World of Warcraft General Discussion

Imbecile
post Jun 30 2009, 08:42 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(znl1000 @ Jun 26 2009, 01:32 AM)

I'm interested in playing WoW. Is there any tutorial sites to visit? (Yes, I'm a noob biggrin.gif ).
i just remember, before i start palying wow, i read this

http://www.wowwiki.com/Newbie_guide

and check out Class specific articles, the "starting a XXXX(class)
this one tell you how each class looks and feels(except DeathKnight hmm.gif )
Imbecile
post Aug 8 2009, 01:09 AM

26 posts

check my email and i received a letter dated 29 Jul, 2009 supposely from Blizzard Entertainment (Newsletter@email.blizzard.com) title "watch blizzcon 2009 Live Over the Internet Aug 21-22‏"

strange thing is all the link go to http//:email.blizzard.com/Key-XXXXXXXXXXXX(randum munber or cap/no cap letter(even the blizzard icon, that usually link to blizzard main page, is address to the above)

i think i did not subscribe their newsletter...

this is a keylogger? how the hell did they know i'm a player?
Imbecile
post Oct 20 2009, 10:41 PM

26 posts

250ms is a wet dream come true in this good internat conection forsaken land.
the best/amazing constant line i can get a is between 500~690ms

btw,

want to ask streamyx + wow arena user:

I'm just wondering, can i do arena with minimal 550ms, max under 900ms? does under 900ms= frustrating?

if 500~700 "do able" then,
thaurrisan server, orc lock LF an starter(noob)/casual 2v2, 3v3 arena team, will respec demo/destru if needed, will dload gladius addon, will learn tactic/playstyle if there a patience teacher(i'm a slow learner:( ), NO vent please.

too embracing to ask in trade channel sad.gif
most don't understand why we have more than 500ms

This post has been edited by Imbecile: Oct 20 2009, 10:42 PM
Imbecile
post Oct 22 2009, 01:19 PM

26 posts

had "bad" experience with vent, and i also think vent clog up some of my line lantency.

don't feel like paying extra $ for a game.

kk, going to unpack my stuff, and queue bg,
maybe go back to druid alt and blow people off cliffs.
Imbecile
post Jan 20 2010, 11:05 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(four_add @ Jan 19 2010, 01:49 PM)
if I bought US version of WOW Battle Chest, can I play the game on Oceanic server ?
well basicly US version = US server + oceanic Server + latin server(think mexico or something) its the same. you can pick any the above server you want.

just make sure its US version, NOT EUROP version and you'll be fine.
and there is no way you can mistake it for china/taiwan/korean version.

the only thing is that, i think with only WOW Battle Chest you can play in old world(vanilla/original wow) and outland (the burning crusade expension).
you can't play a death knight and reach northren, they keep port you back to you main city graveyard.

unless your WOW Battle Chest include wrath of the lich king expension.
Imbecile
post Jan 20 2010, 07:27 PM

26 posts

i think the ping its the same, since i guess us server and oceanic server is in the same building in US, same distance.
we play oceanic coz most player who lived in malaysia/sg/same time zone can fit in, and can group up and do thing(raids).
there are time i wish i can play on other timezone server, coz i feel the day time sceen looks beautiful

remember, only AFTER you install all patches then you can start play.
so i think you got a long downloading to do.

should try out all class, for the look and feel hybird class its good, if you get bore of 1 job, you can switch.
i'm not saying paladins suck or anything. paladins are cool

i think lvl what ever you want to 63~64ish then order wotlk, if may take 3~5 day deliver time(if online order).
by the time you reach 68, you can start questing in northren.

streamyx drag you from 500~1k lantency, but hopefully VPN /Gamepathcan save you.
i don't use VPN /Gamepath, so i won't know.

