Why Shouldn't you buy Modern Warfare 2 for PC, request from admin

Cheesenium
post Nov 10 2009, 12:19 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

Why you shouldnt buy MW2?

- IW and Activision have no respect for gamers. They have also exhibit lots of arrogance in the media. Lots of broken promise. Even console gamers are ignored on the request to reset the leader board and levels due to the early leak for consoles. Not only the PC gamers are ignored. This shows that Activision doesnt care about how good is the game actually,they just want your money and thats it.Then,they gonna pump out more sequels each year to get your money. Just like NFS series 1-2 years back, Shift have improved,though.

NOTE 1: Thread deleted by IW in IW forums.
NOTE 2: IW seems like deleting any threads that might affect their reputations,like no lean threads,dedicated server threads etc.

- IW's arrogance.PC gamers who ask about anything about IWNet are mostly ignored.If not,mostly short and ambiguous answers are given to PC gamers.

Best Buy Interview Transcript

- PC gamers are being treated as minority and dedicated server issue is completely ignored.

Link 1
Link 2

- Some of the PC DVD not working.

Link

- Bobby Kotick.Why is he here? This guy is pretty much the root of all these problems. He wants money,not making good innovative games.Franchise that could have annual sequels is the interest him the most.

Link

- MW2 is an overpriced game.RM220 at TSBTSB. 60USD on Steam,or worse 90USD on Steam Australia.This just further showed that Kotick is greedy for money.

Thats the price to pay for a 5 hour single player campaign game,with a mediocre multiplayer.Length of Spec Ops is unknown.

- IWNet and Host Migration turn off.

Just played some multiplayer had 80-120 ping. Could aim on people but this could be due to anti lag. Game is fast paced like cod4.. with improvements. graphics seem the same. im running on medium not sure what my fps is obviously. I have a 9600gt asus geforce. 2.6 dual core intel and 4gb of ram but running vista so yeah. only 4v4 at this stage not enough people online i guess.

I think the recoil isnt good enough to easy on full auto to nail some one. Sucks not having the lean function! Going to take a while to get used to.

game runs smooth. Ping isnt to bad considering. Host migration is a real turn off if u know what i mean. Guess it comes down to if u can live with it or not. At this stage host migration is the most annoying part

Source

NOTE: I'll add more on this when there is more information.Most Aussies should have been getting the game now.

- MW2 have no modding and no custom maps at all.This means that you are stuck with the same content on day 1,until you decided to buy some maps from Activision.

Source need to find.

- No dedicated servers.This means that gaming experience on MW2 will be more laggy compared to the dedicated server system used in CS,TF2,Battlefield etc.Also,the host will have an advantage over other players as the Host will have almost zero ping,while others are having 100+ ping.That means death of competitive gaming,as the host have an advantage over others.

Link

IW's reasoning for no dedicated servers.

- No lean in MW2,because "it's not balanced for lean". Lean is a feature in CoD since CoD1.

- No console access.

This post has been edited by Cheesenium: Nov 10 2009, 08:14 AM
Cheesenium
post Nov 10 2009, 08:13 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(InkySliwinky @ Nov 10 2009, 12:31 AM)
I think you're referring to the competitive community rather than the pc gamers in general .. not everyone plays this game seriously .. and they are the ones who need the ded servers + mods more than anything .
It seems more like they are ignoring what the community ask completely.

Not just the competitive crowd.

QUOTE(syNcv9 @ Nov 10 2009, 01:13 AM)
Can't say they have big difference. Most competitive clans like FFF, JEDI, Bf.Nut came from BF2142/BF2 because CoD4 killed its community biggrin.gif

Although I agree that you don't have to advertise other game here. Just chillax bro smile.gif
Alright,i'll remove it then.
Cheesenium
post Nov 10 2009, 08:35 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

More stuff:

Apprarently MW2's TDm only supports 12 players.That is 6v6.

9v9 is only for Ground War.Welcome aboard to Fail Boat.

Just show that this game is not for those who want to play MP.

=======

More IWNet feedback.

