ryan18
post Oct 26 2011, 09:35 PM

2,406 posts

QUOTE(bobtiang @ Oct 24 2011, 07:09 PM)
came back from a 5 days HongKong, 2 days Macau trip. love it. smile.gif
appreciate the advice i got from here.

key take away:
1. I bought the tickets from DingDing travel agency and it's really cheaper than buying on the entrance counter itself.
- especially the NongPing cable car. man... if you see that q for the ticket, your heart will drop. and we just cruise all the way to the q waiting for cable car which took like 15mins.

2. follow the known route and not trying new thing, new route in a strange place. you might end up walking double or triple the distance XD
- open the mouth and ask ask ask, it might sounds stupid with the ascent or the ppl you are asking might not entertain you but you would rather be silly for 5 seconds than spending 15mins scratching your head and figure things out in a strange place.

3. eat little volume and many meals to try out varieties of things.
4. don't be afraid to carry things. always be prepared with some buns or water in your backpack. a small retractable might come in handy.

there are of course many more.. but thats for now smile.gif
i will definitely be going back to roam around and finish what i had not able to finish.
apparently not only dingding sells cheap admission ticket
China Travel Service hongkong at alpha house just opposite holiday inn golden mile also does
http://www.ctshk.com/english/ticket/admticket_hk.htm
Madam Tussad 140
Ngo Ping return 115
Peak tram+sky terrace 56
madam tussad+peak tram+sky terrace 183
Ocean Park 240
they also have disneyland packages and also other place
ryan18
post Oct 27 2011, 11:08 AM

2,406 posts

QUOTE(jam_lennon @ Oct 26 2011, 11:35 PM)
just back from hong kong, my advice

bring lotion, their weather is very dry. i got crack heel, on the first day my heel aredi cracked, imagine i gotta walk like 2-3km per day

1. buy ticket from dingding or any agency prior u going to that place. cheaper rate at least it save ur hussle for queueing for ticket

2. better buy ticket from dingding online, the rate they publish online is 262rmb, they sell us 316hkd at office, same goes to other tickets, much expensive after convert from rmb -> hkd. their ticket useable and only cable car to np360 and the peak u gotta exchange ticket via counter but still beat the queue

3. dun take tram to the peak, use small bus instead, faster. the queue for the tram might be 2hours after 8pm @ weekend

4. buy crystal cable car, thou u never give a shit to the bottom's sceney but crystal cable car queue is LOT faster than normal cable car

5. ocean peak is nice to 1st timer. mind u, ocean park divides into 2 parks, better off to the peak's park because it is those roller coaster etc and dolphin show is there and it closed @ 6.30pm, while ocean's park close @ 7.30pm. if isn't my fren never been to ocean park i would off to macau instead.

6. the peak and Madame Tussauds doesn't seems worth the money if u have been to shanghai's.

7. do you homework/plan ur itinierary before u off to hong kong
but some agency sell only the voucher which you have to exchange at the place.do those attraction provide special counter to exchange these vouchers?
ryan18
post Dec 9 2011, 02:20 PM

2,406 posts

just came back from hongkong on wednesday.not very cold, compared to china(shenzhen & guangzhou)
meals are very ex but portions there are huge
mobile phone dont seem cheap, at large outlets like fortress,etc only in small shops its like rm$100-200 cheaper than malaysia
like some forumer said that ngong ping cable car q is freaking long! went up by bus instead
the peak cable car q was not as bad as ngong ping ones,perhaps its a monday
and if you like esprit and branded goods,can go to china hongkong city or citygate outlets where there are lots of factory outlet stores
oh yes Kee Wah Bakery stuff is nice to buy back,i bought quite a bit back
n lastly perfume & cosmetics Sasa!

This post has been edited by ryan18: Dec 9 2011, 02:21 PM
ryan18
post Dec 12 2011, 11:11 AM

2,406 posts

QUOTE(billeu @ Dec 11 2011, 10:38 PM)
Guys,

Any hotel to recommend in Hongkong. Goin there July.

