Compare laptop, Dell brand ...and now benq S42

TSeastwest
post Nov 4 2009, 11:26 AM, updated 17y ago

1,608 posts

Hi all,
I'm currently looking around for a new laptop (previously I want to buy a desktop but now I've decide to get a mobile one).

I've been surveying notebook that can meet my requirements. I've shortlisted two dell notebook as below.(haven't survey other brands).

Choice 1:

I choose p8700 processor because it has intel virtualization technology (vt-x) support and upgrade it to 4gb ram.

Choice 2

Previously Actually I like this one, because this laptop come default with these spec (except windows 7 professional) and lower price than choice 1. But what discourage me to like it tongue.gif is the casing cover. I want black colour but dell don't have it. doh.gif

Choice 3

Now I prefer this!

Which one is better actually? How is the battery life for both notebook?

I want to run the xp mode in windows 7 which require cpu hardware virtualization support and do multi tasking work. Sometimes maybe play games also like CS1.6 and CS source (ya..i know both old game) Thanks.

ps: should I get the full hd(1080p) wled (1920x1080) with true life or just stick with the default choice? Any difference in viewing?

This post has been edited by eastwest: Nov 5 2009, 09:23 AM
lee_what2004
post Nov 4 2009, 12:35 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

remember, to use xp mode, you need windows 7 pro and ultimate smile.gif

1080p would give more workspace but smaller text.
TSeastwest
post Nov 4 2009, 12:58 PM

1,608 posts

Eh, I just noticed it! Thanks... need to fork out more $$$ rclxub.gif
lee_what2004
post Nov 4 2009, 01:02 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

I don't quite see the difference between those two except price?
astria
post Nov 4 2009, 01:04 PM

an apple a day keeps the doctor away
22,158 posts

y not a Benq S42???

it's freaking cheap now... rm3k and u get P8700 with 9600M GT and GMA hybridgraphic...
TSeastwest
post Nov 4 2009, 01:05 PM

1,608 posts

Yes, the spec is almost the same for both notebook. So, i think I'm ok with it. but What about the design? battery life? Anyone currently/previously own either one?

Actually what is the difference between studio and inspiron?
lee_what2004
post Nov 4 2009, 01:06 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

inspiron is more to the value line
studio for mainstream

@astria, benq s42 can enable VT?
astria
post Nov 4 2009, 01:07 PM

22,158 posts

all C2D P8000, T/P9000 and P7070 ve Intel VT...
lee_what2004
post Nov 4 2009, 01:09 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

yeah, but the bios sometimes can disable it, like the cases on vaio z, it has p8700 and above, but it can't enable VT without modding the bios.
astria
post Nov 4 2009, 01:13 PM

22,158 posts

well, not sure abt S42, but on my old S41, u can choose to enable or disable it in the BIOS...
TSeastwest
post Nov 4 2009, 01:14 PM

1,608 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Nov 4 2009, 01:04 PM)
y not a Benq S42???

it's freaking cheap now... rm3k and u get P8700 with 9600M GT and GMA hybridgraphic...
WHere did you quote the price? It doesn't show in benq malaysia website benq s42 Cannot specified my own spec?

it's also using ddr2 667 ram compared to dell 800mhz.

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Nov 4 2009, 01:09 PM)
yeah, but the bios sometimes can disable it, like the cases on vaio z, it has p8700 and above, but it can't enable VT without modding the bios.
Really eh? sweat.gif Other notebook have this problem also?
lee_what2004
post Nov 4 2009, 01:16 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

QUOTE(eastwest @ Nov 4 2009, 01:14 PM)
WHere did you quote the price? It doesn't show in benq malaysia website benq s42 Cannot specified my own spec?

it's also using ddr2 667 ram compared to dell 800mhz.
Really eh? sweat.gif Other notebook have this problem also?
benq s42 in shop around my place is selling for rm 2999
INTEL CORE 2 DUO P8700 PROCESSOR
(2.53GHZ, 3MB L2, 1066FSB, 25W)
2GB DDR2 RAM, 320GB SATA HDD
GEFORCE 9600GT 512MB SHARED
DVD-RW, 56K MODEM, 10/100LAN
14.1" ULTRAVIVID LED SUPER CLEAR
CARD READER,WIFI B/G, BLUETOOTH
LITHIUM ION BATERY, BAG, 2.15KG
INTEL 5300 WIFI-N, HDMI, HYBRID POWER

about the bios, need to ask user, manufacturer usually don't specify it.

This post has been edited by lee_what2004: Nov 4 2009, 01:16 PM
astria
post Nov 4 2009, 01:16 PM

22,158 posts

well, lee said the shop near his home is rm2999...

john_jay2 is selling at rm3250 the last i heard... not sure now... got another guy bought for rm2899 but without OS...

Added on November 4, 2009, 1:17 pmbtw, for the RAM speed, 533MHz is also good enuf for Core 2 Duo becuz of the FSB...

This post has been edited by astria: Nov 4 2009, 01:17 PM
TSeastwest
post Nov 4 2009, 01:26 PM

1,608 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Nov 4 2009, 01:16 PM)
benq s42 in shop around my place is selling for rm 2999
INTEL CORE 2 DUO P8700 PROCESSOR   
(2.53GHZ, 3MB L2, 1066FSB, 25W)   
2GB DDR2 RAM, 320GB SATA HDD   
GEFORCE 9600GT 512MB  SHARED   
DVD-RW, 56K MODEM, 10/100LAN   
14.1" ULTRAVIVID LED SUPER CLEAR   
CARD READER,WIFI B/G, BLUETOOTH   
LITHIUM ION BATERY, BAG, 2.15KG   
INTEL 5300 WIFI-N, HDMI, HYBRID POWER

about the bios, need to ask user, manufacturer usually don't specify it.
Does the price include OS?

QUOTE(astria @ Nov 4 2009, 01:16 PM)
well, lee said the shop near his home is rm2999...

john_jay2 is selling at rm3250 the last i heard... not sure now... got another guy bought for rm2899 but without OS...

