Travel Langkawi V2, Tax Free island

etigge
post Jan 13 2011, 04:15 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(suiteng @ Jan 13 2011, 02:28 PM)
What to do at Pantai Kok ar?
biggrin.gif Aisay! friend.What do you do at a pantai? Picnic and swimming larr! Other than that, Burau island can be reached if the tide is low. King and I pavilion is there also but a bit dilapidated liao. You can put your head into the painted board and take pictures, so you can become the Siamese King and your GF becomes Anna. Can go to Telaga Tujuh waterfalls or ride a horse or take a cable car up G.Matcincang. It is all nearby Pantai Kok. Walk around Telaga Harbour Park and kacau the Russian waitress in the Russian restaurant. Maybe you can buy Datuk Azhar Mansur a drink if you meet him there. The Loaf is there also and you can eat super expensive roti. rclxms.gif
fariddarif
post Jan 14 2011, 04:33 AM

239 posts

i'm planning to have a vacation here during the chinese new year break. i have a few hotels in my consideration right now. which one do you think is nice, good and affordable? asenia resort langkawi or kondo istana langkawi. any other recommendation nearby are welcomed as well. i'm travelling alone by the way, just to relax my tired mind, body and soul. enjoy the beach and scenery, that's all. thanks... smile.gif
TSstimix
post Jan 14 2011, 09:34 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Both resort & hotel also no beach. one located at the T-junction (Aseania) & one located inside a hulu area of Kuah (kondo istana)..How to enjoy beach & relaxing-leh?
ammaraffandi
post Jan 14 2011, 11:37 AM

401 posts

IM going on 25-29 January . . . anyone going on said date? may b can grouped together for Mangrove Tour of Island Hoping...
swing123
post Jan 14 2011, 01:35 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(mbj78 @ Jan 9 2011, 05:17 PM)
During my last visit to Langkawi, 3D2N (7th Dec - 9th Dec). I manage booking for RM0 AirAsia from PEN-LGK and LGK-PEN. This is my experienced shared

7th DEC 2010

1.30pm - Depart from PEN-LGK
2.10pm - arrived at Langkawi International Airport.

there is airflight between Penang and Langkawi?

Added on January 14, 2011, 1:40 pm
QUOTE(suiteng @ Jan 13 2011, 02:28 PM)
What to do at Pantai Kok ar?
can try Sex On The Beach .......

Added on January 14, 2011, 1:46 pm
QUOTE(etigge @ Jan 10 2011, 03:55 PM)
Yah! Top Ten. It is the seediest night joint in Langkawi. Used to be near Citin Hotel (housed in an old theatre) but shifted to the current premises. tongue.gif

Added on January 10, 2011, 3:57 pm
Bicycle also must pay. LOL ! It is privately collected for the upkeep of the road, they say. tongue.gif
huh? didn't realise that, but I saw easily more than 15-20 thigh guest relationship officers there that night and some of them made me drool.....seriously they have big projector screen to watch football plus the thai band there now is also solid, blast out lots of solid english songs.....

one question, when i first step in, seat at a high table, ask for a jug of beer. The waitress chat up with me and ask when i from, told her the truth.....then the bill came, one jug beer (non-happy hour) RM45, to me it's rather expensive given how much you paid for a can of beer in langkawi (one jug 4 cans). Is it standard price for pub/bistro in Langkawi or i had been sniff out as non-local and thus, paid tourist price?

This post has been edited by swing123: Jan 14 2011, 01:46 PM
etigge
post Jan 14 2011, 04:42 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(swing123 @ Jan 14 2011, 01:35 PM)
there is airflight between Penang and Langkawi?

Added on January 14, 2011, 1:40 pm

can try Sex On The Beach .......

