WhatsApp Messenger Users and Fan Club!, Ping!'s counterpart and iPhone's BBM!

TSeugenechiuu
post Oct 4 2010, 06:37 PM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(triple02 @ Oct 4 2010, 02:27 PM)
yup if you have your friends using Android ask them to install PingChat. similar to WhatsApp but unlike WhatsApp, PingChat uses nickname rather than phone number. Its free too!  rclxms.gif
Android has Whatsapp as well!

Why not pay that few ringgit to connect with all ur friends of blackberry and iphone?
TSeugenechiuu
post Oct 7 2010, 09:31 PM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Oct 7 2010, 02:11 AM)
BB is only free for a limited time. 2 or 3 months if im not mistaken. then have to pay 0.99...PER YEAR ;p

dunno about nokia. didnt even know got whatsapp for nokia
For BB it's 1.99 USD a year =)...

iPhone version used to free when it first released, and was free again another time.. Foresaw the growth of this App and asked many ppl to get it when it was free haha...
TSeugenechiuu
post Oct 8 2010, 01:20 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(xsara @ Oct 7 2010, 10:57 PM)
just bought whats today..
wanted to ask there are 2 tick under the sent message.. but sometimes i only saw one tick under message.. so based on rational logical thinking.. the 2 ticks means send successful from my iphone and received successful at another iphone while one tick means successful sent from my iphone?
hope some1 correct me if im wrong
Haha yea u're correct, 2 ticks means the person has read ur message already... Normally 1 tick means successfully sent from ur phone and received in another phone, 2 ticks only happens when the person opens their whatsapp to check the message..
TSeugenechiuu
post Oct 9 2010, 03:28 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(yangxi @ Oct 9 2010, 01:12 AM)
now i use fring to chat.

iphone <-> android <-> symbian
i thought fring is like MSN? it doesn't make a difference from using MSN then...
TSeugenechiuu
post Oct 13 2010, 09:22 PM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(nokia2003 @ Oct 13 2010, 07:18 PM)
not sure about the iPod touch.

but AFAIK whatsapp will not work on the iPad (tried it before)

which makes a little sense since there is no mobile number attached to the iPad.
But iPod touch doesn't have phone number attached also wor..
TSeugenechiuu
post Oct 14 2010, 10:23 PM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(Tunes @ Oct 14 2010, 10:12 PM)
is it true that whatsapps can use to connect with BBM?
Yup... But the BB would need to install whatsapp as well...

Currently BB for whatsapp is free to download and free for 90 days but after that you'd need to pay 1.99USD per year in order to use the service...
TSeugenechiuu
post Oct 28 2010, 06:03 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(gwyneth 06 @ Oct 28 2010, 04:26 AM)
Hi guys, im on a maxis iphone 4 ivalue plan 1 with 1GB data. if i leave my whatsapp running and receiving notifications what is the possible data charges?

thanks in advance =)
very minimal.... less than 1 mb...
TSeugenechiuu
post Oct 28 2010, 09:05 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(sammosinga @ Oct 28 2010, 07:37 AM)
saya mahu free  blush.gif
really?
me too,iValue 1 wink.gif
NewbieHero said it cost a bomb!
bear in mind that if u enabled ur Data without having a proper data plan, it would cost you a bomb no matter what... There're many other apps which 'eats' ur data as well.. facebook, opening games (they log in ur game centre/open feint) and many more....

lesson: never enable ur cellular data network without a data plan.....

99 cents = rm3, can't even buy me a bag of keropok in UK...

Note that BB users have to pay 1.99USD per year for the service, for iPhone it's just a one-off payment of 99cent... We should be grateful lol...

Anyways it used to be free for 2 times previously.. First was when it first released and 2nd time during the time I started this topic...

This post has been edited by eugenechiuu: Oct 28 2010, 09:09 AM
TSeugenechiuu
post Nov 2 2010, 03:34 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(othmanmohd @ Nov 2 2010, 12:54 AM)
An interesting article that I found online here.

For all iPhone and Blackberry users, I'm sure you are very familiar with these 2 applications. It's an application which allows users to communicate with each other in text messages for FREE. Forget about sms where you need to pay per sms, use Whatsapp and BBM (Blackberry Messenger) , you can chat all day and night for free. It's kinda like MSN messenger actually.

There's advantages and disadvantages for everything. Seriously, nothing is perfect in this world. The advantage of these two application is of course, you can send text message to your friend(s) (who also own an iPhone and/or Blackberry Phone) for free. It really helps you to save a lot, if you are like me for one, love to text people. I actually saved up a lot by using Whatsapp, because I really text a lot in a day. Now that I'm using Whatsapp, I can bug my friends even more *evil grins* AND of course to keep in touch with them at the same time.

