126 Pages « < 39 40 41 42 43 > » Bottom

NOKIA N97 V3!, Firmware v21 is available for updates!

G K Lai
post Dec 19 2009, 11:05 PM

839 posts

QUOTE(lucky8 @ Dec 19 2009, 08:33 PM)
Seems like i m the 3rd that having the same issue after with this v20.
this time was 3rd time i can't boot up and stuck at the Nokia Whitescreen.

1st time was phone hang, then i reboot, managed to get it after bout 10 mins tried.
2nd time was phone lagging, so i reboot, managed to get it back after plug in the charging cable which i thought it may caused by battery problem.
3rd time again was phone lagging after massive 1 hr+ internet browsing, cannot get it back now after more than 20~30 times rebooting...try many methode now, still no hope on get it back..and i do not wish to hard reset it yet, as i will lost all my data once i done it.

is there anyway can help to boot it up ?
I did the hard-reset for the third times --- just for today...!

This morning, I checked SW Update and saw a new item: Memory reorganiser 1.0
I installed it, the installation took quite long (few minutes here, at least in my case).
I reboot the phone manually and yes, I reboot my phone quite frequently...
Then it stuck at Nokia screen again!!! mad.gif

After several hours of attempts trying to get it to boot up but failed... I gave up, did the hard reset!
I format the Mass Memory as well as recommended earlier in this v3 thread.
Restore only Contacts, Messages, Calendar, Bookmark, Setting etc...
Several reboot was done to make sure everything is working properly.
I then installed this Memory reorganiser 1.0 once more time,
very effectively, the next reboot took forever!
Did hard reset for the second time!

I repeat the restore work again... vmad.gif
Until I installed Garmin Mobile XT v5.00.60,
It cannot reboot AGAIN~! rclxub.gif

Did my third hard-reset for today~! shakehead.gif

I restore again, installed Garmin Mobile XT v5.00.50 instead of .60 this time.
I installed a few important apps. and did some reboot all went fine.

Then at one time, the reboot stuck at Nokia screen again!
And surprisingly, another reboot was successful!
But one strange thing, the phone show "Installing..." when it boot up, then said "Unable to install from memory card...".
Can't find anything unusual in Application Manager as well.

Until now I did 4~5 test reboots all successful~!
I did not install that Memory reorginiser 1.0 anymore.

I still have 1 strange entry in my phone though...!
Despite I formatted drive C and E, restored only Contacts, Messages, Calendar, Settings etc... (EXCLUDE all "user files" from C and E)
I still have Gmail in my phone which I cannot uninstall.
It also cannot re-install from Gmail site, saying Certificate error?!?!?! hmm.gif
Could this (corrupted Gmail) be the main reason for the reboot error?

sad.gif

Added on December 19, 2009, 11:07 pm
QUOTE(jehutyz @ Dec 19 2009, 11:04 PM)
Seem like lot of ppl having the problem as unable to bootup with v20.
I damn fxxxing sien as I need to restore back my thing. Now is like every week. Anyone check with NSS for this?

I reinstall my firmware bfore... it seem ok... but just sometime only.
This is also why I'm looking for ways to downgrade my firmware to v12,
but I can't find a good guide to do it~! cry.gif

Tried JAF, but don't know which setting should use for firmware downgrading,
it reported "unable to prepare phone for downgrading"...
Should I use "Dead USB" option to downgrade?

This post has been edited by G K Lai: Dec 19 2009, 11:07 PM
lucky8
post Dec 19 2009, 11:56 PM

284 posts

QUOTE(jehutyz @ Dec 19 2009, 11:04 PM)
Seem like lot of ppl having the problem as unable to bootup with v20.
I damn fxxxing sien as I need to restore back my thing. Now is like every week. Anyone check with NSS for this?

I reinstall my firmware bfore... it seem ok... but just sometime only.
just did a 4-fingers hard reset..shit, all my sms and some most applications gone... fortuntely the pictures remains...
firstknight
post Dec 20 2009, 12:18 AM

2,681 posts

for sms i recommend use ur E drive for sms storage...

when you hard reset this sms stored in E will not be deleted... you will get back your sms when you choose back E...
bagata
post Dec 20 2009, 12:39 AM

804 posts

QUOTE(MiN_SAHC @ Dec 19 2009, 08:35 PM)
Hello..
I need help regrading upgrading my n97 firmware..
Currently i'm using firmware 12.0.026 and i would like to upgrade to version 20.
I cannot update the firmware either using phone or nokia ovi suite. It's say, no update available.. Need idea what wrong?
One more thing.. After upgrading from firmware v11 to 12, my n97 doesn't vibrate anymore.
jz send to NSC, they will help ya update...

