lex
post Nov 18 2009, 06:30 AM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(il0ve51 @ Nov 17 2009, 11:02 PM)
vga box expensive?
Depends... Those with frame rate conversion and video scaling is more expensive (uses a bigger video buffer). Those that don't are cheaper (use smaller buffer, usually per scan line only).. wink.gif

However those that convert to DVI/HDMI are a bit more pricey than those convert to VGA output... sweat.gif

lex
post Nov 19 2009, 05:21 AM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(c2s @ Nov 18 2009, 10:01 AM)
2) Cable lenght between the adapter to the power input in LCD (not adapter to switch) is not long enough, the adapter cannot reach ground when I connect the power input to my LCD, so it's hanging there. But now I manage to place it on my CPU casing.
Sorry I missed this... I thought power adapters for LCD monitors are a thing of the past (nowadays power adapter is integrated into the monitor). hmm.gif

lex
post Nov 19 2009, 09:51 AM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(Erza Scarlet @ Nov 19 2009, 06:59 AM)
I have a problem with my LCD Monitor ...... dont know it exist before or not. It just happen when i play AVI movies or some video on Youtube. This blue dots kinda appear. At first i thought it appear on random, after repeat the video at the same location ........ i found out that this blue dots only happen during certain period of the video at the same location.
It could be "stuck pixels" or dead pixels, try using Dead Pixel Tester (from the first thread post) to see if that particular area is affected. hmm.gif

lex
post Nov 20 2009, 10:43 AM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(c2s @ Nov 20 2009, 09:54 AM)
yupe, exactly ...  rclxms.gif
Its considered kinda "old skool"... a bit rare nowadays. wink.gif Usually a 12V AC to DC adapter unit (2.5A, 3A or higher).. Back then I even modified one to be powered from the PC (since PC have already 12VDC rail).. brows.gif

lex
post Nov 21 2009, 07:40 AM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(skippro @ Nov 21 2009, 04:15 AM)
is glossy will strain eyesight?
Background and overhead light reflection problems mostly.. rather distracting.. rclxub.gif

lex
post Nov 22 2009, 08:11 AM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(ygz12345 @ Nov 22 2009, 03:10 AM)
My super old 14' CRT monitor break down finally so need to buy a new monitor but i totally dont know anything about LCD. really need some suggestion.

* 17-19 inch(no space for big lcd)
* budget around rm400 (if can as cheap as possible)
* any aspect ratio also can
* any brand also can <as long as the LCD can last long>
Try looking at ACER X203H 20" widescreen LCD... its within your budget. wink.gif My own very short review here tongue.gif

This post has been edited by lex: Nov 22 2009, 08:13 AM
lex
post Nov 24 2009, 04:40 AM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(hpares @ Nov 23 2009, 10:01 PM)
After few test, it seems only my media player classic facing this problem. Although sometimes i did notice also in game. Any solution? Because I already used to media player classic, and somehow i feel the picture quality in media player classic is better compare to zoom player and window media player. Any other nice recommendation?
Have you tried updating your video CODECs? Try CCCP... now with MPC-HC. wink.gif

lex
post Dec 3 2009, 08:09 PM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(zftrans @ Dec 3 2009, 12:20 PM)
i was wondering, i have a very old pc that uses the onboard graphics.. i am thinking of getting the acer h233h LCD.. will the LCD be able to support the onboard graphics?

because i have an xbox 360. i wanna use the LCD to play XBOX and also for the PC. i don't know if the PC's resolution can be displayed on the LCD. I'll be connecting to the PC via VGA..
It will be able to display on the LCD (thru VGA connection). However the question is does your integrated graphics support the LCD's native screen resolution? Some old integrated graphics chipset cannot set custom resolutions and/or set LCD screen resolutions (only VGA, SVGA and/or XGA resolutions). What is the motherboard brand and model? hmm.gif

lex
post Dec 20 2009, 06:56 AM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(bcshuang @ Dec 20 2009, 03:46 AM)
guys, i'm thinking of buying a LCD at a budget of approximately rm 700. My desired specs are below:

1. At least 21.5" (the bigger the better biggrin.gif)
2. Full HD
3. HDMI/DVI port preferable (for future promise)
EDIT: 4. Heavy duty which is also "Tahan lama"
For that budget can get 23" or 24" already. icon_idea.gif

