HDMI Cable Quality?, Really make a diffrent?

azbro
post Aug 22 2010, 04:11 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(chewkl @ Aug 22 2010, 03:52 PM)
My RM19.90 (or was it RM9.90?) Technika 1.3b 3m HDMI cable from Tesco can pass 12-bit from my B1 perfectly. whistling.gif
Yeah..they are good, but seems like each time i go to Tesco seems like the stock very low or out of stock, I think lotsa ppl buying it. thumbup.gif
azbro
post Aug 23 2010, 10:56 AM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(camrycilver @ Aug 22 2010, 06:26 PM)
future buyer here... thumbup.gif
You bet, if you go Tesco, no need to wait for it to come down to RM9.90, RM19.90 is a steal oledi...grab it fast.
azbro
post Aug 23 2010, 11:57 AM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(dopp @ Aug 23 2010, 11:53 AM)
Is there a cable even fail 12 bits test?
Yes, of course. biggrin.gif

I wanna say cheapo HDMI are top of this world, but reality is some cables do fail 12bit test

This post has been edited by azbro: Aug 23 2010, 12:01 PM
azbro
post Aug 25 2010, 09:05 AM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(Jojo @ Aug 24 2010, 11:38 AM)
How do I know a HDMI cable pass the 12 bits test?
Easy..just go to Tesco to get their Technika (or something like that) HDMI cables..for the length of 3m, sure can pass 12 bits.
But freebie HDMI not sure

QUOTE(SiriuslyCold @ Aug 24 2010, 12:03 PM)
htkaki, did the shootout happen?
Monster cable rep must have settled a very big Monster table oledi laugh.gif ..that why so quiet..hehe I think tongue.gif
Just joking laugh.gif
azbro
post Aug 25 2010, 09:34 AM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(Jojo @ Aug 25 2010, 09:28 AM)
hahaa.. ..  Many of forumers here were saying " my hdmi can pass 12bits test" .. all buy from Tesco without proper test/prove? =D

If any one how to test pls let me know.. Many thanks sifu!
chewkl said he is pumping 12 bits using Tesco cables OK..if he says its OK, means Its OK
azbro
post Aug 26 2010, 11:34 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(raist86 @ Aug 26 2010, 11:17 PM)
anyone know where i can get a set of hdmi to dvi cable? low budget.. no monsters please.. looking for some cheap solution at the moment..
Actually, thing abt the DVI to HDMI convertion is it could lead to some unsatisfactory results...sometimes there is banding or letter cannot be seen clearly or oversized view stuff like that.

If i were you, I go to Tesco (hehe..I suddenly love the word 'Tesco'), get a their RM19.90 HDMI cable...and then get an adapter for it...so just in case you dun like the results, you can still use the HDMI cables for something else.

This post has been edited by azbro: Aug 26 2010, 11:34 PM
azbro
post Aug 27 2010, 09:39 AM

4,403 posts

No there is no difference between DVI straight to HDMI or using HDMI with a DVI converter....only thing is the computer used might be able to pump HD using its DVI, but results can vary.
I've got a few friends that went out to buy a DVI-HDMI cable only to find out the computer doesn't give them satisfactory results...I myself have a DVI-HDMI cable not used because it gives out a slight banding every few seconds.

SO best is to buy a HDMI cable and a DVI converter rather than a DVI-HDMI cable.

This is only advice, follow dun follow up to you...

This post has been edited by azbro: Aug 27 2010, 09:41 AM
azbro
post Aug 27 2010, 11:46 AM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(raist86 @ Aug 27 2010, 11:33 AM)
problem is the quality of the hdmi -> dvi converter..

the one i bought yesterday seems to be faulty.. getting another hdmi cable from office to try back at home tonight.
Yes...thats one of the problems that most will encounter...DVI->HDMI is not really plug and play stuff. But if it work well, than very lucky.
Usually older cards with DVi ports give not so satisfactory results when converted to HDMI.

azbro
post Sep 6 2010, 09:49 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(ronaldkwok @ Sep 5 2010, 08:40 AM)
Saw no-brand HDMI cable in Sri Computer, Low Yat at RM20. Think should be OK.
haha...thats the problem with no brand or freeebies one...you'll never know how it will perform...

Better get the Tesco brand
azbro
post Sep 13 2010, 04:06 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(gurus @ Sep 11 2010, 02:22 PM)
wahh..so cheap one eh tesco sell hdmi cable now? i got mine for 69bucks, giraffe brand  sweat.gif
You guys are mistaken...the giraffe brand is actually cheaper in a sort of way....even at 69 bucks...haha..

Cos when you go in to Tesco, especially with wife and kids, the cost of that RM19.90 is going to be easily Rm200, after you buy all those unnecessary stuff like ice-cream, junk food, nasi lemak, fried chicken, biscuits, toys, cloths etc..hahaha laugh.gif ..trust me

This post has been edited by azbro: Sep 13 2010, 04:07 PM
azbro
post Sep 13 2010, 05:39 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(scsoo @ Sep 13 2010, 04:22 PM)
Yeap, its not certified by anybody, but everyone say cheap and expensive HDMI no difference. As long it work, then it work, all those 0&1 argument. Maybe there is built quality, cannot bend too much, break and such, so be more careful or we re-enforce with tape....

