Credit card V8, Anything about it

andrekua
post Sep 17 2009, 06:21 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(ICDeadPeople @ Sep 17 2009, 02:55 PM)
Well, main reason is I dont use it that much, my main card is maybank plat.
Second is sometimes they charge me to things like finance charge, which i dont know what is it for. And I also dont like calling them each time I need to waive my annual fees.
You didnt pay full amount issit?
There was once where somehow I paid RM30 less than the full amount (not sure how). The next month I used about 5k and the latest rule is that when you got outstanding balance, they are going to charge 1.3% (cant remember exact figure) and end up my rebate for last month also not enough to cover this stupid finance charge. Finally call them up to explain it and got it waived after they found that I always pay full except for that particular month.
andrekua
post Sep 18 2009, 08:59 AM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

I dont think so. For me personally, I used my credit card a few times liao, and never once encounter any problem. I bought something at China airport few years ago with SBB mastercard, and they just called me to clarify instantly after the payment went through. Then I bought something in Thailand airport, and the same thing happen with another bank. I didnt even call to advise them Im travelling.

However, I do really prefer Citibank. Not only the rebate is good, I like how they handled internet transaction. Other banks that I tried always ask for verification like mother name, ic, birthdate. Some even need to create a pin. With Citibank card, all you need is the 3 digit CVV at the back of the card and it went through instantly.
andrekua
post Sep 26 2009, 04:02 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Sep 25 2009, 11:28 PM)
I am not sure about the lowest CL for SCB Plat cc. I know the lowest CL for SCB VI instead. But I know somebody with 5k+ salary was given 30k CL for SCB Plat.
Lowest is 18k and 25k for Mastercard and Visa. Not sure which is which though.

I got both Mastercard and Visa combined for a limit of 43k. So must be 18k+25k for both.
BTW, my salary only 3k per month nia. So I think my Citibank Gold card and Alliance Gold card enough to fool them to let me have such limit. Crazy...
andrekua
post Sep 26 2009, 05:26 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Sep 26 2009, 04:21 PM)
How do you know the 2 CLs of 18k and 25k? It's a combined CL so I don't think there is a split for your CL. Even if you own only 1 card from SCB (either VISA or MC), perhaps your CL for that 1 card is still 43k. Anyway, 43k CL for 3k monthly salary is very high. biggrin.gif Perhaps you showed them details of your other side income or deposits in bank? smile.gif
I wish I have side income too.. Just my IC and cards shown.

Agents dont really care how much you are making if you have a card >1year. Just use it and pay on time. Thats what I did. After I got my HSBC for 5k limit, I asked them to double it a year later and they did. Then Citibank came knocking and it was 13k. Soon it was Alliance turn and it was 18k. Then SCB turn and they blew them all. I dont think the CL will be 43k for one card. Agents just want to get the best commision thus raising it to Plat. Given the high minimum CL limit of Plat, it ends up where it's now. Ever since I switch my petrol to Esso, I dont feel like using Citibank card anymore. However, it still remain the best card to date that I have signed up for given the rebates and discounts that I enjoy for 1yr+.

BTW,

Banks are making money from cards business even without our annual fees. So, if your bank dont give a damn about your request, its time to move on. I still have a card with AmBANK which has 3k CL and it has stay there since.
andrekua
post Sep 26 2009, 11:38 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(cenkudu @ Sep 26 2009, 10:57 PM)
I hope someone can enlighten me about this. I'm still unclear about this local and out station cheque. let say for example I want to pay my SCB CC using MBB cheque (put through SCB cheque deposit machine), how many working days it will take to make the payment clear? if due date is 1st Oct and send cheque on 27/9, can it clear by then? TQsss
Shall I say 2days?
Even as the cheque clearing system is being centralised, I think it does not make any difference. When I bank in a cheque into another one of different branding, it shows up in the system saying float 2 days. The money is not added to my account which means its not cleared. Even of the same branding but different branch, it still takes 1day if Im not mistaken. Only same brand and branch can proceed the same day.
andrekua
post Sep 29 2009, 09:11 AM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(hackqym @ Sep 28 2009, 10:49 PM)
I have 4 CC's with total credit limit RM46k, on top of that i oso got MBB Amex Gold with CL 8k, recently just apply for ikhwan petronas gold, and guess what? Approved with CL RM 1,000.