Just installed the game. Went staight to multi player. It feels like an arcade console shoot em up to me. Its awful.

IWNet is basically the xbox/console game finder which after people connect it chooses a host. The best part is, if someone leaves, the game pauses while i chooses a new host.

IW, I waited, I stuck with you. I believed you. I hoped you'd get it right. I hoped you knew what you were doing.

You failed me. A long standing customer. I will never buy a game you make again unless you fix this mess.

Source
Cheesenium
post Nov 10 2009, 11:27 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

Even if im never a fan of all those Battle Arena games like DotA and HoN,i do agree that DotA is way better than this.
Cheesenium
post Nov 10 2009, 12:03 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

@SpikeTwo,

Agreed.I think TF2 and L4D2 will probably keep me happy till BFBC2 hits.Just hope that one isnt a disappointment.
Cheesenium
post Nov 10 2009, 12:26 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(Vorador @ Nov 10 2009, 11:56 AM)
er... the shop guys just sent me an sms that COD MW2 is in stock now, now I'm struggling either go collect it or not...
Would be better if you dont get it.

Not worth it at all.
Cheesenium
post Nov 10 2009, 02:44 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

It's gonna be fun seeing how they gonna get a AC130 or a Nuke with only 6 enemies.

They are just trying to make the game just like a console game.

If im not wrong,6v6 would be great for competitive environment.
Cheesenium
post Nov 10 2009, 02:47 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(Boomeraangkid @ Nov 10 2009, 02:46 PM)
TF2 will last forever, the best game i every bought.
Yeah,so far,thats true.

QUOTE(JuzJoe @ Nov 10 2009, 02:46 PM)
I'm waiting for the reviews on MW2 PC. I'm sure that many games site like gamespot, ign, and etc are aware that this is probably the review that most PC gamers will be waiting for. I just hope that they are total honest in their assessment.
I really doubt that they gonna be honest in the reviews.
Cheesenium
post Nov 10 2009, 03:23 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

You are not alone,im also very disappointed with what happen to MW2.

Well,nothing much you can do.Just move on.
Cheesenium
post Nov 10 2009, 07:23 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(Falk @ Nov 10 2009, 07:03 PM)
I hate to break it to you, but they DID release a major gaming title & it was a hit.

Too bad for us die-hard holdouts, though. sad.gif
The SP and Specs Ops is probably gonna be good,but that doesnt mean that the game is good as the MP is crap,from the feedback i saw so far.6v6? Thats way too small.

That doesnt make it a hit as CoD1 became a hit due to the good SP and MP in one package.

It's just not worth buying a game with a short SP and a non-existent MP.

This post has been edited by Cheesenium: Nov 10 2009, 07:24 PM
Cheesenium
post Nov 11 2009, 08:18 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(Jas2davir @ Nov 11 2009, 03:12 PM)
"have the potential to be exploited every year on every platform with clear sequel potential and have the potential to become $100 million dollar franchises"
Thats EA 2.0 and i hope they fail hard.

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Nov 11 2009, 04:37 PM)
honestly, most of us do spend that amount of $$$ for games...
new games are roughly around that price especially consoles (omg i said the taboo word!)...
and some of them are that short (if u remove out the re playability part)...

wut i would want is quality over quantity...
5 hours of awesome experience > 20 hours of something that is not memorable or is of a AAA title quality...
not every1 want to milk out their game as much as they can...
i enjoyed ZoE 2 despite finishing it in 4 hours back then and i still count it as one of my favourite game of all time...
same as mgs4 etc...

as for those boycotting, keep up to ur words and dun even bother pirating it...
its hypocrites like these pirates that started this in the first place...
Thats for console gamers,PC gamers dont.Anything about RM200 is considered ridiculous for us.

Besides,the reason they raised the price because they want to milk more money from you,not for the cost of making a good game.At the same time,taking so many things away.Whats attractive in the game now? This is a PC game,not a dumb down 6v6 MP piece of shit with laggy MP.We dont want that,as we invested so much on our rigs,we should be able to handle some complexity like a server browser.Please dont bring consoles in the equations,as consoles have a completely different set of requirements.I believe the console gamers will complain if one of their major needs is removed from a game.