But come to think of it, even those so-call "fake" HDMI, as long it work, then no issue right? Might as well buy those "fake" one as it still work. Also, it look real (I mean the cable, not the outcome). Unless the so-call "blind test" was done to proof otherwise. Maybe can get someone that have one of those "fake" HDMI to one of those "blind test" if there is one and go head to head against some "real" cable or even cheap cable and see if really got difference between prices.

Meantime, can go buy "fake" cable, cheap cable, expensive cable and as long got self-esteem boost... just need to be proven otherwise with "blind test" if ever there will be one held....
Actually for those that are certified, you can be sure that they perform as it should....no matter what crazy thing they claim it can do that doesn't even effect us.
They can say it has been tested with how many hundreds of Hertz or went through how may KV high voltage test that has no really impact on us...but..frankly speaking...it has been tested and certified that way...so the boasting rights is theirs even if they confuse the buyers or whatever.

But for 'fake', cheapo, or freebie HDMI are for basic HDMI setup...nothing fancy high bit or long length stuff.
Yes, some will work for high bit or long length, but some dun work also...but if works for advance settings, then save a lot of money.

Be aware abt so call blind test, this ppl will bring so call cheapo or freebie cable that has been picked by them that perform as they want...the bad ones of course they leave behind.
A very well performing freebie HDMI cable can be equal to a so called 'High End' cable. But as I say, not all Freebie or Cheapo HDMI are equal in performance or quality standard....same goes to High End cables. Ppl always say Tesco brand very good, well, no doubt abt it. Before tesco brand there was also Carrefour brand that had a failure rate of more than 50%!..it was so bad they had to take it off the shelves...but some still use and so far no probs. Also, some even encounters bad audio from a high end HDMI cable, it was so bad, a cheapo cable gave better sound. Yes, they concept of digital going thru a cable is simple enough...but it doesn't mean 100% of the manufactured stuff or design will work for all HDMI standards or the quality needed.

So end of the day...some will swear that their freebie Panasonic or Pioneer cable (like me..hehe), Tesco brand or no brand HDMI cable is the best in the world, same goes to ppl that swear that that High End Elite brand is all or nothing....but its good to do some homework of what to buy so that we are aware of what we actually want.

azbro
post Sep 19 2010, 10:18 AM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(tanhks @ Sep 19 2010, 02:56 AM)
Last time i bought lcd tv and the saleman give me a HDMI cable.
The saleman say "If you don't want the HDMI cable we can give you a discount"
I did not ask how much...i just take the cable. Later check the cable box it has a price tag RM150...wow!

Than a month later bought a blu-ray player....brought it home open the box...wow..there is a free HDMI cable inside.

Tried both cables, didn't find any different in picture quality.
Now i have two cables, only one in use..what to do with another one! doh.gif
Keep..later you might buy a PS3, notebook with HDMI out or whatever...HDMI very common nowadays

This post has been edited by azbro: Sep 19 2010, 10:34 AM
azbro
post Oct 19 2010, 10:50 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(ralyon @ Oct 19 2010, 04:35 PM)
Bought the technika hdmi cable from Tesco. I tried using it to playing 1080p movie from pc to tv, picture is perfect but audio is choppy. I tried with another pc, also the same result. Both PC are powerful enough, so could it be the bandwidth of this cable is not high enough?
My pc display setting: 16bit or 32bit at 1080p 60Hz
Why not try it out with another HDMI cable?

Or just return it to Tesco to exchange for a new technika HDMI, the one you got might be a rare case of faulty..

azbro
post Oct 29 2010, 06:11 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(Jenn77 @ Oct 29 2010, 04:46 PM)
Just got ma self the last  3 units of this Technika cables.. 19.90 each. Next re-stock after Deepavali, as told by the sales in Puchong Tesco.  tongue.gif No testing available, only 7 days warranty one to one exchange, izzit the same at other Tesco's?
Yes...thats the one icon_rolleyes.gif
azbro
post Nov 19 2010, 03:05 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(neb @ Nov 19 2010, 02:03 PM)
RM10K for how many meter? shocking.gif  I am from kampung, I want to see see such cable, must be made out of gold brows.gif

for comparison, most expensive HDMI cable in the world will cost you US$1K/m
http://www.hardwaresphere.com/2009/12/10/w...ive-hdmi-cable/
It is made out of unobtainium.

Ppl have to travel into the unknown and risk their lives to get it. biggrin.gif
azbro
post Nov 20 2010, 11:03 AM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(minimize @ Nov 20 2010, 10:10 AM)
If can kill superman than this rock is not coming from earth right?  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  tongue.gif

Pandora biggrin.gif

azbro
post Jan 13 2011, 05:17 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(DigitalTech @ Jan 13 2011, 03:51 PM)
Here we go again......
you should know better..its a never ending story.... biggrin.gif

0.0326sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 07:51 PM