4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

I can't play FPS anymore, Help meh plz

TSico12
post Oct 24 2009, 12:45 AM, updated 17y ago

40 posts

First-person shooter (FPS) used to be my favorite genre. Back in those days I could play Medal of Honor, Half-life etc all day long till my mom shout at me to turn off my PC and go to bed. However, during form 4 and 5 I had to stay in hostel so I got only little to none time for gaming. Plus, I had to concentrate for my SPM so I decided to quit gaming for 2 years.

During my rookie year in Uni I wanted to redeem what I've been missing. At that time Half-Life 2 was teh uber cool so I installed it on my PC. 10 friggin' minutes into the action, I started to feel some kind of nausea crap, felt like vomiting sad.gif

I thought it was temporary only, so the next day I tried to play again but the same thing happened. Until now I still can't play FPS resorting me to switch to platform/action adventure as my favorite sh!t.

Did anyone of you have ever experienced this situation? I'm 21 BTW

p/s I did try playing FPS on PS2 and all seems fine. No pening2 lalat no feeling like vomiting whatsoevah. Just PC. As we all know FPS on PC>>>>>>>console sad.gif

nwk
post Oct 24 2009, 12:47 AM

256 posts

you have a rare medical condition. better go see a doctor.
Beat~
post Oct 24 2009, 01:33 AM

24 posts

console bcoz u sit far away... while pc u r nearer
S4PH
post Oct 24 2009, 01:43 AM

adam_s4ph
1,167 posts

need training then wont pening lalat
Sadru
post Oct 24 2009, 01:48 AM

1,062 posts

same ere.. COD4 sure pening2..
TSico12
post Oct 24 2009, 02:08 AM

40 posts

QUOTE(Beat~ @ Oct 24 2009, 01:33 AM)
console bcoz u sit far away... while pc u r nearer
maybe..if so then why? any scientific info on this? I did an eye test before and the result is like eh dunno how to describe but close to perfect lah, no need to wear glasses, if that helps
gnsumas
post Oct 24 2009, 02:28 AM

/k/+ps=WIN!
736 posts

PC sometimes more movement, so easier to get nauseas.

Also, the viewing distance can affect you whether or not you have perfect vision smile.gif
TSico12
post Oct 24 2009, 02:41 AM

40 posts

QUOTE(gnsumas @ Oct 24 2009, 02:28 AM)
PC sometimes more movement, so easier to get nauseas.

Also, the viewing distance can affect you whether or not you have perfect vision smile.gif
I see, thanks. But but I don't have this problem when I was a kid. Is it because I'm getting old? Does any of you old timers/veterans have this sort of problem? or did I overuse my brain during SPM era lulz

gnsumas
post Oct 24 2009, 02:42 AM

/k/+ps=WIN!
736 posts

might be your monitor brightness to high also
SUSwilsonjay
post Oct 24 2009, 03:15 AM

6 Stars Social Justice Warrior
1,605 posts

yup...half life 2 play half way i uninstall..lol
TSico12
post Oct 24 2009, 07:43 AM

40 posts

QUOTE(wilsonjay @ Oct 24 2009, 03:15 AM)
yup...half life 2 play half way i uninstall..lol
Is it because the game sucks or did you felt dizzy too?
S4PH
post Oct 24 2009, 08:13 AM

adam_s4ph
1,167 posts

nowadays fps games are more intense compared to your younger days
TSico12
post Oct 24 2009, 08:57 AM

40 posts

QUOTE(S4PH @ Oct 24 2009, 08:13 AM)
nowadays fps games are more intense compared to your younger days
no no I once installed Half-Life 1 on my PC just for the sake of reviving the good 'ol nostalgic feeling but..blah blah felt dizzy, alt+f4, went to sleep~ this happened before the Half-Life 2 incident and at that time I thought, well maybe I'm just too tired, maybe I should get some sleep first
trogdor1oh1
post Oct 24 2009, 09:10 AM

101 posts

Go out and buy Portal. Play it until you stop feeling nausea.
Beat~
post Oct 24 2009, 09:52 AM

24 posts

QUOTE(trogdor1oh1 @ Oct 24 2009, 09:10 AM)
Go out and buy Portal. Play it until you stop feeling nausea.
not every1 get dizziness/nausea frm the same game... i get dizzy when i play almost any kind of flight game(reason why i dont use those fighter plane in battle field).
taken frm some game website..
Motion sickness caused by video games, sometimes called simulator sickness, is caused when there is a disconnect between what your eyes are seeing and what your body is feeling. The most common theory for the cause of simulation sickness is that the illusion of motion created by the virtual world, combined with the absence of motion detected by the inner ear, causes the area postrema in the brain to infer that one is hallucinating and further conclude that the hallucination is due to poison ingestion. The brain responds by inducing nausea and mass vomiting, to clear the supposed toxin. Obviously, not all games cause motion sickness, but what is it about certain games that do cause it? Basically, it all comes down to camera movement and having something to focus your eyes on. Third and first-person-shooters are some of the biggest offenders when it comes to causing motion sickness, since the camera isn’t reacting and moving the way your head thinks it should, making you feel motion sickness.

This post has been edited by Beat~: Oct 24 2009, 10:04 AM
SUSwilsonjay
post Oct 24 2009, 12:03 PM

6 Stars Social Justice Warrior
1,605 posts

i felt dizzy...but only for half life 2 and far cry 2..i wonder why...
Erza Scarlet
post Oct 24 2009, 02:16 PM

201 posts

maybe the monitor frequency?
SUSdattebayo
post Oct 24 2009, 06:34 PM

5,366 posts

A few years ago I didn't like Half-Life or CS, always got killed and didn't give a damn to those games. Till recently went back to FPS again but on console

1 month ago I felt dizzy when playing Killzone 2 demo
then regardless of dizziness or not I get the Killzone 2 retail disc and just hentam it, first 2 mission was a bit tough, then the motion sickness diminish bit by bit, and by the last mission, I am able to play it quite well, despite still noobish in aiming accurately,

but anyway I still don't like FPS, I prefer TPS like RE5. laugh.gif
cycheah
post Oct 24 2009, 06:50 PM

237 posts

U might wanna adjust your brightness and contrast of your monitor.

are you using LCD monitor? That's what happen when I 1st time switch to LCD monitor.
TSico12
post Oct 24 2009, 07:34 PM

40 posts

Yep LCD sad.gif I think Far Cry 2 gave me the most severe headache out of all the latest FPS. I still can play Crysis/CoD4/CoD5 on my friend's PC but for around 20mins or so. FC2..sigh, walk in jungle like 2mins only felt like vomiting blood. Gave up on it completely sad.gif And if I'm not mistaken you will get blurry screen if you run too far isn't it? Lol with the nausea sh!ts I somehow could feel how the main char feel at that time

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0196sec    1.21    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 04:14 PM