Superlux - headphones, is that available at m'sia? XD

Bonchi
post Aug 22 2010, 07:13 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

there's a construction nearby punya.. try to recognize the logo (the shop looks pretty old).. and also, i dont think they open on sundays sweat.gif
btw.. besides superlux, i also find switchcraft plugs and canare amongst their goods

@kain.. this is superlux has a very diff sig as of HD650.. scared that if you got used to it, you will find it hard to change :/
in my opinion it sounds pretty close in between the beyer dt440 and sr60 .. tho i got a friend who was more impressed with superlux than the MS1

hitman did post regarding swapping the stock with direct canare to a dac ...tho without amp, it already sounds very close to the same with amp but stock cable... the canare is terminated with RCA and a female 3.5.. so didnt really try it out on a headphone amp

This post has been edited by Bonchi: Aug 22 2010, 07:18 PM
Bonchi
post Aug 23 2010, 09:01 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

i think the superlux is just nice for ppl who just want a decent sound and not spending alot...
for some or id say most audiophile.. this pair wouldn't be that impressive in terms of performance if put along side with those that cost 4 times or more.. but price wise is crazy, to actually have details that can match to some midrange but as you know.. the presentation is not there.

to those who actually liked this superlux alot.. then youre lucky that it exists, tho to me its just an eye opener and a new stuff to intro to my pals who wants a decent but cheap pair of headphones

Bonchi
post Aug 24 2010, 12:40 AM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Aug 24 2010, 12:14 AM)
i thought you said it beats the ms1 by a large margin? whistling.gif
i guess its because he included the factor of price sweat.gif
if its me(for example) and i have RM500 and i just wanna start this whole audiophile thing, i'll go crazy with the superlux and spend the rest of the 400 on a decent dac+amp, than getting a RM500 headphone and save for a source.. or a source first then a better headphone.

no matter how you look at it.. its just pretty awesome to "fill in" that gap for a while when you decide to get a good source.. just like one forumer here buying the superlux first to later be replaced with HD650 .. especially the RM75 model thumbup.gif

*thats not my case.. and i dont own a superlux sweat.gif *
Bonchi
post Aug 24 2010, 12:44 AM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(chingwooi @ Aug 24 2010, 12:41 AM)
Jaben not bringing this product?
i guess not sweat.gif it can be consider like the "fan pan" (cheap china rip off) of akg headphones.. beyer headphones.. and sony iem. but with their own brand logo
since jaben only sell genuine stuff so i assume this is a nono

Bonchi
post Aug 24 2010, 01:49 AM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

heh.. thats why i used "considered" cuz even though it is not a rip off .. the majority will think that it is .. well its because its not oem.. its not rebrand but took up the same appearance.. heck even the original akg pads will fit on to superlux perfectly

i guess superlux is like "tamiya vs audley mini 4wd cars" just the same way as audley now is not a rip off of tamiya but a brand of its own .. but it feels like a rip off :/ .. maybe it is a rip off... hurrr im confuse.. hitman66 lets go yumcha
Bonchi
post Aug 24 2010, 06:38 AM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

its just the cosmetic point of view cuz the patent inside the cans is still not infringed by superlux.. so its safe to say that superlux didnt completely took up AKG's headphone design entirely

but regarding that matter... i did read about on the beyer side with the Superlux HD660 .. something did happen regarding copyrights, tho ive tried looking back for it in my browsing history but i cant find it :/
Bonchi
post Aug 24 2010, 02:44 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

good idea lol.. should try hanging a small mp3 player .. something like a sansa clip

headphone *with built in mp3/flac player* wakao~!!!

Bonchi
post Aug 29 2010, 01:36 AM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

direct from taiwan? shocking.gif well one of my friend who was so addicted to it actually wanted to order through superlux itself
Bonchi
post Aug 30 2010, 11:48 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

burning in really helps this superlux alot.. cuz if you realize.. the driver membrane is pretty thick and stiff
Bonchi
post Aug 31 2010, 07:37 AM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(iamyuanwu @ Aug 31 2010, 12:22 AM)
How you know? You go poke-poke to check is it? brows.gif
kind of.. but very very gentle la.. and i didnt use my finger its a piece of rolled tissue tongue.gif
but compare to my PX100 which even moves when you blow the driver.. i tried blowing on the superlux,and find it rigid like a rock

and yea.. superlux really need to be amped well to perform. if you read most of the reviews.. there's one where the reviewer hook it up to a lavry lol doh.gif and then say that he's amazed with the superlux
Bonchi
post Sep 1 2010, 01:24 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

weird.. cuz the HD668b i tested also got no hissing sound straight out of the box hmm.gif
Bonchi
post Sep 1 2010, 01:32 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

mine is tested the same on the akm4396 DAC as well.. but the sponge/foam cover in front of the driver is removed and the dunno_why_is_it_there sticker is removed as well .. but i doubt that removes the hiss.. but your hiss is treated by burn in so its no longer a problem already thumbup.gif
Bonchi
post Sep 1 2010, 01:45 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(chchyong89 @ Sep 1 2010, 01:37 PM)
Sq210A right? tongue.gif same with mine.
I tried it directly to the soundcard too, the bass seem like, a bit no energy. ~力不从心
then i tend to drive it with my F5, the sound is absolutely brows.gif
hehehe yea.. its an awesome soundcard after some hardware and software tweaks rclxms.gif
mine sounds a little too sharp but the bass is very tight and solid with the superlux ... but of course its run through canare L4e6s with switchcraft connectors

but regardless... if can tame the sharpness on my side, the superlux is definitely brows.gif especially on my friend's maverick .. ooohlala

This post has been edited by Bonchi: Sep 1 2010, 01:46 PM
Bonchi
post Nov 22 2010, 08:23 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

canare extension for RM350 o.O thats a heavy price tag for DIY canare cable.. unless the jacks used are like furutech and similar ranges sweat.gif

anyways good luck with trio's bulk biggrin.gif superlux is pretty good stuff for its price
Bonchi
post Nov 23 2010, 03:55 AM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

lol my mistake for not seeing the keyword "will be" lol
Bonchi
post Jan 26 2011, 09:02 AM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

why not PM the TS to edit this into a fanclub thread XD