I dont care about what happen on consoles,but when it comes to a PC game,a 5 hour SP with a mediocre MP on a supposedly a MP focused game,it's unacceptable for me.

I bought games that last for less than 10 hours,i dont mind as thats what it was advertised as.With MW2,it was advertise as a MP game with it's previous games are all having a good MP.Activision is not being honest with their customers in many ways.Activision and IW have been lying directly to their audience on IWNet which is a piece of shit or on the max players where most modes actually only have 12 maximum players,while at the same time,disregarding the more vocal part of the community that have been playing their games for years.

You know what,what Activision wants is only your money.Once it's in their pockets,it's done. I think even a simple bug fix patch for MW2 is almost impossible.

This aint quality,this is crap.I think even NFS Carbon is way better than MW2,as at least Carbon attempted to seem like a good game.

I'll keep on my word. No more Activision games until Kotick is out of the office. Blizzard games are under consideration of boycotting.

f*** Kotick.
Cheesenium
post Nov 11 2009, 10:52 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

^ VAC is not balanced for P2P.

VAC is only balanced for dedicated servers.

Btw,MW2 is getting plagued by aimbots and all the hacks.It's gonna be something that is even worse than shit now.
Cheesenium
post Nov 11 2009, 11:12 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

IW forums is not balanced to be even visited.

Sarcasm aside,they cant even make a functional forum that i dont have to login for every single time to post something.Heck,even LYN forum is way better than their forums.

How would they even code a matchmaking system?

Infinite Failures.
Cheesenium
post Nov 12 2009, 12:17 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

Link: http://www.kotaku.com.au/2009/11/youtube-y...akedown-notice/

Wow,just amazing,the AC130 perk is actually a mod in MW1 from a guy called PST*Joker. IW just ripped his ideas and put it in MW2 without any credit at all.

Joker got pissed off and filed a DCMA take down on youtube.Now,the AC130 video is no longer on IW's page.

Robert Bowling's responds was:“Really? Copyright infringement claim? :sigh:” shakehead.gif

Seems like ethics just dont exist in IW.

Added on November 12, 2009, 12:19 am
QUOTE(SpikeTwo @ Nov 12 2009, 12:08 AM)
noobs will be noobs. i would love to see them fall.
They wont fall for next few years,at least.

It seems like the same history repeating again.

EA was the evil guy few years back,then,they fall quite badly,now,it's Activision's turn.

Added on November 12, 2009, 12:20 amNo one gives a damn on this thread anyway.

Too busy lagging in a 6v6 game.

This post has been edited by Cheesenium: Nov 12 2009, 12:20 AM
Cheesenium
post Nov 12 2009, 12:52 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(Falk @ Nov 12 2009, 12:46 AM)
If you can't see what exactly people are pissed about, and instead want to generalize/simplify into two distinct clumps labelled "like" and "don't like" then I'm not going to bother continuing this discussion as I don't want to confuse you even further.
Well,they will never know,as they are all so hyped to get this game.
Cheesenium
post Nov 12 2009, 09:54 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(RangerRed @ Nov 12 2009, 09:44 AM)
Cheesenium, unless u really have experienced the game first hand I avoid ranting. I have put 5 hours into MP. And lag is not an issue like Falk makes it out to be. We are not playing Quake 4 or UT 2003 we r playing MW 2.
What is the chance that an MP system like this gonna work?

It's always been shit in the first place,from L4D1 or MoH.

Besides,6v6 is not appealing to me.I want a Warfare,not a small paintball fight with some random laggy nonsense.

Thanks for telling all the gaming companies that P2P is actually working.I'll remember you all whenever a developer drops dedicated server support because IW set the example where PC gamers are all spineless and just buy whatever that it's hyped.

Im not gonna spend RM300 on a piece of shit like this.
Cheesenium
post Nov 19 2009, 03:52 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(unrealweapon @ Nov 19 2009, 07:25 AM)
i am paranoid.