My shortlisted hotels:
1) Cosmopolitan Hotel - Wan Chai
2) L' Hotel Nina Et Convention Centre - Tsuen Wan
3) Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong - Wan Chai
4) Silka Far East Hotel - Tsuen Wan

Or any other good hotel to recommend?? icon_question.gif  wub.gif
holiday inn golden mile (in nathan road,opposite the hotel have a Tsim Sha Tsui MTR exit)
holiday inn express causeway bay (opposite Times Square)
ryan18
post Dec 16 2011, 10:39 AM

2,406 posts

QUOTE(thj1999 @ Dec 15 2011, 08:24 AM)
is anyone know did Ding Ding sell only TRAM ticket to the PEAK ? if yes, what is the price?
http://www.ctshk.com/english/ticket/admticket_hk.htm
they have a branch in Tsim Tsa Tsui Nathan Road
ryan18
post Dec 16 2011, 05:43 PM

2,406 posts

QUOTE(mugenz @ Dec 16 2011, 10:59 AM)
so this is ding ding's website?
no this is another travel agent CTS.some of the ticket they sell same price as dingding
ryan18
post Dec 19 2011, 10:58 AM

2,406 posts

QUOTE(eric84cool @ Dec 19 2011, 01:10 AM)
I spent my last year trip stay at Nathan hotel, also highly recommended...5 mins away from Jordan MTR station. but I heard the rate is getting more expensive...
stayed at Holiday Inn Golden Mile.good location nearby the hotel is the Tsim Sha Tsui MTR entrance.Around HK$1800+/night
maybe if you are not a Priority Club member wouldnt want to spend soo much on a room in Holiday Inn
ryan18
post Dec 27 2011, 11:41 AM

2,406 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Dec 27 2011, 10:39 AM)
Even during normal weekdays, the streets in HK is always crowded. Just last 2 weeks, We went to NgongPing 360 on weekday. The queue for the ticket and another queue to board the cable car really make you pensan. I think the queue can be over 1hr long for non-crystal cable car. I think better don't go NgongPing 360 during xmas.
yeah i went early december on a sunday and the queue was very long,end up go up on a bus.but if you bought in advance the ticket the queue was non
ryan18
post Dec 28 2011, 12:03 AM

2,406 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Dec 27 2011, 07:24 PM)
Write some review for HK/macau lah biggrin.gif
this is my review
1st day
Fly to Hongkong from Brunei coz i stay there. Abacus Fair promo B$550 about RM$1340. Travel to Kowloon by Airport Express, 3 ticket promo fare HKD190. stay Holiday Inn Golden Mile, Premier Family Room(got upgraded from Deluxe Room) HKD 2475 nett RM$990 doh.gif actually wanted to stay at Holiday Inn Express Causeway Bay but my dad say not enough space for me to sleep. walk all the way down to Miramar and back.at night went to Granville Road & Sasa(cheap perfume & cosmetics)
2nd day
Travel to Macau by Cotaijet. Stay at Venetian Macao,very high class the room & also very big,got 2 TV(1 LCD,1 colour TV, LOL) about RM$830 Bella Suite. Visit Macao Tower, buy at ticket counter HKD120/person, buy in HK CTS or maybe Dingding HKD100/person (City of Dreams have shuttle bus to go there). Visited Galaxy Macao,City of Dreams. Went for the gondola ride at Venetian counter price $108, but buy in CTS/travel agent/Dingding $90.Wanted to watch House of Dancing Water but full house
3rd day
Change hotel to next door Hard Rock Hotel City of Dreams, RM$780 Corner Suite,again very big room with 2 LCD TV & a very unique bathroom. Went to Ruins of St Paul & nearby there got lots of shop selling local products like the almond biscuit,etc. At night went to watch Dragon Treasure in City of Dreams, got free tickets if you stay in the hotels there,spend HK$300 i think or if you dont it costs HK$30/person. recommend all to watch it,the bad thing you have to stand for the duration of the show which is 30min
4th day-7th day
Guangzhou & Shenzhen
8th day
back to Hongkong.stayed in Holloywood Disneyland Hotel.went to Ngong Ping 360,wanted to take cable car but the queue was simply too long,end up taking $27/person 40min bus trip up & down.Dont know what kind of bus trip to Tai O that most forumer talk about.went & climb up Big Buddha very tiring.ate the mountain springwater taufa HKD10.shopped a bit at Citygate Outlets, specifically Esprit Outlet
9th day
go to Hongkong Disneyland.queue for the ride was about 30min for each,managed to get on the parachute in Toystory Land,the Jungle boatride,the electric car in Tomorrowland, watched the Stitch n the Mickey orchestra show. go back to Kowloon checkin InterContinental Grand Stanford again got upgraded to Premier Room (from Deluxe Room) about RM$1100/night doh.gif
10th day
After breakast went to Avenue of Stars.then went to buy Peak tickets at CTS. went to take the tram to The Peak,about 10-20min wait.up there went to Sky Terrace,Madam Tussad. after that,went to Golden Bauhinia Square(golden flower).then, Causeway Bay, Times Square & SOGO (nothing to buy too expensive haha.rushed back to Tsim Sha Tsui to watch Symphony of Lights.also went to Kee Wah to buy some cakes & biscuits
well thats about if for my holiday in Hk/Macau, might sound too highclass looking at the hotel price

