Pioneer - Sound, Vision & Soul, Pioneer AMP User Pls COME IN !
DannyOP
Feb 7 2011, 10:33 AM
QUOTE(gkl83 @ Feb 7 2011, 09:40 AM) seem 3300 out from my list as subwoofer no upgrade-able to active... as may tended to relocate surround speaker in the future, that the reasons i choose 820sw which come with small surround speaker, smaller than 330 i think... actually i proposed my wife to get todoroki which is 100% same size, she commented that the design are fugly which same as what i thinking...  rather pay few hundred buck for proper design... so maybe have the performance differences between ES3 and todoroki too? previous post? u means Post #741? no managed to search ES3 around pioneer thread... hm... i dont have any skf330 on hand for testing and my store room full of junks, cant buy additional speaker for short term only... hence my wife no allowed my junks inside her store room in the future the reason i required for USB or iphone dock to prevent my wife complain that the AV receiver is "downgrade" if compare to my current hifi which can support for USB now... get 330f satellite without swoofer and save up for a proper sub from svs or rythmik. If budget concern then get speakers first, then sub last. Better than getting el cheapo lousy set and keep wasting money to upgrade when u check out your friends better sets and regret later. Imho all those htib cannot pakai one... unless u really dont mind. If new sets are too ex, then opt for good 2nd hand sets. Most audiophile members here will never get satisfied with what they have and keep upgrading their system eventhough to ohers it is already quite high end. You may end up with a good bargain. This post has been edited by DannyOP: Feb 7 2011, 10:44 AM
DannyOP
Feb 7 2011, 02:49 PM
QUOTE(gkl83 @ Feb 7 2011, 10:47 AM) actually i means HTP-820SW as HiTB as it come with packages, should for one of high-end HiTB i also know tak-boleh-pakai HiTB below RM2k and no much differences with my current hifi, usually HiTB complete set selling at hypermarket for sure no enough to fulfill my requirements and difficult to upgrade too as i experienced with my current hifi... hence just look on the size & weight of player, i dont think small size but big power & more features... as my boss commented, he said that his tube amp weight almost 30kg and power consumption almost same with 1hp a/c...  Edit: did another research about the speaker, seem there have some sort of "passive radiator", seem it look more a "dummy" driver, means no frequency generate from passive radiator  but used to balance the internal air turbulence as refer from wiki... any more benefit about passive radiator? wondering why dont build smaller speaker since only have 3 active driver there...  No such thing as high end hitb.. Reason is they are made to reduce cost. Just like saying high end proton... Same difference. Av stuff can even go into 7 figures, cost more than some houses. If u want a decent setup min recommendation is an av amp with satelite speakers if space is an issue.
DannyOP
Feb 24 2011, 12:26 AM
The pioneer reseller in sg also told me the same thing. Sone of their better speaker sets use the same drivers as KEF. They also had some decent speakers there but cost S$20k for a set. Problem with higher range speaker products nobody wants to pay top dollar for pioneer, so if u were thinking of selling them u will find it difficult unless u r willing to sell at a bargain.
This post has been edited by DannyOP: Feb 24 2011, 12:35 AM
DannyOP
Feb 24 2011, 06:37 PM
Nope, iPad & iPhone only for 920 and above.
DannyOP
Mar 2 2011, 11:37 AM
QUOTE(farsight @ Mar 1 2011, 01:09 PM) According to the Pioneer brochure I have the 820 can connect with iPod/iPhone. Only limited to USB connection. 820 doesn't have Ethernet so you can't use wireless connection via wifi.
DannyOP
Apr 26 2011, 11:42 PM
I wonder when is pioneer coming out with twin sub or quad sub amp.. currently their whole lineup is using single sub..
DannyOP
Apr 30 2011, 11:42 PM
QUOTE(htkaki @ Apr 27 2011, 02:56 PM)  Very good price for this elite class LX-90. If below half price let me know.. i may consider just for fun to watch astro
DannyOP
Feb 18 2016, 07:43 AM
QUOTE(dirtrun @ Feb 17 2016, 05:19 PM) LOL, Magnet is el-cheapo... I d be very happy wif Emotiva... Kekeke D Never had good experience with Emotiva, very harsh sounding when I compared with other amps. As for Magnet never heard before but Class D amp seldom sound good except when used for subwoofer eg Svs pb13 Ultra. Krell is a safer bet. This post has been edited by DannyOP: Feb 18 2016, 07:46 AM
DannyOP
Feb 18 2016, 10:17 AM
QUOTE(marc79 @ Feb 18 2016, 09:32 AM) new owner of Pioneer AVR  Which model is this? Hope to hear your feedback, especially if it can handle dual sub calibration well.