Added on November 4, 2009, 1:17 pmbtw, for the RAM speed, 533MHz is also good enuf for Core 2 Duo becuz of the FSB...
Reading all the replies make me even more conpius and in more delima sweat.gif dell 15.6in vs s42 14.1in.. price difference also..weight..etc

dell/benq have any outlet for me to check the notebook?
lee_what2004
post Nov 4 2009, 01:31 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

not include OS, in term performance, benq s42 wins~
TSeastwest
post Nov 4 2009, 01:43 PM

1,608 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Nov 4 2009, 01:31 PM)
not include OS, in term performance, benq s42 wins~
you refering to general performance or gaming performance? 9600m gt is better than 4570? hmm.gif

btw, I saw several notebooks that come with intel SUxxxx processor which claimed to have battery life up to 12 hours and running vista/7. Is it that powerful? because the processor speed is below 2ghz.
astria
post Nov 4 2009, 02:18 PM

22,158 posts

both general and gaming performance, and probably battery life as well, S42 wins...

but Studio 15 is backed by Dell's excellent warranty service...

as for the SU CPU, they are basically the undervolted and underclocked version of the regular C2D... they are good for everyday usage, but dun expect good performance if u want to play games and program...
Swordsmen
post Nov 4 2009, 02:45 PM

Motion Effects Designer & Video Editor
643 posts

SU version is generally design for daily moderate usage, but in term of heavy multitasking its a slow one
tat because its only consume little power, and yeah the S42 is fockin cheap now, i,m bought last year at RM 3499
with linux OS, but now it drop to 2899 without OS.. if included maybe 3100 somethin. but more suprise included
500GB HDD vs mine 320, and P8700 C2D proc. i recomended you to take this one. HD4570 is way to low reaching
9600M GT, i tested friend of mine. it sucks even at medium low (COD4).

Added on November 4, 2009, 2:56 pmAbt Battery life you can reach standard 3.5 hrs of moderate usage,-set power option to power saver - Brightness minimum
and Intel video mode, with this option (Hybrid) you can choose anytime, gaming or moderate use, recomended windows 7.
and benq already update the driver 187 and bios 1.20

This post has been edited by Swordsmen: Nov 4 2009, 02:56 PM
Miyabi
post Nov 4 2009, 03:56 PM

馬鹿じゃない
1,592 posts

tiny VT checker tool: http://www.grc.com/securable.htm
TSeastwest
post Nov 4 2009, 03:59 PM

1,608 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Nov 4 2009, 02:18 PM)
both general and gaming performance, and probably battery life as well, S42 wins...

but Studio 15 is backed by Dell's excellent warranty service...

as for the SU CPU, they are basically the undervolted and underclocked version of the regular C2D... they are good for everyday usage, but dun expect good performance if u want to play games and program...
ok, su notebook out already nod.gif

QUOTE(Swordsmen @ Nov 4 2009, 02:45 PM)
SU version is generally design for daily moderate usage, but in term of heavy multitasking its a slow one
tat because its only consume little power, and yeah the S42 is fockin cheap now, i,m bought last year at RM 3499
with linux OS, but now it drop to 2899 without OS.. if included maybe 3100 somethin. but more suprise included
500GB HDD vs mine 320, and P8700 C2D proc. i recomended you to take this one. HD4570 is way to low reaching
9600M GT, i tested friend of mine. it sucks even at medium low (COD4).

Added on November 4, 2009, 2:56 pmAbt Battery life you can reach standard 3.5 hrs of moderate usage,-set power option to power saver - Brightness minimum
and Intel video mode, with this option (Hybrid) you can choose anytime, gaming or moderate use, recomended windows 7.
and benq already update the driver 187 and bios 1.20
Any recomended shop to survey and test benq s42? digi mall got?

QUOTE(Miyabi @ Nov 4 2009, 03:56 PM)
tiny VT checker tool: http://www.grc.com/securable.htm
Cool, thanks...

err, benq s42 notebook got/will have this problem in the near future ? sweat.gif benq s41

This post has been edited by eastwest: Nov 4 2009, 04:03 PM
Swordsmen
post Nov 4 2009, 04:10 PM

643 posts

i,m buying here at lowyat, just check it out Click here / Price lists

Added on November 4, 2009, 4:15 pmi'm already check at certain website, there even has P8800 at S42

This post has been edited by Swordsmen: Nov 4 2009, 04:27 PM
Fantasia
post Nov 4 2009, 04:17 PM

5,494 posts

QUOTE(eastwest @ Nov 4 2009, 03:59 PM)

err, benq s42 notebook got/will have this problem in the near future ?  sweat.gif  benq s41
s42 using different gpu.s41 use 8600m gs while s42 using 9600m gt. so s42 wont facing that problem
lee_what2004
post Nov 4 2009, 04:25 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

QUOTE(eastwest @ Nov 4 2009, 03:59 PM)
ok, su notebook out already nod.gif
Any recomended shop to survey and test benq s42? digi mall got?
Cool, thanks...

err, benq s42 notebook got/will have this problem in the near future ?  sweat.gif  benq s41
that problem only 8400m and 8600m, which spread every brand that uses it.
9600m gt is supposed not to have that problem.
Swordsmen
post Nov 4 2009, 04:25 PM

643 posts

no the S41 were known to have problem on its GPU 8600M due to its soldering thing cannot stand when overheating, its accoured when using the unit for 2 or 3 years, sometime maybe sooner you get the problem,
but the predecessor unit S42 are using different GPU and the design / soldering on the chip are better than the old one, so basically its just fine with S42,
TSeastwest
post Nov 4 2009, 04:30 PM

1,608 posts

QUOTE(Swordsmen @ Nov 4 2009, 04:10 PM)
i,m buying here at lowyat, just check it out Click here / Price lists

Added on November 4, 2009, 4:15 pmi'am already check at certain website, there even has P8800 at S42
Really, where? How much $$ to add if take p8800?

QUOTE(Fantasia @ Nov 4 2009, 04:17 PM)
s42 using different gpu.s41 use 8600m gs while s42 using 9600m gt. so s42 wont facing that problem
Okeh, thanks for the clarification.