Added on January 14, 2011, 1:46 pm

huh? didn't realise that, but I saw easily more than 15-20 thigh guest relationship officers there that night and some of them made me drool.....seriously they have big projector screen to watch football plus the thai band there now is also solid, blast out lots of solid english songs.....

one question, when i first step in, seat at a high table, ask for a jug of beer. The waitress chat up with me and ask when i from, told her the truth.....then the bill came, one jug beer (non-happy hour) RM45, to me it's rather expensive given how much you paid for a can of beer in langkawi (one jug 4 cans). Is it standard price for pub/bistro in Langkawi or i had been sniff out as non-local and thus, paid tourist price?
tongue.gif Most probably they know you are not local. Chinese population is just slightly more than 5 percent only. The chinese there blends in the locals and most know each other. Anyway RM45 for a jug is not that bad, quite fair. You must know you are drinking in an entertainment joint. One more thing you must note is Langkawi has the highest number of AIDs patient in Malaysia in population to patients ratio concern. They are never reported, only the hospitals know. Be careful! brows.gif
fariddarif
post Jan 14 2011, 05:35 PM

239 posts

please help me out, which resort or hotel that are situated near beach area? thanks in advance... smile.gif
etigge
post Jan 14 2011, 06:46 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(fariddarif @ Jan 14 2011, 05:35 PM)
please help me out, which resort or hotel that are situated near beach area? thanks in advance... smile.gif

tongue.gif You didn't state a budget, so I'll go by beach. Pantai Tengah, Langkawi Holiday Villa, Federal Lodge, Frangipani Resort - these has a OK beach, better than Pantai Cenang. Charlie Motel, louyah one! Sri Intan Langkawi, Sang Ria Villa.

Pantai Cenang - Beach Garden (don't stay now as there is a land ownership dispute now), Casa Del Mar, Pelangi Resort, these is upmarket ones. Motels and lodges, Malibest, AB Motel,
Tanjung Malie Motel, Delta Motel, Sandy Beach Resort, Sunset Beach Resort, Rebak Marina Beach Resort (this one located on an island off Pantai Cenang).

Kuala Triang - Langkawi Lagoon Resort, Sheraton Beach Resort, Tanjung Santuary Langkawi thumbup.gif (this 3 is nice upmarket resorts) Langkasuka Beach Resort, lousiest beach! sad.gif
Tanjung Sanctuary is actually a nice place. Used to belong to MBf when they wanted to build a resort there and they started with a few chalets first and 17 was built and then tapau liao. So only 17 units, very private and nice sea view. thumbup.gif

Pantai Kok and Burau Bay - Burau Bay Resorts, Berjaya Langkawi Resort. rclxms.gif

Datai area - Andamans and The Datai (off course very nice resort and the Datai has a private beach) thumbup.gif

Tanjung Rhu area - Four Seasons (can become like Shah Rukh Khan in Don, LOL This is where they filmed the beach scene) , Tanjung Rhu Resorts (used to be Radisson), off course nice larr. thumbup.gif

Kuah area - Westin Hotel.

All these hotels have beach and I didn't note down those that is across the road on the beach. Happy choosing, I think you are more confused now, tongue.gif
fariddarif
post Jan 14 2011, 08:30 PM

239 posts

hi there. thanks for helping me out. yeah, i'm more confused right now. if possible, i want to find a hotel or resort which situated near shopping and makan-makan area... smile.gif
etigge
post Jan 15 2011, 12:28 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(fariddarif @ Jan 14 2011, 08:30 PM)
hi there. thanks for helping me out. yeah, i'm more confused right now. if possible, i want to find a hotel or resort which situated near shopping and makan-makan area... smile.gif
smile.gif Then choose those in Pantai Cenang or Pantai Tengah. Kuah's choice although near shopping but has no beach except Westin but still quite far from shopping area. Your best bet is still in Pantai Tengah.
fariddarif
post Jan 15 2011, 12:30 AM