This post has been edited by ryan18: Dec 28 2011, 12:04 AM
ryan18
post Dec 28 2011, 08:34 AM

2,406 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Dec 28 2011, 01:30 AM)
@ryan18 hi, thanks for sharing. what do you think about the disney hotel, worth paying the money for the brand? too bad house of dancing water was full, and they have increased the price. since you stayed in hard rock as well, you could have taken their room+ticket show package, save headache of missing the chance to watch. full fledge 10 day trip  thumbup.gif
the room was very basic, and the seaview room having pay xtra $400 on top of normal room is a waste,the view was not nice.hmm i dont know
yeah, but my dad made a wrong decision, which is stay at Venetian 1st nite & Hard Rock 2nd,it should be the other way around since,the nite which I stayed at Hard Rock,the Dancing Water show is not on.You can only book the Room+ticket package only on the day they have show,if you choose a date which the show didnt play,the room+ticket option wont show up
ryan18
post Jan 12 2012, 10:14 AM

2,406 posts

QUOTE(markypcs @ Jan 12 2012, 03:31 AM)
Hey guys,

I'll be staying at Novotel on Nathan Road in HK. Anyone has experiences in that hotel? Good/bad/scary? Please do share!

Also, can recommend places to eat/do and shop? I like pork, dim sum, bubble tea, and pretty much any good food! My friend told me to go to Macau for a few hours and watch "The House of Dancing Waters". Any comments on that?

Lastly, shopping wise, I don't care much about brands. I'm just looking for affordable and nice things (indie shops & such).

Thanks for your help! Much appreciated!
yes the House of Dancing Water is highly recommended to watch despite its pretty high price and demand is very high too aka tickets runs out very fast.try getting tickets from travel agents in hongkong 1st
Granville Road have a lot of small shops selling affordable clothing

This post has been edited by ryan18: Jan 12 2012, 10:15 AM
ryan18
post Jan 31 2012, 01:40 PM

2,406 posts

QUOTE(trendygengis @ Jan 31 2012, 11:39 AM)
Guys, any good places for clubbing in hongkong? =)
lan kwai fong?
ryan18
post Feb 1 2012, 08:36 AM

2,406 posts

QUOTE(XiuKeong @ Feb 1 2012, 08:07 AM)
Long champs is quite cheap at there. If you don't compare w/ europe.
yeah my friend said its few hundred RM cheaper than malaysia
ryan18
post Feb 4 2012, 04:43 PM

2,406 posts

QUOTE(AngelLingLing @ Feb 4 2012, 11:23 AM)
anyone knows if i book disneyland hotel, do i get free entrance tickets?

anyone who is going to HK, going to dingding to buy voucher can update the latest price?
nope no free ticket if you stay at disneyland hotel
if you use MTR quite frequently,get the Tourist Daily Pass @ HKD55 n you can get HK$40 or HK$50 off the published price of 1-Day or 2-Day General Admission Ticket (pay with Visa and get an extra $5 (1-Day Ticket) / $10 (2-Day Ticket) off (with the tourist pass,a few discount coupons is provided)
anyway ding-ding pricing is here http://www.hkzhan.com/func/common/D-1-1.html
ryan18
post Feb 6 2012, 09:51 AM

2,406 posts

QUOTE(yiyibrowers @ Feb 6 2012, 07:06 AM)
There is a bus go up....
40min hkd27,have exact change or use octopus card
ryan18
post Feb 7 2012, 05:21 PM