What is the meaning of shared memory? the gpu memory is shared with system? Does it mean the gpu will not be able to utilise its 512 mb ram?
lee_what2004
post Nov 4 2009, 04:35 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

I don't think malaysian got p8800 version.

the gpu is 256mb dedicated, can be shared up to 512mb.
still not a problem, it is only problem when you are playing in high resolution like 1920x1080.
Swordsmen
post Nov 4 2009, 04:38 PM

643 posts

No the wbsite i check is not in malaysia, ( jus random googling) maybe tats on other country, but hey maybe you can ask one..who knows. the known proc here only P8700. / max resolution is 1280X800, but when you connected to HDMI it will increases

and this is me doing some demo brows.gif

S42 Game Demo

TSeastwest
post Nov 4 2009, 04:52 PM

1,608 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Nov 4 2009, 04:35 PM)
I don't think malaysian got p8800 version.

the gpu is 256mb dedicated, can be shared up to 512mb.
still not a problem, it is only problem when you are playing in high resolution like 1920x1080.
Ok, thanks... I've never played any game with resolution more than 1280x960.... laugh.gif

QUOTE(Swordsmen @ Nov 4 2009, 04:38 PM)
No the wbsite i check is not in malaysia, ( jus random googling) maybe tats on other country, but hey maybe you can ask one..who knows. the known proc here only P8700. / max resolution is 1280X800, but when you connected to HDMI it will increases
and this is me doing some demo  brows.gif

S42 Game Demo
What game is that? gran turismo? Why is the police being chased by criminal laugh.gif tongue.gif

Damn, you're poisoning me sweat.gif

btw, any shop selling benq s42 at digital mall? will the price be different?

This post has been edited by eastwest: Nov 4 2009, 04:52 PM
Fantasia
post Nov 4 2009, 05:03 PM

5,494 posts

i think is NFS but not sure which series
Swordsmen
post Nov 4 2009, 06:32 PM

643 posts

The price is standard, maybe you can search there first, but no worry
i sure its the standard price.. and tat was Need for speed Shift. the police car
are costum paint with pdrm logo

This post has been edited by Swordsmen: Nov 4 2009, 06:34 PM
astria
post Nov 4 2009, 06:33 PM

22,158 posts

did some one mention S41??? laugh.gif

the GPU can fail in as fast as 3mths...
Swordsmen
post Nov 4 2009, 06:36 PM

643 posts

haha ya lor, very2 dashyat as previous owner, its ok astria..tat was your experience, and what happend to tat unit now
TSeastwest
post Nov 4 2009, 09:57 PM

1,608 posts

Swordsmen, your s42 gpu come with 1gb of ram?

Well, I'll go to digital mall or lowyat(if possible) to survey those notebook. I think dell have a reseller at digimall.
astria
post Nov 4 2009, 10:08 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(Swordsmen @ Nov 4 2009, 09:36 PM)
haha ya lor, very2 dashyat as previous owner, its ok astria..tat was your experience, and what happend to tat unit now
sold it off 6mths ago...

and got the current laptop... Asus N81Vp, T9550, HD4650, 14"...
Swordsmen
post Nov 4 2009, 10:31 PM

643 posts

When i pick the unit it come default by 2GB DDR2, then i got offer another 2 GB by the same
price, so when install the system now is 4GB, when i check back it suppose only total of 3GB on the offer
but maybe the sales person has thougt the unit come with 1GB.. tongue.gif

And for the GPU Unit it have 256MB DDR3, not 1-GB. But when you install 4GB of ram the GPU Memory will Increase
to 2.04GB. (9600M GT at this unit have 256 DDR-3 Dedicated Memory).
Be note* Memory differences either 512 - 256 - 1GB will not make any effects changes. when you install it on the
system it also will take little amount from the main system memory RAM. Even though the S42 come with 256 DDR3
it will beat down even 512MB or 1GB for DDR2 Version.

I recommended this unit because it have the every bit of performance for that price, yes you can choose the other brand
or model, but trust me no other brand ( category ''14 Inch'' ) with this GPU and Price. mosts of this 14 category come with shitty
GPU. if have one its maybe not in Malaysia- like ASUS N81Vp with ATi or MSI with 9600M GT. but way to MAHAL then this baby

So eastwest my advise is.. just take it nod.gif

This post has been edited by Swordsmen: Nov 4 2009, 10:34 PM
astria
post Nov 4 2009, 10:42 PM

22,158 posts

did i hear my baby got mentioned??? laugh.gif

u forgot Asus X83Vp as well... P8700 with HD4650... tongue.gif
Swordsmen
post Nov 4 2009, 10:51 PM

643 posts

hehe ya, that one to, but asus malaysia seems dont have it, why so difficult to get this spec here, the close one is N81Vg with GT 120M. But still Sucks

This post has been edited by Swordsmen: Nov 4 2009, 10:52 PM
Dackson
post Nov 4 2009, 10:54 PM

Decide to start hunting
6,439 posts

may i know ur budget pls??
DoubleU
post Nov 5 2009, 06:12 AM

2k yo!~
2,708 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Jul 26 2009, 08:57 PM)

GeForce 9M / Quadro FX x700M Family [G9M]

btw TS here's the benchie of S42 if you haven't seen it. Hitting 6k on 3dmark06. so definately worth the money since its RM3k ish. Like what others said, the S42 could probably be the 3rd most powerful 14" lappy.... or most powerful 14" in malaysia.

TSeastwest
post Nov 5 2009, 09:14 AM

1,608 posts

QUOTE(Swordsmen @ Nov 4 2009, 10:31 PM)
When i pick the unit it come default by 2GB DDR2, then i got offer another 2 GB by the same
price, so when install the system now is 4GB, when i check back it suppose only total of 3GB on the offer
but maybe the sales person has thougt the unit come with 1GB..  tongue.gif

And for the GPU Unit it have 256MB DDR3, not 1-GB. But when you install 4GB of ram the GPU Memory will Increase
to 2.04GB. (9600M GT at this unit have 256 DDR-3 Dedicated Memory).
Be note* Memory differences either 512 - 256 - 1GB will not make any effects changes. when you install it on the
system it also will take little amount from the main system memory RAM. Even though the S42 come with 256 DDR3
it will beat down even 512MB or 1GB for DDR2 Version.

