HDTV FAQ, For all Console users

tot31
post Feb 2 2005, 06:38 PM

I DON'T GIVE A DAMN
2,451 posts

QUOTE(xbizkit @ Feb 2 2005, 06:32 PM)
I'm using Sony (Model:KV-DA29M61), HD-Ready TV with Sony Component cable somehow I can see a fade ring in the middle of the screen while playing GT4 in 1080i mode, size sligthly bigger than a CD. It is exceptionly obvious when running on open space.

I can see it all the time even in replay mode. Noted: I can see it from any camera angle, so I'm pretty sure it is not the game effect.

The ring just stick there in the middle of the screen & doesn't move with the view of camera.

Is it normal for HD-ready TV for GT4 in 1080i mode?

Is this TV good enough for GT4? I still can see some jagged image and a bit laggy eventhough it is way lesser than S-video cable.
I don't think it's your tv as I also have the same effect ring on my non HDTV 25" Panasonic.I think it's the game effect.
tot31
post Apr 6 2007, 10:58 AM

I DON'T GIVE A DAMN
2,451 posts

Waaa..cayalah Ninja, dah beli LCD TV. Apalagi kita serbu umah dier lah...hahahhah....Esok ada party Guitar Hero II tuk X360 kat Kajang....yehoooo....apalagi yus jgn lupa dtg....
tot31
post Jul 23 2007, 12:04 PM

I DON'T GIVE A DAMN
2,451 posts

If your budget is less thann 1K, then I would suggest you to get a Dell 22" LCD Monitor. It has 1 x VGA output and 1 x DV-I output. I'm using the HDMI-DVI cable to connect it to my PS3 and using KVM switch to share between my PC and my X360 via VGA. This monitor can support 720p without any problems. I'm using this monitor and very satisfied with it.

Now Dell is having a promo for this (model E228WFP) selling for RM849 only (http://www1.ap.dell.com/content/products/compare.aspx/20lcd?c=my&cs=mydhs1&l=en&s=dhs)

tot31
post Jul 23 2007, 03:54 PM

I DON'T GIVE A DAMN
2,451 posts

QUOTE(ruztynail @ Jul 23 2007, 03:19 PM)
how much u got the KVM switch for?? and the DVI cable for thanks man
I got a DLink KVM-221 2 Port USB KVM Switch with Audio Support for RM95 at Viewnet in Lowyat Plaza. Here's the link for the DLink KVM-221, http://www.dlink.com/products/?sec=0&pid=511

I bought HDMI-DVI cable for RM55 at Sg Wang (the same shop where I bought my PS3).

Added on July 23, 2007, 3:57 pm
QUOTE(rx330 @ Jul 23 2007, 03:25 PM)
not all LCD monitor got, mine dun have biggrin.gif
Yup with HDCP, I got no problem viewing BD movies on my Dell 22". biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by tot31: Jul 23 2007, 03:57 PM
tot31
post Jul 23 2007, 04:43 PM

I DON'T GIVE A DAMN
2,451 posts

QUOTE(ruztynail @ Jul 23 2007, 04:20 PM)

so wat happens if u dont hv HDCP? cannot view BD and HD-DVD?
If your monitor DVI is not HDCP compliant, you can't watch BD movies.

i think ill really go for the dell.. is it like the best in the range edi? lol. quiet cheap i guess. another thing. how u hook the speakers thn for ps3? if say i want to? must go digital? or can use the normal comp speakrs? if say i didnt buy the KVM switch.. cause the DVI occupies the monitor edi.. where does the sound output go to?
Good choice, you won't regret it. It's really worth it. As for audio. I'm using my 9yr old Altec Lancing 2.1 pc speaker, still in a very good condition, the woofer still boomimg like hell. I'm using the audio switcher (bought it for RM9 from electric shop, it's a 3 input and 1 output switcher). So my PS3and X360 audio cables are hook up to this audio switch and out to my Altec Lancing 2.1 speakers, whereas my PC audio cables are directly hook into my PC speakers (this Altec Lansing has 2 inputs).