QUOTE(bcshuang @ Dec 20 2009, 03:46 AM)
apart from that, is that acer LCD Full HD also? 1080p?
All 21.5" and above nowadays are full HD (1920x1080), Acer included. icon_rolleyes.gif

lex
post Dec 28 2009, 08:15 AM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(StereophileDream @ Dec 26 2009, 08:19 PM)
Hi,anyone using Samsung XL2370 or Dell U2410?Can someone post their review here?And someone can update the price for Samsung XL2370?Is that I only can purchase Dell from their websites or some place I can get it with cheaper price ?
One of my friends had the Dell U2410, he bought it online if I'm not mistaken (probably during the promotion period)... hmm.gif and he told me "will never go back to TN Panel". laugh.gif

This post has been edited by lex: Dec 28 2009, 08:15 AM
lex
post Jan 3 2010, 04:30 AM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(azr_3012 @ Jan 1 2010, 04:45 AM)
So, here are the specs that i want.

Use for -Gaming(PS3,360,PC), and everything that a pc could do.

Size -20"-32"

Slots -HDMI(PS3),DVI(PC)

Extras (No prob if tak ada) -[B]Speakers of course

Price -Not too high, not too low. If can, a budget one.
On those specifications, you can go for a High Definition LCD TV (some of which have multiple HDMI and DVI inputs).. has everything you want plus large screen and speakers. rclxm9.gif

Seriously, you will have to tell us an rough estimatation of how much you want to spend (a.k.a budget).. wink.gif

QUOTE(schizophrenic @ Jan 2 2010, 01:19 PM)
I just received my Dell U2410 today.

Very happy with it so far. The stand is very good as it provides me with good adjustments for the angles that I want.

Capable of viewing it from any angle whatsoever. Good for those who intends to watch a movie on the bed with the monitor as a screen.
Yups, IPS panels are great for all around angles, great color reproduction.. rclxms.gif

We poor folks have to stick to TN panels.. icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by lex: Jan 3 2010, 04:45 AM
lex
post Jan 4 2010, 06:06 AM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(cheowkwen @ Jan 3 2010, 04:28 PM)
hi guys...just now i went to one of the PC shop near my area..the LG monitor with 20 inch and it's only cause 400...this attract me...may i know is LG monitor durable?...from the display, the color/contrast seem not bad...but i jz afraid that it won't last long...like the BenQ....some of my friend that claim that the BenQ is not really last long...any advise??
Using an old 22" BenQ.. ye olde 1680x1050 resolution one, still going strong. tongue.gif
lex
post Jan 5 2010, 04:42 AM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(adie82 @ Jan 4 2010, 11:10 PM)
cant restore isn it?
Try tapping the dead pixel spot (with a blunt tip, such as dried out pen tip).. hmm.gif

Disclaimer: Will not be responsible from any further dead pixels tongue.gif

This post has been edited by lex: Jan 5 2010, 04:43 AM
lex
post Jan 6 2010, 04:56 AM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Jan 6 2010, 12:42 AM)
That's weird, general dead pixel only stay in one colour, won't be like that. 
Nope, not always like that.. sometimes you get inverted colors. wink.gif

Then there's also the "weak pixel" where the colors are slightly dim.. I had that on my monitor and fixed it by tapping the spot with a dried ball point pen (eventually disappeared). tongue.gif

lex
post Jan 6 2010, 10:16 PM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(squaresoft @ Jan 6 2010, 07:37 PM)
i looking NEW LCD for my OLD pc :- my OLD PC spec
-P4 2.4
-1.2G DDR400
-ATI Readon 9600 128MB (8x AGP CARD)
-creative 5.1DE sound card
-sata HDD
now i using OLD 17" CRT
use for movie =50%,gaming,song ,net,work,download =50%
so this display card can use 22" ,23" or 24" LCD ???watch movie got lagging or not ??(MKV, AVI,RMV)
or just go buy 19" and 20" only ???
What's the budget? unsure.gif

QUOTE(nes @ Jan 6 2010, 08:44 PM)
What is the most recommended 19" ~ 20" LCD monitor now?

