Pioneer - Sound, Vision & Soul, Pioneer AMP User Pls COME IN !

dirtrun
post Feb 3 2010, 04:33 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Feb 3 2010, 02:32 PM)
guys, is the MCACC in the VSX-818 and VSX-819 important?
i'm torn between the HTP-819SW (comes with VSX-819) and HTP-519SW (comes with VSX-519) set.

would appreciate any input. budget is a major consideration, since the price difference is about RM800 between the sets.
both comes with RS3SW active sub, SMS800 speaker, just the AVR is different. i don't really need HD audio support right now (or in the near future).

anyone that have the VSX-819, could you tweak the time alignment settings?

Added on February 3, 2010, 3:06 pm
answering my own question:
just downloaded and read the VSX-819 user guide and indeed users could tweak the time alignment settings.

but still doesn't answer whether the MCACC would be an important feature to have. biggrin.gif
MCACC is an automated calibration tool.. if u hv a calibration sofware like Ovations Avia or DVE n a spl mtr, u could do de basics urself too..
If u dont then its basing on ur ears n it aint tat accurate.. tats why newer avrs bundle tis in..
Other brands hv diff names for tis : Yammys YPAO , marantz/onks Auddyssey..

D

This post has been edited by dirtrun: Feb 3 2010, 04:36 PM
dirtrun
post Feb 3 2010, 09:45 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Feb 3 2010, 05:45 PM)
i know.
but i could get meself an SPL meter. friends have that (though they don't use it for HT calibration).
would it be that hard to set it up manually?

i've read VSX-519 user guide and it seems that the time alignment settings are done in distance (as opposed to delay in miliseconds).
so would an SPL meter and tape measure be enough to get the same performance as MCACC?

I m not veri familiar wif MCACC .. heck I aint familiar wif my 7002's auddyssey either.. I calibrated manually wif wat I jus mentioned n its fine by me.. of cos there would be others who would differ..

my 2 cts
D
dirtrun
post Oct 1 2011, 05:04 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Oct 1 2011, 04:07 PM)
My friend just told me he can get SC-LX75 or LX85 for RM3800 and RM4800 respectively.

Is that a good receivers?  I am actually looking at the Onkyo 809 but this Yamaha looks very interesting too.
lx
Yammy???

For tat price.. a little more n u can look at de xt32 n higher chipped models..

D
dirtrun
post Oct 19 2011, 05:10 PM

3,136 posts

Haha..

Settled then..

We all agree to disagree but in de end we agree : 'we pay for wat we like' n tat is all tat matters..

D
dirtrun
post Oct 21 2011, 12:47 PM

3,136 posts

Bizarre..

Hahaha.. not really .. I guess .. like in everytin else its all about preference..

n I hv to add sum 'carrot dangling' [Poison .. for want of a better word] tat is available to read about..

YMMV..
D

This post has been edited by dirtrun: Oct 21 2011, 12:48 PM
dirtrun
post Oct 21 2011, 02:36 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(BOTBOTCHAI. @ Oct 20 2011, 10:23 PM)
Bro Jchong i already told him the same thing but he never listen to me . He always get stuff from his friend (desa home theater) and last month he bought a RM 2k cable for his Polkaudio floorstand  but he say the Rythmik are very expensive rclxub.gif . And for the tuning , how can he get good LFE if his front speaker are set to Large? Maybe Htkaki and bro Jchong can change his opinion  biggrin.gif
Wow,

Can afford 2k cable but find 3k+ sub , expensiv [ I assume we are talkin abt de f12 ].. bizarre?? Kekeke biggrin.gif
As long as he like.. cukup le

O well.. YMMV
D
dirtrun
post Oct 21 2011, 05:36 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(geforce1999 @ Oct 21 2011, 03:08 PM)
That's because he think 2k cable worth the $$ whereas not worth spending 3k on sub mah, my 2 cents.
Yup..

Watever wanna say oso pointless cos bottom line is his money..

Kekeke biggrin.gif
D
dirtrun
post Oct 22 2011, 01:41 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(geforce1999 @ Oct 22 2011, 07:17 AM)
kekeke, because part of me also like that, if I like expensive still think worth but don't like it you know lah, cheap cheap also dun want  tongue.gif
If like,

Wat price oso sapu la.. but if cheaper than its a better deal ..
If don't like.. give oso not to say dont want cos hurt de givers feelings ; take oso, just put aside and collect dust cos wont use one.. keke

D
dirtrun
post Oct 29 2014, 04:42 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Oct 29 2014, 10:57 AM)
hiway laser put rm4900 for lx58

Ouch!!