Since you're going to share the monitor with your PC and PS3, you don't need to buy the KVM switch. You can hook your PS3 with HDMI to DVI cable and your monitor with the normal VGA cable.
tot31
post Jul 24 2007, 08:34 AM

I DON'T GIVE A DAMN
2,451 posts

QUOTE(ruztynail @ Jul 23 2007, 07:05 PM)

actually tot.. i still tak faham..

whn i hook my HDMI-DVI cable to the monitor.. the cable suppose to carry both audio and visual.. right?? the DELL monitor doesnt hv an audio output correct?? like the green hole where can put the speaker jack in..

thn my 2.1 speakers doesnt hv an optical cable. mostly only 5.1.. so where do i plug my speakers..?

yr altec speaker has a normal jack.? the green color one? or how do u hook yr ps3 female jack with yr 2.1 male jack?

thanks. haha i freaking noob at this. if got pic. freaking cool too  thumbup.gif
in short.. where do i hook up my 2.1 speakers to? if i use tat dell monitor?
HDMI-DVI cable only carries video signal from PS3 to LCD monitor. I have to use the normal av cable for audio. Yes my 2.1 speaker has 2 green inputs. I've made an adaptor for it, so that the red and white connector from the PS3 av cable can connect to it (you can buy this adaptor also, quite cheap).
tot31
post Jul 30 2007, 08:16 AM

I DON'T GIVE A DAMN
2,451 posts

QUOTE(ruztynail @ Jul 29 2007, 06:10 PM)
E228WFP 22"  tot.. the LCD has a 16:10 ratio right? so whn u play the sides are black? thn its like playing on a 20"??

It has full screen display for X360 and PS3. No black borders/bars. Really worth it bro.
tot31
post Jul 31 2007, 10:08 AM

I DON'T GIVE A DAMN
2,451 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jul 31 2007, 10:04 AM)
u guys dun table me hor...
im happy with my 29 inchi CRT old teebee.....
Playing next gen console with SDTV is like having sex with your hands... laugh.gif
tot31
post Jul 31 2007, 11:38 AM

I DON'T GIVE A DAMN
2,451 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jul 31 2007, 11:27 AM)
masturbating is actually preparing urself for the real deal biggrin.gif
hahahha but the pleasure will never be the same... tongue.gif
tot31
post Aug 2 2007, 02:09 PM

I DON'T GIVE A DAMN
2,451 posts

QUOTE(MonsterJ9 @ Aug 2 2007, 01:58 PM)
DELL's E228WFP it is a good monitor??
Yes it is. I'm using it with my PC,X360 and PS3.
tot31
post Aug 2 2007, 02:16 PM

I DON'T GIVE A DAMN
2,451 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Aug 2 2007, 02:13 PM)
ah p(t)ot u calling me kettle is it? tongue.gif
muahahahaha laugh.gif tongue.gif
tot31
post Aug 2 2007, 03:26 PM

I DON'T GIVE A DAMN
2,451 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Aug 2 2007, 02:33 PM)
opps, no wonder, i tot where my reply wen to, tis was suppose in reply to the porn bulei thread biggrin.gif
All these spamming making all the mods pening already moving around your posts.... laugh.gif
tot31
post Aug 15 2007, 01:00 PM

I DON'T GIVE A DAMN
2,451 posts

Dell 24" does support 1080p. Try to use VGA cable instead of component cable.
tot31
post Aug 15 2007, 02:18 PM

I DON'T GIVE A DAMN
2,451 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Aug 15 2007, 01:07 PM)
i tot x360 component can do 1080p?
It depends also on the input of the LCD (maybe Dell 24" component input is only up to 1080i). Better wait for redbull to confirm as he owns Dell 24" and he's getting 1080p with his X360.
tot31
post Aug 17 2007, 11:35 AM

