Travel Langkawi V2, Tax Free island

etigge
post Jan 23 2010, 02:46 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(lyndiane @ Jan 23 2010, 10:10 AM)
I hope this is in response to my previous question?

If so, thanks for the feedback. I can't wait to get to Langkawi now! :-)

By the way, what is the best beach on the island in terms of cleanliness? I read that Tanjung Rhu is the best (white, sandy beach).. but can you get a view of the sun-setting from there? Or would Pantai Cenang or Pantai Kok be a better choice for sunset viewing?

Thanks again folks!
Pantai Kok and Cenang are on the western side of the island therefore sunsets can be seen there. Best view for sunset is atop Gunung Raya. Best beach on the island is Datai. The whole access is now blocked by a rich German who have built a bungalow there. How he managed to buy the forest reserve land and block the public road is anyone's guess.
Other than that, Pantai Kok is the next beach that is considered OK. Other beaches are muddy and dirty unless you hire a boat to take you to P.Payar or Koh Lipe.
etigge
post Jan 24 2010, 04:40 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(lyndiane @ Jan 23 2010, 03:43 PM)
Thanks so much for your feedback. Am I right to assume that Andaman Bay is the beach where The Andaman is located? I can't really find it on the map....

I have never been to Pantai Kok before so might consider visiting this time around.

Thanks again!

Added on January 23, 2010, 3:52 pm

You're right about that. Tanjung Rhu is further up north so logically speaking, I won't be able to catch the sunset from there.

Last year I spent a few nights at The Datai during my honeymoon. The resort was spectacular (one of the best resorts I have ever stayed in my entire life), unfortunately I didn't find the beach as beautiful as I had initially expected. I wonder if Tg Rhu is as beautiful as what they portray in the pictures. It seems like a beach I would definitely fall in love with.

Of course having visited Langkawi during our honeymoon, we spent more time at the resort than exploring the island itself. So this time we're back we intend to do a little bit of sightseeing as I really did fall in love with Langkawi when I was there. There are a few "tours" that I have in mind - Island Hopping and/or Mangrove Tour + Eagle feeding. What are the differences between the two and which one, in your honest opinion, is much better doing? I definitely want to see the caves!

Thanks again folks!
Andaman and Datai are both managed by Landmark so they are sister hotel. Andaman is just beside the Datai golf course. Both tours you mentioned are two entirely different tours so if possible try both. Island hopping is actually 2 islands instead of 3 islands as done formerlly because the third island is just across a narrow straits, Pulau Singa Besar and Pulau Bras Basah. First they will take you to view the hill formation that resembles a pregnant lady (hence Pulau Dayang Bunting) from the sea and then drop you off for a small hike to a fresh water lake just beside the sea.It's called Tasik Dayang Bunting. There's lots of catfish there now. After that they take you to Pulau Singa Besar and if you want they can arrange(the boatman must be informed 1 day in advance) for BBQ lunch. P.Singa Besar is an animal santuary with a wooden walkway from the jetty to the beach with a lookout point in between.
Mangrove tour is a tour of the mangrove ecosystems that covers the Kilim river and also Kisap river. You will be taken to bats cave and also if the tide allows the boat will navigate through a cave. Lunch can also be arranged either on one of the poontoon of a guy we call 'Mat Sabun'.Food is so, so only and the other choice is Barn Thai Restaurant. The unusual concept of Barn Thai is that the restaurant is built around the mangrove trees and situated deep inside the mangrove jungle. Eagle feeding is nothing to shout about actually, just throwing chicken skins into the air for the eagles to swoop down to take the food. Actually it is destroying the eagles habitat by making them lazy to hunt food for themself.
etigge
post Jan 24 2010, 04:52 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(lyndiane @ Jan 24 2010, 11:39 AM)
Hi etigge,

Many thanks for your input.

