4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Science If the moon suddenly disappears?, what will happen?

TSazarimy
post Nov 19 2009, 10:32 AM, updated 16y ago

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

i know the moon and the earth is in a state of balance. moon's gravity affects tides on earth. but other than psychological effects to human beings and animals, i cant find any other factors, especially physical factors, that the moon affects.

what if the moon suddenly disappears?

(assume for reasons like an asteroid knocks it out of the orbit and drifts away; or we nuked it with several megatons of nuclear weapon or whatever.)

what would happen to earth

a. immediately
b. within a year
c. years after

care to venture?

Awakened_Angel
post Nov 19 2009, 10:40 AM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Nov 19 2009, 11:32 AM)
i know the moon and the earth is in a state of balance. moon's gravity affects tides on earth. but other than psychological effects to human beings and animals, i cant find any other factors, especially physical factors, that the moon affects.

what if the moon suddenly disappears?

(assume for reasons like an asteroid knocks it out of the orbit and drifts away; or we nuked it with several megatons of nuclear weapon or whatever.)

what would happen to earth

a. immediately
b. within a year
c. years after
care to venture?
there`s no immidiate effect as the effect of dissapearnce of moon takes time to reach earth for us to be felt...

and, what do you meant by disapear? to be accurate?
toekong
post Nov 19 2009, 10:41 AM

240 posts

Well, for one thing we are losing the moon.. But not for another millions or billions of year or so..
Second, if we really lose the moon the way you say, we dun have to worry about our future i guess..
Third, for argument sake we really did lose the moon.
Earth is tilted about 27 degree, i think, from it's axis and it is held there by the moon. So if we really did lose the moon, good bye seasonal changes.

This post has been edited by toekong: Nov 19 2009, 10:42 AM
exsea
post Nov 19 2009, 10:42 AM

656 posts

i cannot turn into colourwolf anymore >_<

Added on November 19, 2009, 10:42 amthe nights will be darker i guess

Added on November 19, 2009, 10:43 ama lot of religions are gonna be f***ed since they no longer have the moon.
a lot of people will question their religions.

new religions will arise

This post has been edited by exsea: Nov 19 2009, 10:43 AM
egomaster
post Nov 19 2009, 10:46 AM

24 posts

saiya ppl no longer can transform 2 gorilla...awww sad

Added on November 19, 2009, 10:47 amhistory about Neil Armstrong will be nothing

This post has been edited by egomaster: Nov 19 2009, 10:47 AM
TSazarimy
post Nov 19 2009, 10:53 AM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(Awakened_Angel @ Nov 19 2009, 02:40 AM)
and, what do you meant by disapear? to be accurate?
as in not there anymore. gone. disappear. not visually, but physically gone. one day there, next day poof.

QUOTE(toekong @ Nov 19 2009, 02:41 AM)
Well, for one thing we are losing the moon.. But not for another millions or billions of year or so..
Second, if we really lose the moon the way you say, we dun have to worry about our future i guess..
Third, for argument sake we really did lose the moon.
Earth is tilted about 27 degree, i think, from it's axis and it is held there by the moon. So if we really did lose the moon, good bye seasonal changes.
interesting. i didnt know earth's tilt is held by the moon. i'll read up more on that.

QUOTE(exsea @ Nov 19 2009, 02:42 AM)

Added on November 19, 2009, 10:43 ama lot of religions are gonna be f***ed since they no longer have the moon.
a lot of people will question their religions.

new religions will arise
interesting. coz Islamic calendar is based on the lunar cycle. no moon means no way to really determine how long each month is, meaning no more hari raya tongue.gif.
sameer27
post Nov 19 2009, 10:56 AM

PlanTheFutureForABetterPast
684 posts

I personally think it would be bad coz I can't bring a gal out near the sea to watch the beautiful moon.

That would be the only immediate effect

There would be lesser tides and more dead fishes

In the near future.