anyone else got info for VPN /Gamepath

note, macroing how ease button mashing
go pvp server for reallism, but beware pvp ganking,
the other faction level80 don't care if you're lvl 23, they will KILL U
( since you a pally, make bubblehearth macro, there is no shame in surving lvl80 onslaught ganking.
(can someone teach him how to make?)
buy bags from AH, DO NOT buy from npc(like me, i fail sweat.gif )
you can use AH to earn some money, use it like a stock market, buy low, sell high(hopefully someone or bot buy it)
when you are level58, you can start leveling outland,
coz outland green level item > vanila epics level item
only download addon from a website you trust.
make sure your login name a.k.a. email address not show in blog, forum etc, may vurnable to hacks
wowhead is you friend

lastly remember you life/gf > wow's life

welcome to wow smile.gif
Imbecile
post Jan 21 2010, 10:00 AM

26 posts

I remember my patch download cost me 1½ ~2 days sad.gif (from vanilla 1.1or 1.2 till tbc 2.2 I think), so I take some time read the manual book. you should read it too although its very out of date, but it give you a basic idea how thing work(or how thing use to work)

AH stand for Auction House, now every major city have it. Its like an in-game e-bay, if your want an item but not in a hurry to get it, you can bid for it, save you some money. If you want it now, and the price is acceptable, you just buy out.

If you don’t know where AH is, you can ask a city guard for direction.

there are so many short form range from location/major city short form name, certain class spells, and dungeon/instance short form. I guess you can learn it while you play.
Example: OOM=out of mana(this is most important), BS= Blacksmith profession, JC=jewel crafting profession, ENG=engineering profession, BM hunter= Beast Master(spec) hunter. FP=flight point, FFS=for FXXX sake(this is rude, don’t use this), L2P=learn to play(this is kinda rude),

Almost Every time you reach even number level, there certainly new spell to learn from you class trainer.

If you mistaken put your talent point in the wrong place, you can go back to your class trainer and ask for a re-train(or what the word for it, I forgot), I think the 1st time its free, but the cost get higher each time you request for more re-train, and its only stop at 50gold or 100gold, I forgot.

evofantasy got your answer for the ping thingy.

When your reach level 80, don’t let the elite jerk player get you down, your better off without them.
Imbecile
post Apr 12 2010, 02:28 PM

26 posts

@four_add,

start tanking at this time is the hard part, since there will be some TOC, ICC, geared run daily heroic just for the badge. they can easily pull aggro from you.

i'm not sure what tanks need, stamina, defence cap, block, etc
its about upgrade your gear and gem it and enchant it. it will cost you lots of gold, and hard work, hopefully it'll pay off.
even the gear is in blue, gem and enchant it anyway. food buff helps.
oh and use shield. unless your a dk.

join a helpful guild that help you get your gears, if they do(carry you) that, remember to help them back as well.

my advise is, you have to start do 78~80 dungon as a DPS 1st,
when you group, tell all of them you are gearing up a tank, remember to skip dps gear. need it if no one need it.
when you "think" you can't improve your gear anymore from normal 78~80 instance, then do the easy heroic, UK, VH, nexus, etc
grind the sons of hodir faction in storm peak, you need to chain quest start in K3 neutral outpost to meet the faction. it got a good shoulder enchantment.
check wowhead for which dungeon you can find your needed gear.

use the daily badge wisely to buy gear in dalaran or toc

your play a paladin right?
hope this sticky in official forum help,since i dont' know a thng a bout pallys
Wrecky's BEGINNER Tanking Guide 3.3
http://forums.worldofwarcraft.com/thread.h...251925301&sid=1

for title, you have to perform a feet, to earn it. its cool but you don't really need it.
like complete all hallow end achievement to get XXXXX the hallowed,
kill raid boss XXXX the kingslayer,
the Patient is pug 50 times,
crusader is exalted with argent crusade and argent dawn(?),
mostly you can check your achievement for them,
and at your charater panal, you shuld be able to choose which title you want.

edit: my engrish get the best of me sad.gif

This post has been edited by Imbecile: Apr 12 2010, 04:04 PM
Imbecile
post May 6 2010, 05:41 PM

26 posts

this is a catalysm qq post, base on what i saw in mmo-champ data mining.

aside of qq,

got a 1st look on goblin land mount (or so i think, maybe its tcg, raf mount crap)
not rally go-kart car(that i really like), but looks like a diffrent racing car... not what i had in mind. i give it a 2/5 score. shakehead.gif

Elekk Mount (Epic) looks really cool, and the glowing eye makes it like a DK mount. thumbup.gif
i forget the original epic Elekk Mount looks like, will google it later.

