Rucksack, Backpack, Share your bag, price & where to find

saru88
post Aug 3 2009, 02:29 AM

Average Joe
822 posts

QUOTE(navilink @ Aug 2 2009, 07:53 PM)
thanks for the advise.. i did found some Deuter 65+10 at only RM150!! definitely a fake one..

have u personally bought any backpacks from this Mdm Siah? shop name?

how about UFL chain stores? they did sell Deuter but i'm not sure they're the cheapest around..

if not wrong, Deuter is the more affordable branded bag from all other brands.. izzit?
i bought my Deuter AirContact 65+10 2009 model at RM530, which would be the cheapest around town, at Mdm Siah there...
for the old AirContact 65+10, u might be getting at around RM490, depends on ur luck...
and RM150 for a 65+10 is definitely fake... no doubt...

and yeap, i personally bought from Mdm Siah... the shop name i can't recall.. but it's very easy to locate 1...
from Pertama Complex the entrance beside Maybank ATM machine, which near to the foodcourt...
u go in, then turn left on the 1st turning on ur left... then turn right on the 1st turning on ur right... u will see a sportshop selling some badminton stuff, with a jersey with Lee Chong Wei's signature on it...

Mdm Siah's shop is just beside that shop... very easy to spot, cuz the shop is fullllllllll of bags... i mean REALLY FULL...

UFL chain sometimes will have discount on Deuter bags, but maximum 20%... u can get 30% from Mdm Siah there anytime...
and UFL is the official distributor of Deuter bags in Malaysia... they supply the stocks to Mdm Siah...

Hmm... Deuter is kinda affordable for its quality... i saw some in Tear Proof, the quality really not really good IMO...
if u have the budget, why not go for Karrimor? from wut i heard, Karrimor is better... not sure about North Face tho...

when my Deuter is spoilt, which will take ages, i will get a Karrimor that time... tongue.gif
saru88
post Aug 4 2009, 04:26 AM

Average Joe
822 posts

QUOTE(navilink @ Aug 3 2009, 08:57 PM)
thanks for the guide to mdm siah shop! looks like the shop very famous! thumbup.gif maybe will pay a visit sometime this month.. so weird no one gets the shop of the name though sweat.gif

yeah i heard of this Karrimor also, definitely will be more expensive rclxub.gif but since i'm not going to hardcore-use my backpack i guess deuter is more than enuf to last me 10-15years..
haha... yeah... i got her namecard, but i din know where i put it... juz very easy so spot, dun worry...

Even u use a deuter quite often, it will still last for 10-15 years i think... whatever it is, wut u pay is wut u get...
with the price u r paying, there muz be certain standard of quality in that product... dun doubt it...

my uncle bought a Lafuma back in the 70s, and surprisingly he is still using his Lafuma... it's more than 30 years old!!
he trashes his backpack alot... the bag is dirty, with some small holes here n there... but the bag is still alive n kicking...

i dun think nowadays those products will be as long lasting as the old ones... i heard Lafuma's quality has dropped...

anywayz dude, 65+10 is oredy more than enuff for u... if u really can really stuff it full, i dun think u can easily carry it...
dat time my gf's 50+10 was totally full... it was winter, need to bring some thick clothes like trenchcoat n some jackets...
when checked in, the backpack was around 13kg of weight...
and it was freaking heavy even when i carried it...

so imagine la if 65+10 is full... how would it be? if u r small size like me, confirm GG.com... biggrin.gif

QUOTE(ozak @ Aug 3 2009, 09:21 PM)
RM150. That it expensive lor. I brought it for RM100 only. He..... brows.gif
*Sorry. Not promo fake thing. whistling.gif
u got urs 100 bucks? i saw 70 bucks only in Thailand... u got pwn lor... rclxms.gif
saru88
post Aug 4 2009, 01:37 PM

Average Joe
822 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Aug 4 2009, 08:22 AM)
Can last that long? My original deuter cost RM380 already show defect just 5yrs. All the waterproof material decompose and break it in small pcs. Make the bag dirty.
this i'm not sure la... i got my deuter for few months only and used once only so far... haha...

i dun think nowadays those products can last that long edi...
last time everything the quality was better...
saru88
post Aug 6 2009, 01:52 PM

Average Joe
822 posts

QUOTE(navilink @ Aug 4 2009, 10:29 PM)
i'm planning to buy about 35+10 to 45+10, i'm never though of going travelling during winter times, so that range of size is enough for me..  thumbup.gif

35+10 is freaking small... for me, 4 days can la.. even my gf is using 50+10... while i'm using 65+10...
IMO, i think 55+10 is okay la if u think u dun need much space..