Here comes the disadvantage of it. It's not really a disadvantage if you didn't over-used it actually. For me, since I'm so used to Whatsapp now, when I received a SMS, I'll type one sentence, and STRAIGHT AWAY click the send button. Then, I'll go %#@^##. So, please be careful not to over-used and over-depend on it.
OMG, no offense but the background of the blog was just........

Yea, sometimes I don't care much when sending text, but I can still control it lol...
TSeugenechiuu
post Nov 7 2010, 09:32 PM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(outdoorxplorer @ Nov 7 2010, 05:06 PM)
This App is no longer FREE huh?
Haha must be m first post that confused you I think?

It was only free for twice last year.. Never free this year.. But just 1 off payment ma.. Totally worthed it..

Anyways, I am pretty sure those ppl who used whatsapp without data plans have expensive bills not only due to whatsapp.. You can't control ur data flow what if u ON it.. There's push n stuffs sucking ur data in the background
TSeugenechiuu
post Nov 16 2010, 05:09 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(splinter @ Nov 16 2010, 01:39 AM)
Ok, both got each numbers... i'm in his list... but he not show up in my list... when he msg me... a number +60xxx xxxx show up.. i can msg him back... but he not in my list. Reinstall still the same. Btw i store his number straight 016xxxxxxx without country code.
You have to store his number with the country code +60 since ur friend have put his own number with the country code in front...
TSeugenechiuu
post Nov 18 2010, 02:02 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(deepan84 @ Nov 17 2010, 03:31 PM)
kik messenger is taking the US by storm eh. pretty famous there. competitor to whatsapp..
Oh I just checked it out, but the moment it asks me to register an account, I deleted it haha.. IMO, nope this is not a threat at all.. Whatsapp doesn't require registration most importantly.. Besides that whatsapp had cross platform since almost a year ago.. It took them more than 1 year to gain this fame, any competitor would need to do much better to break into the competition.. There's a reason why Pingchat died down and lost to whatsapp also because of the ID system..
In many cases, whatsapp have become a trend to many also.. E.g. I'll whatsapp you later... Instead of I'll text you later.. Lol

So rest assure whatsapp would still dominate!!
TSeugenechiuu
post Dec 15 2010, 11:10 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(soul2soul @ Dec 15 2010, 10:45 AM)
Hi guys, is this whatsapp totally free??

They sent me an activation code - will I be charged for this or will my number by used for any sms scam later like activating some services?
No you won't be charged for that... The only cost is data...
TSeugenechiuu
post Dec 16 2010, 05:49 PM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Dec 16 2010, 02:53 PM)
How do I know how many SMS I have sent via Whatsapp?

Does it has a SMS Counter where it can record & show me how many SMS I have sent via Whatsapp? hmm.gif
Yes... It's in settings ---> usage... You can check how much data used as well...
TSeugenechiuu
post Dec 17 2010, 12:21 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(NewbieHero @ Dec 16 2010, 06:42 PM)
thanks for sharing

Added on December 16, 2010, 6:43 pm
i din know u can check lol  rclxub.gif
Initially you cant, after 1 of the updates last time you could..
TSeugenechiuu
post Dec 27 2010, 06:12 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(wengjoe @ Dec 25 2010, 11:46 PM)
just a quick question.

my friend plan has only 10MB data allocated each month (don't ask me why, is a carrier from HK).

is 10MB enough to use whatapps for chatting purpose ?
More than enough... But it's quite impossible to make sure that ur other apps won't use ur data though....

This post has been edited by eugenechiuu: Dec 27 2010, 06:13 AM
TSeugenechiuu
post Dec 30 2010, 04:26 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(tangzi @ Dec 29 2010, 12:21 PM)
This application not free now sad.gif
based on popularity nowadays, don't think it would drop to free anytime again... but then again, 99cents is too cheap considering the benefits you could get.... can't even buy a meal with 99c...
TSeugenechiuu
post Jan 16 2011, 09:43 PM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(Invalid Username @ Jan 16 2011, 09:38 PM)
hi guys, whats the average usage of data for whatsapp per month?
This is very subjective.. Depends whether u send pictures/voice or not
TSeugenechiuu
post Jan 20 2011, 08:33 PM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

Dun think so
TSeugenechiuu
post Jan 28 2011, 07:19 PM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(dp82 @ Jan 28 2011, 06:43 PM)
can i say it's cheaper to use watsapp than normal sms? assume only plain text involve.
if i connect thru WIFI, there shudnt b any charges on my existing line?
of course it's cheaper since it's free....

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0387sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 03:10 PM