I recommended this unit because it have the every bit of performance for that price, yes you can choose the other brand
or model, but trust me no other brand ( category ''14 Inch'' ) with this GPU and Price. mosts of this 14 category come with shitty
GPU. if have one its maybe not in Malaysia- like ASUS N81Vp with ATi or MSI with 9600M GT. but way to MAHAL then this baby

So eastwest my advise is.. just take it nod.gif
I'll take a look at s42 first, yesterday did not have time to visit digimall doh.gif

QUOTE(Dackson @ Nov 4 2009, 10:54 PM)
may i know ur budget pls??
well, my early budget is based on dell studio 15 , around rm3.5k.. but now have better choice, maybe i'll go for s42..since swordsmen and others really recommend it to me flex.gif

Although I have to spend $$ on new OS...

QUOTE(DoubleU @ Nov 5 2009, 06:12 AM)
btw TS here's the benchie of S42 if you haven't seen it. Hitting 6k on 3dmark06. so definately worth the money since its RM3k ish. Like what others said, the S42 could probably be the 3rd most powerful 14" lappy.... or most powerful 14" in malaysia.
I've already spend less time with games now..... just once a while play game...but it is good to have enough power when you need it wink.gif

This post has been edited by eastwest: Nov 5 2009, 09:15 AM
Fantasia
post Nov 5 2009, 01:23 PM

5,494 posts

gosh ,3.5k budget,increase a bit more to get benq s57!!!!
TSeastwest
post Nov 5 2009, 01:36 PM

1,608 posts

QUOTE(Fantasia @ Nov 5 2009, 01:23 PM)
gosh ,3.5k budget,increase a bit more to get benq s57!!!!
Based on this price list Price list startec, s42 is rm2999, s57le01 rm 3899 and s57-le02 is priced at rm3299.....all notebook preinstalled with linux sweat.gif
radeon hd4650 compared to geforce 9600gt, which is better?
Fantasia
post Nov 5 2009, 01:36 PM

5,494 posts

definitely hd4650
TSeastwest
post Nov 5 2009, 01:57 PM

1,608 posts

So which notebook will give the best bang for your buck smile.gif
astria
post Nov 5 2009, 02:00 PM

22,158 posts

i would say S42... unless BD is necessary for u...
Fantasia
post Nov 5 2009, 03:24 PM

5,494 posts

+1
hamzah_18
post Nov 5 2009, 04:48 PM

1)TOSHIBA SATELLITE 14' NOTEBOOK/LAPTOP L510-P401
INTEL PENTIUM DUAL-CORE 2.0GHZ T4300,
3GB DDR2 RAM,
320GB SATA HDD,
14"
OS
PRICE : RM1899

2)TOSHIBA SATELLITE 14' NOTEBOOK/LAPTOP L510-P4011
INTEL PENTIUM DUAL-CORE 2.1GHZ T4400,
1GB DDR2 RAM,
320GB SATA HDD,
14"
OS
PRICE : RM1899

3)ASUS K40iJ-VX034L
INTEL PENTIUM DUAL-CORE 2.0GHZ T4200,
4GB DDR2 RAM,
320GB SATA HDD,
14"
OS
PRICE : RM1999

4)ASUS K40AB
AMD ATHLON X2 (2.1GHz)
14" (GL,LED)
ATI RADEON HD 4570 WITH 512MB
2GB DDR2 RAM,
320GB SATA HDD
OS
PRICE : 1999

5)HP COMPAQ C515
AMD ATHLON X2 (2.1GHz)
14" WIDE SCREEN
ATI RADEON HD 3200
1GB DDR2 RAM,
250GB SATA HDD
OS
PRICE : 1699

6)HP COMPAQ C510
INTEL CORE 2 DUO 2.0GHZ T5870,
14" WIDE SCREEN
INTEL GMA 4500M HD
1GB DDR2 RAM,
160GB SATA HDD
OS
PRICE : 1899

7)ACER ASPIRE 4736Z-431G25L
INTEL PENTIUM DUAL CORE 2.1GHZ T4300,
14.1" WXGA CRYSTALBRITE
INTEL INTEGRATED 3D GRAPHICS
1GB DDR2 RAM,
250GB SATA HDD
OS
PRICE : 1699

8)ACER ASPIRE 4736-661G32L
INTEL CORE 2 DUO 2.2GHZ T6600
14.1" WXGA ACER CINE CRYSTAL
INTEL INTEGRATED 3D GRAPHICS
2GB DDR2 RAM,
320GB SATA HDD
OS
PRICE : 1999

PLEASE some1 help me?which one is better? only need laptop to serve net, do some office job and watch movies sometimes...please,give me some guide...OR SHOULD I GO FOR ACER ASPIRE (cheaper but how about the quality?) and how about DELL INSPIRON?? I WANT A GOOD LAPTOP WITH REASONABLE PRICE...I

DoubleU
post Nov 5 2009, 10:45 PM

2k yo!~
2,708 posts

@hamzah, wrong place to ask bro.
hamzah_18
post Nov 5 2009, 10:50 PM

where i should post this question?
DoubleU
post Nov 5 2009, 10:50 PM

2k yo!~
2,708 posts

TS advice if want normal laptop, aim for something with good warrenty eg ASUS man.... 3 year.
Loki[D.d.G]
post Nov 5 2009, 10:52 PM

Quis custodiet ipsos custodes
3,648 posts

QUOTE(DoubleU @ Nov 5 2009, 10:50 PM)
TS advice if want normal laptop, aim for something with good warrenty eg ASUS man.... 3 year.
Asus is giving out a bonus 1 year warranty?

IINM it is only 2.
DoubleU
post Nov 5 2009, 11:12 PM

2k yo!~
2,708 posts

hm.... now all sell with 3 yr warrenty.
Loki[D.d.G]
post Nov 5 2009, 11:18 PM

3,648 posts

QUOTE(DoubleU @ Nov 5 2009, 11:12 PM)
According to the latest notebook price lists I could scrounge up from Hardwarezone, Asus laptops still come bundled with a 2 year warranty. Are they behind latest developments as always?