QUOTE(mr_maf14 @ Aug 4 2009, 10:57 PM)
hey, i jz wanna ask whether this deuter hiking bag can be brought into plane cabin. may i know what is the maximum size allowed?
i dun think u can bring a hiking bag into the cabin... it's too big... and maximum liquid allowed to bring in to the cabin is just 10ml...
i dun think u will bring dat little liquid on ur entire trip, rite?

a normal small backpack can la..

like me, i bring a 65+10 and a deuter hokus pokus which is a waistbag but can be converted into a backpack..

the hokus pokus i will bring into the cabin, but the 65+10 as the luggage...
saru88
post Aug 9 2009, 11:02 PM

Average Joe
822 posts

madam sia normally give out 30% la... not much, but definitely more than others...

and side zip? the side zip is for the side pockets tho... i think only the traveller model have the side zip to reach the middle of the compartment...
saru88
post Aug 19 2009, 12:07 AM

Average Joe
822 posts

QUOTE(navilink @ Aug 15 2009, 02:15 PM)
just bought Deuter Aircontact 45+10 @ RM420 at Madam Sia shop rclxms.gif really nice lady, even ask someone to show me way to ATM..

pretty damaging to the wallet, but heck gonna use it till i die tongue.gif
glad that u bought ur bag and happy with it.. rclxms.gif

45+10 for me is just too small... im happy with my 65+10 too... tongue.gif
saru88
post Aug 20 2009, 12:10 AM

Average Joe
822 posts

QUOTE(navilink @ Aug 19 2009, 09:32 PM)
actually i regret a bit bought too big (for me..) coz will nd to pay extra premium for heavier luggage..
heavier stuff at the back of ur backbone ler.. lighter and bulkier goes bottom smile.gif
dun worry bro... my gf's 50+10 stuff until totally full last time still not overweight yet...
if im not mistaken, standard is 15kg... but last time her backpack was 13kg, and it was freaking heavy already..

hell no, always put ur heavier stuff at the bottom, otherwise it will spoil ur bag compartments...
i wonder where did u hear it from... hmm.gif
saru88
post Aug 23 2009, 02:51 AM

Average Joe
822 posts

QUOTE(navilink @ Aug 22 2009, 09:07 PM)
i follow what the deuter user guide recommended smile.gif

indeed, yes... but u must make sure ur bottom compartment is full in order to fill some heavy stuff in the compartment that near ur back..
cuz if ur bottom compartment is not full and u stuff in some heavy stuff in the middle compartment, the separator will eventually spoil...

my fren hold a Deuter Futura to class everyday... put in some textbooks inside... around 2 months, the separator spoiled edi...
so wut say u? smile.gif
saru88
post Aug 23 2009, 09:16 PM

Average Joe
822 posts

QUOTE(navilink @ Aug 23 2009, 09:30 AM)
yea they recommended to put sleeping bag at the bottom, and my coleman sleeping bag fits in bottom just perfectly rclxms.gif anyway even if it really tore off, then got warranty kuar.. lifetime warranty hehe icon_idea.gif
futura is a hiking bag rite?? u fren using a hiking bag to school? wow shocking.gif

anyway just playing around with the bag yesterday, lots of straps to handle rclxub.gif
if im not mistaken, new deuter does not provide lifetime warranty already... 5 years i think...
ya, it's recommended to put sleeping bag at the bottom too...

haha... futura is sort of a hiking bag... my fren has a Futura 28... and he used it to class... u know, university's text books are thick! tongue.gif

at 1st u sure feel the straps very kecoh... but after awhile u will get used to it 1.. dun worry...
saru88
post Aug 24 2009, 02:03 PM

Average Joe
822 posts

QUOTE(navilink @ Aug 24 2009, 11:10 AM)
5 year only ah? omg.. but this Madam Sia said lifetime warranty.. maybe it's old version of bag tongue.gif
will test my bag to the limit next week yea~~
she told me lifetime too, but from wut i heard, newer version of deuter only provides a 5-year warranty...
guess u need to find uncle google for the best answer... tongue.gif

well, good luck on ur trip tho... dun 4get to snap some pics or videos of ur trip... icon_rolleyes.gif
saru88
post Sep 20 2009, 01:50 PM

Average Joe
822 posts

QUOTE(bartbarb @ Sep 12 2009, 05:30 PM)
Hi Keong,

Want to ask you, for the brand you mentioned, except from Pertama Complex, where else of shop in KL i can find those brand of backpack?
Tearproof perhaps? there r branches in MV, KLCC, The Curve, etc...

other than that, there is one shop carrying Deuter n Northface in Jalan Maarof, Bangsar... UFL i think... in Pelita that row...
they r the distributor for Deuter, but u can get cheaper in Mdm Sia's shop...

other than that, i dun really trust...
saru88
post Sep 23 2009, 12:38 PM

Average Joe
822 posts

plz surf back the previous pages... it's only 4 pages in this thread...
saru88
post Sep 24 2009, 02:55 AM

Average Joe
822 posts

QUOTE(kazebert @ Sep 23 2009, 12:59 PM)
mdm Sia seems to be famous for backpacks... LoL

I got mine wrong and planning to sell it off....
Got mine for RM300++ , Deuter , 35 + 10ml , yellow colour.
With raincover , place for waterbag, great back support, place to put hiking stick.