QUOTE(slow.poke @ Dec 19 2009, 08:36 PM)
nobody answer my question regarding whether the lens scrath problem is solved...the silents probally means this bullshit lens scratch problem is still there...wtf...
doh.gif
urm, some time ago got ppl say NSC help to replace their lens with the modified lens cap thingy, not vy sure thou cz i still haven pay a visit to NSC...
G K Lai
post Dec 20 2009, 04:01 AM

839 posts

QUOTE(lucky8 @ Dec 19 2009, 11:56 PM)
just did a 4-fingers hard reset..shit, all my sms and some most applications gone... fortuntely the pictures remains...
You mean that Nokia logo white screen have strikes again? ohmy.gif

Although I can't find the real reason for this stuck issue,
but I think it is not related to Garmin Mobile XT as someone told me (maybe?).
I uninstalled my Garmin and it also hang~!!!!

I also don't think it is related to the recent update of "Memory reorganiser 1.0".
Even now I didn't install this update, the phone would hang as well~!!!!

Believe me or not? Until now I still have this issue despite I already hard-reset the phone so many times for today!!!
Really really can't find out where is the culprit~! mad.gif

I do notice one thing quite strange...
When I pressed the power button trying to switch ON the phone,
the screen not always appeared (light up) the same way, it acted randomly:
When the power button fully pressed and after the vibrate:
1) The screen stays dark for a few seconds, then light up...
2) The screen stays dark for a few seconds, then light up 1 or 2 second and goes off (light off) then lights up again...
3) The screen lights up instantly then goes off for 1 or 2 seconds then lights up again...
4) The screen lights up instantly and stayed...
None of the above tells whether the boot will be successful or it will stuck... hmm.gif

I had 3 successful attempts to make it boot up after a failed booting,
at least a temporary solution that I've succeeded for these 3 attempts:
When it stuck at Nokia logo screen, the only way is the take out the battery, do it.
Then put the battery back, switch on the phone until you see the first lights up,
immediately remove the battery
to interrupt the booting process.
Put back the battery and the next boot (most likely) will be success (but not guaranteed). sad.gif

firstknight
post Dec 20 2009, 04:22 PM

2,681 posts

haha.... what a way to use n97..
PyOsE
post Dec 20 2009, 05:27 PM

1,661 posts

QUOTE(G K Lai @ Dec 19 2009, 11:05 PM)
But one strange thing, the phone show "Installing..." when it boot up, then said "Unable to install from memory card...".
Can't find anything unusual in Application Manager as well.
I had this problem..what i did was uninstall back any application that i installed last time and no more "Unable to install from memory card..." everytime i reboot..hope it helps
jehutyz
post Dec 20 2009, 08:50 PM

1,215 posts

QUOTE(lucky8 @ Dec 19 2009, 11:56 PM)
My SMS won't gone. Coz i stored to mass memory.
What i did is i sync it first, then i restore my backup file and then i sync it back. Got back all my lastest SMS.

Seriously..... i start to get frustrated with this phone again.
I need to standby another phone.
lucky8
post Dec 20 2009, 09:32 PM

284 posts

QUOTE(jehutyz @ Dec 20 2009, 08:50 PM)
My SMS won't gone. Coz i stored to mass memory.
What i did is i sync it first, then i restore my backup file and then i sync it back. Got back all my lastest SMS.

Seriously..... i start to get frustrated with this phone again.
I need to standby another phone.
i still have my N73ME as the backup, m thinking now whether to let go my N97 soon.
x3oN[v3]
post Dec 20 2009, 10:55 PM

[ - x 3 o N - ] | v ³ |
1,461 posts

i'm getting more and more frustrated day by day using this phone. this phone is so god damn laggy, hangs frequently, my E drive sometimes go missing while giving me "memory in use" as an error, stuck at nokia white screen, sometimes my vibration is not functioning properly and so many other problems. sad.gif

time to get another new phone. argh.
~funeralofheart~
post Dec 20 2009, 10:56 PM

Mivec 4B11 + Z10R!!
1,212 posts

QUOTE(lucky8 @ Dec 20 2009, 09:32 PM)
i still have my N73ME as the backup, m thinking now whether to let go my N97 soon.
once u wan letgo ur n97,PM me ...kinda intrested here...heee
gzero
post Dec 21 2009, 02:24 AM