2,406 posts

QUOTE(den @ Feb 7 2012, 04:14 PM)
hi guys, do you know any hotel that offer rooms for 4 pax/room?
holiday inn twin beds can easily fit 2 people in each bed
ryan18
post Feb 13 2012, 11:27 AM

2,406 posts

3 is also quite ok hkd98 with hkd98 value.hkd2/mb with a max cap of hkd28/day
or smartone daily unlimited 24/day
ryan18
post Feb 13 2012, 03:27 PM

2,406 posts

QUOTE(mugenz @ Feb 13 2012, 02:15 PM)
http://www.smartone.com/jsp/mobile/prices/...icescharges.jsp

suppose to be this, but i think they changed it

Last time i survey, it was HKD8 per hour but max cap of rm24 per day. Meaning if u paid rm24 u can use for whole day.

Best is that this comes with voice also..

but your link of the ipad data plan looks good... for HKD88/250mb but dunno applicable for tourist or not.
i think they just cancelled the cap of hkd24/day for a new 'One flat fee for an hourly data allowance to control your data expenses easily'
ryan18
post Feb 13 2012, 08:58 PM

2,406 posts

QUOTE(mugenz @ Feb 13 2012, 03:58 PM)
ya so need to survey for a more value data provider lol
http://www.three.com.hk/website/appmanager...g&pageid=615001
Competitive local wireless data charges at HK$2 / MB; max. cap charge at HK$28 per day
not bad the speed constant 1mbps
ryan18
post Feb 17 2012, 10:14 AM

2,406 posts

QUOTE(mugenz @ Feb 17 2012, 09:58 AM)
Here's what i planned,

Day 1 Tuesday
10:30am:Reach Macau, take ferry to TST star ferry
12:00pm:Check in Hotel
1:00pm: Mido Cafe for lunch
2:00pm: Walk from Yau Ma Tei down to Mongkok + sightseeing
3:00pm: Walk down from Mongkok Go Ding ding collect our disney tickets then walk down to TST + sightseeing
4:00pm: Stop at Jordan for Tea time in Australian Dairy Co.
5:00pm: 1881 Heritage and surrounding
7:00pm: Avenue of Stars and symphony of light
8:30pm: Take Bus up to Peak (will tram be faster?)
9:00pm: Madame Tussaude
10:00pm: The Peak
10:30pm: Any place for late dinner? After the peak or on the way back to hotel in Kowloon.
12:00pm: Go back hotel.

Day 2. Wednesday
9:00am: Lin Heung Tea house for dimsum
10:00am: What else to do in Central? IFC Mall? Mid level Escalator?
2:00pm: Sing Heung Yuen for an early tea/late lunch
2:30pm: Head to Stanley Market
8:00pm: Dinner in 4 seasons claypot rice (behind of Casa hotel)
8:30pm: Ladies Street / sneaker street
10:30pm: Temple Street (why this last? coz it operates till late)
11:30pm: Honeymoon dessert (please recommend nearby Yau Ma tei)

Day 3. Thursday
9:00am:Kam Wah Cafe
10:00am: Anything to fill in between Kowloon or Central?
12:00am: Mak's Noodle
1pm: Disneyland
8pm: Leave after Fireworks
9pm: Yung Kee Roast Goose (Possible to eat this late?)
10pm: Lan Kwai Fong
11:30pm: Auntie Sweet Dessert (operate till late? dont mind travel late)
1am: Head back to Hotel

Day 4.Friday
10:00am:Joy Hing BBQ Meat for early lunch
11:00am: Slot for last minute usage eg: shopping/sourvenir
1:00pm: Check out from hotel
1:30pm: Head to Tung chung Citygate
5:30pm: Head to Airport
6:30pm: get a quicky dinner
7:00pm: Head home.

My questions,
1. Those places like Kam Wah normally operate during noon or from morning ? i wanna try the polo bun/egg tarts but i scared morning dont have.

2. Havent check the official web for Madame, so possible to visit around 9pm? I know it super rush but if able to do then i can have more night time to spare for stanley market.

3. Do Taxi charge 2x after midnight just like ours?

4. How long do i need if travel from stanley back to Kowloon? 1hr ?

5. If possible, can help recommend me something for those that i not sure what to do..

Thanks!!~
Madame open til 10pm

0.0611sec    0.41    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 07:39 PM