The rotation, the normal 24hours a day would change

After many many many years(more in the thousands)
TSazarimy
post Nov 19 2009, 11:23 AM

10,672 posts

how does it affect the earth's rotation?
Awakened_Angel
post Nov 19 2009, 11:41 AM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Nov 19 2009, 11:53 AM)
as in not there anymore. gone. disappear. not visually, but physically gone. one day there, next day poof.
do you mean explosion?
shattered from meoteorite hit?
out of gravity orbit and hovered in deep space?

this is PhD board.. not Kopitiam.... doh.gif
TSazarimy
post Nov 19 2009, 11:49 AM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(Awakened_Angel @ Nov 19 2009, 03:41 AM)
do you mean explosion?
shattered from meoteorite hit?
out of gravity orbit and hovered in deep space?

this is PhD board.. not Kopitiam....  doh.gif
if this is a seriously PhD board, i doubt u guys would be here.

anyways, focus on the issues. it doesnt matter how the moon disappeared. the issue here is what happens after the sudden vanishing of the moon. just assume whatever happened to the moon did not affect the earth.
us3raff
post Nov 19 2009, 11:53 AM

54 posts

1) No more mooncake to makan and celebrate lo.
2) cannot see moon to romantic lo.
3) Cannot become werewolf lo
4) Cannot see in dark lo coz moonlight can improve our vision at night.
5) Cannot raya lo.
SUSgogo2
post Nov 19 2009, 11:58 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

2012 liao
Awakened_Angel
post Nov 19 2009, 12:01 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Nov 19 2009, 12:49 PM)
if this is a seriously PhD board, i doubt u guys would be here.

anyways, focus on the issues. it doesnt matter how the moon disappeared. the issue here is what happens after the sudden vanishing of the moon. just assume whatever happened to the moon did not affect the earth.
sweat.gif

I foresee this thread will be shut down due to over spamming doh.gif

ok.. back to the topic... I think the biggest impact will be gravitational one.. rather than social(eg. religion etc)

un predicted tide etc

This post has been edited by Awakened_Angel: Nov 19 2009, 12:06 PM
TSazarimy
post Nov 19 2009, 12:06 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(Awakened_Angel @ Nov 19 2009, 04:01 AM)
sweat.gif

I foresee this thread will be shut down due to over spamming doh.gif
it doesnt matter. several spams here had made me thinking wink.gif. sometimes something stupid that comes out of one's mouth is worth gold to the other.
Awakened_Angel
post Nov 19 2009, 12:07 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Nov 19 2009, 12:23 PM)
how does it affect the earth's rotation?
I dont think it`ll affect much.. as earth`s rotation is affected by sun`s gravity....
nujo87
post Nov 19 2009, 12:21 PM

247 posts

when u know more,u worry more(UFO,End of the World,nuke war....)
Our ancestor know nothing about this,yet they lived happily n safe until now...
No worry,be happy smile.gif
Awakened_Angel
post Nov 19 2009, 12:58 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(nujo87 @ Nov 19 2009, 01:21 PM)
when u know more,u worry more(UFO,End of the World,nuke war....)
Our ancestor know nothing about this,yet they lived happily n safe until now...
No worry,be happy smile.gif
cause religion have too many stories on judgement days sweat.gif
sameer27
post Nov 19 2009, 01:45 PM

PlanTheFutureForABetterPast
684 posts

I dont think it`ll affect much.. as earth`s rotation is affected by sun`s gravity....

Most of the tidal effects seen on the Earth are caused by the Moon's gravitational pull, with the Sun making a somewhat smaller contribution. Tidal drag slows the Earth's rotation by about 0.002 seconds per day per century - Wikipedia

SUSb3ta
post Nov 19 2009, 01:53 PM

responsible poster stormtrooper
685 posts

we start constrution of the 2nd death star.....

but jokes aside, tidal patterns will be disrupted, potentially causing harm to human lifestyle, possible destruction on flora and fauna by seashores, and also possibly threatening aquamarine life
frags
post Nov 19 2009, 02:33 PM

The Wizard
1,640 posts

Well the most obvious change will be the disruption of tides. Possibly the effect of low and high tide will be much smaller now. Yes you can swim at night now, but you probably have a hard time seeing at night though, so I suppose...it's still dangerous.

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0204sec    1.40    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 07:57 AM