N tats for de 58.. 88 must be at least 5 figures!!!!

D

dirtrun
post Oct 29 2014, 04:44 PM

3,136 posts

BTW,

IIRC, its cheapest in HK.. I tink I read it was circa RM8k for de 88..

D
dirtrun
post Oct 30 2014, 05:03 PM

3,136 posts

Alamak,

Amar Bose lifestyle spkrs..

tongue.gif
D
dirtrun
post Oct 31 2014, 09:57 AM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(klimal @ Oct 30 2014, 06:09 PM)

LOL..

Dunno those cutesy cube spkrs can reach 120khz..
dirtrun
post Oct 31 2014, 09:59 AM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(Sunnybjk @ Oct 30 2014, 06:47 PM)
When watching HD movie with DTS, what setting we should commonly use for listening mode .. Auto surround ?

Will you switch to ON for Auto sound retriever ?
Will you switch to ON for Dialog Enhancement ?
LFE setting ?

I m new in using pioneer Amp.

Thanks for advise.
Why dont u try out all n hear for urself..

As for me - I like de ctr to be in use so Ill use DPL for 2 channel movies..

D
dirtrun
post Nov 3 2014, 11:58 AM

3,136 posts

FWIW,

Its RM7.6k in Sgp n less than RM7k in HK for de 88..

D
dirtrun
post Nov 17 2014, 03:53 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(gatevalve @ Nov 17 2014, 02:10 PM)
Hi friends,

How to connect the astro byond box to my 821 av receiver?
I tried to connect using hdmi cable to av receiver dvd hdmi input and it did not show any image or sound.
My intention is to use av receiver to produce Dolby sound for the movie from Astro using my 5.1 speakers.
Do i need to use coaxial cable or optical cable to connect astro box to av receiver in order to get the Dolby sound?
Thank you.

Sorry,

Dont hv either but I would tink hdmi would be the best to use.. uhm .. maybe u nid to set certain settings on ur astro decoder and or avr..

D

dirtrun
post Jan 7 2015, 04:03 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(darkskies @ Jan 7 2015, 02:13 PM)
Guys.. need some advice here.
I'm currently trying to get a setup that's future proof upgrade
I manage to found a cheap pioneer vsx-822k show unit.
Is it worth getting ?

Does tat exist??

The next version will prbbly make it not so..
Upgrade becos u wanna de sound to be more pleasurable or if you are literally chasing the future..

IMO, I ll not upgrd for some new tech..

But tats jus me.. tongue.gif
D

dirtrun
post Jan 7 2015, 04:30 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(darkskies @ Jan 7 2015, 04:12 PM)
my term of future proof upgrade means i could add in more speaker in future.
Currently i'm just running 2.0
In future, i'll add in subwoofer, rear speakers and center.

Then

In tat case.. it all depends on your budget.. paying more gets u better parts n in tat line , better sound.. de 822 u mention is still budget range..
Personally, if I were to start from scratch wif hindsight, I d go 3.0 n add a good sub when l hv de funds..

D

dirtrun
post Jan 7 2015, 05:09 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(darkskies @ Jan 7 2015, 05:00 PM)
I see..
I've bought the unit. It's priced at RM799.
Now i'm looking to purchase wharferdale diamond 10.1. Though i'm unsure if the speaker comes along with the cable.
If it doesnt , i do not know the cost of buying the cable because these 2.0 speaker was recommended for bi-wiring.

It's my first budget hifi-setup because i'm done with pc speakers .
Oh I see,

Have u tried it out .. I mean de Wharfies? If u like em then go ahead ..
No it dont come wif cables unless u can wangle a couple mtrs frm de seller..
Any good thick copper wire will do [ of cos, others might differ biggrin.gif ]
Bi-wiring?? l guess some golden ears can hear some difference.. if its me just single wire it first n when u wanna experiment , then add..

D
dirtrun
post Jan 8 2015, 09:22 AM

3,136 posts

Haha,

I tink Threadstarter wants a HT but is starting wif a gud [according to his budget ] 2.0 first..
I live wif mediocre musicality too cos I m more in HT .. AVR's are sorely quite inadequate where music is concerned.. Got sound la but not great..

D

dirtrun
post Jan 9 2015, 09:33 AM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(Topet @ Jan 8 2015, 06:25 PM)
Two days of thinking...there's no need to upgrade, still happy with my LX 56
Haha bro,

If need to think abt it - sudah merbahaya ; got 'seed of doubt' liao..

Kekeke tongue.gif
D

0.0350sec    1.12    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 08:50 PM