I had the detection via avira yesterday and the whole game stops and dced.... not sure am i the only 1 dced.
if this is true, hackers are able inject codes into packets and launch it.. i guess play private matches at the moment will be safer.
L4D2 also have that and it's a false alarm.

I believe that the MW2 one is also a false alarm.It cant be that IW wants to piss off the PC community even more by putting a virus into the game.

That just doesnt even make any sense.
Cheesenium
post Feb 2 2010, 12:08 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(MYNAMEISJASON @ Feb 1 2010, 07:53 PM)
Check out the next reason why IW developers are all liars and cheaters

Well,that just shows that he just play it on X-Box more than on PC.

2-3 months of gaming will at least have 100 hours if one play a game excessively.

Added on February 2, 2010, 12:09 pm
QUOTE(MYNAMEISJASON @ Feb 2 2010, 11:06 AM)
I would be more convinced if fourzerotwo purposely told steam to add the playing hours to show that he actually "cared" for the PC gamers.
He could idle it.

Just leave it on and play it on his favourite 360.

This post has been edited by Cheesenium: Feb 2 2010, 12:09 PM
Cheesenium
post Mar 4 2010, 04:06 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

Infinity Ward Vs. Activision: The Battle For Creative Direction

Simmering problems between Activision and Modern Warfare 2 development studio Infinity Ward — involving the creative direction of the Call of Duty series — may have come to a head with yesterday's dismissal of IW's two studio heads.

The reasons for the dismissal of Jason West and Vince Zampella, the top two men at Infinity Ward remain murky a day after the news broke that there was a shake-up at the Activision-owned studio. The publisher, in a financial filing, only vaguely referred to "insubordination" and "breach of contract".

But in the past 24 hours the long-rumored problems between Activison and IW have come a little more clearly to light. A source familiar with the studio told Kotaku that Infinity Ward has long bristled at the notion of any studio other than IW making a Call of Duty game. The studio heads' renewed 2009 contract with Activision affirmed that only Infinity Ward would be allowed to make Call of Duty games set in the modern era, according to the source.

Infinity Ward's two most recent games were 2007's Call of Duty IV: Modern Warfare and 2009's Modern Warfare 2. In between, Activision-owned Treyarch developed Call of Duty: World At War and is expected to making 2010's Call of Duty, keeping with Activision's annual Call of Duty cycle. Infinity Ward, according to conversations Kotaku has had with employees at the studio in the past, is a one-game studio and one committed to two-year cycles. For IW, making a Call of Duty annually would not have been consistent with the studio's current structure. (Tensions between the studios flared up in public online close to the release of World at War.)

Kotaku has continued to hear from sources that Infinity Ward wanted to make either a new intellectual property or a game set in the future — the two projects might be one and the same — but that Activision resisted that.

Tensions between Infinity Ward and Activision had intensified in recent months to the point that IW would only deal with two employees from the publisher, according to Kotaku sources.

It's unclear if disagreements about creative direction are what finally led to West and Zampella's dismissal. But those disagreements appear to have contributed to the frailty of the relationship between publisher and studio that led to yesterday's breaking point.

Keep checking our round-up on news on Activision vs. Infinity Ward as news breaks.

Source

Looks like thats the reason why Jason West and Vince Zampelle left IW.

Activision Blizzard have 3 profitable franchise which is Guitar Heroes series, Call of Duty and WoW. Since the sales of Guitar Hero have slowed down recently and now, IW's studio lead has left IW and Treyarch's CoD never really felt as good as IW's CoD, Activision Blizzard is a one legged stool now.

EA, Take 2 and THQ seems to be in a better position than Activision Blizzard,until SC2 and D3 release.No wonder that they are aiming to launch SC2 on Q2 this year so that they get another cash cow if the other 2 dies completely.

It would be great if Kodick got fired because of all these and replace it with a game-loving-optimistic CEO.

