i'll postpone until december to start cancelling my cards since still have time...might change the decision anyway since there is alot of protest from the industry
Credit card V8, Anything about it
Nov 2 2009, 01:27 PM
5,195 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: 500 year old rock ADHD |
i'll postpone until december to start cancelling my cards since still have time...might change the decision anyway since there is alot of protest from the industry
Nov 2 2009, 08:05 PM
QUOTE(kanethesun @ Nov 2 2009, 05:44 PM) Hi there, have search around the thread, but can't seems to find the interest, might as well asking here its quite expensive leh 18% per annum but daily calculated, long time didn't see the interest since keep changingI am news CC user for EON-GSC. Says like if I going to purchase a TV with RM2,500, and the shop don't offer any easy payment plan, and on the next statement, says the minimum payment is RM500, if I pay RM500, I wont face any late payment penalty, but interest right? The interest is based on the outstanding pay right? so its RM2,000 x how many % of interest? Just interest to know, hope you all can clarify this |
Nov 7 2009, 11:42 AM
QUOTE(Darkmage12 @ Nov 6 2009, 10:06 PM) Nope I specifically asked about the Service tax. I said well even with the 100 preloaded Im thinking of just cancelling it now without even using it. The person on the other side told me that they will waived it. Hope he holds up to it how come get RM100? pls provide more details?SCB is what bank card? if really waived, i might get that card |
Nov 8 2009, 10:49 AM
QUOTE(hye @ Nov 7 2009, 10:39 PM) I encounter this problem all the time and 9/10 times after asking the cashier to select the "credit" function then the transaction goes through. There are occasions that the merchant terminal does not support this card. Play the active role in asking the cashier to press / select the correct menu and you should be fine. really cannot apply anymore....why???!!! You can cancel this card but there are a lot of people out there who wants to apply this card but can't coz it is not available for new application anymore. I'm not advocating this card but you gotta admit, if you plan and time your purchases that 5% rebate on a Friday is pretty attractive and not to mention that 2% rebate on any other days. |
Nov 13 2009, 08:35 PM
QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Nov 13 2009, 05:46 PM) Because the current CEO of CIMB Group is the little brother of our much loved current Prime Minister its funny cos should be able to cancel card anytime wat...somemore just say i want my card block then i don't want it replaced...the manager also got somekind of problem...haven't wake up i think since its a midnight callBy the way, yet another complaint about Maybank service on today's Star Newspaper. Read the complaint letter below. QUOTE(jack2 @ Nov 13 2009, 08:23 PM) most probably bank won't be so stupid to absorb just like that, better just cut it lah, when everything settle down then apply again if free....then the agent can earn again...hehe |
Nov 14 2009, 10:09 AM
QUOTE(muscaa @ Nov 13 2009, 09:19 PM) cut those c.c. which doesn't give discount or provide lousy banking service (or PM brother's bank only certain bank do it to earn more $$$Added on November 13, 2009, 9:23 pm this is a bit strange... i've tried to deal with the same bank before, reported loss of c.c. and able to terminate the card at the same time without being charged RM50 for card replacement. |
Nov 15 2009, 09:12 PM
so anybank offering they will absorb the RM50 anyone?