345 posts

I dont understand why are you guys having so much "dramas" with your N97s so far. Mine has been serving me well so far, and by serving well meaning i used it up to its full capability,i.e: listening to music, watch videos, browsing, camera, videos, garmin GPS, msn mesenger, fring, etc.

couple of hangs here and there but hey, so are other phone. a bit dated hardware and UI, but i still love it biggrin.gif
Ezra86
post Dec 21 2009, 03:33 AM

317 posts

Actually mine had "dramas" like the other users too.. somehow unistalling certain things made mine ok. But its different softwares for different phones. e.g: mine was windows live messenger. so far 100% reboot (touch wood) without formatting E: and so forth. But before i used to get all this hangs all the time. So now its serving me well.. my next concern is paint job.. but thats not such a matter for now. Minimal peels.

I dun know if anyone gave this tips, but for me (no promises):

BEFORE rebooting:

1) I change the theme and wallpaper to default (usually black)

2) I change my USB connection type to PC Suite

3) I use HANDY TASKMAN to shutdown or kill all processes accept HOME SCR. and MENU

4) Then i close HANDY RASKMAN (not hide or minimise)

(For me [touch wood again]) 100% reboot all the time without removing battery and so forth.

APPs I found (or think) gave me problems:

1) Windows Live Messenger
2) Boingo App Unistaller
3) Theoretically any app that changes the GUI or needs lots of RAM to start during reboot

As for my setup: I'm on v20 with all default widgets (cause thats wats important to me) and even using Garmin latest

Ps: To save a significant amount of RAM (besides the usuall told by other websites)

1) After reboot, use HANDY TASKMAN to close all apps (can see the list in the software)

2)Off theme effect in theme selection page

Hope this contributes =)
firstknight
post Dec 21 2009, 05:10 PM

2,681 posts

wel... drama of course.. imagine this....

If the phone hangs it can be rebooted or restart... well and good.... everything intact....

but if the phone hangs and when you reboot or restart... it is stuck at nokia white screen of death.... thats it.. hard reset and reinstall all the darn thing you used in your phone... that is time consuming.. not forgetting you are still using the phone.... half way using poof you have to wait 1/2 hour in order to get to use the phone.. thats the drama....
Ezra86
post Dec 21 2009, 05:28 PM

317 posts

but in ur case did you try this? dun use hard restart first.. just try restarting again n again maybe removing memory card then removing the battery suddenly at different intervals of the restart? i do that b4 and sometimes 50% it starts back.. only thing is time consuming..
gzero
post Dec 21 2009, 06:17 PM

345 posts

QUOTE(firstknight @ Dec 21 2009, 05:10 PM)

If the phone hangs it can be rebooted or restart... well and good.... everything intact....

but if the phone hangs and when you reboot or restart... it is stuck at nokia white screen of death.... thats it.. hard reset and reinstall all the darn thing you used in your phone... that is time consuming.. not forgetting you are still using the phone.... half way using poof you have to wait 1/2 hour in order to get to use the phone.. thats the drama....
i understand, but i did the same as well, i've been rebooting my phone regularly, not just because it hangs, but so that i can get a clean boot, it feel much snappier that way, especially after heavy browsing. just like rebooting pc once a while after few days without switching it off. but getting WSOD has never happened to me so far though *touch wood*
lucky8
post Dec 21 2009, 07:06 PM

284 posts

QUOTE(firstknight @ Dec 21 2009, 05:10 PM)

yeah, i tried it for half a day, after that, no mood to try la. just 4-Finger F it.
Ezra86
post Dec 21 2009, 07:37 PM

317 posts

ya if i'm in ur place it'll be a four-finger reset for my phone and a one-finger salute to nokia...
Lavender-HONG
post Dec 21 2009, 08:35 PM

I just brought a N97-1 White. I am only able to upgrade my firmware till v12. May I know why there is no V20 update available since nokia malaysia website say is v20 now already. My set is Avaxx with product code 0586199.

Thanks bro.
Ezra86
post Dec 21 2009, 08:36 PM

317 posts

i think you better just go NCC to update for u..

126 Pages « < 39 40 41 42 43 > » Top

0.0291sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 09:38 PM