This post has been edited by Loki[D.d.G]: Nov 5 2009, 11:23 PM
DoubleU
post Nov 5 2009, 11:27 PM

2k yo!~
2,708 posts

not sure, guess i'm wrong.
lan_86
post Nov 5 2009, 11:49 PM

422 posts

QUOTE(DoubleU @ Nov 5 2009, 11:12 PM)
3 years???

seriously?? shocking.gif
TSeastwest
post Nov 11 2009, 10:02 AM

1,608 posts

Yesterday I went to digital mall to do some surveying... no luck, I didn't found benq s42... just acer, lenova....and others.. in fact, digital mall shop doesn't sell benq, i think!

Any other place that sell s42?

btw, is samsung r470 good? gaming? working? multitasking?

dell with icore 7 priced at rm 3,999 drool.gif but the graphic card use hd 4570 unsure.gif what is windows experience number for this notebook? it is good? or pricey?

This post has been edited by eastwest: Nov 11 2009, 10:03 AM
St.Paul
post Nov 11 2009, 10:09 AM

162 posts

why ts dun wan to wait for hp envy ?
astria
post Nov 11 2009, 10:12 AM

22,158 posts

Studio 15 with i7???

i rather take Studio XPS 16 with C2D instead... HD4670 is miles better than HD4570...

anyway, if u re interested with S42, u can PM john_jay2 for more detail... i think the shop he works in still got stock...
lee_what2004
post Nov 11 2009, 11:19 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

QUOTE(eastwest @ Nov 11 2009, 10:02 AM)
Yesterday I went to digital mall to do some surveying... no luck, I didn't found benq s42... just acer, lenova....and others.. in fact, digital mall shop doesn't sell benq, i think!

Any other place that sell s42?

btw, is samsung r470 good? gaming? working? multitasking?

dell with icore 7 priced at rm 3,999 drool.gif  but the graphic card use hd 4570 unsure.gif  what is windows experience number for this notebook? it is good? or pricey?
if you are willing to fork out rm 3999, take sxps 16, much better.
TSeastwest
post Nov 11 2009, 01:30 PM

1,608 posts

QUOTE(St.Paul @ Nov 11 2009, 10:09 AM)
why ts dun wan to wait for hp envy ?
Is it launched in Malaysia already? I think the price will be quite high with this spec Hp eny us sweat.gif

QUOTE(astria @ Nov 11 2009, 10:12 AM)
Studio 15 with i7???

i rather take Studio XPS 16 with C2D instead... HD4670 is miles better than HD4570...

anyway, if u re interested with S42, u can PM john_jay2 for more detail... i think the shop he works in still got stock...
yup, studio 15... I'll try to ask john about s42....

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Nov 11 2009, 11:19 AM)
if you are willing to fork out rm 3999, take sxps 16, much better.
ok, noted! nod.gif

btw, a shop in lowyat quoted rm, 2999 for s42 with p8700, 2gb ram, 320 gb hd, 256mb gf 9600m gt, linux... and one more shop quoted rm 3,299.. not sure whether this is a good offer or not...

anywhere, after seeing many notebook in flesh, maybe i'm willing to go for a higher specced notebook...

ps: Does acer notebook have many problem?
lee_what2004
post Nov 11 2009, 03:10 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

well, every notebook got its own problem smile.gif
benq s42 is good if you only have budget for 3k, sxps 16 is for if you have 4k.
ericmaxman
post Nov 11 2009, 04:34 PM

-
7,951 posts

Abit OT, but how many of you guys can actually view the pricelist on the front page? I downloaded a few, want to find out which shops in Lowyat has the S42, but other than StarTec, the rest are all corrupted..

sweat.gif
Fantasia
post Nov 11 2009, 04:35 PM

5,494 posts

try pm john_jay2.
TSeastwest
post Nov 11 2009, 08:53 PM

1,608 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Nov 11 2009, 03:10 PM)
well, every notebook got its own problem smile.gif
benq s42 is good if you only have budget for 3k, sxps 16 is for if you have 4k.
oo.ok

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Nov 11 2009, 04:34 PM)
Abit OT, but how many of you guys can actually view the pricelist on the front page? I downloaded a few, want to find out which shops in Lowyat has the S42, but other than StarTec, the rest are all corrupted..

sweat.gif
I think the price list has not been updated for sometime, is it? last week I download it, the price list dated august this year sweat.gif better refer to hardwarezone.com.my . last updated 4 nov..

QUOTE(Fantasia @ Nov 11 2009, 04:35 PM)
try pm john_jay2.
pm already, he quoted rm3,099. hmm.gif
renabada
post Nov 11 2009, 09:41 PM

98 posts

if the price is 3099,why not switch to s57???now is cheap and affordable.......
Fantasia
post Nov 11 2009, 09:43 PM

5,494 posts

but s42 has better price performance ratio and not sure s57 fit his budget or not...
renabada
post Nov 11 2009, 10:05 PM

98 posts

base on his budget 3.5k,i definitely can go with s52,this is more then enough,he even can have his change .....

anyway,s57 is awesome ,high performance when playing games and the screen is big enough for me.....cheer s57

Added on November 11, 2009, 10:10 pmthe price is difference when i survey for s42,john_jay2 offer me 3099,i quote the price at john_jay2 company,the staff quote me 3299.........this is huge difference since the spec was the same

This post has been edited by renabada: Nov 11 2009, 10:10 PM
astria
post Nov 11 2009, 10:52 PM

22,158 posts

it really depends, S42 now mainly sells mobility with decent battery life but still strike a balance with performance, while S57 sells as a truly mobile entertainment center with the highest performance in the whole of BenQ's product line...
renabada
post Nov 11 2009, 11:20 PM

98 posts

for me ,priority is performance and entertainment.
so i have choose s57
TSeastwest
post Nov 11 2009, 11:25 PM