I'm aiming for Fujitsu or Dell brand LCD which is below RM500. BTW, I'm using ATI 4850. smile.gif
You can get a 21.5" monitor for below RM500.. e.g. Acer X223H and BenQ G2220HD. nod.gif

QUOTE(cherroy @ Jan 6 2010, 09:05 PM)
The proper word should be disorientated pixel, as it is not dead yet so not classified as dead pixel.  biggrin.gif
"Defective pixel" would be another good one.. icon_rolleyes.gif

lex
post Jan 8 2010, 02:05 AM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(squaresoft @ Jan 7 2010, 09:30 AM)
my budget is around RM600 .
You may want to consider 23" monitors. Currently the best bang-per-buck is Acer X233H 23" widescreen LCD monitor (RM555). bruce.gif

lex
post Jan 15 2010, 12:26 PM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

lex
post Jan 16 2010, 07:42 AM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(tcchuin @ Jan 15 2010, 06:31 PM)
can anyone recommend a 22" monitor,budget 500-600,supports HDMI?and has internal speaker too.
There's Samsung B2230H (RM579, from Viewnet) and LG W2261V-PF (RM599, from Viewnet) but these do not have speakers. The closest is Acer H233H (RM629, from Viewnet) which has speakers. cool.gif

QUOTE(doomx @ Jan 15 2010, 07:10 PM)
i got my acer H233H for 550. got internal speakers also but the speakers ok la if u want for gaming only. if watch movie i think external better
Are you sure its the H233H model, and not the X233H model? hmm.gif

QUOTE(oicicic @ Jan 16 2010, 12:15 AM)
Where do you purchase the LCD monitor from?

I couldn't find this Acer H233 in lowyat
QUOTE(PootieTang_85 @ Jan 16 2010, 01:41 AM)
550 for 23" monitor is cheap... where the shop you get it?
Try Viewnet and Compuzone.. wink.gif

lex
post Feb 28 2010, 10:54 PM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Feb 28 2010, 04:47 PM)
http://www.consumer.philips.com/c/pc-monit...e1sb_00/prd/my/
here is the link of the specs.. help me ~ T.T
That's a pretty small monitor IMHO blink.gif . Also has only analog VGA input. Add around RM75 and can get the AOC F19 18.5" widescreen LCD monitor. brows.gif

QUOTE(nam3le5s @ Feb 28 2010, 05:44 PM)
Can anyone recommend me the best monitor to get?

I'm using BenQ S42 laptop with GeForce 9600m GT

Thinking of a 24" LCD but no idea which one to get. May want to upgrade to dual monitor in the future (with a desktop).

Prefer with HDMI input and speaker ouput and Full HD resolution.
Please recommend and also where to get for good price would be great (PJ-KL).
What is your budget? unsure.gif

QUOTE(khrl @ Feb 28 2010, 08:06 PM)
hi, can anyone recommend me LCD for PC gaming.

Price between RM 400-450.

I have no idea what to buy.
Try BenQ G2220HD 21.5" widescreen LCD monitor (RM449 from Viewnet), possibly the cheapest 21.5" monitor around at the moment. bruce.gif

This post has been edited by lex: Feb 28 2010, 10:56 PM
lex
post Mar 1 2010, 06:13 PM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Feb 28 2010, 11:42 PM)
but sadly my budget is less than rm300 T.T
this is the cheapest and smallest i can find in the market edi liaw..
no other brand offering such small form factor at that price.
i think vga also not so bad rite?
Looks like very limited budget. Actually VGA is not bad at all.. just that if you will have to adjust the clock and phase (or use "Auto Adjust") to avoid flickering on certain types of images (usually such as those with fine crosshatched patterns and alternate color pixel dithering). wink.gif

QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Feb 28 2010, 11:42 PM)
and btw, is 8ms framerate considered very slow?
Not really, I have a Acer AL1717 which is 8ms and looks fine even when gaming or watching movies cool2.gif . About the Phillips one, not sure though.. unsure.gif

QUOTE(gto87 @ Mar 1 2010, 07:47 AM)
My friend planned to change from 24" to 30" but since he's currently short of RM2k, he change his plan and now he's planning on getting the 27" ultrasharp LCD. For me it's not worth paying RM 2k for extra 3"+ a bit sharper pict but I don't own one so he's not convinced with my words.
So I ask you guys, Is it worth it changing from 24" TN panel to 27" Ultrasharp LCD for gaming+watching Blu Ray Rip movies+other normal activities.
Upgrading from TN panel to an IPS panel such as Dell UltraSharp U2711 is very worth it (if you can afford the hefty price). You'll notice the differences immediately (and once you have used IPS panels, you don't want to ever go back to TN panels). brows.gif

0.0233sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 11:48 AM