Q&A As Well As Guides For Graphic Benchmarks, Post here, and share our thoughts.
TSpr0di9y
Feb 1 2005, 07:40 PM, updated 21y ago
Always Outnumbered, Never Outgunned
Just as everyone has been asking around over and over again, "why can't I get the scores like that dude???" Am I'm lacking something? Do I have to pray to the overclocking god to get those scores? I need to sell my soul to the devil just to get there??? Is just simple, tweaking. Just like a F1 car, they are ways to optimise the pc to for benchmarks. But at times people will say it is cheating, for me what can be change with just a mearly a click of a button WITH IN the drivers provided by the proper vendor is legit. The question you have to ask yourself, do you bench just for fun? or you bench just for the glory or the top 20 place offerd here. Ill might say most of you guys here are amiming for the top spots. But have you guys notice that we are only comparing among ourselfs at the moment? Why can't we set an objective this year and try our best to get among the top 20 on the world records? Is not that hard but is not impossible as well. You don't need top gears to achive those things, only determination and skills are required and some lady luck  Below are the next few details on how to optimise your pc for benchmark programs around. If you found anything that could boost your pc in any benchmark, feel free to share them around. But the choice is yours, for me I want everyone to have a good scores all around. Malaysia Boleh.
TSpr0di9y
Feb 1 2005, 07:41 PM
3D Mark 01SE and 3D Mark 03 Optimization Guide v1.0
Just simple tips for ATI lads there, can be applied to Nvidia as well. But so far I don't know which are the best drivers out there for them. As I know the Beta Drivers for 6800 Series are the best one to use at the moment. Hmm some Easter egg here... or if you guys already know about it...
How to optimize your 3DMark01 SE benchmark?
1. O/S Windows 2000 Professional SP4 with MPS Uniprocessor PC for Computer driver.(This is for AMD XP/64Bit Specs PC) Intel Pentium 4 users can give it a try, some members have try it and proved it work as well but with PAT disable. (Credits to "bwan" on the findings)
2. Install DirectX Version 8.1b (**THIS IS VERY IMPORTANT**) (This is applied for Win2K setup)
3. O/S Windows XP Professional with SP1 (This is for Intel Pentium 4 and above Specs PC)
4. Install DirectX Version 8.1b (THIS IS ALREADY INSTALLED ON WinXP Pro SP1) (This is applied for WinXP Pro SP1 setup)
5. Use the Cat 4.12 Drivers, the best driver to use at the moment. Is definitely compatible with DX 8.1b or DX9.0b (This is applied for ATI Cards Radeon 9000 Series above)*at the current time of posting
6. Tweak your system to the max, Game Test 1 and 3 are more CPU and memory timings dependent, and Game Test 2 is both CPU and GFX dependent and Game Test 4 are GFX dependent.
How to optimize your 3DMark03 benchmark? (Applies to AMD and Intel Specs)
1. O/S Windows XP Professional with SP1 with MPS Uniprocessor PC for Computer driver.(This is for AMD XP/64Bit Specs PC) Intel Pentium 4 users can give it a try, some members have try it and proved it work as well but with PAT disable. (Credits to "bwan" on the findings)
2. Install DirectX Version 9.0c (This is a must for the new 3DMark03 version 3.60)
3. Use the Cat 4.12 Drivers, and it's definitely compatible with 9.0c (This is applied for AMD and Intel Specs PC)*at the current time of posting
4. Tweak your system to the max, Game Test 1 are CPU dependent, and Game Test 2, 3 and 4 are GFX dependent.
How to optimize your 3DMark05 benchmark? (Applies to AMD and Intel Specs)
1. O/S Windows XP Professional with SP1 with MPS Uniprocessor PC for Computer driver.(This is for AMD XP/64Bit Specs PC) Intel Pentium 4 users can give it a try, some members have try it and proved it work as well but with PAT disable. (Credits to "bwan" on the findings)
2. Install DirectX Version 9.0c (This is a must for 3DMark05 version 1.20)
3. Use the Cat 5.3 Drivers OR ATI Drivers with 2D Version 6.14.10.651X (X denotes version series, e.g for Cat 5.3 is 6.14.10.6513) and it's definitely compatible with 9.0c (This is applied for AMD and Intel Specs PC)*at the current time of posting
4. Tweak your system to the max.
Yeah it may be very troublesome to setup the spec for the specific 3DMarks benches, but you learn nothing if you don't try this methods. Using Optimized drivers are a shortcut to success. I may hurt other feelings by saying this. But then again most of the serious people who want great and good 3DMarks are spending their energy and time to do this. You can be one as well.
