10 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 >Bottom

Hardware MacBook & MacBook Pro battery & charger issue, Discussion on 3rd party battery as well

BRY7
post Dec 27 2012, 10:46 AM

Siri: I'm your humble personal assistant
7,924 posts

QUOTE(goner @ Dec 24 2012, 10:18 AM)
guys wanna ask issue regarding MBP Retina Battery issue. i been reading forum about MBP battery.

some says it's best to ONLY use ur laptop battery until 5% then charge until 100 % ; rest of the time just leave it charge.

some says it's best to use your laptop battery until it's almost 0% then charge it 100%. this keep the battery cycle keep on going.

MBP Retina 2012 Battery Info

MY MBP Retina only 12 weeks old and has 71 charges on it.

usage on mac. 80% on Autocad 2013, Photoshop CS6, iTunes & Movies ; 20% on gaming on window 7 boot camp

please advice.
when you have chance to plug the adaptor while using, then do so.
but remember to discharge and charge till 100% (1 Full Cycle) atleast once a week
cRazYee
post Dec 27 2012, 10:53 AM

2,642 posts

or this one
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/AC_power_plugs_and_sockets

basically it's down to the standard of country. Malaysia Standard (might) not enforce proper grounding in every building (maybe has been done in new built area)

quote:
"Japan also uses a grounded plug similar to the North American NEMA 5-15.[39] However, it is less common than its NEMA 1-15 equivalent. Since 2005, new Japanese homes are required to have class I grounded outlets for connecting domestic appliances. This rule does not apply for the outlets not intended to be used for domestic appliances, but it is strongly advised to have class I outlets throughout the home."

So basically, the socket itself is grounded, and there are running 2 phase
fatdonutx
post Jan 4 2013, 01:00 AM

guys .. wanna ask for help .. i'm new to mac world ..
on july, i bought mid '12 13inch base-line mbp with lion on it .. after few weeks, i update to ML .. and i saw changes in my battery life .. it wont get more than 5 hours for full charged battery and now, its already down to 89% from its design capacity (based on coconut battery) .. the battery cycle is only 24, and i only use my mbp for surfing, word processing and other student life usage (light usage only) . it is mostly used while plugged in and once a month, i did the battery drain thing .. and after ML, the battery drain like its really2 thirsty .. lost 1% for like every 2 minutes ..

anyone could help me with this? cuz im new with mac .. thanks guys
AveoHzq
post Jan 4 2013, 02:38 AM

172 posts

Anyone know the price for a Macbook white charger?
Should be same with macbook pro.
TSwei
post Jan 7 2013, 01:39 AM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

60W Magsafe should be RM249.
kokonut
post Jan 10 2013, 01:09 AM

57 posts

My mbp suddenly cant charge.. Connect the charger but the led on the magsafe charge not light up (green or orange).. Been try other power point still the same.. With extra long cable or with 3pin adapter still same..

Need advise please.. sad.gif

MBP 13" late 2011
2month out of warranty.. sad.gif
dinodog_Jr
post Jan 10 2013, 05:44 PM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

QUOTE(kokonut @ Jan 10 2013, 01:09 AM)
My mbp suddenly cant charge.. Connect the charger but the led on the magsafe charge not light up (green or orange).. Been try other power point still the same..  With extra long cable or with 3pin adapter still same..

Need advise please.. sad.gif

MBP 13" late 2011
2month out of warranty.. sad.gif
Try reset PRAM on your mbp...SMC reset.. Anything about reset you can google bout it.

TSwei
post Jan 10 2013, 11:38 PM

6,496 posts

Check your charger tip is all the pin are rise up. And Mac side, see if the port have any alien object it.

Else you try to test the charger on another Mac and loan a working charger to test is its your Mac and charger problem.
kokonut
post Jan 11 2013, 10:33 AM

57 posts

thank god it work now..

did the pram and smc reset but no work.. what i do before it work.. safely unpluged the power cord from the adapter cleaning the pin inside the adapter.. then connect together, power on, it light up.. at first the orange light blink and turn off.. after several attempt it works good.

thank a lot guys for the help.. biggrin.gif
dlaz
post Feb 5 2013, 07:59 AM

302 posts

Hi wei,just read your 2009 post.
is it still advisable to avoid the third party/oem charger today?
need to ganti my 85W charger,but so expensive.in stores is RM249.found one here in LYN trade zone its RM189.ebay is also around $50.
the third party/oem is only $25. please advise me.i have read your first post regarding grounding etc on the OEM charger. but still undecided biggrin.gif
cheers!
TSwei
post Feb 5 2013, 08:51 AM

6,496 posts

You want to risk your few thousand equipment because you want to save on hundred plus? Your call.
khmy2013
post Feb 5 2013, 11:01 PM

45 posts

Hi. I'm considering to upgrade my ram to 16GB (MBP 13' Mid 2012)

Apple Original Ram is too pricy and I afraid I cannot afford it.

well I'm considering Crucial's Ram.

And I heard some rumour that although Apple has stated MBP 13' Mid 2012 can only recognise up to 8GB ram, but somehow there are people trying for 16gb ram and the result was encouraging.

I wish I can get some opinion from you. smile.gif
TSwei
post Feb 5 2013, 11:46 PM

6,496 posts

QUOTE(khmy2013 @ Feb 5 2013, 11:01 PM)
Hi. I'm considering to upgrade my ram to 16GB (MBP 13' Mid 2012)

Apple Original Ram is too pricy and I afraid I cannot afford it.

well I'm considering Crucial's Ram.

And I heard some rumour that although Apple has stated MBP 13' Mid 2012 can only recognise up to 8GB ram, but somehow there are people trying for 16gb ram and the result was encouraging.

I wish I can get some opinion from you. smile.gif
Wrong topic for asking upgrade.
I believe this photo says it all:
http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=389...&type=3&theater

This post has been edited by wei: Feb 5 2013, 11:50 PM
khmy2013
post Feb 6 2013, 12:13 AM

45 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Feb 5 2013, 11:46 PM)
Wrong topic for asking upgrade.
I believe this photo says it all:
http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=389...&type=3&theater
Yeah I know it is a little of off-topic

but it seems like you know much about those technical things

so I asked at here.

Good pic btw.

Then how about using ram of other brand? (Crucial or whatever)
TSwei
post Feb 6 2013, 12:18 AM

6,496 posts

I believe there are plenty of discussion on that already.
ahaksz28
post Mar 17 2013, 09:38 PM

174 posts

Hi I'm new to Mac. Just curious with my battery stats. Is it normal? Thank you.

TSwei
post Mar 17 2013, 11:49 PM

6,496 posts

That depends how old is your unit.
ahaksz28
post Mar 18 2013, 01:03 AM

174 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Mar 17 2013, 11:49 PM)
That depends how old is your unit.
Based on that stats mine is 4.3 months old.
TSwei
post Mar 18 2013, 10:26 AM

6,496 posts

The age on coconut battery is estimated based on manufactured info on the battery. If that is correct, your usage is consider normal.
ahaksz28
post Mar 18 2013, 09:23 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Mar 18 2013, 10:26 AM)
The age on coconut battery is estimated based on manufactured info on the battery. If that is correct, your usage is consider normal.
Ok thank you. smile.gif

10 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 >Top

0.0185sec    1.70    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 09:35 AM