DannyOP
Feb 18 2016, 06:56 PM
QUOTE(hushymushy @ Feb 18 2016, 05:01 PM) Magnet is a Class AB amp...not too bad....quite powerful and musical Just read about it, made in Thailand? Where to test?
DannyOP
Feb 20 2016, 10:41 PM
QUOTE(hushymushy @ Feb 20 2016, 10:25 PM) i have to agree why the all this the flagship....i mean the fact that lx-89 is here but doesn't mean lx-88 is any poorer. I've had experience with lx-53....not too bad....but lx-8x series is a whole new level for me the sound reproduction is good....of coz one can't compare with those super high end audio....but for the budget enthusiast....this amp is one that fits into the criteria if you are a HT movie and music listening i've not really run in the system but from my first few hours experience....its kinda there...not like the audio rigs that i used to buy that requires few hundred hours of burn in.... the built quality of the lx-88 is superb...the overall weight and damping is good the rear rca jacks and speaker terminals feels and looks premium the front knobs are buttery smooth Is the LX88 using Class D amp? LX88 is almost the top Model for Pioneer right? One of my friends just got a Denon 7200, according to him it still isn't strong enough to drive demanding speakers. This post has been edited by DannyOP: Feb 20 2016, 10:45 PM
DannyOP
Feb 21 2016, 01:18 AM
QUOTE(hushymushy @ Feb 20 2016, 10:54 PM) most of the AVRs now are using Class D....LX series are all class D... honestly...demanding speakers...any AVR even flagship unable to control or drive large speakers.... best to go for power amps class AB LX88 used to be the flagship..now replaced by LX89...which is i got the lx-88 quite cheap Where's a good place to buy amps nowadays? Used to purchase from Sim Lim square Singapore when the Rm was doing better. Also with Dolby Atmos it becomes a nightmare in terms of wiring. I'm still thinking on how to hide ceiling cables for the speakers.
DannyOP
Feb 22 2016, 10:46 AM
QUOTE(hushymushy @ Feb 21 2016, 09:26 AM) If you dont mind ugly abit....just run it exposed...or u can do external piping...spray paint d pipe....like some design lor I got this amp from Hiway Laser.....i think nowadays no shop provides everything cheapest...but i do compare against desa home for HT pricing Good place to buy, previously my Onkyo processor was bought from them also, certain brands same price as Singapore and can be slightly cheaper also taking into account the trouble and transport to Sg and back. I noticed a McIntosh amp peeking behind the LX88  I'm sure for stereo the McIntosh will sound a lot better right?
DannyOP
Feb 22 2016, 11:35 AM
QUOTE(hushymushy @ Feb 22 2016, 10:52 AM) wah.....nice spot....the McIntosh is my car amp...driving dynaudio 240-MKII...old school d...had this since 2005.... Ah I was wondering why the wiring comes from the side lol Do you use the Pioneer for music as well? I haven't found an AV amp that can handle everything, normally need to separate 2 systems for optimum results, 1 for movie, 1 for music, but that can be quite space consuming. This post has been edited by DannyOP: Feb 22 2016, 11:35 AM
DannyOP
Feb 22 2016, 05:51 PM
QUOTE(radovantz @ Feb 22 2016, 03:47 PM) I have LX58 for my front hall setup. Once replace it with Denon 4520 (the similar power to 7200), but seems like Denon 4520 cannot fill up the hall like the Pioneer LX58 does. Then I put the LX58 back in place. I believe MCACC plays important role here, and it is very successful. I think Denon is a kind of amplifier for private listening. Less suitable in open space, but sound great in a room. I believe it is due to the class D amp rather than Denon or Pioneer. The more powerful amp opens up the speakers. Xt32 is more useful for dual sub calibration. This post has been edited by DannyOP: Feb 22 2016, 05:53 PM