Huh, I'm thinking like my age is 5 years go to shop got RM 3000 cash in hands to buy laptop but the cashier refuse me instead give me Cloud 9 for free  doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif
Most bank is like that. On top of that, they are likely to have combined the CL of all your cards that were issued by them. The RM1,000 + your previous card RM8k makes it a total combined of RM9k.
andrekua
post Sep 30 2009, 05:31 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(feizaiII @ Sep 30 2009, 12:24 PM)
Anyone can give me some advice? icon_question.gif
Of course the best thing you can do now is look for a way to lock in the interest rate for a given period which can only be done via personal loan or balance transfer.
andrekua
post Oct 3 2009, 12:36 AM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Oct 2 2009, 06:20 PM)
On the subject of IBG, the following banks charges RM0.50 for IBG

1. SCB
2. Citibank
3. CIMB (till end of 2009)

Alliance Bank is RM 1.00 per transfer (subject to max RM5K per transaction)
I think most local banks has set RM5k as limit for per day and not per transaction. It really sucks lastime and have to pay RM2 twice. Now at 50cent, still ok.
andrekua
post Oct 4 2009, 05:05 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

Whats so great about it then?
The 5% is most probably if you have carried forward balance which is same like Citibank Shell gold card. Not to mention that we dont even have a limit on the rebates that we can get.
andrekua
post Oct 17 2009, 02:57 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

Anyone using StanChart Platinum Master and Visa? Just received my first month bills and its good to see they give you RM100 credit upon activation. Not sure its for both or one card.
andrekua
post Oct 19 2009, 02:48 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Oct 18 2009, 09:58 AM)
FOC for 1st year. AFs for subsequent years could be waived upon request.
When I asked the call center agent, they said 2years? rclxub.gif
andrekua
post Oct 21 2009, 06:21 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(Cloaked_Wixard @ Oct 21 2009, 11:33 AM)
How come? Cause from what I understand from the table it means if you spend RM 1,000, and it is within the range of RM 501 to RM 1350, then the rebate will be RM 1,000 x 0.007 = RM 7.00
If spend above RM 5,000 then no rebate. Spend RM 5,000 then just simply RM 5,000 x 2% = RM 100. It is not like calculating personal income tax I think. Any feed back will be much appreciated.
You are wrong my friend...
Younique same with Alliance Bank Gold card.

Basically how it works is really the same as income tax.

I called and verify with the CS already. I have however cancelled the card because the statement is not good. I cant really remember how much I spend on what and therefore always felt the rebate is somewhat low. I prefer Citibank way of accumulating till RM25 and then give it all in one go. Now I kinda prefer SCB Plat which gives the rebate straight away instead of having to accumulate it or bring to next month.

andrekua
post Oct 22 2009, 08:59 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Oct 21 2009, 07:56 PM)
Cash rebate rate for Alliance Younique is much higher than the conventional Alliance Gold cc. In fact, Younique MC's rebate is only slightly lower than Alliance Plat cc, on par with the latter in general.
If I am not mistaken, Citibank cash back cc only gives a flat rebate rate of 0.5% if you don't carry forward outstanding balance. Besides, no reward points are given.

As for SCB cc, I know only Just1 Titanium MC and SCB Business Plat cc give cash rebates. Were you referring to SCB Business Plat cc anyway?
Im using Citi Shell gold card which gives 0.75%. SCB Bussiness Plat also gives 0.5% instant rebate.

Added on October 22, 2009, 9:02 pm
QUOTE(Faidzal @ Oct 22 2009, 07:05 PM)
My wife applied for CC at Treatsfair back in July.

Til now, she has yet to receive her card.

Is this normal?

I bugged her to call the helpline, everytime they say the card is in process, I got fed up already, but my wife still waiting patiently. If it was me, I'd cancel already.....
Normal...

