HDTV FAQ, For all Console users
toyol
Jan 6 2008, 01:39 PM
QUOTE(Coconut @ Jan 2 2008, 05:23 PM) wat is 24p? the 2 models that i am looking, Hitachi p42a01a and LG 42pc5r are offering 1024 resolution only, is that 1080i or 720p? Full HD for Plasma is over budget for me, asked one Hitachi 42" Full HD is bout 11k. 24p = 24 (frames per second) progressive. The movies we see in theatres (old and new) are all shot on film at 24 frames per second which gives it the cinematic feel. Some newer movies (ie Matrix, Star Wars 1-3 etc) which are shot digitally, continue the tradition of it being 24p. It differs from Plasma/LCD resolution/video signal which is typically PAL 25p/50i or NTSC 30p/60i. I also get confused at times... too many formats This post has been edited by toyol: Jan 6 2008, 01:40 PM
toyol
Jan 12 2008, 01:01 PM
QUOTE(kiathoong @ Jan 7 2008, 12:37 AM) Hey guyz i like to know whether this article is true or not? Cos my HDMI cable is too short for my Projector hanging on the ceiling http://dme.ghost2.net/hdfury/home.php?SID=32&deflang=enand the only option for a nice view of my Blu-ray movie is to buy 2 converter and put on my Vga cable.. huhu thanks buddy for helping me Quite true leh 'cos HDMI is a digital audio/video connector. and HDMI got some kind of DRM protection to allow you to play your blu-ray movies. Like the article say using VGA connector will downgrade your resolution to 960x540 instead of 1920x1080 is true and no sound There are HDMI extenders out there which works for projectors over long distances for example here : http://www.octavainc.com/HDMI%20extender.htm but I don't know where to get them here. Maybe someone can suggest a better alternative. update: I'm not sure what projector you are using but as long as your projector is HDMI compliant then ok. This post has been edited by toyol: Jan 12 2008, 01:16 PM
toyol
Jan 26 2008, 12:25 PM
QUOTE(Lone*Wolf @ Jan 25 2008, 04:24 PM) dun lar sound like ah long taiko onli ... i am real noob to this so of coz need to be certain lah.... if i really think you are liar, then i oso wouldn't thank you earlier lerr.... Thanks again for your tips  Added on January 25, 2008, 4:25 pmOK! Thanks!  To add a bit more tip to this, please get better RCA cables lah. Like they always say, which is true, a wire is a wire. However, adding extenders to lengthen your cables is generally not advisable. Cable for each signal from player to projector cukup. Reason is if you notice that your video picture looks fuzzy or has uneven colour (projector is fine in this case), it's very likely cause by the end to end connectors. The other reason is bad cable. If possible, ask the guys at Jln Pasar to custom-make to the length required. This post has been edited by toyol: Jan 26 2008, 12:31 PM
toyol
Jan 27 2008, 03:14 PM
QUOTE(Lone*Wolf @ Jan 26 2008, 06:32 PM) RCA cables = Composite cables (Yellow, white, red)? Dah try tapi tak boleh lerr.... Tarak gambar  have u tried pulling out the other video cables, ie your composite or s-video? also, have u checked if you switched to the right source to output video on yur projector?