Credit card V8, Anything about it

cheez
post Oct 24 2009, 11:04 PM

On my way to? -> Holland?
593 posts

haha...
Just called to CIMB to inform them that i'm going overseas.

At the same time asked the customer service officer.
The conversation goes like this...

Me: OK. Done with my notification, now I wana ask, so how about the service tax from the Budget 2010? It will be levied onto my card.

CSO: *suddenly in a very low voice* erm... don't worry sir. our management will seek out a way to solve this problem.

Me: So how long will your management seek out a way then?

CSO: *still in a very low voice* Don't worry sir, please bear with us. Our management will have announcement soon. They will seek out a way.

Me: Ok. Since CIMB is so influential, so I'll wait for your bank's good news.

CSO: *still in a very low voice laugh.gif * Yes sir, our CEO is very influential.

Me: Laughed out loud laugh.gif

CSO: Laughed out loud too.

Me: Thanks.

CSO: Thank you sir. Thanks for being with CIMB.

-end-
cheez
post Nov 20 2009, 05:40 PM

593 posts

Regarding the credit card tax, I personally think that it is wiser to charge the tax over the 3RD CARD ONWARDS for any cardholder. This will definitely be more effective in controlling the number of cards and not affecting the economy of the market.

Man, why are we having such stupid goverment.

To Najib or the Finance Minister (duno wat is his name), if you are reading this thread right now, go and rework the plan.
cheez
post Nov 21 2009, 11:36 AM

593 posts

I'm keeping my EON card as my insurance rebate is more than RM50 a year. laugh.gif

hopefully EON bank will absorb la. biggrin.gif
as for my CIMB, most likely i'll cancel it even though i use it quite a lot every month on my biz trip overseas. hmm..
cheez
post Nov 28 2009, 10:17 AM

593 posts

Gonna cancel my CIMB Generic next monday.
The only benefit is free-for-life, also when i spend overseas it only charges 1%.
The bonus points expire, no cash-rebate, limited privileges.
Had the letter ready, just going to fax this Monday.

Anyway, gonna keep my EON-ING card as my ING premium rebate is way over RM50. laugh.gif
cheez
post Nov 28 2009, 10:39 AM

593 posts

Haha.. I use quite a figure every month overseas as all terms are in USD. Somemore paid all in full before the statement date. Waiting for their retaining tactics (if there's any).

Just keeping one card (EON-ING) as the rebate is more than RM50. ^^

For those who are still indebted with the credit cards, I seriously advice you all to analyze your spending habit and keep track of your financial records. tongue.gif

Spend on what you can not what you want.
cheez
post Nov 28 2009, 12:37 PM

593 posts

[quote=MilesAndMore,Nov 28 2009, 12:07 PM]
I was replying to Gen-X's post that the bank did not increase the mortgage rates because the banks were losing money. They increased the mortgage rates because of some other reasons. I did not say the banks have not had increase the mortgage rates. I think many who do read newspaper are already aware that they had as it made the headlines in the business section of the newspaper just over a week or two ago.

There was an article a few days ago saying that the banks did not increase the mortgage rate because they are losing money. Quite to the contrary, majority of them are actually more profitable than a year ago as they lend more this year.
[/quote]
The generic CIMB Bank credit card doesn't offer any cash rebate but it does offer some pretty steep discounts at certain shops on certain days. It also has more restaurants on its partner's list compared to Citibank.

[/quote]
Ya, i admit the restaurant partners are alot but those are not my kinda restaurant. I'm a mamak or dai chao guy. tongue.gif
so no point. I was attracted to the free-for-life and 1% overseas spending only. tongue.gif
cheez
post Nov 30 2009, 10:03 AM

593 posts

Guys, I wana fax my cancellation letter to CIMB card center.
Anyone has the fax no to it?

Thanks. laugh.gif
cheez
post Nov 30 2009, 10:52 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Nov 30 2009, 10:25 AM)
Try this one: 03-2381 5533
Already faxed to this number. laugh.gif

QUOTE(hackqym @ Nov 30 2009, 10:25 AM)
fax : 03-2381 7198
attn : credit card centre
Will fax to this number shortly.
Thanks. laugh.gif
cheez
post Nov 30 2009, 12:05 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Nov 30 2009, 11:45 AM)
Good for you. I just called UOB and they not offering me RM50 waiver  sad.gif but instead offer me RM50 smart$ points to redeem at participating outlets. Guess better than nothing but with stupid condition I got to swipe 3 times within 14 days. Yet to accept this offer, wait and see.