1,608 posts

s57 got hybrid power?
Fantasia
post Nov 11 2009, 11:28 PM

5,494 posts

u mean hybrid GC?? no, only HD4650
astria
post Nov 11 2009, 11:28 PM

22,158 posts

nope...
renabada
post Nov 11 2009, 11:33 PM

98 posts

QUOTE(eastwest @ Nov 11 2009, 11:25 PM)
s57 got hybrid power?
nope,but the hd4650 is good enough and better than s42 tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif best for gaming,autocad,photoshop
Fantasia
post Nov 11 2009, 11:37 PM

5,494 posts

but hybrid GC can prelong battery life.
lee_what2004
post Nov 11 2009, 11:38 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

but bad for power consumption
renabada
post Nov 11 2009, 11:45 PM

98 posts

i think it is ok for me ,playing hardcore game can last for 3 hour++ with sound on,medium brightness ,charging ipoh nano,mouse,disk room running.....
Fantasia
post Nov 11 2009, 11:47 PM

5,494 posts

sound low volume ma, medium brightness might torture ur eyes
renabada
post Nov 12 2009, 12:03 AM

98 posts

QUOTE(Fantasia @ Nov 11 2009, 11:47 PM)
sound at 70% and play in dark room too brightness will cause my eye not so comforable,medium is just find with me.. flex.gif

Added on November 12, 2009, 12:04 am
QUOTE(Fantasia @ Nov 11 2009, 11:47 PM)
sound at 70% and play in dark room too brightness will cause my eye not so comforable,medium is just find with me.. flex.gif

This post has been edited by renabada: Nov 12 2009, 12:04 AM
DoubleU
post Nov 12 2009, 05:55 AM

2k yo!~
2,708 posts

eh hybrid gc too many driver problems la...
TSeastwest
post Nov 12 2009, 08:58 AM

1,608 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Nov 11 2009, 11:38 PM)
but bad for power consumption
you mean hybrid power? rclxub.gif

QUOTE(DoubleU @ Nov 12 2009, 05:55 AM)
Really? what kind of problem? unsure.gif

Added on November 12, 2009, 8:59 am
QUOTE(renabada @ Nov 12 2009, 12:03 AM)

Added on November 12, 2009, 12:04 am
renabada, you bought s57? how is it?

guys, if I postpone buying the notebook until cristmas, will there be any promotions/price cut?

let say if I get a notebook come preinstalled with OS(such as dell and windows 7)...later when I NEED to replace the OS, will there be any problem??

This post has been edited by eastwest: Nov 12 2009, 09:29 AM
T_K
post Nov 12 2009, 09:45 AM

i just can say it solid and have really big screen!!
now i not some familiar with it number pad,alway miss press,coz my previous
laptop doesnt have it,but it good for entering number..
the thing i dislike it a bit heavy the usual laptop lar,but i have to accept it because i choose PERFORMANCE !!

Added on November 12, 2009, 10:17 am
guys, if I postpone buying the notebook until cristmas, will there be any promotions/price cut?

let say if I get a notebook come preinstalled with OS(such as dell and windows 7)...later when I NEED to replace the OS, will there be any problem??

i will say,buy 1st enjoy 1st.....haha

but as i know benq price keep raising,last time ppl can get at 2899 for s42,now,even the price range is 3099 till 3299 shocking.gif shocking.gif

This post has been edited by T_K: Nov 12 2009, 10:57 AM
lee_what2004
post Nov 12 2009, 02:37 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Its not keep raising, but it keep decreasing, its just that different place offer different price, some offer RM 2899, 2999, 3099.
At my place, s42 drop from 3.3k to 3k.
chiam dar siang
post Nov 12 2009, 02:42 PM

873 posts

QUOTE(DoubleU @ Nov 12 2009, 05:55 AM)
yaya try to avoid hybrid gpu, hard to find driver.
TSeastwest
post Nov 12 2009, 03:15 PM

1,608 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Nov 12 2009, 02:37 PM)
Its not keep raising, but it keep decreasing, its just that different place offer different price, some offer RM 2899, 2999, 3099.
At my place, s42 drop from 3.3k to 3k.
Where is your place?

QUOTE(chiam dar siang @ Nov 12 2009, 02:42 PM)
yaya try to avoid hybrid gpu, hard to find driver.
Must use 2 different driver? one for nvidia and other one for intel builtin graphic card.
lee_what2004
post Nov 12 2009, 04:13 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

melaka.

it only use one driver nvidia, the real problem is hybrid graphic is not that really mature yet.
TSeastwest
post Nov 13 2009, 09:04 AM

1,608 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Nov 12 2009, 04:13 PM)
melaka.

it only use one driver nvidia, the real problem is hybrid graphic is not that really mature yet.
SO, buying a s42 will get this problem? sweat.gif
astria
post Nov 13 2009, 09:31 AM

22,158 posts

well, there are guides in the BenQ thread to guide u... nod.gif

if all else fails, u can always revert to BenQ's own driver, which is less troublesome, but not as well optimized as the modded ones...

Added on November 13, 2009, 9:32 amor, if u dun care abt battery life at all, u can choose to use 9600M GT only, and thus saving the trouble of fiddling with hybrid gaphic...

This post has been edited by astria: Nov 13 2009, 09:32 AM
TSeastwest
post Nov 13 2009, 09:44 AM

1,608 posts

This weekend will try to go to lowyat... see s42 in flesh...if good, buy it straight away. flex.gif
renabada
post Nov 13 2009, 09:58 AM

98 posts

not consider s57??
TSeastwest
post Nov 13 2009, 10:40 AM

1,608 posts

I'll try it too.... but based on the image, s57 design a bit sweat.gif
renabada
post Nov 13 2009, 11:41 AM

98 posts

believe me,after i saw s42,i have ur feeling right now......
dunno why,after i saw s42, feel that ugly then s57,u can see it at digital mall level 3 shop......
TSeastwest
post Nov 13 2009, 03:29 PM

1,608 posts

QUOTE(renabada @ Nov 13 2009, 11:41 AM)
believe me,after i saw s42,i have ur feeling  right now......
dunno why,after i saw s42, feel that ugly then s57,u can see it at digital mall level 3 shop......
Eh, what shop? didn't notice it before. rclxub.gif

So, you want to get s42 or s57?

between s57 and xps 16, which is better?
-kytz-
post Nov 13 2009, 03:38 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(eastwest @ Nov 13 2009, 03:29 PM)
Eh, what shop? didn't notice it before. rclxub.gif

So, you want to get s42 or s57?

between s57 and xps 16, which is better?
Really depends...