The two tours seem more clearer to me now that you have explained it. I don't know if we would be able to do both tours as we will only be there for 4 days (and since we're both beach lovers would pretty much be spending our time on the beach the majority of time), but if I had to choose one over the other, I think I will go with the mangrove tour. Do both tour include a ride/visit to see the limestone caves though? I've seen clips from YouTube, the ones where the operators bring you through rivers/lakes/sea (not really sure) but with awesome majestic backdrop of the limestone caves. I'm not sure if this is from the Island Hopping or the Mangrove Tour.

It would be awesome to watch the eagle-feed, but agree that feeding them destroys the delicate eco-system of the rivers & rainforest.
If you have to choose one, then it should be mangrove tour. Arrange with the boatman in the jetty behind the Galleria (the place where they exhibit Tun Dr.Mahathir's gifts and momentos) in Kisap. You can ask for Talib there or if he is not there try to get his number. Ask him for the full tour ie. mangrove and river cruise, bat cave, Barn Thai Restaurant for meals, light fishing on an island off Tg.Rhu and also a view of flying foxes perched on trees on an island off Tg.Rhu. Theres also a place called 'hole in the wall'.When you view from far it is a wall but as you approach nearer (by boat, off course) there's an opening for boats and yachts to go through into the Kilim river systems.
If you get hold of Talib, you can say Wong(former boat repairman but is in Cameron now) recommended you. Maybe you can get a good price from him
Good Luck and enjoy Langkawi.

Oh yes! for awesome limestone cliffs ask the boatman to navigate through 'Selat Tikus'. Fantastic views of two cliffs with a narrow straits and also a tower like limestone formation jutting out from the sea.
etigge
post Feb 12 2010, 02:00 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(momusu @ Feb 12 2010, 09:00 AM)
question: what's cheap to buy in langkawi compared to kl?

besides food stuff.
When I was staying there, I thought nothing of it. Vision cookwares are damn! expensive in Kl compared to there. Chocolates are so much cheaper in Langkawi. Try venturing in shoe shops selling Clarks, Hush Puppies, I find them very expensive in Kl comparing to Langkawi.

I am now without any Vision cookwares at home and I cannot get myself to buy in KL because it was so much cheaper there. Cashew nuts is cheaper there.
etigge
post Feb 13 2010, 03:33 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(momusu @ Feb 13 2010, 01:39 AM)
^uuuu cashew nuts.....my favorite...

how about electronic stuff?
Nah! alot of eletronic stuffs are duty free as well in mainland Malaysia so no price difference. Sometimes it is more expensive in Langkawi.
etigge
post Feb 28 2010, 02:46 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(goliath @ Feb 27 2010, 11:55 PM)
Hi all,

I plan to go on solo trip to Langkawi for a 3D2N stay. Most probably reaching in the morning and leaving around lunch time. So far, I've came up with several place to go:

- Sky Bridge
- Cable Car
- Some nice beaches (please recommend)
- Paddy Field
- Eagle thingy (optional)
- Waterfall (optional)

I don't intend to do island hopping as it might take some time off my tight schedule. Is there any other significant place that I missed out?

- Sky bridge is included in cable car as the sky bridge is on the mountain where the cable car is heading. Not to be missed!
- Nice beaches that is easily accessible will be Pantai Kok and other than that , I don't recall any nice beaches. Maybe you can walk across to Pulau Burau when the tide is low. Best beach is P.Payar but will take a whole full day.
- Might as well visit the ' Laman Padi ' in front of Pelangi Resort in Pantai Cenang. They have paddy fields for exhibition.
- Eagle thingy is just for photo shoot to show that you are in Langkawi.LOL
- Waterfall ,hmmmmm...... Mostly tourist goes to Telaga Tujuh in Burau Bay, need to hike up though and be careful not to venture too far near the edge. Many tourist has fallen to their deaths here. No joke but they are not publicised. Other waterfalls are Temurun in Datai ( it's dry season so I don't think there's water), Durian Perangin in Kilim (beware of leeches) and the one near the Book Village near Ulu Melaka.

