Leaking ceiling - condo
TSleongal
Oct 25 2009, 07:51 AM, updated 17y ago
I think I need to talk to the landlord above the unit, rite?
Should I talked to the landlord above once I signed the S&P or after I moved in?
And, if I am not mistaken, cost can either me shared or I fully bear it?
Any idea? Tx
TSleongal
Oct 25 2009, 08:18 AM
QUOTE(Malefic @ Oct 25 2009, 08:11 AM) Leaking ceilling in a condo unit can be a difficult problem to fix Some tenants/owners in the unit above refuse to let repairs be done on their unit because it'll inconvenience them. After all, it's your problem, not theirs. Some ask you to compensate them with money ... or a week's stay in a good hotel If you haven't signed the S&P, you might want to think twice about signing. Hope you haven't paid the 2% ernest deposit. I will never buy a subsale condo unit with a leaking ceilling. i have not pay the earnest deposit, but will do so this afternoon.... i am so confused now...
TSleongal
Oct 25 2009, 08:28 AM
QUOTE(Malefic @ Oct 25 2009, 08:22 AM) Then I might have "saved" someone today My advice is: Do not pay the ernest deposit. Do not sign anything. Spare yourself a lot of headache. Thanks...thanks... That's y the unit beside is selling RM 15k higher than this one...
TSleongal
Oct 25 2009, 08:33 AM
QUOTE(Privatesale @ Oct 25 2009, 08:30 AM) If you haven't paid the deposit and still keen to buy, yeah try to make appointment with owner or agent and ask them to bring u to the unit upstairs and ask whether they will allow u to fix the problem. Also get the management and maybe ur own contractor to go and see how much it will cost and how long it will take. Unless it is super cheap and u got confidence it can be fixed without any problems  Actually nobody will buy since got leak problem...unless ur in construction line! Yes, thanks...will ask the agent to bring me to the unit above and try to talk to the owner; before I pay or sign anything
TSleongal
Oct 25 2009, 08:45 AM
QUOTE(Privatesale @ Oct 25 2009, 08:37 AM) since the owner/agent knows there is a leak prob, what did they say? selling cheaper bcos of that? suggest u compare the 15k 'savings' compared to the leak prob fixing cost ok the agent directly say that there is a leaking problem at the toilet ceiling oredi....but i din noe that there is so much hassle about this until i surf the net this morning.... i am not totally sure if the next door doesn't have this problem because the unit was repainted.... yes, i will be more careful later....thanks Added on October 25, 2009, 9:20 amQUOTE(eagle.one @ Oct 25 2009, 08:44 AM) simple thing to do is every condo have management office that maintain the building. go see them and ask to settle this problems for you. the unit above you must fix any leaking that course damage to your house if the house above you refuse to fix the leaking you can take legal action against them. thanks...i will see what i can do... This post has been edited by leongal: Oct 25 2009, 09:20 AM
TSleongal
Oct 25 2009, 12:04 PM
I have checked with a plumbing service man; he says that when the toilet ceiling leaks, it is usually the upper unit problem, I think I am giving up on tis unit
Will consider the higher price one, but will bring the man to inspect the place b4 I place the booking fee
TSleongal
Nov 14 2009, 07:38 PM
QUOTE(dvinez @ Nov 10 2009, 05:35 PM) lucky u ts, did u ask how much it will cost if you fix it ? i asked a contractor to inspect; it says aboout RM 80 to fix it; anyway, the owner has lodged a report to the management, and the owner above the unit is willing to fix it (not sure how true); hope everything goes on fine....(this is another place that i bought, instead of the first problem)
TSleongal
Nov 18 2009, 02:35 PM
QUOTE(toekong @ Nov 18 2009, 02:26 PM) Wait.. First hand or second hand? the owner is first hand-er, i am the second hand-er
TSleongal
Nov 18 2009, 05:30 PM
QUOTE(mingyew @ Nov 18 2009, 04:06 PM) what the hell... RM80 bucks to fix wat? ur leaking is serious condition or not? if same with my case, i need ur help to intro me ur contractor. my apartment toilet also have concrete leaking. not serious one....just need to glue something onli from the top.... i got the contractor/ plumber from a shop in ss2, pj.....if u really need, pm me.....the man not bad la.....explain alot, until i dun understand
TSleongal
Nov 20 2009, 08:42 AM
i am not totally sure if he is "trustable" cos i met him once only....but can pm me for the number if you really want