Azshara got lots ss too.
even stormwind got more screenshot then orgrimmar(like 50% more)
Imbecile
post Jul 18 2010, 10:35 PM

26 posts

by "stop playing wow", do you means your account is in a "frozen" state?
can't see all your above level 10 alt aswell?

blue will NEVER delete your charater on purpose, unless you do something "really" bad.
i still can't make the name i always wanted in game(without using the dots thingy).

i think even the perma ban guy's name are still taken.

its properbly there a really "changing" patch/update,
but since you log out along time ago, your charater hasn't update it, so armory can't see it.
you properbly need to continue your subscription to see it again in the armory.

remember this, if you return back to wow,
your talent might been reset for free.
SET IT FIRST,
before QQ in trade chat that warlock got nerf really really bad(in reality, i' got no point in talent at all)
and everyone being mean and kick you off instance 3 straight times and call you a noob, (like me, i fail :( )

or this is a scheme that blue use to make more money ,
a psycological strike, held our main as hostage,
make us re-subscribe so we can see it in armory again...
note to self: i need to cut coffee. now.
Imbecile
post Jul 19 2010, 01:39 PM

26 posts

same here, but i can still find my main WITHOUT login armory(you don't really need to login in anyway), mine got :

'This account has no characters'
File Not Found
This character profile could not be displayed, possibly for one of the following reasons:
•The character has been inactive for an extended period of time. <--- this
•The character name was spelled incorrectly.
•The profile is temporarily unavailable while the character is in the midst of a process such as a realm transfer or faction change.
•Characters that have been deleted are no longer available on the Armory.

you properbly need to continue your subscription to see it again in the armory.
nothing to worried about :) .
Imbecile
post Jul 19 2010, 07:32 PM

26 posts

blink.gif blink.gif
seriously?!
whats your charater name again?

most likely been hack, can you login your bnet account?
check other post for suggestion

sorry in advance

on the bright side,
after blue reset your account, maybe you get alittle free game time curtersy of the hacker
Imbecile
post Aug 2 2010, 08:08 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(oil_rig @ Jul 30 2010, 03:27 PM)
guys
sorry, want to ask noob question here
can MMORPG played in single mode bcoz i dun have internet line
its "massively multy ONLINE role playing game" the answer is no...
but pirated version can, but its boring playing alone, and you can do very little.

This post has been edited by Imbecile: Aug 2 2010, 08:09 AM
Imbecile
post Aug 31 2010, 06:10 PM

26 posts

@ quackers
QUOTE(jarofclay @ Aug 29 2010, 08:11 PM)
Don't play WoW. Once you played it, you'll lose out in life. It's too late for me but it's still OK for you to not start.
^this

and

1. Which version to buy?
depend on what lanuguage you like
English=US(Oceanic),
Chinese=taiwan's ver. or china's ver.

2 Which server got most malaysians?
Thaurissan-US(i think), but its mostly for horde, pretty much no alliance player there and you be bored there, player atitude is bad,

3. Recommended server to join?
i recomend you go Barthilas, and join the "Escort" Guild Horde side.
can ask Instant_noodle, Jas2davir in forum for more infomation
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1396504

4. cheapest place to buy game / time card arnd pj area?
for more information go here
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1433554

good luck and have fun smile.gif

This post has been edited by Imbecile: Aug 31 2010, 06:13 PM
Imbecile
post Dec 11 2010, 03:40 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(Kerry1136 @ Dec 11 2010, 02:54 PM)
Isn't those some are attached with keyloggers or sumthin?
few,
there are some site you can download much safe,
best is always too scan it yourself before installing it.

add-on from curse.com is nice place to start.