It is a waste if you don't something from Langkawi though especially chocolates, ciggies or kain pelikat.
etigge
post Mar 1 2010, 02:23 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(goliath @ Mar 1 2010, 12:52 AM)
@etigge

Noted. Still looking where's the place to view nice sunset. Not too sure about the paddy but I'll do more research on that.
Actually there's a seaside restaurant in Pantai Tengah (it was called lighthouse but I am not sure if it is still called that). Have a coffee or dinner here and you can actually watch the sunset from here. Another nice place will be Pantai Kok or Burau Bay.
etigge
post Mar 3 2010, 10:41 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(biatche @ Mar 3 2010, 04:43 PM)
need recommendation for car rental for 2 people. would like to know rental policy. i plan to drive from airport, to kuah town, stay there overnight then next day drive to ab motel check in and return the car there, but i dont know how things work. can anyone recommend? yes im aware of topic links. wanna see my options
It doesn't really make a difference if 2 of you are renting or 5 of you are. It is a car. Car rentals are available in airports. You don't have to look for them, they will look for you when you come out from the arrival hall. Normally, you deliver the car back to where you take it or if you want to return it else where, discuss with the car rental guy.

Added on March 3, 2010, 10:46 pm
QUOTE(NightShyamalan @ Mar 2 2010, 04:15 PM)
greetings ppl, i am planning to go on a short vacation with my girl to langkawi on the 10th to 13 march, just 3 nights in langkawi... but i have a problem.. im gonna have to go to langkawi from penang... from what i googled, i see that there is only ferry morning  and the other one at 5pm ... the cost of ferry written in webste is rm35 but when i called Bahagia express in penang, they say is rm 60 one way... anyone have experience taking ferry from penang? i would be taking AA on the 10th morning.... will reach penang 7.45am... how far is the ferry place from the penang airport? will i be able to make it for the ferry to langkawi in the morning?
Another option is enjoy yourself in Penang first and take the first ferry to Langkawi which is at 8.00 or 8.30 am the next morning. You arrive in Langkawi around 11.00 am. Rent a car for half a day and round Langkawi till 4.00pm and take the ferry back to Penang at 5.00 pm and reach Penang at 8.30 pm. The schedule for the ferry was initially designed for day trippers from Penang to Langkawi. You won't be able to buy cigarettes and liquors though but for chocolates or some little items the customs won't bother you.

This post has been edited by etigge: Mar 3 2010, 10:46 PM
etigge
post Mar 5 2010, 03:41 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(legolasx @ Mar 3 2010, 11:01 PM)
Has any1 stayed overnight in langkawi airport b4?
is it safe and will those guards allow such action....
Langkawi is a very safe place and crime rate is low. Even if there are crimes, it is usually drug related. Why do you want to overnight in the airport anyway? Helang Hotel is just outside the airport entrance, in fact just like next door. I think they close the airports after the shops are closed and if there's no arrival or departures for the night.
etigge
post Mar 5 2010, 01:53 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(idunnolol @ Mar 5 2010, 09:15 AM)
Etigge, Have you heard of cenang rest house before? I am considering to book a bungalow from them in the padi fields near pantai cenang
That is a isolated part of Pantai Cenang on the way to airport and the beach is muddy. The beach area is actually within the wave breaker covering from Pelangi Resort till Langkawi Lagoon in Kuala Triang. Yes, it is within paddy fields near the beach. Nearest neighbour is Bonton Restaurant. You can't really swim there and there's no facility for anything, are you sure you want to holiday there?
etigge
post Mar 7 2010, 04:00 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(idunnolol @ Mar 5 2010, 05:42 PM)
Thank you, I didnt know this even after spending hours on looking at the internet. Nothing will beat the locals when it comes to their territory.

Is there any other reasonable hotel/ motel offering a room like RM 20-30 per person a night at pantai cenang
There are alot of motels ranging from RM45 - RM60 along Pantai Cenang without air cond. But get mosquito repellant though. You can sleep 3 in a room actually so about RM15 per pax. Go to Breakfast BAr in Pantai Cenang and ask the breakfast bar guy, he should be able to tell you more details.