Good luck guys.
This post has been edited by pr0di9y: Mar 14 2005, 11:45 AM
TSpr0di9y
Feb 1 2005, 08:12 PM
Guide on how to select MPS Uniprocessor PC for Computer Driver
You need to do this on a fresh install PC. While running the non GUI setup, press the F5 key to enable the option to select the computer drive. After you have choose the driver, continue on the setup. Failure to do this will not enable you to change the computer drivers when you're on the windows. Also the sets of computer drivers are only enable if your pc are able to support them. For instance AMD XP PC owners might not be able to select these options.
The down side on this is the increase on the processor idle as well as load tempreture.
Kudos to Pedro and Ricky of XtremeSystems Forums and for those who found this tweak out long time ago but didn't mention about it.
TSpr0di9y
Feb 1 2005, 09:34 PM
QUOTE(gavlim @ Feb 1 2005, 09:02 PM) question : does it have to be cat 4.8 to get the best benchies? Answer: At the moment of my findings, that is the best for 03. But the problem is... I have yet tested the others. But so far I have just run a simple bench on the Cat 5.10, and is slower then Cat 4.8. You can give the Cat 4.12 a try, since is the best one for 01SE now. Cheerio
TSpr0di9y
Feb 1 2005, 11:44 PM
QUOTE(prancingHORSE @ Feb 1 2005, 11:16 PM) hey jj mebbe u can add the 01 test sequence to run =) This one, i'm not sure I want to share it out yet. Lets just move one step by one step, as we go on we see how's the boy doing with the scores  QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Feb 1 2005, 11:27 PM) @pr0di9y: yup, like wat u did in d vr-zone b/mark submit, i didn't manage to catch-up d procedures, hopefully can learn it here... btw, wat d pencil trick for if u dun mind to answer ...  Answer: The pencil trick is very simple. It will just increase the resistance on the resistor thus trick the voltage controler chip on the card to increase more voltage on the moded voltage line.
TSpr0di9y
Feb 5 2005, 11:52 PM
QUOTE(tAmp0i @ Feb 5 2005, 11:44 PM) Hmm, not sure whether if i am the only one who got this error thingy.... For K7, like what pr0di9y said to press F5 and choose for MPS Uniprocessor but it will get stuck at the 'Setup is starting Windows' screen. You can try to update the driver manually in Windows to 'ACPI Multiprocessor PC' but i'm not sure whether it does help but i got only 60 points increment. Check back my post on this tweak on the side effect on AMD XP pc. Just highlighted some MAJOR  information on it. I think you guys didn't read properly. Some major improvement on some forumers scores from what I heard from this tweak. Happy benching
TSpr0di9y
Feb 16 2005, 07:40 PM
Updated on the 1st post in this thread. The 3DMark03 operating system setup can be applied to 3DMark05 and Aquamark as well.
Cheerio.
TSpr0di9y
Mar 12 2005, 02:15 AM
Edited some pointers on 3DMark03, and also added 3DMark05 guides.
Cheerio
TSpr0di9y
May 11 2005, 11:02 AM
QUOTE(gavlim @ May 10 2005, 07:04 PM) does AGP aperture size matter? tried 3dmark05, everything on stock. 128mb aperture size - 5614 points 256mb aperture size - 5599 points did 2 runs for each aperture size. 128mb aperture size did better on both runs. anyone else can confirm this? might be useful for squeezing just a few more points out of your benchies  This has been proven before, but with mixed results. But if your testing is consistence then you should share out your thoughts here  . The mixed results means, some other benchmark might have little effect on this. Some benchmarks prefer higher AGP aperture size, some lower. Cheerio pr0di9y
TSpr0di9y
May 12 2005, 03:52 PM
QUOTE(PCcrazy @ May 12 2005, 03:20 AM) Please note that the AGP aperture is merely address space, not actual physical memory in use. Although it is very common to hear people recommending that the AGP aperture size should be half the size of system memory, that is wrong! The requirement for AGP memory space shrinks as the graphics card's local memory increases in size. This is because the graphics card will have more local memory to dedicate to texture storage. So, if you upgrade to a graphics card with more memory, you shouldn't be "deceived" into thinking that you will need even more AGP memory! On the contrary, a smaller AGP memory space will be required. It is recommended that you keep the AGP aperture around 64MB to 128MB in size, even if your graphics card has a lot of onboard memory. This allows flexibility in the event that you actually need extra memory for texture storage. It will also keep the GART (Graphics Address Relocation Table) within a reasonable size. Adrians Rojak Pot Alright then, looks like I have another point to look forward too  .