SXPS 16 has a better GPU, FHD screen and an excellent online support.Not to mention the design and build quality beats the S57 hands down IMHO.Plus, its RGBLED backlight screen is touted to be one of the best ever reviewed by notebookcheck

S57 has a BD drive,more ram and a bigger HDD but lacks a higher resoultion screen.

IMHO, go for the SXPS 16 because i doubt u will regret it smile.gif

This post has been edited by -kytz-: Nov 13 2009, 03:40 PM
astria
post Nov 13 2009, 04:23 PM

22,158 posts

at rm300 difference, u got:

SXPS16 vs S57
HD4670 vs HD4650
DVD drive vs BD drive
Full HD vs HD Ready
DDR3 vs DDR2 (no difference in performance though)
no numpad vs got numpad
on-site warranty vs pick-up service
pretty good design vs subjective design
kae7
post Nov 13 2009, 04:34 PM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Nov 13 2009, 04:23 PM)

SXPS16 vs S57
HD4670 vs HD4650
DVD drive vs BD drive
Full HD vs HD Ready
no numpad vs got numpad
hmm.. looks like Studio XPS 16 is better...[although without BD]
Fantasia
post Nov 13 2009, 05:10 PM

5,494 posts

benq has International warranty while dell only local ^^
TSeastwest
post Nov 13 2009, 09:57 PM

1,608 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Nov 13 2009, 03:38 PM)
Really depends...

SXPS 16 has a better GPU, FHD screen and an excellent online support.Not to mention the design and build quality beats the S57 hands down IMHO.Plus, its RGBLED backlight screen is touted to be one of the best ever reviewed by notebookcheck

S57 has a BD drive,more ram and a bigger HDD but lacks a higher resoultion screen.

IMHO, go for the SXPS 16 because i doubt u will regret it smile.gif
yesterday, i almost purchase xps 16 through dell online sweat.gif doh.gif lucky I didn't proceed blush.gif

QUOTE(astria @ Nov 13 2009, 04:23 PM)

SXPS16 vs S57
HD4670 vs HD4650
DVD drive vs BD drive
Full HD vs HD Ready
no numpad vs got numpad
just notice about s57 keypad. 1st time ever saw a notebook with keypad nod.gif

QUOTE(Fantasia @ Nov 13 2009, 05:10 PM)
benq has International warranty while dell only local ^^
Even if we opt for 3 years warranty? local only?
renabada
post Nov 13 2009, 09:59 PM

98 posts

how much ur budget??if can afford xps16,then go for it.....

s57 vs xps16 =more 300
other brand vs other brand =more 300
after compare with it,i think u will have to compare till alienware ........
lee_what2004
post Nov 13 2009, 10:00 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

well, last 2 days ago, got discount rm 100 for sxps 16.

only 3 years warranty covers international, but the complete cover doesn't (only ASEAN iirc), so if you are outside ASEAN, still got international part and labour but not complete cover.
renabada
post Nov 13 2009, 10:00 PM

98 posts

s57 vs xps16 =more 300
repeat and repeat to compare,
TSeastwest
post Nov 13 2009, 10:10 PM

1,608 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Nov 13 2009, 10:00 PM)
well, last 2 days ago, got discount rm 100 for sxps 16.

only 3 years warranty covers international, but the complete cover doesn't (only ASEAN iirc), so if you are outside ASEAN, still got international part and labour but not complete cover.
OOOO, like that nod.gif thanks.

QUOTE(renabada @ Nov 13 2009, 10:00 PM)

s57 vs xps16 =more 300
repeat and repeat to compare, 
Double post? whistling.gif

max budget rm4.5k
First i was looking at dell studio, with 3.5k enough. and then many people suggest s42 for around rm2.9k - rm3.3k. so can save more brows.gif

if only xps16 rm3,999 come standard with 4gb ram and 500gb and windows 7 professional, i will go for it. after customisation, the price rose to rm4.3k ohmy.gif

Tomorrow must go look at S42 first, and then decide which is the best for me. wink.gif
lee_what2004
post Nov 13 2009, 10:34 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

if 4.5k, want the best performance of all, get sager np8662 brows.gif
http://www.mucro.asia/index.php/Mucro-Sage...ger-NP8662.html
change currency to malaysian ringgit and just add to card the default spec, its 4,5k
TSeastwest
post Nov 13 2009, 10:42 PM

1,608 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Nov 13 2009, 10:34 PM)
if 4.5k, want the best performance of all, get sager np8662 brows.gif
http://www.mucro.asia/index.php/Mucro-Sage...ger-NP8662.html
change currency to malaysian ringgit and just add to card the default spec, its 4,5k
I never heard about this brand. singapore? if this brand doesn't have local reseller, it will be difficult if something happen to the notebook sweat.gif

well, 4.5k is the max budget, but that doesn't mean I want to spend all of it if can get good offer at lower price. icon_idea.gif
lee_what2004
post Nov 13 2009, 10:55 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

its a well known US brand, as for local reseller, pm Mucro.Asia.
for warranty, they now can handle it, no need to send back sager in US smile.gif

This post has been edited by lee_what2004: Nov 13 2009, 10:57 PM
TSeastwest
post Nov 13 2009, 11:20 PM

1,608 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Nov 13 2009, 10:55 PM)
for warranty, they now can handle it, no need to send back sager in US smile.gif
The most powerful notebook in the world laugh.gif

btw, s42 got how many years warranty? can extend the warranty like dell?
lee_what2004
post Nov 13 2009, 11:23 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

1 year only, not sure can extend or not
chiam dar siang
post Nov 13 2009, 11:32 PM

873 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Nov 13 2009, 10:55 PM)
msia got sell sager?? drool.gif drool.gif
lee_what2004
post Nov 13 2009, 11:35 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

got, just go to http://www.mucro.asia/ or head to sager thread.
Fantasia
post Nov 14 2009, 11:56 AM