Added on March 7, 2010, 4:04 am
QUOTE(legolasx @ Mar 6 2010, 02:49 AM)
i need 2 find a place 2 camp FOC, coz on a budget trip..
i'll be takin flight 1 day earlier as to my frenz,
and i'll reach around 10pm...
my frenz will reach on the morning day after, around 8am...
so i think there;s no point renting a room since its onli a few hours,
and quite pricy as well..
might as well find a place 2 camp 1 nite...
Might as well lounge around some hotel lobby. I am sure they won't chase you out especially those 5 star hotel. Can get to use their restroom to freshen up.

This post has been edited by etigge: Mar 7 2010, 04:04 AM
etigge
post Mar 7 2010, 05:03 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(idunnolol @ Mar 7 2010, 02:13 PM)
etigge,

I already draw up my last 3 motel selection which will be
AB motel
Langkapuri inn
Malibest

Which one will you recommend?
All three of them are almost the same but AB or abu bakar motel seems to be pretty popular. Maybe because it is a chalet type but sometimes they give dormitory style lodging and this one is across the road and not by the beach. If you book before going sometimes Awana Porto Malai cost just RM30 to RM40 more but the jump from no star motel to a 4 star hotel is quite a bargain. Maybe you can cramp 4 to a room and still pay the same price for each person but it will be more comfortable. Check Awana before you go, you might be suprised!
etigge
post Mar 8 2010, 12:34 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(idunnolol @ Mar 7 2010, 06:59 PM)
Etigge,

If i dont have any check in luggage with air-asia, Can i hand carry Alcohol and liquor?
I am not to sure myself but I think a call to Air Asia can confirm this. Just a phone call will clear this up,
etigge
post Mar 25 2010, 04:41 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(blackorange @ Mar 23 2010, 11:03 PM)
hi all, whats the standard rate for pulau payar trip? where can i register for the trip?
Most trips can book at the counters in jetty point.

The cheaper one by the long steel ferry Express Bahagia, I think is about Rm120 - Rm 180 depending on how you bargain with the counter in jetty point. I must say the trip will be louyah! You depart at about 9.30 am , reach 1 1/2 hours later and by the time you get your snorkels and go ashore , it is lunch time liao. Lunch is a lousy fried rice with frankfurters and mineral water. Finish lunch spend another 2 hours they will usher you back to ferry for return trip.

The other one, Langkawi Coral, even more expensive. Price wise, you got to check there, probably more than RM200 per pax. The food is better and they will go to their own barge or platform and not the beach. They also provide boat rides to the beach though. Their boat is more comfy!

Last resort, contact East Marine on the island. I don't know their number but can easily find out there. It is a diving center but they also will take snorkellers to P.Payar.Check their lunch package and price with them but I think they will be better.

The best is charter a speedboat if you have 10 person. Bargain hard with the boatman, probably can get RM1200 with snorkelling equipment. Just buy a tub of KFC and carbonated drinks there. Pay RM5 levy per person for the island. Start journey from jetty at 9.00am and reach there one hour later. Can go back anytime you want but before 4.30 pm. Cheaper than the above is you have 10 person but the boat can take 12 person. The boat ride is more faster and more thrilling. Take your choice. For boat charter can contact Keng Chuan Motors behind CIMB bank in Kuah. This rich fella has nice boats.

Added on March 25, 2010, 4:52 amThey have 3 hotels formerlly, Langkasuka, Helang and Delima Hotel. Delima tapao first because the hotel was built in a hurry and 1500 rooms , how to service. Like Langkasuka , the hotel is built with wood, very hard to maintain. So Langkasuka closed is not really suprising.
It belongs to Tan Sri Ting from Sarawak so most building materials from Sarawak. Sucessful businessman because close to Dr.M but he has got lousy sons. I seen his son bringing Hongkee gals in their private jet and holiday in Sheraton Beach, last time also partners but not sure now.
Now concentrating on Bakun project liao, not interested in Langkawi, since Dr.M no more PM.