QUOTE(Kerry1136 @ Dec 11 2010, 11:00 AM)
Any leveling guide out there....or anyone in ally barthilas wanna party up and go bg or something
leveling isn't hard nowdays, infact, its easy and fun(in level 1~60)
you only need to worry about the flying 310% speed,level85 bored opposite faction gank and camping

you don't really need add-on for questing,
i believe the default add-on is sufficent enough.
read the quest log would help,
if you can't figure it out, just abandon it,
its not like the old days where you have to do every quest, go everywhere to just get 1 level up.

only add-on for help easy your gameplay or game awareness

This post has been edited by Imbecile: Dec 11 2010, 03:48 PM
Imbecile
post Dec 11 2010, 06:34 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(Deimos Tel`Arin @ Dec 11 2010, 04:40 PM)
question, what does pvp server means?

it means that anyone on the opposite faction can attack you anytime?
yes and no.

yeas:
if you flag yourself pvp, (rightclick your portrait, go to pvp, select enable)
the only safe place is santuary zone(outland side of dark portal zone, shattra city, dalaran city) and an empty zone.
NEUTRAL zone(city run by neutral goblin) are not safe zone. you are still flag pvp.

no:
if you don't flag yourself pvp,
you are safe in your faction territory, aka your faction major city, your faction lowbie zone.
enemy will appear with yello name, they can't harm you. unless you harm them 1st.
when you enter contestent zone you are automaticly flag you pvp.

http://www.wowpedia.org/PvP_Flag

and i think they replace wowwiki to wowpedia
even official wow website has a link to wowpedia
http://www.wowpedia.org/Portal:Main

This post has been edited by Imbecile: Dec 11 2010, 06:36 PM
Imbecile
post Dec 12 2010, 06:29 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(Kerry1136 @ Dec 12 2010, 03:51 PM)
What are the common addons right now being used?
I'm kinda outdated like 2 years back ;p
i don't use much addon,
quartz; recount; omen; gatherer,*cough* gearscore*cough*;
i guess most addon you used 2 years ago still there, you just need to find its updated version
curse.com got a page just show add-on for certain class use only, or the "compack" version for a certain, class/roll.
you can search for the ones you like.
remember to scan it before install.

@ gaeria84
in wrath times, any dps'er is lower damage output than tank is either still very under gear
(a. try hard but still low; b. there a friend in party that voucher/cover his dps for him; c. just want to be carry);
or he just slacking in dungeon,

not sure what changes in cata.

@ MaAr
i though damage/dps and threat/agrro are 2 diffrent thing(atleast in wrath case, i don't play cata yet)
like taunt, taunt spell got 0 dps, but can gain "some" threat/agrro
Imbecile
post Dec 12 2010, 08:32 PM

26 posts

i'm not saying you are slacking, my apology.
i'm not leet at all,
i just base on what i see, what people said in forum and ingame.
i know NOTHING about hunter, idk what stat (new)hunter need(agi?),
idk hunter rotation, idk what the diffrence between surv, mm; i only know BM is about pet.

infact forget those, just focus on what you do, ready cc, protect healer, you will get it in time. smile.gif
Imbecile
post Dec 17 2010, 08:01 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(kadS @ Dec 17 2010, 07:16 PM)
this is faster than i expected.
always though it will be a year after launch then give cata trial
Imbecile
post Jun 28 2011, 06:33 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Jun 27 2011, 11:43 AM)
QUestion:
How do you gear up at level 85 to make yourself eligible to do heroic dungeon?
what is your class and position(tank?heal?) btw? in official forum there mostly have a sticky threat about how to gear/play for heroic

try replace most of your questing gear, as they are only good for normal instance.

you must 1st collect as many good quality gear from normal instance/dungeon for your class as possible.
only then you are qualified for heroic dungeon,
also be patient, most players will try to vote kick you from heroic just because they want to finnish the dungeon as fast as possible and without wipe.

you can also buy craft gear from player, most high end profession craft gear are heroic entry gear,
equipt craft gear should be a fast way to get heroic entry gear.

if you have ALOT of gold, you can shop your gear in the auction house.(even faster)

there other/neutral faction can sell you good gear if you have a good reputation with them.
but it would take a long time

you CAN get a good stat from a PVP gear(if you really can't find a replacement from questing gear), but its not encourage able, as some player might laugh at you(because he think he is way better than you.

also remember to put suitable stat gems and enchant your gear, as this will help you perform better in heroic instance

another way is to join a friend guild, and kindly ask for help; just remember to return the favour

good luck and have fun smile.gif

This post has been edited by Imbecile: Jun 28 2011, 07:43 PM

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0427sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 12:45 AM