239 posts

thank you very much etigge. i really do appreciate your help. how about the car rental service over there...?
etigge
post Jan 15 2011, 08:40 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(fariddarif @ Jan 15 2011, 12:30 AM)
thank you very much etigge. i really do appreciate your help. how about the car rental service over there...?
Usually car rentals are never a problem, maybe except most wants the best deal out of it. However expensive the rentals are in Langkawi, they are never more expensive than Hertz or Avis or Kasina for that matter. So, actually car rental is not a problem at all and you will be canvass forthe service once you touch down either at the airport or jetty. You won't miss them and they won't miss you either. tongue.gif As a guide, RM60 to RM80 per day is normal but be punctual when returning the car or they harass you for extra by the hours if you are late.
swing123
post Jan 15 2011, 12:34 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Jan 15 2011, 08:40 AM)
Usually car rentals are never a problem, maybe except most wants the best deal out of it. However expensive the rentals are in Langkawi, they are never more expensive than Hertz or Avis or Kasina for that matter. So, actually car rental is not a problem at all and you will be canvass forthe service once you touch down either at the airport or jetty. You won't miss them and they won't miss you either. tongue.gif  As a guide, RM60 to RM80 per day is normal but be punctual when returning the car or they harass you for extra by the hours if you are late.
after nego the price, always insist that you view the car first before u make payment. That way, you still have the chance to withdraw if they give u shitty car. I paid by cash, not credit card, so they took the receipts book and walk together with me to the airport driveway and wait for car to come. After I viewed the car, happy, then i paid cash on the spot, they issued me the receipts there n then.
fariddarif
post Jan 15 2011, 06:28 PM

239 posts

i see. thanks for the info guys. i really appreciate it...
shinrei
post Jan 17 2011, 01:43 PM

249 posts

well.. will be there in langkawi from 1-4.2.2011 fpr holiday and wondering whether it's advisable to booked the car in advance or just bargain when i arrive there (airport). rclxms.gif
suiteng
post Jan 17 2011, 02:00 PM

Hopeless President
3,589 posts

Limit now is 2 x 1litre DOM and 1 litre liquor.. 200 sticks rokok..
mugenz
post Jan 17 2011, 02:05 PM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

QUOTE(shinrei @ Jan 17 2011, 01:43 PM)
well.. will be there in langkawi from 1-4.2.2011 fpr holiday and wondering whether it's advisable to  booked the car in advance or just bargain when i arrive there (airport).  rclxms.gif
just your flying in, i suggest you to get it when u reach there. Once u come out from the arrival hall, you will be flocked by these rental salesperson, bargain if they dont want just walk away. I am pretty sure there would be 1 or 2 desperate salesperson that willing to give you a good deal biggrin.gif

No need book in advance, cars are very cheap in langkawi. I was told by one salesperson that i can just park the car anywhere and leave the keys inside when return the car.

Enjoy

This post has been edited by mugenz: Jan 17 2011, 02:06 PM
shinrei
post Jan 17 2011, 02:11 PM

249 posts

QUOTE(mugenz @ Jan 17 2011, 02:05 PM)
just your flying in, i suggest you to get it when u reach there. Once u come out from the arrival hall, you will be flocked by these rental salesperson, bargain if they dont want just walk away. I am pretty sure there would be 1 or 2 desperate salesperson that willing to give you a good deal biggrin.gif

No need book in advance, cars are very cheap in langkawi. I was told by one salesperson that i can just park the car anywhere and leave the keys inside when return the car.

Enjoy
Thanks bro! hopefully will get a good bargain. overall 4 adults and a baby.. i guess vios is just nice. smile.gif

mandysu
post Jan 17 2011, 04:52 PM

38 posts

Can anyone tell me where is Wawasan in Kuah? Plan to buy some liquor. Thanks.
TSstimix
post Jan 17 2011, 05:05 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Same row as Ambank and located at the same commerce area where most of the najor banks located i.e RHB, Maybank, PBB & CIMB also most of the duty free shops also here. can't miss wan...just walk few surrounding duty free around & not limiting your choice ofr only Wawasan.

copy & paste this to google maps/earth or wikimapia for actual location: N6 19.294 E99 51.029
QUOTE(mandysu @ Jan 17 2011, 04:52 PM)
Can anyone tell me where is Wawasan in Kuah? Plan to buy some liquor. Thanks.

126 Pages « < 54 55 56 57 58 > » Top

0.0325sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th December 2025 - 02:21 AM