukihatsu @ Feb 19 2007, 10:11 AM)
excuse me, may i know where to buy WindowBlinds 5 original version?? how much does it cost by the way? i'm only 16 this year... sweat.gif can't afford to buy anything expensive.. =_=;

http://www.stardock.com/

another question, does adding RAM to your computer actually makes your system run faster? or is it the processor that makes the system run faster? i'm having quite some problem here.. i'm using the Desktop Sidebar, Rainlendar, Icontweaker and Vista Visual Styles now.. my system seems to be very slow and laggy because of that...

any suggestions to make my computer run faster? my RAM is only 256mb..
and the processor speed is 1.7GHZ.. thought of upgrading my comp after CNY.. use ang pau money.. hehehe..
add RAM, 1GB is cheap now
TSfariz
post Mar 23 2007, 12:01 PM

Tan Sri F
16,825 posts

QUOTE(slid3 @ Mar 23 2007, 11:39 AM)
Ermm can someoen pls help me...I couldnt save the images from devianart.com..there is no download option....it just shows the thumbail version...can someone help...ih ave searched all over the page....appreciate ur help ...i am desperate sad.gif
click the thumbnail
TSfariz
post Dec 3 2007, 09:21 AM

Tan Sri F
16,825 posts

QUOTE(Satria-Craze @ Dec 3 2007, 04:51 AM)
Is there somehow a place where there is this text icon available for download in .png format?? Even the template would be fine (template as if I just change the text in Photoshop since that is the only thing I know how to do.. the rest available..)
Or perhaps a tutorial on how to use Photoshop to create the text icon... tongue.gif
P/S: Somehow I started to think that I'm asking way too much edy... sweat.gif
http://coldwerturkey.deviantart.com/art/Re...-Icons-62843640
http://memberofthemayday.deviantart.com/ar...on-Set-52464213
http://miscbeep.deviantart.com/art/Reflect...-Vol-1-70561832
http://tnm-dm.deviantart.com/art/abr-69138581
http://styrizo.deviantart.com/art/Reflections-Vol-I-34957480
http://styrizo.deviantart.com/art/Reflecti...Vol-II-35051790
TSfariz
post Jul 24 2008, 07:21 AM

Tan Sri F
16,825 posts

allow you to use customize theme downloaded from the web
TSfariz
post Aug 1 2008, 10:18 PM

Tan Sri F
16,825 posts

QUOTE(speedguy10 @ Aug 1 2008, 09:43 AM)
I found some related stuff named as "styler" and inside got a lot of .png files and a configuration file in .ini format. Can any sifu here give some guidance on how to use them?

p.s: I have asked this question in other topic but no respond, so i just try here.

styler thread

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=283778
TSfariz
post Aug 18 2008, 08:15 PM

Tan Sri F
16,825 posts

LogonStudio

http://www.stardock.com/products/logonstudio/
TSfariz
post Aug 19 2008, 07:08 PM

Tan Sri F
16,825 posts

install, and drag a program to the dock to create a shortcut
TSfariz
post Aug 19 2008, 08:53 PM

Tan Sri F
16,825 posts

QUOTE(Scrambler @ Aug 19 2008, 07:40 PM)
drag program to which folder?and how to use dock theme?arghh..sory.
watch this

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TJdciz52RV4
TSfariz
post Aug 20 2008, 11:13 AM

Tan Sri F
16,825 posts

use styler

you can get the themes from deviantart
TSfariz
post Aug 21 2008, 08:05 PM