Mar 25 2010, 11:33 PM
534 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
QUOTE(zamans98 @ Mar 25 2010, 11:09 PM) Your wish might come sooner that you think. C is on steroids tonight! Added on March 25, 2010, 11:50 pm QUOTE The U.S. Treasury intends to unload its 27 percent stake in bailed-out bank Citigroup (NYSE:C) using a preset trading plan that will lock the government into a schedule for selling its shares, people with direct knowledge of the matter said. The program, which may be announced next month, is similar to those used by executives to protect themselves against accusations of insider trading, said the people, who asked not to be identified because the process isn’t final. –Bloomberg Maybe when the Treasury starts selling, we can pick it up again because once the government is out, the shares should appreciate further. IIRC, C is trading at 0.8 its book value while BAC and its peers are trading at 1.2 BV. This post has been edited by mH3nG: Mar 25 2010, 11:50 PM |
Mar 26 2010, 08:36 PM
Mar 26 2010, 11:09 PM
QUOTE(mynewuser @ Mar 26 2010, 10:24 PM) Its difficult to predict how FRE/FNM will react to the news and if the current price is anything to go by, its not making an impact on those counters.From what I've seen, FRE/FNM can move up or down even if the news isn't directly related to it. Buying it makes one feel like buying a 4D no but its just my 2 cents. |
Mar 29 2010, 09:32 PM
Any news that mentions the gov will exit C causes the share price to jump even though there's no concrete plan yet.
Treasury announces plan to sell Citi shares |
Mar 29 2010, 10:16 PM
Sold the rest of my position in C at USD4.28. A few seconds later it tanked.
Going back down to sub USD4? This post has been edited by mH3nG: Mar 29 2010, 10:32 PM |
Mar 29 2010, 11:33 PM
Is the buy and hold strategy dead? Even Mutual Funds Are Edging Away From Buy-and-Hold Now
Mar 30 2010, 09:56 PM
QUOTE(kingway @ Mar 30 2010, 08:26 PM) All sifu here, can please recommend me which broker (US) is best to sign up? in term of procedure , security and cost. tq Not to be condescending but its been asked many times before. Perhaps you can start with this: Search. Feel free to ask for further clarification. |
Apr 6 2010, 08:39 PM
QUOTE(zamans98 @ Apr 6 2010, 05:26 PM) JAN's high. Except for C in Oct 2009. Why sounds surprised? I know some traders here just extrapolate their profits. Not me. Just few small trades once in a while. Speaking of the RM strengthening against the USD, I read that the RM is now at its strongest against the USD in 20 months. If this keeps up, the exchange rate will slowly and surely eat into your hard earned profits. There are many traders still holding their C for example, bought at 4.80's. UNG for example I bought in DEC & Early Jan @ 9.00, and it shoot up to nearing $12 in late January before downhill. Even at $7.00, I didn't pick-up any. Same goes with C. I'm not a DAY TRADER and not in hurry to sell it all. For day trading, I need USD25K minimum, but if your total portfolio dropped below $25K say $23.5K, you are not able/allowed to DAY TRADE again. Again, how can you make good profit with small capital? With Ringgit strengthening, I'm losing the face value about RM3K (Was at 3.45-3.50 when I entered, now 3.24 today... ) So, I can for example buy 300 UYG, 400 URE, 200 FUQI, etc etc.. ETF is a better tool to enter the market as I only knew it later after placing LONG C @ 4.7x Btw, was on holiday for a few days and missed the C boat. Maybe I'll catch it next time around. Congrats to danmooncake for getting the price right. |
Apr 6 2010, 10:22 PM
QUOTE(Erroralot @ Apr 6 2010, 09:55 PM) ERX made an amazing recovery from 42.37 to 43+, still holding for the time being Wow. How'd you manage to stumble upon that share?Did anybody goreng-ed ZANE? LOL, bought in late though @ 2.55. Sold out at 3.00. Crazy thing shot to 3.52! Oh yea, there's some chatter of TiVo being targeted as an M&A by DiSh, pre-market was as high as 21.25! Just a heads up to anybody that might be interested in for some M&A speculation action:) And this share seems vaguely similar to SIRI... QUOTE(danmooncake @ Apr 6 2010, 10:02 PM) Here's how I play this. I don't care if the Ringgit strengthen against the Dollar because I'm keeping majority of my liquid asset out of Ringgit denomination. Infact, I take this opportunity to unload my Ringgit and move more to USD. Then, use the USD to buy more equities and play some commodities. I see. Wish I had a large portfolio to shift around. Only when Ringgit weakens, I convert more USD to back Ringgit. Same goes Euro.. now it actually good time to buy more Euro (if you're currency trader). I'd probably be losing more money if I start converting my money. |
Apr 7 2010, 10:35 PM
