4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

HTC Desire, Officially Launched!

r47z
post May 19 2010, 04:12 PM

686 posts

anyone using Android Town here? I spotted two Android users already. one in puchong and one in ss2. very interesting app, it's an app that search for android users (the ones that are logged on to Android Town) within a different radius via googlemap. You can communicate and add them as friends, it's like connecting the Androiders. There's like 6-10 users logged on in Singapore.

you can search for the app in the market. it's free!

This post has been edited by r47z: May 19 2010, 04:20 PM
r47z
post May 20 2010, 08:44 AM

686 posts

Google I/O didn't mention anything on froyo on the first day, this will come on the 2nd day (today).

finger cross for the good news!
r47z
post May 20 2010, 09:21 AM

686 posts

btw, here is some goodies for you guys who have a desire already(or any other android phones)

tips, tricks & tutorial!

http://www.techcredo.com/android/android-t...s-and-tutorials

I admit there's some tricks there that I never knew I could use! (maybe a stickie?)

This post has been edited by r47z: May 20 2010, 09:21 AM
r47z
post May 20 2010, 11:34 PM

686 posts

2nd day of google i/o starting anytime (they are late). Please announce FroYo yo yo!

http://www.youtube.com/googledevelopers

This post has been edited by r47z: May 20 2010, 11:34 PM
r47z
post May 20 2010, 11:37 PM

686 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ May 20 2010, 11:36 PM)
is started..btw y dun have sound?
i also dunno? technical error?

sound is back!

This post has been edited by r47z: May 20 2010, 11:37 PM
r47z
post May 20 2010, 11:40 PM

686 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ May 20 2010, 11:37 PM)
ok sounds back..high possibility of froyo announce
here is the live blog

http://www.androidcentral.com/google-io-da...oyo-time-io2010
r47z
post May 21 2010, 12:06 AM

686 posts

woo hoo! apps 2 sd in Froyo!!! update all and new search features in the market!
r47z
post May 21 2010, 12:07 AM

686 posts

and we can buy apps from the web! (future updates only sad.gif )

This post has been edited by r47z: May 21 2010, 12:07 AM
r47z
post May 21 2010, 06:58 AM

686 posts

QUOTE(ineser @ May 21 2010, 06:41 AM)
Rumour around June...

Yeah lucky ppl who r getting free EVO!

Final confirmation, Desire getting 2.2!
http://www.androidcentral.com/most-2010-ht...-get-froyo-2010
Android phones released this year will get the update. I really hope HTC will not delay it. With the large amnt of users in the Europe region I'm sure that they will make a big fuss over it. I hope its not ROM base but have a feeling it might. Maybe unlocked and generic versions will get it first? I'm on unlocked Europe ROM. Hoping that it'll be release in July! N1 users will get it in June I think.
r47z
post May 21 2010, 08:44 AM

686 posts

QUOTE(reiki_longtime @ May 21 2010, 08:29 AM)
w00t! This is great for HTC Desire buyer. If Froyo arrives, one less reason to root and void your warranty, especially if the warranty is more that 1 year. (Of course, for the advenerous, they can always unroot it back)

*edit* Found an article that we will be seeing 5x faster performance on Froyo! Pair that with Snapdragon!  drool.gif
yeh, this annoncement and the release of Desire (SIS) certainly made my week. Altho I ALREADY have one.

http://mytechnews.info/b/2010/05/htc-desir...-next-week.html
r47z
post May 21 2010, 01:56 PM

686 posts

that sucks man, only to maxis for one month. other's have to wait. but they should also have the optino to the phone outright without any contract?
r47z
post May 21 2010, 03:51 PM

686 posts

QUOTE(alexcml @ May 21 2010, 03:37 PM)
So I have Maxis GPRS unlimited plan at RM99 per month from long time ago, which I can get speed up to 2+Mbps and am unwilling to give up unless it is not really unlimited (download limit or throttling), so either outright no-contract purchase (if possible) or AP.

If not really unlimited (comments from you guys welcomed) then it seems to be better to purchase from DiGi with contract at RM68 unlimited...if and when desire available from DiGi...does this sound reasonable?
speed will be capped at 3gb for both digi and maxis for unlimited access. fair usage policy.
r47z
post May 21 2010, 04:11 PM

686 posts

QUOTE(Cynox @ May 21 2010, 04:04 PM)
from you guys' experience, is 3gb enough for heavy surfing, checking email (with some office attachment sometime), and some IM like googletalk/msn chat? 

I presume 3gb is more than enough if no serious downloading is made.
yes should be enough, as long as you don't stream music or download torrent etc/online.
r47z
post May 21 2010, 04:25 PM

686 posts

QUOTE(AngelSlayer @ May 21 2010, 04:16 PM)
You are right, in HTC Singapore, they told us the same thing.

Although the reseller from UK provide 2 years international warranty, however in Singapore only cover 1 year warranty, the next year warranty will not be covered in HTC Singapore.
Sg does not give 1+1?
r47z
post May 21 2010, 06:51 PM

686 posts

QUOTE(AskarPerang @ May 21 2010, 05:36 PM)
Yes, the old plan is truly unlimited but no longer taking in new subscribers.
You can read all about it in this thread here:
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/390525/+1480

It is a waste if you let go of that and go for digi.
I'm sharing it with maxis multi sim. One sim for my modem and one sim for my phone but only paying RM99 monthly.
Thanks for that! I got theunlimited package a few weeks before they took it down and someone told me its capped at 3gb. So it's not capped and that isawesome. Now I can't wait for Froyo!
r47z
post May 24 2010, 10:44 AM

686 posts

Hoping that when HTC releases the FroYo for Desire it'll be when the General public release of Flash will be out.I understand that this will be faster than the current one since it's beta
r47z
post May 25 2010, 12:04 PM

686 posts

Just received the Epik Case from AskarPerang. Blue color rubberised case.

Picture of the item is

Click here for bigger picture.

r47z
post May 25 2010, 04:18 PM

686 posts

QUOTE(RedDonut @ May 25 2010, 02:02 PM)
bro, wanna ask

the Epik case, is it soft material like those capdase?

or hard case shell?

just luv those capdase case, lembut laugh.gif
Hard rubberised case. Very nice and sturdy.
r47z
post May 25 2010, 05:12 PM

686 posts

as long as there is no track record or not via a controlled selling medium (lowyat/ebay) I don't think it's safe to buy anything especially with something at this price. if it's too true to be true, then it's not true.
r47z
post May 26 2010, 02:44 PM

686 posts

QUOTE(Gurdian @ May 26 2010, 02:37 PM)
Desire owners, can someone confirm with me if they're phone speaker (when listening to calls) quality is a bit low quality?

As in calls sound very 'metallic' and not natural.

slightly metalic, but clear. much better than other phones i've used (legend).

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0401sec    1.01    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 05:04 PM