I DON'T GIVE A DAMN
2,451 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Aug 17 2007, 10:31 AM)
if 1080p the wallpaper girlgot becum naked or not?
hahahahaha..once a pervert, always a pervert..... tongue.gif

Added on August 17, 2007, 11:36 am
QUOTE(rx330 @ Aug 17 2007, 10:31 AM)
if 1080p the wallpaper girlgot becum naked or not?
hahahahaha..once a pervert, always a pervert..... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by tot31: Aug 17 2007, 11:36 AM
tot31
post Aug 17 2007, 03:57 PM

I DON'T GIVE A DAMN
2,451 posts

QUOTE(lester @ Aug 17 2007, 03:52 PM)
I try on my Dell 2405WFP LCD via vga cabale but in xbox360 i can't select 1080i or 1080p the only setting i can choose is the screen resolution. So i choose the highest resolution available but compare with component input the vga color is a bit wash out and also the text is not as sharp as the component input. Am i miss something or what I thought connect via vga cable will be better?
Have you updated to the Fall Update? Because the fall update has Reference Level setting for VGA, the best for me is Expanded. Make sure you use M$ FTF vga cable, if you use chicken brand the quality will be like chicken.

Added on August 17, 2007, 3:58 pm
QUOTE(lester @ Aug 17 2007, 03:52 PM)
I try on my Dell 2405WFP LCD via vga cabale but in xbox360 i can't select 1080i or 1080p the only setting i can choose is the screen resolution. So i choose the highest resolution available but compare with component input the vga color is a bit wash out and also the text is not as sharp as the component input. Am i miss something or what I thought connect via vga cable will be better?
Have you updated to the Fall Update? Because the fall update has Reference Level setting for VGA, the best for me is Expanded. Make sure you use M$ FTF vga cable, if you use chicken brand the quality will be like chicken.

This post has been edited by tot31: Aug 17 2007, 03:58 PM
tot31
post Aug 17 2007, 04:19 PM

I DON'T GIVE A DAMN
2,451 posts

QUOTE(lester @ Aug 17 2007, 04:11 PM)
Hi tot31,
U mention about Reference Level setting for VGA, r u talking a bout a list of resolution to choose from? I choose the highest resolution, if i'm not mistaken i choose 1900 x 1080, does it mean is running on 1080P?

If you can't see the Reference Level Settings option, then you're still on the old firmware. Try to update the firmware by going to LIVE (it'll autoupdate). 1900 x 1080 is 1080p.

About the cable im not sure it is chicken brand or what bcoz i just ask for vga cable and they charge me rm60 for the cable.
It's a chicken brand for sure coz M$ FTF original vga cable will cost you RM160 and above.

rx330: I'm not intended to double post but I think this board got some bug, even you also have posted double. Go and check.
tot31
post Aug 28 2007, 10:28 AM

I DON'T GIVE A DAMN
2,451 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Aug 28 2007, 09:39 AM)
4.2 ar? i just got a offer for a sammy 37 for 3.2k tongue.gif
still have xtra unit for that sammy 37"? 3.2k is a good deal lar bro.
tot31
post Sep 10 2007, 11:47 AM

I DON'T GIVE A DAMN
2,451 posts

QUOTE(arj @ Sep 10 2007, 11:25 AM)
doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

When I see "FullHD" and "RM6999" my vision blur terus sweat.gif
apa lagi bro angkat lar satu, 26" lama tu leh jual murah2 kat aku... biggrin.gif sweat.gif
tot31
post Sep 14 2007, 09:54 AM

I DON'T GIVE A DAMN
2,451 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Sep 14 2007, 09:09 AM)
guys, need help to choose

sony V300A 40, sammy R81 40 or sharp px5m 42

thanks, need advice ASAP
see olang kaya mau beli tv lcd baru...huhuhuhu