going to change to that bank if have |
Nov 19 2009, 10:17 AM
haiya, waiting now since i want to start cancel cards already...see which bank will offer
Nov 21 2009, 06:51 AM
wat taking the banks so long to decide
definitely trying to catch the consumers with their pants down again with last minute announcement that they won't absorb the RM50 will start cancelling all cards except my Younique card next week Added on November 21, 2009, 6:53 amwill miss my 2% petrol rebate of CIMB card though...sob This post has been edited by kei18kun: Nov 21 2009, 06:53 AM |
Nov 21 2009, 10:54 AM
QUOTE(Darren @ Nov 21 2009, 08:51 AM) So any of you guys still believe that its still in discussion? yes, just cancel the card, the bank will still send u statement until u settle everythingAll the cards center that I called gave the standard answer which is We havent received any direct order from BNM regarding this. Please continue using it for the meanwhile. Already Nov21, if really fail, then card centres would be flooded with cancelation requests. BTW, can you cancel cards with an ongoing installment? RHB told me I cant cancel it if I havent clear the balance. When I was at the branch, they told me I can cancel it and then pay accordingly every month. Got so fed up because I got the money to settle it but needed the monthly statement to claim from company as I used my card to sign up for Streamyx free pc campaign. don't wait to cancel already, i think the bank is just buying time saying the above statement so that they can charge us on 1st January Najib already said he won't cancel the service tax, its up to the bank now and I know banks won't freely waive the charges. There are no free lunch in this world mah QUOTE(simplesmile @ Nov 21 2009, 10:23 AM) This week I was approached by a Maybank credit card agent. She told me that the Amex card 1st year RM50 service charge is waived. Is this true? I told her that none of the banks made any announcements yet, the how did she know 1st year is waived? She replied that this is a promotion or something. lol, better don't believe her unless there's black n whiteQUOTE(boonsin23 @ Nov 21 2009, 10:28 AM) This is ridiculous!! y we hv to pay for 2 or more cards with combined limit? In the end still can spend for the max CL wat! Can we ask those ministers if they hv 2 or more sets of car keys then they hv to buy 2 or more insurance policies in order to "protect" them? good point there, just cancel one of the cardsQUOTE(darkknight81 @ Nov 21 2009, 10:32 AM) if got rebate more than RM50 per year, i'll keep the card |
Nov 21 2009, 04:57 PM
QUOTE(cheez @ Nov 21 2009, 11:36 AM) I'm keeping my EON card as my insurance rebate is more than RM50 a year. haha, same here lah since younique got rebate and points...main thing is my digi postpaid got RM5 rebate if autodebit plus another 2 sup line 1 year RM185 alreadyhopefully EON bank will absorb la. as for my CIMB, most likely i'll cancel it even though i use it quite a lot every month on my biz trip overseas. hmm.. if the cimb card points can be change to back to money more than RM50, why not keep it? This post has been edited by kei18kun: Nov 21 2009, 05:00 PM |
Nov 22 2009, 11:06 AM
QUOTE(Dannyl @ Nov 21 2009, 05:46 PM) How did you cancel yours? When I call up, they said I can't cancel it within the first year. What can I do? 1. called the cs and demand to speak to the manager or2. cut the card in half, make sure the chip is cut in two and mail it back to them QUOTE(gigigatgat @ Nov 22 2009, 12:49 AM) Hi all, just get alliance younique card, rebate up to 2% and got pointsi would like to seek advice from all the people here, which credit card should i apply for? i just need one for work purpose. looking for a card that can save me money and use for rolling. m using smiles card from esso. and also will be paying the credit card bill every month on time. please advice. also wanna ask is it difficult to pay if my pay bank in XXX bank and my credit card is CCC bank? thanks. from what i read, younique and citi-shell also cimb direct access not bad. please advice. just grad, my 1st job so need card sometimes for paying bills, hotel outstation adn bla bla.... help! |
Nov 25 2009, 04:48 PM
Heard of the Hong Leong Bank Essential card?
no limit 1% cash back 1% per annum for 6 months BT or FPP 1 high credit limit My question is the 1% cash back until when? since its not mention in the terms and condition. The BT is very attractive though. Does the cash back include autodebit? tried to call the customer service, waited for 5 minutes no one pick up...sien |
Nov 26 2009, 07:23 PM
Heard of the Hong Leong Bank Essential card?