Guess I am not a valued customer like yourself  tongue.gif
At least you're still getting an offer from them. Smart$ can be used for petrol right?
Just use your card for phone bill (1), petrol (2), starbucks (3). All in one day. Gao dim. You get your smart$ dy. laugh.gif

cheez
post Nov 30 2009, 04:11 PM

593 posts

lol... CIMB card center is damn busy.
made me waited for around 5 mins. luckily calling using office phone. tongue.gif

Called to confirm my cancellation but they said want to check whether they've received the fax.

Gonna call again in a short while to try another CS officer. tongue.gif expedite the cancellation. laugh.gif
cheez
post Dec 1 2009, 05:20 PM

593 posts

I am already canceling my card. tongue.gif

For 2 days I've been calling CIMB card center and it's so damn busy. @@

One thing I find it interesting is that every time I'm being put on hold, I'm greeted with "Our customer relationship officers are currently 'existing' other customers, please hold on the line and we will attend to you shortly."

For this, I lol-ed. laugh.gif
cheez
post Dec 1 2009, 05:48 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Dec 1 2009, 05:31 PM)
No. We do not know that yet. Hopefully we'll get more information by next week. BNM is so efficient eh ?  mad.gif
I think you may have heard it wrong. The word is "assisting". I've called CIMB credit card centre before. Was also put on hold before. So i am certain the word is "assisting". Nothing is wrong with the pronunciation.
Lol... of course I know it's trying to tell assisting instead of existing but the pronunciation is more like 'existing' rather than 'assisting'. That's why i lol-ed.

Anyway, it's just me. If you think it's ok then I couldn't debate on it too. tongue.gif
Still, it made my day, both yesterday and today. laugh.gif
cheez
post Dec 2 2009, 09:02 AM

593 posts

I've faxed in the cancellation letter and called them to confirm.
Put on hold for around 10mins before i can speak to a human being and ended up being ffk by the CSO which said that she'll calling me back to confirm. laugh.gif

Pity the night shift guy that got the nag from me. tongue.gif

I can never be sure that they will cancel my card/account even if i faxed in. Have to get their verbal confirmation that they have received and will process it.
cheez
post Dec 3 2009, 08:59 AM

593 posts

I tried to cancel my CIMB by faxing the cancellation letter.
Even if just wanting to confirm whether they've received the letter also takes them 36 hours and counting to response.

Either they're really busy or their effectiveness is questionable.
So much for a top bank in Malaysia. laugh.gif
cheez
post Dec 3 2009, 09:44 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Dec 3 2009, 09:21 AM)
You are not the only customer that they have. Probably with the service tax, they have hundred of thousands or millions cancelling their card by now. I know banks need to be efficient but I think your comments is slightly uncalled for.

FYI, I am not working with them and already cancelled my cards with them.
haha.. if you noticed, I didn't curse. I can understand their situation.
The problem is, I just want to confirm whether they've RECEIVED my letter, not to inquire whether my card is CANCELED.

There's a huge difference. 1 is just check whether they got the fax and another is check for the processed status of cancellation. And I assume not everyone faxed in to cancel their cards. smile.gif

cheez
post Dec 3 2009, 11:08 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Dec 3 2009, 10:04 AM)

So did they reactivate the other after you called them?
What do you mean reactivate?

They didn't even response to my inquiry after 3 calls. Gave up on them dy. laugh.gif
cheez
post Dec 3 2009, 11:42 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(Aeon_Clock @ Dec 3 2009, 11:24 AM)
keep pestering them. Make sure its being processed. You can Email a copy of the fax too.
Tip - use your office phone to call laugh.gif
lol... sent them a bloody long email to complain. Forgot to attached the letter though. tongue.gif

Used office phone to call few times, few times from my HP. But all complaints fell on to deaf ears. laugh.gif

cheez
post Dec 5 2009, 11:09 AM

593 posts

MC starts with 5, visa starts with 4, Amex/JCB starts with 3.

End of topic. smile.gif
cheez
post Dec 8 2009, 12:19 PM

593 posts

Update for you guys if you're using EON credit card.

Was confirmed by the CS that EON bank will be having a so-called promotion for their card members to waive the RM50 tax.

The condition is to use your EON CC for ANY transaction ANY amount for 36 times in a year (no limit to monthly transaction). I find it quite reasonable. laugh.gif And it was on the newspaper yesterday.

peace. icon_rolleyes.gif
cheez
post Dec 8 2009, 02:38 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Dec 8 2009, 01:55 PM)
It is hard to believe them if it is not written in black and white.

Which newspaper is that ?
Maybe you can browse through the star. I heard that it was a commercial of EON's CC promotion.

peace. hope it helps.

0.0489sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 09:36 PM