5,494 posts

QUOTE(eastwest @ Nov 13 2009, 11:20 PM)
The most powerful notebook in the world laugh.gif

btw, s42 got how many years warranty? can extend the warranty like dell?
you can extend to 2 years
TSeastwest
post Nov 15 2009, 01:50 PM

1,608 posts

QUOTE(Fantasia @ Nov 14 2009, 11:56 AM)
you can extend to 2 years
How to do that? hmm.gif

BTW, i have bought s42 for rm2,799 thumbup.gif yesterday at lowyat biggrin.gif
lee_what2004
post Nov 15 2009, 01:55 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

what shop?
TSeastwest
post Nov 15 2009, 02:04 PM

1,608 posts

startec.... I spend a few hours walking and surveying and asking around for benq and also other notebook. Only 2 notebook in my consideration... s42 and xps16... Decided to take s42 finally. nod.gif
lee_what2004
post Nov 15 2009, 02:05 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

too much difference in price XD
but sxps 16 screen is thumbup.gif
-kytz-
post Nov 15 2009, 02:06 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(eastwest @ Nov 15 2009, 02:04 PM)
startec.... I spend a few hours walking and surveying and asking around for benq and also other notebook. Only 2 notebook in my consideration... s42 and xps16... Decided to take s42 finally. nod.gif
Good choice for mobility nod.gif And yay for magnesium alloy brows.gif
madstone
post Nov 15 2009, 02:16 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

How's the BenQ performance so far?
TSeastwest
post Nov 15 2009, 02:57 PM

1,608 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Nov 15 2009, 02:05 PM)
too much difference in price XD
but sxps 16 screen is  thumbup.gif
Well, the xps on display at all it was priced at rm4,2xx..... One of the main thing I like about xps is its display...very good drool.gif

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Nov 15 2009, 02:06 PM)
Good choice for mobility nod.gif And yay for magnesium alloy brows.gif
QUOTE(madstone @ Nov 15 2009, 02:16 PM)
How's the BenQ performance so far?
I just finished install windows 7, seting up everything.... so far so good thumbup.gif THe only gripes is windows xp number is 3.3... because no graphic card driver installed ... have to find 64bit driver first. doh.gif

One other thing is s42 is missing an eSata port...
RoGuEWaVe
post Nov 15 2009, 03:21 PM

77 posts

Please help me to decide..... i'm not good in checking laptop spec... i was thinking to buy dell xps 16 then when i came across Asus N61Vg i got confused which 1 to buy it... usually my life is at sea...so i need a robust laptop course if anything goes wrong i cant come ashore for repair... mainly using for gaming to kill time at sea... with the both laptop is it possible for me to play latest need for speed SHIFT?which 1 is better?or any other suggesstions of laptop.... budget rm5k

This post has been edited by RoGuEWaVe: Nov 15 2009, 03:25 PM
astria
post Nov 15 2009, 05:22 PM

22,158 posts

SXPS16 is the better one in terms of spec...

N61Vn is the one that competes directly with SXPS16 since it has got GT 240M instead...

anyway, they are all juz as good when handling games... but for Shift, u may want to use Nvidia card instead since the game supports PhysX...
Fantasia
post Nov 15 2009, 10:10 PM

5,494 posts

msi gaming series?? ngam ngam suit his budget but forget which model...use HD4850 that 1
Loki[D.d.G]
post Nov 16 2009, 04:39 AM

3,648 posts

QUOTE(Fantasia @ Nov 15 2009, 10:10 PM)
msi gaming series?? ngam ngam suit his budget but forget which model...use HD4850 that 1
GX725. In any case as the TS has already procured his notebook, this thread doesn't really serve any additional purpose.
madstone
post Nov 16 2009, 12:29 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

What BenQ S42 can offer?
Performance wise? Any issue(s)?
lee_what2004
post Nov 16 2009, 12:35 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

p8700 with hybrid gpu 9600m gt and intel gma4500mhd, for under 3k.
issues would be the hybrid driver, not yet mature.
madstone
post Nov 16 2009, 02:25 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

I would like to try new brand but since i'm a medium user, not doing much with my laptop
may be some old games like Warcraft 3: Frozen Throne would do

may be i try customise XPS hmm.gif
Fantasia
post Nov 16 2009, 02:28 PM

5,494 posts

QUOTE(madstone @ Nov 16 2009, 02:25 PM)
I would like to try new brand but since i'm a medium user, not doing much with my laptop
may be some old games like Warcraft 3: Frozen Throne would do

may be i try customise XPS hmm.gif
what's ur budget??
DoubleU
post Nov 21 2009, 08:08 AM

2k yo!~
2,708 posts

lol warcarft 3 use xps?
Fantasia
post Nov 21 2009, 01:46 PM

5,494 posts

my friend play dota with his acer netbook that he won from competition XD
Mr.Docter
post Nov 21 2009, 02:20 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(DoubleU @ Nov 21 2009, 08:08 AM)
lol warcarft 3 use xps?
QUOTE(Fantasia @ Nov 21 2009, 01:46 PM)
my friend play dota with his acer netbook that he won from competition XD
worst case - a friend of mine build 3k gaming rig just to play dota. sweat.gif
Cloud9Nos3
post Nov 22 2009, 02:58 PM

Stay Happy ~
1,189 posts

BenQ s42 really worth it?
Is it worth to trade in 6920G and buy new benq s42?
DoubleU
post Nov 23 2009, 06:48 AM

2k yo!~
2,708 posts

+1 for S42 if you want to game. I finished mw2 on my S42 already.
TSeastwest
post Nov 24 2009, 10:34 AM

1,608 posts

Owner of S42, what do you think of notebook resolution?

After a week using it, I'm not sure about games though, but the resolution is quite small for working sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif
lee_what2004
post Nov 24 2009, 10:36 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

well, its a normal resolution for 14'' sweat.gif
astria
post Nov 24 2009, 11:00 AM

22,158 posts

wait till u try 1366x768... even smaller... laugh.gif