no limit 1% cash back 1% per annum for 6 months BT or FPP 1 high credit limit My question is the 1% cash back until when? since its not mention in the terms and condition. The BT is very attractive though. Does the cash back include autodebit? tried to call the customer service, waited for 5 minutes no one pick up...sien update: today applied the card with hong leong bank already since the customer service says the 1% rebate don't have any limit plus the rate for bt n fpp is very attractive...the best in the market i think...will be 2% for 1 year since its calculated at 1% for 6 months only This post has been edited by kei18kun: Nov 26 2009, 07:28 PM |
Nov 28 2009, 09:27 AM
QUOTE(winner @ Nov 27 2009, 11:13 AM) Bear in mind that some banks require customers to write in for card cancellation request. Based on my recent experience, HLB requested me to write an official letter to them. The funny thing was that they only called me to verify asking me the reasons after 3 weeks I faxed them the letter. Thereafter, they said they would process my request immediately. just go to branch to cancel it, very fast only takes 10 minutes topsCitibank, on the other hand, followed my request immediately over the phone. Sometimes we cannot completely trust what CS officers reveal to us. Some of them are not well trained and not familiar with the products. Recently, some CS officers even simply say anything, such as waiver of RM50 service tax, in order to retain customers. QUOTE(epalbee3 @ Nov 27 2009, 07:06 PM) haha... mine is 19k.. u can always request to limit it to 8k first, if u change ur mind later can go back to 19kAdded on November 27, 2009, 7:13 pmToday I just faxed in letters to cancel 3 of my credit cards. Now only have two from two different banks. Keep two for emergency purpose only. one RM19k and another one 5k.. More than enough. Thinking of reducing the limit from RM19k to 8k, will it be advisable? its just that ur spending limit is cap to 8k only. ur credit card limit is still 19k |
Nov 28 2009, 08:48 PM
kinda fun cancelling cards
now keeping Alliance Younique card, will cancel it once i get my Hong Leong Bank Essential card, want to apply the 1% bt for 6 months |
Nov 30 2009, 09:24 AM
QUOTE(eddievh @ Nov 29 2009, 10:23 PM) clearly stated no rebate for petrol including bt, fppAdded on November 30, 2009, 9:25 am QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Nov 30 2009, 02:47 AM) Shouldn't be able to. When you cancel your credit card, it means the account is closed. If you have direct debit tied to your insurance policy with your credit card and you have canceled the said credit card, the system will automatically reject the payment and you will receive a letter from your insurance company in a few weeks (assume if you did not provide them another credit card that is active). don't be so confident with this, happen b4 that even though card is cancelled, transaction or auto debit still go through becos the a/c is still valid with visa/masterdon't ask me why This post has been edited by kei18kun: Nov 30 2009, 09:25 AM |
Dec 2 2009, 08:04 AM
QUOTE(ante5k @ Dec 1 2009, 09:58 PM) sien... cimb bank customer service no one..... waited for 20min still on hold... want to cancel card... just go to the branch...i had the same experience, bad customer serviceedited to add..... want cancel cost so much on my phone bills..... Added on December 2, 2009, 8:09 amanymore banks offer subsidy for RM50 other than MBF? does mbf offer cash rebate or annual fee waived? This post has been edited by kei18kun: Dec 2 2009, 08:09 AM |
Dec 2 2009, 10:46 AM
anymore banks offer subsidy for RM50 other than MBF? does mbf offer cash rebate or annual fee waived?
Added on December 2, 2009, 10:55 am QUOTE(alexwsk @ Dec 2 2009, 09:25 AM) PBB has came out with 8% cash back II again so does the RM50 cashback include petrol since its not clearly mention, just stated retail transactionthe details are here guess i don't need to cancel my pbb cards after all ADDED: ===== SCB has also came out with some type of gifts, less tempting to me as I don't swipe that much details here pls clarify sifu out there? This post has been edited by kei18kun: Dec 2 2009, 10:55 AM |
Dec 3 2009, 04:52 PM
QUOTE(cheez @ Dec 3 2009, 09:44 AM) haha.. if you noticed, I didn't curse. I can understand their situation. if go to the branch easy since on the spot got black n white phtostatThe problem is, I just want to confirm whether they've RECEIVED my letter, not to inquire whether my card is CANCELED. There's a huge difference. 1 is just check whether they got the fax and another is check for the processed status of cancellation. And I assume not everyone faxed in to cancel their cards. if not email is the most convenient since they will email u back if fax need to call, just take down the name of the customer service exe, date and time...should be ok then, but still will have dispute when the card is not cancelled and RM50 charged |
| Change to: | 0.0556sec
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 01:55 PM |