How Much Water Should We Drink?

Joey Christensen
post Nov 10 2009, 11:17 AM

Purgamentum init, exit purgamentum
3,651 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Nov 9 2009, 07:54 PM)
I wonder why most people never consider the fact that your "FOOD" has liquid in it as well.
Thanks for the information. I nearly forgotten that the food that we consumed contains liquid in it too. How about those coma patients in the hospital can live from nutrients through an IV, intravenously? Those are considered as liquid food too if I'm not mistaken.

Regards, Joey
panda-man
post Nov 10 2009, 12:08 PM

2,691 posts

this topic comes up every few months huh.

well here you go.

http://nutrition.about.com/library/blwatercalculator.htm

calculate for your own selves how much you need to drink. but basically i guess the aim is to get clear urine.
zaifer
post Nov 10 2009, 02:57 PM

205 posts

anyway, if we consumer too much of water, doesnt burden our kidney meh ?
edge_seraph
post Nov 10 2009, 03:09 PM

213 posts

-deleted-

This post has been edited by edge_seraph: Jan 18 2011, 07:02 PM
zaifer
post Nov 10 2009, 03:22 PM

205 posts

heavy metal source such as pipe water?

mineral water n distilled water confirm lesser heavy metal right?
how bout soft drinks?
edge_seraph
post Nov 10 2009, 03:30 PM

213 posts

-deleted-

This post has been edited by edge_seraph: Jan 18 2011, 07:02 PM
zaifer
post Nov 10 2009, 03:43 PM

205 posts

QUOTE(edge_seraph @ Nov 10 2009, 03:30 PM)
.......  sweat.gif  Water are not supposed to be contaminated. Pipe water are safe to drink but if the colour is brownish then don't drink it. Soft drink is not advisable coz contain a lot of sugar. Makes your body more hypertonic plus burden your kidneys too. So just drink plain water !
rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif misleading by some elders when i was a kid lol
so dun dare to drinkso much,kidney failure nanti -.- shakehead.gif shakehead.gif but of course got 8 cups of water per day nod.gif nod.gif

Joey Christensen
post Nov 10 2009, 03:51 PM

3,651 posts

There's news on New Straits Times, Tuesday, November 10, 2009 about water intoxication. You may do some reading there.

Regards, Joey

This post has been edited by Joey Christensen: Nov 10 2009, 03:51 PM
SUSRaikkonen
post Nov 10 2009, 05:22 PM

I'll be your ♡ ☁ ☼ ☂
8,635 posts

Once I saw a person has a kidney failure.
The color of her urine are like Horlicks.

Kidney's job is to clean blood.
Water helps a lot.

Less water, kidney working overtime...bad.

SUSslimey
post Nov 10 2009, 08:11 PM

6,914 posts

it is extremely hard to overdose on water unless the person got some psychological problem or is a aquaholic. overdosage of water may cause disruption to salt balance in blood, causing hypotonic of blood which lead to swelling of cells. swelling of the brain in extreme cases will lead to coma and even death.

i remember long time ago a marathon runner drinking water( that time no isotonic sport drink) at every station then end up fainting coma and death.
AiRseaL
post Nov 10 2009, 08:27 PM

236 posts

wunt easily overdose la.. judge the water u need by the colour of ur pee.. Pee shud be slightly white yellow colour.. if too yellow,,not enuf water.. If too pure and clear,, u drank too much.. Average about 6-8 glass of water enuf for a normal person.. IT varies with your daily lifestyle though..
myremi
post Nov 11 2009, 06:21 AM

1,846 posts

Hmm..what i heard was that it took over 10 liters a day to have an overdose problem.

SUSRaikkonen
post Nov 11 2009, 07:22 AM

I'll be your ♡ ☁ ☼ ☂
8,635 posts

Read in a news years ago.
This girl is on a diet...drank water only.
She died as a result.

Even in the office, I drank 2-3 bottles (regular mineral water bottle) of water.
At home, always has two(2) small thermos at my side.
Woke up every morning, drank water...4 glasses.
Those few morning saliva (air liur basi) contains good enzyme to kill bacteria in your stomach/intestines tongue.gif
After an hour, went to the toilet...took a huge dump thumbup.gif
Clean intestines in the morning...no need to take a dump in the office (I prefer home toilet compare to office)

airline
post Nov 11 2009, 07:44 AM

7 stars
7,923 posts

how many cans of soft drink u guys usually drink per day? sometimes i drink 3 cans. is it excessive? high sugar?
yeah_guyz
post Nov 11 2009, 08:43 AM

o2 + co2= coo22 ^_^lll
3,980 posts

4 litre of plain water MINIMUM for me
yenyen08
post Nov 11 2009, 12:27 PM

228 posts

QUOTE(yeah_guyz @ Nov 11 2009, 08:43 AM)
4 litre of plain water MINIMUM for me
wah lao.. u drink a lot of water. sometimes, i hardly finish 1.5 liter =.=
thks for this thread, i'll drink a lot of water start from now.. haha
hipopotomose001
post Nov 11 2009, 12:48 PM

499 posts

does drinking alot of water will occur any disease?
Joey Christensen
post Nov 11 2009, 01:09 PM

3,651 posts

Ingesting more water than you need can increase your total blood volume. And since your blood volume exists within a closed system - your blood circulatory system - needlessly increasing your blood volume on a regular basis puts unnecessary burden on your heart and blood vessels.

Your kidneys must work overtime to filter excess water out of your blood circulatory system. Your kidneys are not the equivalent of a pair of plumbing pipes whereby the more water you flush through your kidneys, the cleaner they become; rather, the filtration system that exists in your kidneys is composed in part by a series of specialised capillary beds called glomeruli. Your glomeruli can get damaged by unnecessary wear and tear over time, and drowning your system with large amounts of water is one of many potential causes of said damage.

Excerpt taken from Dr. Ben Kim.

Regards, Joey

p.s: My advice would be, it is to follow your sense of thirst. Drink when you are feel thirsty. You'll develop the habit of drinking water then.

xhazree
post Nov 19 2009, 08:15 AM

81 posts

more than 1 litter per day issit okay?
kding2
post Nov 20 2009, 10:05 PM

1,007 posts

So I guess once the urine color is clear and not yellow, you are not longer to need force yourself to drink more water?

It is some kind of indicator that your body don't need more water or just some urban myth?

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0211sec    0.49    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 04:24 PM