Recommended GPS App For iPhone , Q&A Discussion Thread

TSJasonjinct
post Nov 10 2009, 11:25 AM, updated 15y ago

185 posts

What your recommended GPS Application for iPhone for Malaysia?
Please vote, and state your comments too!

Price: USD79.99

Pros:
+ Most updated Malaysia map so far.
+ GPS Fix is good, relatively fast.
+ Good Reception
+ Lots of fine-turning, tweaking abilities
+ Custom POI
+ Fast Startup

Cons:
- The GUI is implemented very poorly (proprietary GUI, not iPhone-style)
- Not user friendly

Screenshot:
user posted imageuser posted image

Video Review:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SoDPeI3xZAI

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Price: USD59.99

Pros:
+ User-Friendly and nice UI
+ Soon will have Car-kit
+ iPhone heat quite fast

Cons:
- Poor Reception
- Lack of map update
- No custom POI yet
- Slow GPS Fix

Screenshot:

Video Review:
Part 1 - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wTmWA8-7DHg
Part 2 - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-Nz-HungCDE...0956&feature=iv

** Navigon has been removed since no vote so far **
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Papago M6 for iphone (MY/SG) is now available from App Store. There are two versions:

* Papago M6 SG/MY (Pro)
* Papago M6 SG/MY (Lite) - No Junction View & 3D buildings

This is a must GPS application for Malaysian. It utilize malfreemaps. A FREE maps & most complete local map maker.

Maps:

Head over to http://www.malfreemaps.com/

Find the download section. Look for latest Papago for android/iphone version.

Map update can be done via BOTH JB and non JB. the winrar/winzip method is for non JB

And for those have problem like error during installation,

Please,

1. Install first WITHOUT any modification (means original Papago maps)
2. Later you update the map using winrar.

As a precaution, do backup the original Papago maps so if anything goes horribly wrong, you can restore to original.

--

Which GPS application you think will have potential to improve in Malaysia? Please vote.

======================================================================================

Piracy chat will earn you a warning/suspension so please do not ask/discuss about cracked/pirated apps.

This post has been edited by max_cjs0101: Oct 1 2010, 08:34 PM
TSJasonjinct
post Nov 11 2009, 02:58 PM

185 posts

But I guess every GPS application will heat up iPhone isn't it? Or tomtom heat up faster..

ya, I live in penang too, so far haven't purchase any iphone GPS app yet, anyone try sygic? does Sygic heat up iPhone fast too?

So far I read about, sygic have really good update, custom POI, updated map, and fast to launch application, just not really good UI, and doesn't support iphone gesture.

tomtom seem good use of iphone gesture, the UI seem very friendly and nice too~ but not really updated map and bad review from ilounge, however, this could be fix via update.
TSJasonjinct
post Nov 12 2009, 12:05 AM

185 posts

hmm.. so, how about Sygic?
TSJasonjinct
post Nov 13 2009, 10:29 AM

185 posts

Agree.. been using garmin mobile XT in s60 OS for quite a while d, garmin work like a charm.. especially the free map provide by the community of malsingmap in malaysia, very detail.
TSJasonjinct
post Dec 20 2009, 11:43 PM

185 posts

tomtom is nice, but I think Sygic really listen to their customer, and alway have updates, recently update to whole new application that have gesture feature, after complain from customer because of lack gesture
TSJasonjinct
post Jan 22 2010, 10:39 AM

185 posts

QUOTE(mmmbop @ Jan 21 2010, 12:15 PM)
whoa thanx..been waiting for this! rclxms.gif

Just realised.

It's already using MfM..expect absolutely updated POI! and even updateable weekly! This will trump the other two contenders easily.

That being said, we'll see how the apps perform, and how friendly is the UI
Definitely will be the most updated map of all other GPS app in Malaysia, anyone tried to use it already? UI and map drawing seem not pretty as compare to tomtom(especially the font), but I prefer more updated map than this, AND VERY CHEAP! (compare to tomtom and sygic), can anyone post up the review?

This post has been edited by Jasonjinct: Jan 22 2010, 10:41 AM
TSJasonjinct
post Jan 23 2010, 02:59 PM

185 posts

How is the GPS fix? does it work charm as tomtom?

Papago! Vs Tomtom

Papago Pros:
MOST UPDATED MAP IN MALAYSIA! (using mfm BEST! rclxms.gif )
Junction View!

Tomtom Pros:
Nice map drawing and interface..