This post has been edited by etigge: Mar 25 2010, 04:52 AM
etigge
post Mar 25 2010, 01:46 PM

295 posts

Yeah already suspoected Delima belongs to Langkasuka group because Langkasuka & Helang owned by Tan Sri Ting Pek Khing...The once so called riches man in Sarawak. Delima was built for LIMA at the point of time & Mahathir wanted it to be ready b4 LIMA. Thus the quick job & failed after a year or two. Even in early 2000, Delima already converted to student hostel.

It was converted into a college, fly by night college, ha,ha,ha. Lagenda college or something like that. That failed too and cheated alot of East Malaysian students, pity them. If you see Langkasuka and Delima and also the FAILED water park behind Langkasuka, they are on the same plot of land. The water park closed because the pool is leaking, ha,ha,ha. To rectify it cost millions, that's why they gave up.

Before that, Tan Sri Ting wanted to dismantle Delima Hotel and carry all the materials to built a resort in Hainan Island,China. Didn't go through, don't know why. Delima also have a lot of unpaid bills to the suppliers in Langkawi. They are also the owners of Mahsuri Hall beside Helang, venue for LIMA.
etigge
post Apr 3 2010, 01:26 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(jenli_84 @ Mar 31 2010, 09:37 AM)
hey would like to know the transaction in langkawi is all cash or credit card is usable? In terms of:-
1) car rental
2) sign up packages for mountain hiking
3) island hopping
4) caving

Just wanna know do they accept credit card?
If you deal through hotel, everything can be paid by credit card. More expensive though. Island hopping is strictly cash if you are dealing direct at jetty.
etigge
post Apr 13 2010, 03:26 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(Kelvin5717 @ Apr 12 2010, 05:30 PM)
Need advise from travel sifu here and those that just return from langkawi recently.

4D3N escape~
Budget : Rm1.5k-2k Max rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
Pax : 2 adult (couple)
Arr : 03th May - PEN
Dep : 06th May - LGK
Purpose : Holiday

Need advise on below,  hmm.gif
Flight
Going : Firefly Rm69.95 per adult before tax
Return : Firefly Rm49.95 per adult before tax
Ferry
two way return Rm115nett per adult

Flight relax & fast not tired
Ferry Cheaper + maybe can book cheaper tour & car since jetty price is lower
which is better?

Hotel suggestion ??
Awana porto Malai only so far since Langkasuka is closed for upgrading.
need advise on good hotel with good fare and location.

Car Rental
Wira / Waja / N.Sentra - pls advise updateed price if take from airport and jetty ( wan to know the diff) auto pls ...

Must visit place ?
- Cabel car,
- Underwater world
- Kuah town duty free - chocolates & Jack daniels to be brought back as gift. Mild seven 1 box for my self  tongue.gif
- island hopping
- seafood - nice 1 a value for money pls advise?
then wat else is suitable for 2 couple to do? we cant swim so cannot go for any snorkling and bla bla bla cry.gif

please advise on the above sifu thanks, airasia got cheaper fly, 2 way 2 person only Rm139  drool.gif  zzzz but on 13th may which i cant make it...  cry.gif  cry.gif

i see that there are many ppl asking for the reason why Langkasuka is closed so sudden, i got a reply from them, maybe it helps...

I am sorry to inform you than Langkasuka Beach Resort is closed for
extensive renovation.We under new management,One Hotel Management
Consultant Sdn Bhd.

We can ofer you to our sister hotel is One Hotel Helang Langkawi.Promotion
rate is RM180 per night inclusive of breakfast for two person.

Please email us should you require any further assistance.

Thank you.
Better to go by flight as ferry services are cramped and long. The ferries they use now are not comforable at all and if you hit waves, barfing is the norm inside.

As for car rentals from airport, you can actually haggle till they relent. They want your business more than you want the car. Also it is only two person, you can go for cheaper car like Wira or even Kancil. I did get a Kancil before for RM50 a day. Petrol consumption is less too.

Awana is a good choice for the price and the quality of accomodation.

