my squat dilemma
TSnonamednolaw
Oct 26 2009, 06:37 PM, updated 17y ago
Hi guys, i'm having a little prob with my squat progress. My college gym has no squat rack, only a smith machine. up till now i've been doing squats using dumbbells that were raised up to shoulder height. the heaviest dumbbell at the gym is only 20kg.
that said, if i wanted to squat heavier weights, i have to resort to using the smith machine. however, squatting using smith machine is no substitute for barbell squat or even dumbbell squats right? should i just suck it up and squat using smith machines or somehow squat using barbells without a squat rack? any suggestions? thanks all!
kotmj
Oct 26 2009, 06:46 PM
Buy a squat rack and donate it to the college.
pizzaboy
Oct 26 2009, 10:36 PM
QUOTE(nonamednolaw @ Oct 26 2009, 06:37 PM) Hi guys, i'm having a little prob with my squat progress. My college gym has no squat rack, only a smith machine. up till now i've been doing squats using dumbbells that were raised up to shoulder height. the heaviest dumbbell at the gym is only 20kg. that said, if i wanted to squat heavier weights, i have to resort to using the smith machine. however, squatting using smith machine is no substitute for barbell squat or even dumbbell squats right? should i just suck it up and squat using smith machines or somehow squat using barbells without a squat rack? any suggestions? thanks all! Got any pics of the gym?
JIB-89
Oct 26 2009, 10:39 PM
Could try doing zercher squats all u need is a barbell for that can't say its the same but its still challenging in a different way
bledig
Oct 27 2009, 09:26 AM

i think squats with smith machines ain't all that bad if done with correct form?
kotmj
Oct 27 2009, 09:56 AM
What correct form?
axymax
Oct 27 2009, 11:43 AM

Enjoying doing squat with smith machine.
iamyuanwu
Oct 27 2009, 11:57 AM
Correct form as in: more like a standing leg press movement, than a true squatting.
onimusha_m16
Oct 27 2009, 12:15 PM
-hold an empty bar on ur back -ask two of ur friends to put the weights -squat -ask friends to remove the weights
Syd G
Oct 27 2009, 12:23 PM
Mom. Servant of God.
diablokun
Oct 27 2009, 12:56 PM
do barbell squats...@ my gym, am using the dip machine as a rack...
shanecross
Oct 27 2009, 01:32 PM
QUOTE(Syd G @ Oct 27 2009, 01:23 PM) This is just....hmmmm.....
pizzaboy
Oct 27 2009, 01:49 PM
I'm amazed how they can name any exercise. Steinborn lift.....pbth. I'm naming a deadlift with a box of pizza as my face mask, as "Pizzaboy Lift"
shanecross
Oct 27 2009, 01:56 PM
I'd like to see a man do that with a 225
Syd G
Oct 27 2009, 02:00 PM
Mom. Servant of God.
QUOTE(shanecross @ Oct 27 2009, 01:56 PM) I'd like to see a man do that with a 225 That vid, 100kg ~ 220 noes? Better than 20kg dumbbells
shanecross
Oct 27 2009, 02:12 PM
QUOTE(Syd G @ Oct 27 2009, 03:00 PM) That vid, 100kg ~ 220 noes? Better than 20kg dumbbells  err 225kg
kotmj
Oct 27 2009, 02:34 PM
I think 225kg is irrelevant to most on this forum.
diablokun
Oct 27 2009, 03:29 PM
QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Oct 27 2009, 01:49 PM) I'm amazed how they can name any exercise. Steinborn lift.....pbth. I'm naming a deadlift with a box of pizza as my face mask, as "Pizzaboy Lift" dude, that steinborn was an oldtimer...henry steinborn...created wayyy before you were born...
bata
Oct 27 2009, 03:47 PM
@Syd G.
hahaa...damn that lift looks funny as hell... doing front squats also ppl look weird at me...hahaha
Chow
pizzaboy
Oct 27 2009, 04:17 PM
QUOTE(diablokun @ Oct 27 2009, 03:29 PM) dude, that steinborn was an oldtimer...henry steinborn...created wayyy before you were born... so?
diablokun
Oct 27 2009, 06:50 PM
QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Oct 27 2009, 04:17 PM) when can we see the "Pizzaboy's Deadlift" on youtube ?? lol This post has been edited by diablokun: Oct 27 2009, 06:51 PM
pizzaboy
Oct 27 2009, 08:25 PM
QUOTE(diablokun @ Oct 27 2009, 06:50 PM) when can we see the "Pizzaboy's Deadlift" on youtube ?? lol Maybe in about 16 years. Do remind me if I forget btw.
jags
Oct 30 2009, 12:32 AM

i am also in the same predicament as you. (the gym I go to do have a power rack, but its only for sale  ) so I have no choice but to use the smith machine. I also do front squats (using free weights barbell) & dumbbell squats.
TSnonamednolaw
Oct 30 2009, 11:08 AM
Thanks for all the input guys. The Steinborn lift seems a little dangerous to me. I'd need good spotters to help me out with that. The dip machine idea as a rack sounds interesting, whats the safe max weight that can be loaded on the dip bars? For the time being I'm still using the dumbbells and putting on a backpack with weight plates inside, progressively adding weights. Will try out the dip machine idea next session
yeezai
Oct 30 2009, 06:51 PM
TS theres nothing wrong with smith machine squats...you still can feel it altho the movement are fixed...im stuck with smith machine oso since FF dun have squat rack....but its better then nothing
FLubber
Oct 30 2009, 07:31 PM

but the problem with smith machines squat is that there's less balancing of load involved (in fact almost none?). smith machine squat hammers your legs but your core and upper body gets less stimulation, right? i guess thats y TS doesnt want to do smith machine squats? but ur right, its better than nothing =p
strinq
Oct 30 2009, 07:41 PM
I was doing squats with the smith machine the past 2 weeks because there's always someone using the barbell. Today I tried the squat rack. Same weights but it's much harder. The whole balancing thing does put a different kind of strain on my body. And much harder to do it in the correct form. Still learning though and trying with lower weights to get my form right first.
Desvaro
Oct 30 2009, 08:46 PM
QUOTE(yeezai @ Oct 30 2009, 06:51 PM) TS theres nothing wrong with smith machine squats...you still can feel it altho the movement are fixed...im stuck with smith machine oso since FF dun have squat rack....but its better then nothing Fitness First has no squat rack?
yeezai
Nov 2 2009, 02:38 PM
QUOTE(Desvaro @ Oct 30 2009, 08:46 PM) Fitness First has no squat rack? nop...i never try squat rack b4 ...hehe
Desvaro
Nov 2 2009, 03:14 PM
QUOTE(yeezai @ Nov 2 2009, 02:38 PM) nop...i never try squat rack b4 ...hehe I've been to quite a few Fitness First branches and they all have squat racks. Which branch is this?