QUOTE(Erroralot @ Apr 7 2010, 07:46 AM) Look at what's HOT for the day? LOL. SIRI is a much slower mover and never really had as much momentum as stocks like ZANE, SQNM, SEED etc. Anyway, good luck with goreng-ing if u have a position in ZANE at the moment Penny stocks are like hot potatoes. You either get it right or screw up big time. Speaking of which, I hope you made some profits with ZANE. Its already down 10% today. SIRI is an interesting case. There's a lot of speculation regarding the counter with people trying to manipulate its price ie push it down as well as its current business model. If it can hold above a dollar, we might move up even higher. Tuna Amobi thinks it might hit USD1.5. |
Apr 7 2010, 11:35 PM
QUOTE(Erroralot @ Apr 7 2010, 11:04 PM) I bought SIRI in July 2009 @ 0.64 as I believed that with their improved management team and improving fundementals will eventually boost the company to break even by the end of 2009.(which they did recently). Since their overhaul of management and cost cutting measures in March/April 2009, the stock shot up from 0.10 +/- all the way to 0.30 +/-. In the 3rd quarter of 2009, analyst started covering the stock and started giving out USD 1 - 2 targets resulting in more northbound price movements. I sold my position in Feb 2010 @ 1.07, was happy with my profit and still believe that the company may actually start producing positive EPS with this coming quarter with 'booming' car sales throughout the US. Sweet! As for trading, I think that if it does surge pass a dollar again, might be good for a trade TiVo is UP by USD1 since yesterday What do u guys think the market will end up tonight? Green-ish or totally red? PS: Dmc & epalbee3, thanks for your input! Dmc, TD Ameritrade bought over think or swim right? So they use Think or Swim's trading platform? Will you be entering it again? Tempted to go in when its still below a dollar. |
Apr 8 2010, 10:57 PM
QUOTE(epalbee3 @ Apr 8 2010, 10:06 PM) 23.25 stop.. Wow you really are hyper excited today Added on April 8, 2010, 10:11 pmit is very excited.. every cent it goes down, I lose RM10... every cent it goes up, I gain RM10.. Added on April 8, 2010, 10:16 pmTHose who holds MGM must be jumping now.. Added on April 8, 2010, 10:23 pmLocked profit of Rm200 with stop at 23.37.. Hope can gain RM1000 today.. Added on April 8, 2010, 10:50 pmstop at 23.42, lock in RM250 profit.. Added on April 8, 2010, 10:52 pmI think today DOW might reach 11k.. Damn... missed the SIRI boat to holland yesterday. |
Apr 14 2010, 11:29 PM
QUOTE(zamans98 @ Apr 14 2010, 11:19 PM) C marching to 4.80. Nice, slowly. If it hit USD5, I will short it. Err, when is the PROGRAMMED Selling by US Treasury? Taken from: U.S. Treasury Plans to Sell Citigroup Stake in 2010 (Update3) Sorry. Posted the wrong stuff. Didn't manage to find out when they will sell the shares. At this point, no one knows for sure. Treasury moves closer to selling Citi stake This post has been edited by mH3nG: Apr 14 2010, 11:37 PM |
Apr 15 2010, 09:44 PM
Finally ETFC has broken its $1.70 resistance. Time to see if it'll fly again.
Apr 15 2010, 10:15 PM
JPMorgan's earnings is really making C and all the other banks fly today.
Apr 20 2010, 09:35 PM
Apr 20 2010, 09:58 PM
QUOTE(danmooncake @ Apr 20 2010, 09:48 PM) Don't sell all of C for now.. just leave some on the table and ride it up.. let see how far the bulls can take it. Oh, I'm not holding any C at the moment. Sold it off during the last breakout and didn't buy during the dip. Zamans probably right - it could see 15c above the $5 and if it closes above, we'll get another breakout. Update: Crude Oil moving back up after the backing down to low $80s. Looks like sky is clearing up at Europe for some flights to resume. Demand for jet fuel will come back after all. So for now I'm watching you guys eat shark fin and abalone while I slurp on my maggi cup noodles. |
Apr 20 2010, 10:13 PM
QUOTE(zamans98 @ Apr 20 2010, 10:02 PM) Hey, how's ur KNN opps KNM doing? Haha I don't have any KNM shares in my Bursa CDS account. Nah, I just sold for some small profit, less than USD200 for all those holding, that I been holding for 5+ months. I'm glad its over for now, as long in profit, why complain. Doing day trade, buy and sell during the day. Remember US Treasury yet to sell C and will do it as it will be pushed by White House monkeys. Long C 1,000 x 4.95 (pending) Added another Batch of DRYS, average 0.05 from my average at 6.34. Their report card at month end. Yup, like one of our forumer said (though I can't remember who) there's no such thing as a bad profit. Btw, C is coming down now. I guess everyone wants to lock in their profits. |
Apr 23 2010, 09:41 PM
AIG is finally moving up after holding it for nearly 6 months.
ETFC is doing better last quarter. Managed to turn in a loss of only 2 cents. This will be the share to watch next quarter if it manages to go back to black. QUOTE ETrade narrowed its loss versus the same quarter last year, reporting a loss of $47.8 million, or $0.02 per share for the first quarter, versus a loss of $232.7 million, or $0.41 per share, in the same quarter last year. Revenue totaled $536.5 million versus $497.3 million last year. ETrade said provisions for loan losses and net charge-offs declined versus last year's. |
| Change to: | 0.0534sec
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 12:24 PM |