This post has been edited by Jasonjinct: Jan 23 2010, 03:00 PM
TSJasonjinct
post Feb 7 2010, 11:05 AM

185 posts

Bought PPG as well

the map very accurate, however, I have some problem the application will crash when click on the 'near POI' search. however, this fixed when I SSH and install the new updated map from mfm.

the UI is horrible~ lol.. the slide very slow, GPS lock okay, routing okay, map detail BEST!
even update till Kampar UTAR Block E also have the road in the map... lol..
TSJasonjinct
post Mar 26 2010, 06:52 PM

185 posts

Just choose between...
Cheap & MOST updated map (PPG)

or
very good Interface (tomtom, sygic)

.. if Sygic/tomtom use mfm, I sure purchase one of them xD
TSJasonjinct
post Mar 31 2010, 08:17 AM

185 posts

I bought it when it came out 29.90 sad.gif

anyway.. I prefer better and smooth UI first like tomtom/sygic, then it really perfect. because PPG UI really bad.. very lag
TSJasonjinct
post Apr 14 2010, 10:07 PM

185 posts

Sygic Aura available for Malaysia, Singapore..
Any big different with previous one? anyone using it?
TSJasonjinct
post Apr 22 2010, 11:42 AM

185 posts

The only reason I still using Papago is because most updated map.. if sygic/tomtom use mfm map.. I sure change to either of these one
TSJasonjinct
post Jul 28 2010, 07:20 AM

185 posts

agree. Been using Papago 3GS for quite a while. No problem so far, lock quite fast, and most important of all, it does really good job for guiding me to my destination, the user interface should improve more.. tomtom UI is better, but Papago map is more detail..
TSJasonjinct
post Nov 18 2010, 09:41 AM

185 posts

QUOTE(sheahann @ Nov 15 2010, 02:44 PM)
my tom tom malaysia and singapore ...
at kampar not so update leh the map ...

is it in city like KL penag and jb the map is good ?
tomtom using atlas map, Kampar for sure not update.

in Malaysia, KL is the most updated map in tomtom (correct me if I wrong)
KL and JB, still ok.

for updated map in Malaysia, Papago is the only choice =)
Since Papago didn't update for quite a while, mfm just recently release a new map update, so Papago will update soon!!
and the mod there said they will release map update each month, although not frequent as Garmin, but quite good already. biggrin.gif

btw, I at kampar also now tongue.gif

TSJasonjinct
post Nov 18 2010, 06:51 PM

185 posts

QUOTE(GUESS @ Nov 18 2010, 11:10 AM)
hi bro..i install myself papago m7 on my iphone 4 OS 4.1.
how to turn on and off A-GPS?

IMPORTANT NOTICE & SUGGESTIONS
======================================================================
1.Don't operate the iPhone while driving.
2.If you want to install Papago into iPod touch, be sure that you have the BT GPS receiver.
3.Because of the accuracy of AGPS is not reliable enough, so Papago will not use AGPS signal.
4.If the GPS signal is seperated by the heat reflective shield, the external antenna is needed.
======================================================================

3.Because of the accuracy of AGPS is not reliable enough, so Papago will not use AGPS signal.
TSJasonjinct
post Dec 23 2010, 03:06 PM

185 posts

tomtom v1.6 update Malaysia & singpore map, plus got map share feature, I'm not tomtom user, wanna ask how update tomtom map is compare to mfm, plus tomtom now on sale ><
TSJasonjinct
post Jan 2 2011, 12:12 AM

185 posts

I don't think can, since tomtom and papago use different map. Atlas and MFM, correct me if I'm wrong. Of course, I do like tomtom interface, can go in contact and look up your contact address and show their home location on map, a lot of features compared to papago, no lag and smooth interface. tomtom this worldwide international company, the apps also look better ><, it just like they paying much effort to create the apps. But when we navigate, we more focus on map detail, that why at last I still choose papago, no choice, since mfm provide best map coverage in Malaysia.. But I like the map drawing inside papago, better look, lol.

@Markyabello, if you purchased the apps using an apple ID, even it ask for payment detail and account info, just enter it for security reason. It won't charge you on same application under same apple ID for second time, appstore will tell you that you previously purchased the apps, click ok to download, that all. Can update via iTunes and iPhone, both are the same.

This post has been edited by Jasonjinct: Jan 2 2011, 12:16 AM
TSJasonjinct
post Jan 12 2011, 01:17 PM

185 posts

Papago M8 for taiwan look very good, don't know when it will comes to Malaysia & Singapore!
TSJasonjinct
post Jan 12 2011, 02:58 PM

185 posts

QUOTE(mmmbop @ Jan 12 2011, 02:02 PM)
US GSP has now been updated. Major improvement is the ability to store offline map.

Still, I prefer preloaded map for MY version. the hassle of downloading map everytime you go to that place damping the fluidity of a GPS app. not to mention data charges. Afterall, MY map should be very much packed in POI courtesy of MSM. just imagine how long will it takes to download
agree with u bro! will stick to papago! until garmin really do something with this
TSJasonjinct
post Jan 15 2011, 03:21 PM

185 posts

QUOTE(yaya204 @ Jan 14 2011, 04:00 PM)
To papago m7 user,

May I know is papago m7 reliable and accurate?
Am planning to download it but afraid that it's not reliable or react slowly...
can anyone tell me more?
thank you.
i think Papago! is the only choice for iPhone GPS navigation software in Malaysia. Because the only GPS with most updated Malaysia map on iPhone so far. tomtom, sygic offer better UI and more features, but the map not update. I think most GPS user focus more on map detail rather than the GUI interface.

0.0684sec    0.38    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 10:50 AM