Activision's New Plans For Call of Duty Include New Developer, New Genres

Publisher Activision announced today new "strategic plans" for the Call of Duty franchise, announcing a new developer for the shooter franchise and confirming the departure of key Infinity Ward staffers.

Activision announced it will form a "dedicated [Call of Duty] business unit that will bring together its various new brand initiatives with focused, dedicated resources around the world." It plans to expand the Call of Duty brand "with the same focus seen in its Blizzard Entertainment business unit" placing a focus on "high-margin digital online content and further the brand as the leading action entertainment franchise in new geographies, new genres and with new digital business models."

As previously announced, Activision will release a new Call of Duty game from series co-developer Treyarch, responsible for Call of Duty 3 and Call of Duty: World At War, this fall. Developer Infinity Ward is still scheduled to release two downloadable map packs for Modern Warfare 2 this year.

In 2011, Activision will release another new game in the Call of Duty series from an unspecified developer. It also announced plans for another Call of Duty-based title from developer Sledgehammer Games, the recently formed studio lead by Dead Space creative leads Glen Schofield and Michael Condrey. The Sledgehammer-helmed title will "extend the franchise into the action-adventure genre."

The previously mentioned Call of Duty business unit will be led by Philip Earl, who currently runs Activision Publishing's Asia Pacific region. Activision Publishing's Steve Pearce, chief technology officer, and Steve Ackrich, head of production, will lead Infinity Ward on an interim basis. Former studios heads Jason West and Vince Zampella are no longer with Infinity Ward, officially.

"Activision doesn't comment on HR matters related to its studios," said reps when asked for comment about the departures and allegations of insubordination. The two former Infinity Ward heads are said to have butted heads with their publisher creatively over the direction of the Call of Duty franchise.

Activision Publishing also announced that the company is "in discussions with a select number of partners to bring the franchise to Asia, one of the fastest growing regions for online multiplayer games in the world."

Source

At the same time,new plans emerges.

CoD have become the next Halo.

Well,still a lot of CoDs for those who love MW2.

Added on March 4, 2010, 4:20 pmThere is more,

Infinity Ward Founders Suing Activision Over Unpaid Royalties

Jason West and Vince Zampella, the men at the centre of this week's drama at Call of Duty developers Infinity Ward, have filed suit against Activision over claims they are owed "substantial royalty payments".

"Activision has refused to honor the terms of its agreements and is intentionally flouting the fundamental public policy of this State (California) that employers must pay their employees what they have rightfully earned," said the pair's attorney, Robert Schwartz, of law firm O'Melveny & Myers. "Instead of thanking, lauding, or just plain paying Jason and Vince for giving Activision the most successful entertainment product ever offered to the public, last month Activision hired lawyers to conduct a pretextual 'investigation' into unstated and unsubstantiated charges of 'insubordination' and 'breach of fiduciary duty,' which then became the grounds for their termination on Monday, March 1st."

West and Zampella are coming out swinging. "We were shocked by Activision's decision to terminate our contract," Jason West says. "We poured our heart and soul into that company, building not only a world class development studio, but assembling a team we've been proud to work with for nearly a decade. We think the work we've done speaks for itself."

"After all we have given to Activision, we shouldn't have to sue to get paid", Zampella adds.

Interestingly, in addition to seeking the unpaid royalties, the pair are also after "the contractual rights Activision granted to West and Zampella to control Modern Warfare-branded games". Whether that means they want to make "Modern Warfare" games without Activision, or would seek to have the brand buried if it's without their input, is unclear. We'll update when we hear more.

Source

Activision is an ass. IW have made an extremely profitable game and what they get in the end is getting fired by Activision.

Im actually glad that Jason and Vence left IW so that they can join Activision's competitors,just like what happen to Harmonix.

This post has been edited by Cheesenium: Mar 4 2010, 04:20 PM
Cheesenium
post Apr 3 2010, 10:13 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

You have pretty much sum up all the bad things about that game.

Also,BFBC2 have released. MW2 is pretty much worthless to buy it now.

0.0290sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 03:56 AM