Holydin going mail?, itemization

sp@wn
post Oct 24 2009, 01:47 AM

106 posts

the thing is, with the game evolved all this time - we have moved on from the idea of 'sticking to your class' idea

with more playstyle/offspec being made viable, it is reasonable to be geared for your choice of preference to be better at your job

while some roles like tanking would still be best suited in plate for paladins, DPS/Healing can often find better pieces in terms of mail, leather or even cloths

in fact, some of the BIS (Best In Slot) items for DPS/Healing arent plate either.

for a healing holy pally - i really dont see why you would want to stack mp5, as it is perhaps the lowest rated stat for healadin.

if somehow you are struggling with mana issues, pack up some crit and let illumination fly smile.gif
sp@wn
post Oct 24 2009, 02:14 AM

106 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Oct 24 2009, 01:57 AM)
from EJ, int > mp5 > crit in terms of mana since the illumination nerf...
thing i feel that i'm having too little mp5 now...
mana is totally fine (i was undergeared before this healing heroic) as long as i dun burst heal too much...
when i do burst heal, my mana jz drop like mad and in those moments, i could not risk a wipe with divine plea...
i'm at around 29-30% crit as a holy/prot holydin...

ya my ret is using leather cause there provide my ret with the optimum crit needed =)
well, the thing with EJ is - they are theorycrafters

while they can mathematicly provide numbers or spreadsheets how some stat is better or how you should do your spell rotation - those are best used/taken with a grain of salt

be it raids, heroics or even dungeons - situation changes from time to time. most raids have enrage timers, movement coordination, target swapping or even damage/healing control. plus we have more 'nature' elements have to factor in - skill level of your buddies(a huge factor if u pug alot), average gear level, and the dreaded latency.

so realisticly speaking - even if you are geared exactly to their spreadsheet, your raid/group experience would still vary as it might not be optimal for your raid instead

my advice is - while u can follow their 'golden rule' on how you get geared, its best you try out yourself which works best for you.

of course, there's still the basic standard requirement you must meet - no point having 2000mp5 but your heals sucked smile.gif

0.0166sec    0.70    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 02:43 AM