Why buy only 1 carton of Mild 7 when you have 2 persons going, buy two cartons and get another carton and smoke there and the loose ones, they don't really mind.

The only nice seafood is found in Kuah town at night. Don't eat at Pantai Cenang. They are catered for tourist hence, tourist prices. Hunt for Orchid Restaurant in Kuah town. It is a coffee shop in the mornings and afternoons and at night the seafood restaurant takes over. Always eat prawns in Langkawi because they are freshly caught in Langkawi. There is another one in the same row as Orchid, it is called Teo Seafood. It is nice but I heard from forummers here it has become very expensive. But the food in Orchid is better.

You don't have to be a swimmer for snorkelling. For P.Payar trips they provide you with life jackets and you can wear them and snorkel.

Have a nice holiday!
etigge
post Apr 15 2010, 01:43 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(Kelvin5717 @ Apr 13 2010, 07:44 PM)
Thanks man for the advise, So i will go for flight and take kancil or wira and bargain for Rm50  rclxms.gif  woops 2 box of mild seven  drool.gif
Noted on the seafood will definetely go for Orchid Restaurant and order prawn  drool.gif  :clap :

Any nice romantic place for sunset viewing with a glass of cocktail that chill out our throat?
Any nice pub / bar around that play good music with live band to hang at night ?
for the snorkelling my gf still hesistate even with life jackets so i think we will pass on this...
are my budget Rm1.5k - Rm2k enough for the whole trip ?
Should i take a package of island hopping + car or seperate ? what is the normal price for island hopping ?
Any 1 know about how much is the airport tax for Firefly to langkawi from penang? it does not stated in the website when i search... and also do we need to select sit even only for 2 person ? as my gf afraid that we will seperate from the sitting but it cost Rm10 per seat ???
thanks in advance  notworthy.gif
For sunsets try Lighthouse Restaurant in Pantai Tengah(adjoining Pantai Cenang). no guarantee on postcard view though.

Nice pub with band for hangout- Black and Henry Pub in Sheraton Beach

You can take island hopping in Awana jetty, a bit expensive from Kuah's jetty, normally from Kuah around RM30 - RM50 per pax but got to wait until they fill up the boat.
etigge
post Apr 16 2010, 03:16 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(jepertine90 @ Apr 15 2010, 07:51 PM)
hi~ My gang and I been planing to langkawi on this month 27 to 29/30~ we have been checking on resort and hotel~ Is Best Star Resort good?? I mean it is near the beach, but I scare the quality and experience... Does it allow bbq?? which hotel allows bbq?? LOL

too much question~
Best Star located in Pantai Cenang actually quite new, built in 2006, I think. There is one room there on top of a tree by the beach, LOL. quite OK larr, for the price. The same price also can get Awana Porto Malai. No worry larr, beach hotel means there is a beach. Beach is public property so anyone can BBQ.
etigge
post Apr 16 2010, 01:31 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(jepertine90 @ Apr 16 2010, 12:29 PM)
i mean do they have bbq facilities?? >< Rm120 can get awana?? LOL got so cheap?? i wanna ask that is there a KTM Langkawi express??? I heard that there's such service that str8 from KL to Kuala Kedah within 6 hours~ Can any1 confirm it??

Any thing or matter should we take note of when at langkawi... like fake beer and such~ LOL
Most probably they do but even if they don't have you can buy BBQ kit very cheaply. Or buy those aluminium foil container, big ones and some iron gauze from hardware shops. Clean the gauze and oil it. Some charcoal and satay sticks, kau tim.

Awana is about that price and before you go, check with MAS. Check their room and air ticket package.

Langkawi Express, You get down in Arau, Perlis. You still have to take a taxi to Kuala Perlis jetty. Might as well get off in Alor Setar, you still have to take a taxi but cut short the journey to Perlis. My advise take bus if you want to take public transportation. Take the night service and reach there in the early mornings. Lepak over teh tarik for a while and take the first ferry from Kuala Perlis to Langkawi and be there at 9.00am.

16 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0534sec    0.90    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 04:06 PM