That bag is for hiking. I dun need a  hiking bag. Brought it went i was a newbie in these things. and also i need a bigger bag.

I do a lot of backpacking. So i needed more space and compartment and a 50l bag. Hopefully with great back support ( i have back problem ) with rain jacket and lite weight.

Kaze
haha.. cuz maybe they provide the cheapest price for backpacks? tongue.gif

what backpack u planning to buy?
i'm using my aircontact 65+10 for backpacking only...

i think how about futura for u? it has a better back support i assume...
if u r planning to buy traveller, i dun think u will feel comfortable wif it...
saru88
post Oct 17 2009, 01:54 PM

Average Joe
822 posts

QUOTE(quintesson @ Oct 17 2009, 03:01 AM)

can anyone give a few suggestion of the said good brands other than Karrimor, Deuter, Lowe Alpine, Lowe Pro, Northface or High Sierra? thanks
i oredy list most of the backpack brands... what else do you want?
saru88
post Nov 3 2009, 09:17 PM

Average Joe
822 posts

QUOTE(phoenix @ Nov 2 2009, 09:17 PM)
Just bought a Deuter Futura Pro 42. Love the bag but I'm wondering how tough is the mesh of the AirComfort system it? Any ideas as I might check the bag in at airports and as we know, the airport people just throw the bags around.
it depend on how u trash ur bag la i think...
the mesh unless it got hooked or something... i dun think it will spoil that easily...

i will be heading to macau next wed with my AirContact 65+10... that time i let u know how worse they trash my bag la.. haha...

QUOTE(zombieyap @ Nov 3 2009, 02:45 PM)
went to mdm.sia shop last sun to buy day trip hiking beg.
She gave me lots of helpful advice.
Bought Deuter Trans Alpine 30 liter for RM270. She even chat with me how to take care of the beg, how to wash the beg. Very nice person. RECOMMENDED!
Deuter? Trans? Alpine? how many backpacks u bought?

saru88
post Nov 20 2009, 03:20 AM

Average Joe
822 posts

well, i've always wanted to get karrimor... but due to the price... hehe...

the reason i got Deuter is because the price also...
it's a cheaper reliable brand, i would say...
saru88
post Nov 21 2009, 02:40 AM

Average Joe
822 posts

QUOTE(Keong @ Nov 20 2009, 07:50 AM)
Hi Saru88,

Unfortunatelly Malaysia is flooded with Karrimors Made In China. Not that China stuff are not good, just that their QC is not as stringent as the ones in UK. That's what I observe anyway smile.gif

But in terms of reliability, I don't think I can agree with you.  I would say it depends on how much you use (and abuse) it. Go ask some of the hardcore Mountain climbers people in Malaysia and the will swear on Karrimor!

Then again, it all depends on who uses it I think. Some people (like me) treat their packs like little babies and would probably last longer than their owners! I got a friend who drags and sits on his packs as he wishes. He can go through a pack in a few months! Then again he works outdoors as a living smile.gif
this i'm not sure... i aint no a mountain climber... just a normal backpacker...
i'm planning to get a smaller backpack for smaller trips... mine is 65+10... kinda big for short trips like 2-3 days...

am thinking to go for karrimor or lafuma... or maybe just stick to deuter only... not much choices in malaysia tho...

really regret la when i went to hong kong last week didnt buy the lafuma there... it was freaking cheap there...

QUOTE(vince86 @ Nov 20 2009, 06:36 PM)
okie... I just got myself a futura pro 42 for RM350 at mdm sia.
Its really comfortable and I like it very much. But, after reading what have been posted I felt like I made a wrong choice?
With all the replica and fake issue..
futura pro 42 for RM350? not bad wurt the price... i'm planning to get the same model if im not getting karrimor or lafuma for my smaller pack...

i duno why i like karrimor cougar so much... haha...
saru88
post Nov 23 2009, 12:35 PM

Average Joe
822 posts

QUOTE(chae @ Nov 23 2009, 12:30 PM)
tumpang 1 kaki.

i'm using Aircontact 65+10 (deuter) and satisfied with it. used it for trekking, hiking and traveling..all in 1..save $$

cheers
u got a kaki here... tongue.gif

but sometimes i feel if the backpack is fully packed, it's freaking heavy...
saru88
post Nov 27 2009, 02:13 PM

Average Joe
822 posts

i duno what's the common weight of the pack to carry...

the few weeks ago i went to hk.. the pack was around 14kg...

when i walk that time, wow, i feel my legs are very very tiring... the thigh there...

i try to adjust up n down, but still make no difference... i duno izit the pack too heavy or my pack is not comfortable...

0.0528sec    1.06    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 09:34 AM