I last applied American Express Gold Charge Card. I thought I applied it in August, but havent received any status. So I called and they told me it was unsuccessful. It does not really matter. Then I just found back the form I faxed them. When I checked the date, it was in April. So there you go.

This post has been edited by andrekua: Oct 22 2009, 09:02 PM
andrekua
post Oct 23 2009, 11:47 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

I dont think this is a way to cut down spending at all. If you think about it, if all you need to pay is RM50 to get additional credit of RM4k, its DAMN WORTH IT.

This is just an excuse to milk us after promote to reduce income tax. In fact gain back via some other mean. Goto HELL LA NAJIS
andrekua
post Oct 23 2009, 11:57 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(ellimist @ Oct 23 2009, 11:55 PM)
Yes, it obviously is not targetted at ppl who are in crap load of debt. For ppl like that, there's legal actions.

It's more for upcoming users, trying to prevent ppl from falling into the trap of having multiple card debts in the first place.
You phail?

What he was trying to say is if all it takes is RM50 per year to get extra credit, those who are desperate will be willing to pay also. Cheaper than borrowing from ah long what.
andrekua
post Oct 24 2009, 12:20 AM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(ellimist @ Oct 24 2009, 12:06 AM)
Yes, and I was saying it is not targetted at such ppl. Alot of ppl don't intend to borrow in the first place, but take on alot of CC due to advertising,sales agents,etc, and THEN fall into the trap of starting to accumulate debt.

Learn to read before passing judgment of failure upon one person.

And as I've mentioned before, it's obviously not the most effective way to curb debt, but one of the simplest to implement

Figure, I never said it'll be a huge success. I was saying it has it's validity, and will work to certain extents. READ : Not most effective method
Thats why he said its not going to work.
Basically there are two category of card owners. One with money and one without. What they did will deter those with money who use card for convienient or to earn rebates. But that RM50 is nothing for someone looking for credit. This latter category of card owners are those who keep registering new cards to balance transfer to get out of blood sucking interest rate. This free up the credit in the first card and the spending continues. This cycle continue each and every time the card owner need fast cash and fast way out. So if you want to stop prudent spending, suspend all new cards or limit one card per person.

This post has been edited by andrekua: Oct 24 2009, 12:31 AM
andrekua
post Oct 24 2009, 01:04 AM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

I dont think I wanna drag this too long.

Like I describe, people who has money and always paid full, they are more aware of their spending and usually does not overspent unless in a forceful situation or emergency. Like you said, its possible for them to turn into 2nd category people but think about it, how hard was it for them to apply for another card and doing a BT, in the first place? Will that RM50 service charge be a deterent for them in this desperate situation? If the government want to prevent this, then they should limit the credit to you instead of charging you. What right do they have to charge you when they aint the party responsible for providing the services? This is clearly a measure to rip us off.
andrekua
post Oct 24 2009, 01:17 AM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Oct 24 2009, 01:06 AM)
@andrekua,
Basically, they should go tell the banks to stop issuing us so many CCs ! tongue.gif
They should just ban credit card. Promote debit card kao kao and Malaysia will be debt free forever.
andrekua
post Oct 24 2009, 10:54 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

Actually I think this might even work in favor of the banks. If everyone of us cancel our cards till the remaining 1 or 2, we might have harder time negotiating for waiver when it comes to annual fee. Had we cancel the card, it would be through the hard way to reapply for a new card after you cancel the remaining single card.
andrekua
post Oct 25 2009, 10:03 AM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Oct 25 2009, 08:12 AM)
No contradiction at all. If you re-read the article, it started with a "while" and if you continue to read it, it ends with a "but" though "but" is not used in the article. Something like OCBC Bank CEO totally understand the objective of BN, but they do not think this will solve the problem by imposing a service fee on credit card.
If banks understood this, why oh why are they still pushing CC like crazy? Rebates, free gift, free annual fee, bla bla bla. These are the bankers that we had our money inside. They had all the information on our income. Yet they go ahead with the crazy push of CC. They are just interested to make your their slave. THATS IT!!

BTW, it does not take a CEO to figure out that how much sincerety 1Najis has when it comes to the RM50 charges. It aint gonna change anything.

0.0471sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 08:23 AM